MISSHA M Perfect Cover BB Cream

3.8

934 reviews

67% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water(Aqua), Cyclomethicone, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Zinc Oxide, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Mineral Oil, Phenyl Trimethicone, Talc, Arbutin, Hydrolyzed Collagen, Dimethicone, Macadamia Ternifolia Seed Oil, Squalane, Adenosine, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Polyethylene, Beeswax(Cera Alba), Glycerin, Propylene Glycol, Caviar Extract, Algae Extract, Rosa Canina Fruit Oil, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Fagus Sylvatica Bud Extract, Ceramide 3, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate, Sodium Chloride, Fragrance(Parfum), Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Disodium EDTA, Hydroxyisohexyl 3-Cyclohexene Carboxaldehyde, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Benzyl Salicylate, Hydroxycitronellal, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone, Hexyl Cinnamal, Linalool, Citronellol MAY CONTAIN[+/-; Titanium Dioxide(CI 77891), Iron Oxides(CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499)]


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Medium Brown, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

At the moment, this is my go to BB cream. I have extremely sensitive skin (allergies, eczema) but this works fine. I'm also happy that it has a very high SPF.
I have tried several of the North-American BB creams (Estée Lauder, Too Faced, Stila, Clinique, etc.) but none seem to compare to the Missha. Since I have a darker complexion, this is the only Asian brand that provided deeper shades and luckily, #31 (tan with slight pink undertones that don't show up even if I'm on the golden side) suits me perfectly. I haven't tried #27, which is more yellow, but probably will in the winter months.
It does go on a bit light but oxidizes quite fast. This provides little coverage and I would describe it as a heavier tinted moisturizer (in comparison to Nars and Laura Mercier). It doesn't cover some of my pores, but covers redness and darkness under the eyes pretty well.
I haven't been noticing any of the "lightening" properties on my acne scars and I'm not quite sure that I would qualify it as skincare. However, it feels great on and lasts all day. It gives a nice radiant glow and for people with combination and oily skin, it might be necessary to apply a loose powder.
Overall, this is a great minimal coverage BB cream. It gives a nice even and radiant complexion.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 10/21/2012 8:35:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is my first foray into the world of BB creams. I decided that I would try a Korean brand first as Korea was where the BB cream originated and I gathered from reviews around the Net that the Korean brands were still the best (and that many US BB creams were tinted moisturizer under another name).


I bought my tube of Missha M Perfect Cover off of Amazon from a company called Seoulbeauty. My shade is 21.


The first time I wore it I got so many compliments from people who said how I "glowed!" And best of all was that I didn't look like I had foundation on - it looked like my skin but better.


I apply this with my Sephora Pro #56 buffing brush - I know people swear by using their fingers but I have never used my fingers to apply foundation and I'm not about to start to with BB cream. My brush works just fine. A little of this BB cream goes a long way - I put a small amount on the back of my hand and apply with the brush and then use the brush to blend and buff. And I do use an extra serum and color-correcting primer (Image Vitamin C serum and SmashBox color correcting primer); my skin is too dry for the BB cream alone. Then I apply cream blush (if I'm using it), my Urban Decay primer on my lids, an extra dab of the BB cream anywhere I need extra coverage, then powder (Korres loose mineral powder). Powder blush and all other makeup go on top. Only cream blush and eyelid primer go on under the powder. A very light setting of powder keeps everything looking fresh and lasting all day.


I don't know that I'm going to go back to regular foundation as so far I love this Missha M BB cream so much and it's garnered me so many compliments! I am a cool-toned Caucasian PPP and the shade #21 blends in just fine - it seems to adjust once it's on and warms up on one's skin. I love the look it gives me - glowing and flawless without looking made-up at all. This particular brand seems far more than just a tinted foundation. Love it and will repurchase.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 10/19/2012 4:30:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

After much toying around with several Asian BB creams, I have settled on this one, in shade 27. I'm pleased as punch.

For background, the ones I've tried that didn't make the cut:

1. Missha V matte: ghostly cast, lower SPF than I'd like, not mattifying.
2. Skin79, bright pink and gold varieties: nice lighter texture, but leaves gray cast, barely noticeable coverage, a little too oily.
3. Etude House BB Magic Cream for oily skin: pretty decent color; still too light for my skin, but not shockingly so, and didn't leave a gray cast, has some yellow undertones, not greasy. But what was I thinking??? No SPF!!!
4. Rachel K Mineral CC Cream (the darker one): also decent color, albeit still slightly too light, very nice texture and coverage, nice SPF 35, but very hard to find in the US; I ended up paying an arm and a leg for it on eBay ($39 for a smaller bottle than all the others), and the cost/hassle don't come close to making it worthwhile since the color is still off.

