Make Up For Ever • HD High Definition Microfinish Powder • Loose Powders

rated 3.7(758 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 meri86 on 2/11/2011 8:22:00 PM more reviews by meri86

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I went to sephora today and askey the MUA for a powder to set my foundation and told her I had really oily skin. She told me about "Rice powder" and I was like..."yes,of couse, what are you saying to me?" , haha.
She showed me this white powder by MUFE and she put it on my face with a big brush and very light veil. I was instantly impresed, it left my skin feeling super smooth, and all of my shiny zones had gone. I had it on until 2am, since 5pm. She said that this was a very matte powder and was to be used in oily skin, and even me, with my oily skin had to use very little product and apply it with a big brush.
I've only worn this product today but I'm going to buy it! My skin has felt smooth, clean and without the hateful oils. Happy girl mode on!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* frenchconnection on 2/7/2011 7:31:00 PM more reviews by frenchconnection

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is my HG powder, and it provides a beautiful and natural finish. Please don't be deterred by the garishly-white color! If applied with a quality brush using a light hand, you will achieve wonderful results. I dump a bit out on my bathroom counter and then dip my Trish powder brush into the product. I sweep it on using light strokes. It doesn't settle into pores or look chalky or cakey. It also lasts pretty well on my oily areas. I don't re-powder. I use Clean and Clear blotting sheets to mop up the oil when necessary.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 vivalafat on 2/7/2011 3:44:00 PM more reviews by vivalafat

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I love this powder. It buffs beautifully and is a must have for my photo shoots. I only gave it three stars though because it is A. Extremely expensive and B. I'm not too pleased with the container although I'm uncertain how they could make it better. I won't be buying it again, however because it's 100% silica powder and Coastal Scents sells 100% silica powder for much, much, much cheaper. Sorry MUFE.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BohemianSheila on 2/7/2011 3:23:00 PM more reviews by BohemianSheila

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of those products that if you don't learn how to use it, you won't get it or like it. This product is not supposed be dusted on your face - if you do that you will think it's an overpriced cake mix. If you put too much, you will also have a problem with it showing up in flash photography with a white powdery mess wherever you applied it. But, applied sparingly with a small blending brush, it give the best airbrushed look to your skin. If you're heavy-handed, stay away!!

edit to add: I usually like to keep the tape over sifters and just lift the plastic insert (I hate the mess). I did it to the mini sample I originally got and lost the sifter. Saddest thing ever because you really do need to the sifter to help control the product from getting everywhere. It is so finely milled (which is a good thing, that's what makes it so effective when used correctly) that without the sifter it flies around. So, keep the sifter in, don't lose it, maybe even just poke out half the holes on the sticker - you will like this product so much better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cclovex on 1/30/2011 9:51:00 PM more reviews by cclovex

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I Love my MUFE HD POWDER! It sets my foundation and not only that, it also minimizes those small stubborn pores. Makes my makeup stay put through out the day. I recommend!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SG93 on 1/24/2011 9:15:00 PM more reviews by SG93

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased the MUFE loose powder in 2008 and used it religiously for 6 months. I love the airbrushed effect it gives you and it sets the foundation nicely. The only downside to this is it makes your skin matte. For my skin type I have tried using a very small amount of powder but it still manages to make my face very matte which was fine at the time but now i prefer to have a little bit of shine and glow. The packaging is HORRIBLE! it goes everywhere and its not travel safe. I have heard great things from the mac prep and prime which is packaged a lot better but I haven't tried it.

This didn't break me out and it doesn't change the color of your skin. The only time i use this now is in summer when my face is extra oily and i need something to mattify. Make sure to apply this with a brush instead of a puff because adding just the slightest bit too much can make you look very cakey

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 slobrina17 on 1/24/2011 8:17:00 PM more reviews by slobrina17

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I must start by saying that I thought it was absolutely ridiculous to spend so much money on a powder. However, I needed something to set my NARs Sheer Glow and I was so curious about this product after reading all of the rave reviews.

I didnít want to commit to the full size so I purchased the travel size for half the price. I must say, I will repurchase and I will not bother to look for a less pricey substitution. This powder made my make-up last all day long. It sets very nicely and has a satin not matte finish, leaving skin very natural looking. I am NC42 with fairly normal skin and this did not make me look like a ghost.

For those who are getting bad result from the product, I suspect they may be using too much. Just a few taps on the sifter is all you need. I use a kabuki to apply. I travel often and to keep from wasting product, I keep a cotton ball between the sifter and the lid; that way a bunch of product doesnít end up all over the inside and disappear in a cloud after opening.

If youíre on the fence, I encourage you give this a try.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 xoxokris on 1/24/2011 7:04:00 PM more reviews by xoxokris

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I usually use BE Mineral Veil but after buying MUFE HD foundation, I decided to give this a try. I actually think it makes my makeup look worse and fade faster! I put on very little and I do know how to apply because I switched back to BE and my makeup looked flawless. Don't recommend this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 muffinlove on 1/24/2011 6:32:00 PM more reviews by muffinlove

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I recently wrote a bad review for this but I have changed my mind. The other day at work I looked in the mirror and my face was all oily and my makeup looked like it had disappeared. So I thought since I had this stuff with me I'll give it one more shot. I buffed it all over my oily T-zone and it was like magic! It took away the oiliness and totally refreshed my makeup. It looked like I had just applied my foundation. And my face felt really smooth. It did itch a little bit but I thought it was worth it considering how awesome it looked. Some times makeup is just trial and error.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ryoung001 on 1/18/2011 4:40:00 AM more reviews by ryoung001

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this from Sephora when they had a sample size. If I'm not mistaken it was about $15 for a mini version which I felt would be more than enough as I only bought it to set concealer under my eyes and to be honest I think it makes my dark circles more visible than before. I don't think i would've stuck with it had I paid the full price but I still play with it from time to time in hopes that one day it will cooperate. If any one has any tips in application please feel free to share!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Loose Powders products