Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua Ultra-Light Skin Perfecting Makeup SPF 15

3.9

857 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Active ingredients: Octinoxate 6% Titanium dioxide 5.6% Inactive ingredients: Aqua, Methyl Trimethicone, Alcohol, Dimethicone, Phenyl Trimethicone, Talc, Butylene Glycol, Isododecane, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Polymethyl Methacrylate PEG-10 Dimethicone, Stearic Acid, Dimethicone/PEG-10/15 Crosspolymer, Alumina, Aluminum hydroxide, Phenoxyethanol, C9-15 Fluoroalcohol Phosphate, Magnesium sulfate, Parfum, Nelumbo Nucifera Flower Water, Methylparaben, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Sodium Hyaluronate, Silica, Tocopheryl Acetate, Dipropylene glycol, Polyurethane, BHT, Laminaria Digitata Extract, Tocopherol, Propylparaben, Ultramarines, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77891, Mica


on 12/5/2012 11:28:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

This was my first high end foundation purchase. Sounded perfect on paper, and while I am still on the fence as to whether I would repurchase, I do have a few thoughts. I have BR10, which may be a smidge light for me, but it matches my neck which is nice. I have been using this for approximately 9 months and it is just now getting low. Initially I squirted a bunch out and dabbed it all over my face. I have tried the Sigma 180, the beauty blender sponge and my fingers. Trial and error taught me that a pea size amount, dabbed all over my face amd rubbed in with fingers gives the best coverage. This does stick to dry patches, so be sure to exfoliate well and use a good moisturizer!!! I've found that dry skin benefits from a serum of sme sort under your moisturizer when using this foundation. I also use a little trick of pressing my hands over my face after application. I don't know why it helps, but the little cakiness Issue I occasionally have is alleviated completely when I do this. It takes a few minutes for Vitalumiere Aqua to "settle" on my face and weirdly enough, it looks amazing about 10 hours later! Again, my akin is very dry so it takes that long to become "dewey" on me. I'm 46, my skin isn't perfect, but this DOES make it look good. Now, ironically enough, Garnier's BB cream as well as Clinque's Moisture Surge look just as good (and some days better). I love going to a Chanel boutique to actually buy something and enjoy the feeling of wearing something luxurious. If I am completely honest with myself however, I think there are better products available for much less money!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 12/5/2012 8:52:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

i was not sold on this foundation when i first purchased it, which sucked. i dunno if it was the brush i was using, the moisturiser i was using, or the weather, but i found this hopelessly dry and patchy on me at first. i basically wanted to cry, because this is the first super duper high end foundation that i've ever bought and i really thought i'd researched it enough to be confident with the purchase.

BUT THEN.

i decided to try it again several weeks later with a (real techniques) stippling brush and lawd hammercy, i have never felt anything so beautiful on my skin in my entire life. i mean, there have been foundations which have felt nice on my skin and whatever, but my skin has never felt as touchable and natural and soft as it does wearing this. the finish is perfect for me in every way - it's not a dewy finish and doesn't leave the skin at all tacky, but it's not matte either. i guess it's a kind of satin finish. the best finish i've ever found in fact. there is no skin and then foundation - it just looks like your face. it's hard to say that about many other products.

i wear the lightest shade (b10) and find it the tiniest bit too dark, but that seems to be a recurring theme with chanel foundations. i'm still able to work with it well enough though (i'm nc15-20). for the consistency of the foundation when you squirt it out, it's amazing that it provides any coverage at all. actually, it's really strange - it provides light coverage but enough coverage all at the same time, and my skin is not perfect whatsoever. scars aren't covered, under eye circles are still there to be concealed, but this product is somehow able to even out skintone in a really natural looking way. for people who dislike full coverage foundations but still want the perfect amount of (day-time) coverage, i don't think you can go too far wrong with this. it can also be built up to medium coverage without caking.

the wear time on this is fine for me, but i can get some shine at 8-10 hours. as far as packaging goes, i really couldn't care less about what it looks like, or that it isn't "luxurious" enough - it's practical and does the job (and is great for travelling). i don't have a problem with the smell either, i find it pretty nice (if you can tolerate bourjois foundations, this will be fine). as others have mentioned, shaking the bottle prior to application is essential. overall, i still dunno what happened during my first experience with VA, but everything since has been lovely and i would highly recommend this foundation.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/4/2012 10:00:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

The alcohol content in this foundation does not work with my dry skin. I will not purchase.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 12/4/2012 4:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this after hearing terrific reviews from a number of people. For the price, I would not repurchase. The shade I have is a perfect match for me, B20. However, I do have oily/combination skin and I feel like this foundation fades very, very quickly on my skin and I need to blot very often to prevent this from happening. Also, after blotting my skin, I still feel like mid-day it causes my blush/bronzer to appear very streaky because of the fading. I do use a finishing powder after applying this but I don't think it helps that much. It gives my skin a beautiful glow upon application and I think this foundation would be terrific for drier skin types. Also, for the price, the packaging is kind of cheap and the bottle gets very messy at the top after a lot of uses. I do not think this foundation is worth the price at all, even if you do have drier skin. The scent of the foundation is not my favorite. It gives light to medium coverage but I feel like the coverage does not last on my skin at all. I think the color range they have is nice, but it does oxidize a little throughout the day. I will not be repurchasing. At this point, I'm just trying to finish what I have.