So this Missha #27 is pretty awesome. Medium coverage, goes on smooth, high SPF of 42, gobs of other (purported) skin benefits, and best of all, works with my skin tone and doesn't leave me looking ashen, greasy or dry. It nicely absorbs into my skin like moisturizer, yet evens out my skin tone and covers hyperpigmentation without looking like I'm wearing makeup. It has a sheer effect, without actually being sheer.

It may be a tad too dark for my skin, but I can make it work. If I had it to do over again, I'd probably also buy color #23, and blend a little with the #27 to lighten it a bit. Some combination of #23, #27, and #31 will probably work for the vast majority of medium skin toned people. For now I'm mixing the Rachel K with the Missha #27 to take the edge off the yellow tones in the Missha, and I'm finding it's the ideal combination.

I'm constantly getting comments about my "glowing" skin. No one can tell what I'm doing differently, but they notice something's up. I don't know if it's the dark spot reducing effect of the Missha or simply that it's Autumn, but the sun hyperpigmentation on my face has diminished significantly.

By the way, I've never worn any foundation, powder, or tinted moisturizer of any variety. I don't like how they look or feel on my skin. This BB Cream is the first thing I've started wearing as a foundation substitute, and I absolutely love the look and feel.

The only negative is that the pump on my bottle is a dud. Every once in a while it goes on strike, and I have to furiously pump away forever, while nothing comes out. And then suddenly on the 68th pump squeeze a projectile squirt erupts. Very annoying, but I don't think this is a common problem for others.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 10/18/2012 11:34:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have a very pale complexion with redness due to rosacea and I always have huge problems with finding the right foundation color. Most brands usually make my skin either too pink or orange. I decided to try missha's bb cream because the colors looked more neutral, almost going into grey, which is exactly what I need and I had heard good things about bb creams. I first bought no.13 but that turned out a bit too pale, so then I got the no.21 which turned out to be perfect. It gives very good coverage, concealing the redness of my nose and cheeks and it also covers the bags under my eyes. I also really like the smell, strangely grandmotherish but pleasant. The consistency is quite heavy and thick, and trying to rub it on like normal foundation makes it go on unevenly. I have found that the best way to apply this cream is to cover fingertips in the cream, dab it onto face in a few places, and tap with fingers to spread it around evenly. It gives a nice dewey finish and dries well, but I tend to get oily in the t zone so I usually apply a bit of loose powder in that area about 15 minutes after I apply the cream. If you put on powder before the cream dries it sometimes starts clumping. Generally though, I am very happy with this product and recommend it. I wear it daily since I got it and will most likely be buying more when I run out. I advise buying from a trusted source so you don't get a fake version.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/17/2012 11:02:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

So this was my first experience with an Asian BB cream. Definitely more coverage than by previous bb creams found in the US. #21 worked well with my fair skin. Coverage comparable to a foundation. It was just a tad heavy for me. By the end of the day my face left a tad dry. Wanted to love it, but it's just ok. I'm sticking with my bare minerals as I feel it gives with a lighter finish.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/14/2012 11:33:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is my first Asian BB cream, and I'm pretty happy with it. I use #21, and I'm a MAC 15 or 20 skintone, and shade 21 works well for me once the color changes from its initial grayish tone to a flesh tone.

I've tried this cream a few different ways, and I've found that it works best for me applied in a thin layer with a foundation brush. The instructions recommend that you not use sunscreen in addition to the BB cream, but there's no way I'm facing the Texas sun without SPF 30 every day, and I don't want to apply BB cream over every inch of my face to serve as SPF.

So the combo of sunblock and BB cream can be a little too moisturizing for my skin. But wearing a thin layer and setting it with loose powder gives a luminous, even glow. For me, loose powder is necessary if I'm going to wear powder blush because sweeping powder blush over the cream tends to move it around and ruin the coverage. The cream maintains a dewy, creamy texture, which is lovely, but this means that powder blush needs a powder barrier. But cream blush can be patted and blended in to emphasize the moist finish. Liquid blush can bead up a little due to the moisture content of the BB cream, but my Benetint also pats and blends in well.

Overall, I'm impressed with how natural and skinlike this product is. It reduces the slight redness and discoloration in my skin while melding with the surface texture. I've never really had a foundation before that does this. However, this gets only a 4 because the moisture content causes the cream to crease around my nose and under my eyes during the day. This means that I have to use a drier foundation or concealer in those areas. The result looks nice, but it's a little extra hassle.

