Make Up For Ever HD High Definition Microfinish Powder

3.8

777 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

100% silica


on 3/15/2011 4:55:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This must be the best invention since mascara!
Since my early 30's I had to stop using powder, as is accentuated the few lines here and there on my dry Nordic skin. Last summer, my beautician recommended the use of loose translucent powder for my wedding, and Wow! Now I use this every day under Make Up Forever HD foundation, and people always comment on how young I look. My daughter (17) borrowed it, (she normally swears to MAC), and it lasted through the whole night partying. It leaves you looking fabulous in real life and on photos. A tip for those who thinks it leaves you looking like a ghost, is to use the special brush for a lot longer than you would think necessary. It will sort of blend with the foundation and your also hide any pores. Top product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 3/15/2011 4:22:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love, love, love this product. I have two :) One for personal use and one for my kit. I think it does work wonders. I do see a difference when I don't use it (I gave it a test,hehe) I use it to set my concealor then put powder on top, and set it again.

I think the people who are saying that it looks "ghostly" with it on, I think you're using a little too much. Try it again...

One thing I would change about this powder is....
A little goes a long way, the snap and go would be sooo much more effective for this product because it ends up spilling to the side and blah blah. But nothing else bad to say :)

Make Up Forever, you have my heart forever.


on 3/14/2011 5:06:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I got the trial size sample of this about 3 months ago at my local Sephora and I am still using it. This stuff lasts forever and its amazing. If you have oily skin like me this will really help because it will make your face matte and take away the shine without looking cakey or like you applied a bunch of makeup on your face. I have heard a lot of reviewers say that it turns your face white and I think they must be using way too much. What I do is I put a very small amount in the lid then swirl, tap and put it on. You put it on kinda how you would mineral makeup. The only thing I hate about this product is the packaging. It doesnt have a sifter and for a while when I had a lot left in the jar, product would get everywhere when I opened the lid so that was a pain. Other than that I really love this. I use it as a setting powder over my foundation, and then also throughout the day to control oil/shine! Will repurchase again.


on 3/10/2011 10:48:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've been using a sample of this for a week and really like it. I find used over my current foundation Graftobian, I get a semi matte, very pretty, soft focus look. I think it makes me look younger too for that reason. I don't find it cakey, even after reapplying, which I've been doing since the sample sized is great for carrying in my mu bag. I have very dry skin mainly, but a shiny t zone. I think this takes the worst of that shine off without making the rest of my face where its dry, suffer for it, meaning some mattifying powders look awful if they get on your drier spots.

I like this a lot and was told by others the ELF powder is a near dupe and I may just try it for the price. I am not sure if I will use this to set and another powder to touch up. This seems so very different from any traditional loose powder I've tried, but for now, quite liking the look of it.


on 3/10/2011 10:42:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

this is my current favorite loose powder. I have tried the ELF version, and while I liked the powder, I absolutely hated the packaging and it was not nearly as finely milled as the MUFE version. That's really what sold me on this one. I don't like the powdery look a lot of loose powders can give, but powder is a necessity for me b/c my skin is so oily. this is like not wearing anything, and is also really great for toning down blush if I've applied too much. It can be expensive, but I usually buy the sample size from sephora, which is only $15, and is also easier to travel with since it's smaller. overall, great product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i loved this product but it brokeme out sooo get colorstay...


on 3/7/2011 12:52:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I DO NOT understand the reviews that this product is getting! This is my HG for setting my foundation, even on bare skin when I'm feeling too oily during the summer. It's a quick and easy way to brush away all the oiliness from my face and ALWAYS sets my foundation wonderfully. It blends everything in and makes it look natural.
In addition, this product NEVER dries out my skin. It doesn't suck up all my moisture, but does the opposite. It takes away all the oil, but still leaves your skin feeling soft.
The price does seem steep for just powder. But honestly, I've had the full size product for over a year, and I've used it everyday and I still have plenty left (a little more than half).
This is my HG, and I've tried imitation, and the ELF HD powder as well. But nothing really compares to this one.


on 3/6/2011 2:56:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Put this powder on then take a pic of your face with an hd camera then tell me how awesome it looks. If you don't believe me, go to youtube & watch gossmakeupartist's (Wayne) video on this awful product. I was so excited to use this but it broke my face out something awful. I've never had a product do that before. MUFE's products are not all they're cracked up to be. Only thing I'd repurchase from them is the eye shadows. This product & the hd primer both get huge fails in my book. Sorry MUFE but your over priced products are terrible. I was hoping I'd fall in love.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/6/2011 12:07:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

Packaging is el crappo - I have considered applying in the nude as it just gets EVERYWHERE in its crazy little, impractical pot, but it makes me look fabulous! It's like looking at yourself after a couple of glasses of Shiraz - soft, blurry, and beer-goggle-esque.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/27/2011 1:19:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this product.

First heard about it through a friend but never gave it much thought. Then I recently came across a gorgeous picture of Kim Kardashian at the People's Choice Awards and read the article where her makeup artist shared the products she used on Kim. One of the products mentioned in the article was this MUFE powder. I went out to Sephora and purchased this product the next day.

I used it for the first time for my birthday outing. One of my biggest complaints about my skin is how oily/shiny i get after only a couple of hours after I put on my makeup. For this night, I used this MUFE HD powder over my regular foundation and went out for the night. 8 hours later, i get home, look in the mirror and my makeup looked FLAWLESS. no shine/no oil. I never touched it up once during the night. this product is a lifesaver.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Product Wars - Episode 10 by fionaman

Recommended for Normal Skin



Top Rated Make Up For Ever Products

image

Kabuki Brush

42 reviews
image

Star Powder

89 reviews
image

Eye shadows

74 reviews
Back to Top