Make Up For Ever • HD High Definition Microfinish Powder • Loose Powders

rated 3.7(751 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 muffinlove on 1/24/2011 6:32:00 PM more reviews by muffinlove

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I recently wrote a bad review for this but I have changed my mind. The other day at work I looked in the mirror and my face was all oily and my makeup looked like it had disappeared. So I thought since I had this stuff with me I'll give it one more shot. I buffed it all over my oily T-zone and it was like magic! It took away the oiliness and totally refreshed my makeup. It looked like I had just applied my foundation. And my face felt really smooth. It did itch a little bit but I thought it was worth it considering how awesome it looked. Some times makeup is just trial and error.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ryoung001 on 1/18/2011 4:40:00 AM more reviews by ryoung001

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this from Sephora when they had a sample size. If I'm not mistaken it was about $15 for a mini version which I felt would be more than enough as I only bought it to set concealer under my eyes and to be honest I think it makes my dark circles more visible than before. I don't think i would've stuck with it had I paid the full price but I still play with it from time to time in hopes that one day it will cooperate. If any one has any tips in application please feel free to share!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 cmkelly on 1/11/2011 12:17:00 PM more reviews by cmkelly

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been using my HD powder for about six months. During the work week, I apply my makeup at 7:30am. I'm very oily and by 10:30-11:00 I need to blot. After I apply my makeup, I apply this with a powder puff pressing a good bit into my skin and then I buff off any excess. I definitely get the ghost look until I start getting oily which is usually within an hour. I'm over 45 and I find that it makes my oily skin look on the dry side until I start getting oily. Prior to purchasing this I was using Burt's Bees body powder which is mostly corn starch with a mild honey scent. A few times for fun, I did them side by side and couldn't tell any difference!

I still shopping for a primer and powder that will control oil and not make me look like a ghost in the process.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* camilla8 on 1/10/2011 11:55:00 AM more reviews by camilla8

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I hate saying this, but I LOVE this stuff! I hate saying it because it is so expensive. I got a deluxe sample size of this through Sephora, and it is really the only loose powder that I have come across that keeps me matte all day long. It even seems to keep my foundation on all day, which is the wonderful part...no touchups required! I had tried Mac prep + prime, but IMO this works so much better. I was using ELF HD powder too, but this is much better. Just wish it were not so expensive :( But yes when I run out I will ponder forking over the insane price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* starrysim on 1/6/2011 9:08:00 PM more reviews by starrysim

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Maybe I just haven't found a good way to apply this, but I really can't work with it. All the brushes I've tried (natural hair, synthetic, duo fiber, kabuki, TF Teddy bear hair...) pick up and deposit too much powder, giving a noticeable white cast on my face, and if I try to tap it off the white powder just goes everywhere and makes a mess. In fact, I usually end up breathing it in. It's very different from typical loose powders. I can't even evaluate it honestly because I can't work with it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 clarklovesyou on 1/5/2011 10:36:00 PM more reviews by clarklovesyou

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

FABULOUS! I love this powder. It's so fine that it truly is "invisible" and the silica does a smashing job at imparting a smooth, soft-focus look. It does a great job at keeping oil at bay, and one of the best things about it is that you can apply it over ALL of your makeup (blush, eyeshadow, whatever) because it is transparent. A little goes a loooong way, so even the half size jar will last a long, long time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hesperia on 1/3/2011 5:06:00 PM more reviews by hesperia

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Ok, I know I raved about this when reviewing a foundation or other, so I'm sure people will think someone put a quarter in me and hit the 'replay' button. But I MUST give this powder its own review.


I used this on several fdts., and it always made me look soft-focused, and kept the oilies at bay. But I found that it gives the very best results when used on "emollient" foundations. I tried this on Laura Mercier's new Smooth Cream Foundation, and on Maybelline's new Fit Me. Now let me tell you that when I use either of those fdts. on their own, I am an oil slick from the get go. If I put any other loose powder on them, it takes a little longer for me to "glow": like an hour (rolleyes).


But when I put this little gem on either of the above-mentioned fdts., they last hours AND I don't look cakey, dry, powdery, lined, or tired. I tried it several times and I always got the same excellent result. I blot my T-zone after 3 hours, but more out of habit than real need. Since it's so bloody expensive, I will reserve this powder for creamy foundations, which I think I will be wearing more often as I live in an bone-dry, place, and oil-absorbing fdts., tend to make me look a bit too dry at the end of the day (I think I'll reserve those for summer, which is also dry, here, but very very hot).


This is really a wonderful powder. I strongly recommend it, especially for oily skins.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jennerss on 1/2/2011 4:39:00 PM more reviews by jennerss

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

It is a nice powder, but it doesn't seem to set my foundation for some reason. Maybe it's my skin type, not sure about that yet. But overall this powder mattifies your face quite nicely.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Gill222 on 1/1/2011 3:36:00 PM more reviews by Gill222

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Very nice powder. Super finely milled texture and unlike any other powder I have used. As a comparison to other powders however I just dont see the difference when applied to the face. I guess im just looking for a miracle powder i.e one that does not settle into fine lines - this one does settle into fine lines just like every other I have tried.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cocostar on 12/31/2010 8:29:00 PM more reviews by cocostar

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

For reference I am NC50/NW45. I read reviews by women of color that it looked like flour on their faces. I figured that perhaps they used the wrong brushes or applied too much. I went to Sephora and requested a sample. I applied it almost like the mineral makeup method (swirl and tap) and it worked! I used it over my foundation and it looked immediately polished. I went back to purchase full size and the SAs at Sephora we so excited of my purchase you thought I was purchasing from their personal collection. The price is steep and I usually don't shrug at prices so it will pay for itself many times over. Dark skins sistahs, do not be imitated by the transclent color. With a light hand/right brush, it will work!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Loose Powders products