After a few weeks of use, I've noticed that the pump is acting a little funny and not dispensing product smoothly. But I generally like the packaging, especially the fact that it's not getting contaminated by my fingers or a q-tip.

I bought my tube from PinkGelee on Amazon, and I paid less than $15 and got my order very quickly. I'm not sure how well this product suits skin with acne, or oily skin, but it has worked well for me thus far, and I can see why it's so popular.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/13/2012 7:19:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I am giving this a low score because of the overpowering fragrance. I can't even wear it long enough to test whether the color matches my skin. What a shame!


on 10/11/2012 8:03:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I am 46 yrs of age with an 'English rose complexion' i.e. fair with pink undertones and occasional freckles and have a few wrinkles starting to appear. My skin is combination, and while I never seem to suffer from extreme dryness I do get the odd breakout, generally in the T-zone, and as my skin is sensitive I have a tendancy towards skin reactions and dermatitis.

After a lot of research and reading reviews on various sites I decided to take the plunge and pay £7.99 (including P&P) for a 20ml tube of no 21 light beige. The biggest problem I have had with high street brands (and I have tired quite a few - a costly experiment) has been finding (1) a light enough shade (2) a light shade that doesn't have a yellow - or worse orange - base and (3) a brand my skin doesn't react to. I did eventually find a suitable candidate, but at £35 a time it is not a sustainable option for me.


So, to the Missha cream. Purchased from a reputable supplier the cream arrived very quickly, and first thing I noticed was the lovely packaging, which when compared to High Street brands priced at under £10, was far superior to the 'grab a tube of the shelf' variety.

I was a little apprehensive as to how the cream would look and go on my skin but I had no need to worry. Yes it does look a little grey when it comes out of the tube, but no more so than the L'Oreal version of a BB cream. The texture is light and creamy - again much better than its liquid counterparts that in my experience end up running off the back of my hand in favour of my bathroom floor. I applied the cream after my usual skin regime, and on application I found it easy to apply, it doesn not sink into lines or pores and the colour changed almost immediately to match my skintone, (and with no yellow or orange tint, and no tell-tale 'tidemarks'). Following application I applied a very light dusting of face powder.

On first application the cream has a light floral fragrance (similar to many other foundations and moisturising creams on the market). The frangrance is not over powering and doesn't not 'hang around' after application.

My experience is that the cream makes my skin look great but natural. It is thick enough to cover minor imperfections, but light enough that it does not look like a mask. I have found that if I need to I can apply more and build the coverage without risking looking like I'm caked in foundation.

The cream survives the working day with no need to touch up. If I'm heading out on the evening I remove my make-up and reapply - and five hours later my skin is still looking good.

From a breakout point of view my skin is showing rapid signs of improvement (I have suffered a recent break which was the result of using another foundation) and I have not suffered any kind of reaction. In fact I like the cream so much I have already ordered a second tube and am considering getting the primer to go with it.

I can see how the cream may not be suitable for those suffering from acne, but for a pink-undertoned fair skinned 40+ woman with combination skin it is quite simply brilliant and lovely to use, and I highly recommend it.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 10/9/2012 3:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

First Impression:
I was excited to receive this in the mail because this is my first BB cream, ever (Western and Asian). I really like the packaging; pumps are great! I was a bit disappointed about the product. The BB cream seemed to accentuate dry patches on my skin even though I have very oily skin... It also makes all bumps on my skin look a lot larger than they are. I did have to set the BB cream with a powder to mattify it but I feel the BB cream would last long without the powder as well.

Will update after more uses.


on 10/5/2012 9:02:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

All of my life, my skin has been resistant, if not downright stubborn, about products and makeup. Any liquid foundation, even tinted moisturizers, gunked up on my skin, settled funny, and even emphasized the awful texture of the skin on my nose. I can barely wear most pressed powders either, and had to stick to nearly sheer mineral foundations which pretty much defeated the entire reason I wanted to wear makeup in the first place - coverage!

I did not understand the hype of BB creams because of all of this. What could this foundation do differently to make me want to wear it? EVERYTHING is the answer! Light weight, doesn't settle, lots of SPF, gorgeous texture, and it remains natural looking even if I sweat a little. BB cream, I am a believer! I do want to note that sometimes I do still have trouble wearing even BB cream, I have to be VERY careful how much I apply because it can still do what all other liquid foundations do to my skin. But, my excitement remains that I can control how and where the color goes much better than typical makeup.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Bash it or Buy it?!! Missha M Perfect Cover BB Cream - demo and review by Denim Vixen



Top Rated MISSHA Products

Back to Top