E.L.F. Essential Eyelid Primer - Sheer

3.9

826 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Octyl Palmitate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Dimethicone, Kaolin, Triacontanyl PVP, Propylene Carbonate, Titanium Dioxide, Barium Sulfate, Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Mica (CI 77019).


on 12/22/2012 9:36:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Black

This primer did not work for me. I apply my makeup at 7a.m. and by 12 p.m. i already have creasing, but what else can you expect on my oily lids? I'm sure this would work great for those of you with less oily lids but for me this was a miss, and in no way is it compareable to my HG primer UDPP

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 12/20/2012 7:21:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

E.L.F. really outdid themselves. I love this primer; it performs well and is ridiculously cheap.
But wait, it gets better...
I've alwasy had issues with my underye concealers creasing. Even the best of the best look like hell after awhile. I've come to terms with the fact that my concealer will crease no matter what, but I recently discovered a way to keep it from creasing as long as humanly possible.
So Wayne aka gossmakeupartist on Youtube, has a video about using an eyelid primer before concealer to stop the creasing. Wouldn't have guessed that this $1 tube of magic could work such wonders, but it does. Creasing has decreased significantly since I've been using this. It also works great on blemishes! Before I put my concealer on my horrific acne, I dab a very small amount on, and the concealer stays! Definetly a staple!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/20/2012 7:08:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Soooo petty! I love how it's not too bold, even if you're just going out casually you can just apply a bit to your eyelid and it's gorgeous! Gives your eye a light sparkle.


on 12/19/2012 8:16:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love the beautiful shimmer that it gives! On a busy low-maintenance day I just put it on my lid on its own and then eyeline the upper lashline and my eyes already look pretty good.
This eyelid primer is no magic though. I work 10 hours a day and my eyelids are very oily so even with this primer by the time I leave the office my eye makeup is a complete mess. Well at least everything on my upper eye area stays there without ending up under my eye!
Given what I paid I'm very happy and will purchase this again and again. My fav colour is champagne. Is it just me or the texture is really thicker and more creamy than pearl's?


on 12/19/2012 5:25:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is my new HG eyelid primer! I used to use the good ol' UDPP, but it was so expensive so when I saw reviews on this, I swung my local Target to pick some up and have been so happy with it ever since. I don't wear primer every day becuase lots of days I go with no shadow or a a single neutral tone, but when I do dress my eyes up, this is my new go to primer. In my opinion it works just as well as UDPP and is so much more affordable. Plus I LOVE the doe foot applicator! :) I would definitely recommend this to someone who is looking for an affordable UDPP dupe or is just looking for a primer in general. It really is an amazing product.


on 12/19/2012 12:55:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I heard that many people prefer to use eye primers. I personally do not use eye shadow primer regularly because I just don't use eye shadows often. However, I was on a hunt for one and figured I'd try this one from ELF. I thought this product was okay. If you are starting out a makeup collection and want to use an eyelid primer, this one is pretty good for starting out. If you are an avid makeup user, I would say that this product is not worth looking into, despite it being a dollar. There are other ELF products that are the same price and are amazing. This just happens to not be one of them.


on 12/16/2012 12:35:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Other, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This isnt a bad primer. It helps keep shadows on, its not hard to blend like loreal decrease, which i still love. This primer will work well this shadows that are pigmented and already have good quality. It increases the long wear of the shadows, but does nothing it make the colors more vibrant. I apply this in my brows too help my brow powder last better. For some reason, the skin under my brows gets oily


on 12/15/2012 5:18:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I have one in each color, and my favorite is "sheer." The other colors work perfectly fine, but for me, sheer blends better into my skin. Champagne goes on in a light pink with glitter in it to give your eye shadows a bit of glitter once applied. I have two or three in champagne and one of them has the chunkiest glitter in it, while the other two have very subtle glitter, so make sure to see how thick the glitter chunks are before applying. As for golden, it gives a light shimmer to the eye shadows, however, for me it does not blend too well. Since it has more yellow undertones, it gives your eye shadows that are more sheer, such as a light pink or white, that same yellow undertone. Pearl is really good as well. It blends nicely, and gives a subtle shimmer/pearly finish, depending on how much eye shadow you apply over it. I will finish the tubes of each color but I probably won't purchase any other colors other than sheer once I run out. They do not have a gross smell, and any eye shadow I have used stays on and does not crease. It also makes the colors more vibrant. I have not used any other eye shadow primers to compare it to.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/11/2012 12:19:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

I have bought 3 so far and I LOVE THEM! I use this every time I wear eyeshadow and it lasts me all day! I reccomend it to all of those people who don't want to spend 28 dollars on eyeshadow primer! THAT'S CRAZY!

IT IS A MUST HAVE!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/6/2012 10:04:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Let me just say... I'm glad I don't have to go out and spend $26 now on Too Faced shadow insurance. The stuff was my fav... but ELF eye primer for $1? Winner..

It does the job, what else can I say? I would recommended.. if for some reason you don't have the same luck as me.. your only loss is pocket change.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top