on 12/4/2012 4:14:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I love this foundation!It`s light/medium coverage, it`s very natural and it matches my skin tone perfectley.It`s easy to aply (with your fingers) and you only need a tiny bit.It is a little drying,but if you wear a good moisturizer it`s going to be perfect!It stays on for 8-9 hours on me and I don`t even feel that I`m wearing foundation.
I love the sent and the packaging(very travel friendly).


on 12/3/2012 3:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Background on my skin : I have acne prone, sensitive, oily-normal skin. It is often dehydrated in the winter and oilier in the summer.

I used this starting March of 2012 and I think I am close to finishing a bottle. I use it everyday and it has been my staple and go-to foundation. I have tried Naked skin, chanel perefection lumiere, chanel vitalumiere creme.
Initially, this product product me out a little, but I wasn't sure whether it was because of LA's weather (and traveling) or this was the cause. i think it's the former cause it doesn't break me out afteer a few times of using it.
I like that it is lightweight and water based. It achieves a dewy finish for me if I don't stay out in the sun for too long. However if your skin type is like mine, avoid this foundation if you are going to be under the hot humid sun all day, it will look oily.
It photographs better than the chanel perfection lumiere.
This doesnt clog my pores and it is buildable to medium coverage. I have acne scars to cover so this alone won't do it. I conceal my hyperpigmentations with cle de peau's concealer, which is THE BEST.
downside to this, not a huge color range and possibly the price, but that both didn't bother me. HG HG HG


on 11/30/2012 10:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have quite dry skin but an extremely oily t-zone and this foundation works great for me. As it is water based I don't get the same flaky, patchy bits that I do with other foundations (studio fix). It also doesn't make me very oily, although i do have to powder every 3-4 hours I'd say, although I have used worse foundations. A thin layer of this foundation is great for everyday, and if you have a few blemishes, you can certainly build up the coverage in certain areas using this foundation.

Price is quite steep....but it is Chanel at the end of the day. Packaging could be more luxurious but i actually quite like it because its very portable and light. Overall i would repurchase!


on 11/29/2012 10:41:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

WHAT A GORGEOUS FOUNDATION!
I adore this product. I feel it light and refreshing on my skin like I wear no foundation.
It blends easily, in the most fantastic way. The finish is very natural and my face seems flawless. The coverage is medium and the result is semi -matte. I hate matte-finish foundations because they make skin look dry and unhealthy. After using this one, my face is not shiny, it is radiant! My face doesn't get greasy or sticky. It also hydrates my skin in a nice way, while providing a dewy result.
I like the packaging. It's simple, elegant and easy to use.
Last but not least the result remains perfect for many hours.
This is definately the best foundation I've ever used (and I've used a lot).


on 11/28/2012 11:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

NOT FOR OILY SKIN.
I purchased this foundation after hearing rave reviews regarding how this is a "perfect layer of second skin" and how it actually gives coverage. In terms of "second skin," maybe I missed something but this doesn't look as natural as people say, I could still see foundation on my face. Coverage wise it's OK... When you first blend it in. I don't know if I'm not using the right moisturizer or what, but every time I've worn this foundation (in the summer or now in the fall), it becomes splotchy on me a few hours in. Granted, I have combination oily skin... But for such an expensive foundation I would've expected more. I should not have caved in and purchased something so pricey without getting a sample, and will not recommend this to oily skinned gals.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/25/2012 5:26:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've tried Vitalumiere Aqua numerous times, both from a sample container and the product bottle itself (I thought it might make a difference if I bought it since it tends to separate in the bottle, but it's the same). I ended up returning it because it just didn't do it for me. It was drying and I was disappointed with the oil control and lasting power.

I have dehydrated oily skin and I find that this product is a bit drying. Especially if I have some particularly dehydrated areas, I experience stinging. I think it's because there is so much alcohol in it, which also makes it dry rather quickly.

This is great for a natural look, but I find that it's only useful for those types of looks if you only use a little bit. This does provide some coverage, but if you use enough to get coverage, you're not really going to get a natural look. If you don't mind appearing made-up, then this might work because even with layering, this doesn't get as cakey as other foundations. However, I did notice that it emphasized dry patches, so make sure you exfoliate.

Vitalumiere Aqua has a runny consistency and blends in well, though you will have to work fast. As others have mentioned, you have to shake the bottle quite a bit before usage. You get a beautiful demi-matte finish, though be careful about those dry patches.

I find that the oil control is minimal and that the lasting power is not great, with or without powder. I saw no oxidation.

A skip for me. I might try it again in the summer when my skin isn't as parched.


Back to Top