Make Up For Ever HD High Definition Microfinish Powder

3.7

783 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

100% silica


on 3/23/2011 11:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

i love this stuff! yes, it does have a white cast on your face if you are being photographed, but, i do not worry about this everyday! if i were going out or to an event where i knew there would be photos taken of me, i would use something different. for everyday and normal use (i.e. not a super cool photo shoot or event) it works wonders for me! i love that it makes my pores seem smaller and blends in all my makeup and sets everything to a smooth and angelic looking finish..i use it with mufe mat velvet and i have used it with mufe hd and it looks great with both! the ma at sephora used it on me a while back and i got it like a couple months ago and i still have tons left...it doesnt take a lot to get the effects and i got the 15 dollar one (smaller one)! i havent tried many other setting powders so i cant say its better than another one, but it does a great job so i am very pleased with this purchase!



on 3/22/2011 12:54:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Beautiful smooth finish. Love this powder. But if you are going to be in any flash photography, DO NOT use this powder. I'm a makeup artist and I learned the hard way when I went to take a few snapshots of my work. White blotchy spots all over the face. For everyday use, this is great stuff. Use a different translucent powder (Kryolan makes a similar powder or I use MAC MSF in Natural) if you are in pics.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Great setting powder! Keeps my oils at bay and provides a nice even air brushed finish. I think for the size of the powder and the extremely tiny amount you need to achieve results, thirty dollars is a very reasonable price! You only need an amount that is less than half of a pinch to cover the entire face. I didn't find this messy at all. If you are finding this messy, you are using way too much. I just tap a tiny pinch in the cap and swirl a kabuki brush and tap excess off and buff the powder on to my face. No mess.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/21/2011 7:16:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I only say I won't buy this again because E.L.F. has the same thing but it's only $3. Love to use this powder to set my Benefit Erase Paste for my undereye circles. Stays all day and doesn't get cakey or crease. Great stuff, and I would buy again if I hadn't found a dupe.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/19/2011 8:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This stuff is so expensive, but it works so well and lasts forever! For some reason, my love for this stuff has been restored! Every time I use liquid foundation, this and MAC's blot powder are a MUST. This one helps really helps my shine at bay for 3-4 hours (depends on what foundation too). I really like how it creates an airbrushed smooth finished look. I will put for "buying again" but I probably won't for a while because I still have plenty :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/17/2011 4:00:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

So far, I'm pretty impressed by this powder. A little goes a long way, which is great considering how expensive this is. It's very finely milled, and when applied as a setting powder, gives a very soft, smooth appearance to my skin. Pores look smaller, skin tone and texture looks even, and skin looks matte, but not dull. It does have some oil-absorbing properties, but as with any powder, they are not miraculous. This is translucent, so if you're looking for something more opaque, it might not be for you. Comes in a sifter jar, but there is no twisting cover as with LM powders or BM powders, so be careful! Overall, a good powder, even when used with products outside the HD line. I used it with LM mineral SPF, Studio Fix, and Colorstay to test, and it worked nicely with all.

One more thing-- I feel like I should note that to get the best result from this powder, there is a pretty specific application process. Generally, powders are buffed or swiped on, but the HD powder works best when pressed on. It's a tip I've gotten from SA's and some makeup artists, and I actually find it to be true. When swirled on, the HD powder kind of leaves a white cast (ghost face!), and doesn't do it's job properly. When pressed on, it's a whole different story, and you're more likely to get a better result. I usually dust some on a kabuki brush, tap off the excess and press it on my face, working from my t-zone out to the edges. When I'm done, I go over my face once more with a clean, product-less brush for the sake of blending out any uneven areas. Works best for me this way, and made me like this product more : )

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/15/2011 4:55:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This must be the best invention since mascara!
Since my early 30's I had to stop using powder, as is accentuated the few lines here and there on my dry Nordic skin. Last summer, my beautician recommended the use of loose translucent powder for my wedding, and Wow! Now I use this every day under Make Up Forever HD foundation, and people always comment on how young I look. My daughter (17) borrowed it, (she normally swears to MAC), and it lasted through the whole night partying. It leaves you looking fabulous in real life and on photos. A tip for those who thinks it leaves you looking like a ghost, is to use the special brush for a lot longer than you would think necessary. It will sort of blend with the foundation and your also hide any pores. Top product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/15/2011 4:22:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love, love, love this product. I have two :) One for personal use and one for my kit. I think it does work wonders. I do see a difference when I don't use it (I gave it a test,hehe) I use it to set my concealor then put powder on top, and set it again.

I think the people who are saying that it looks "ghostly" with it on, I think you're using a little too much. Try it again...

One thing I would change about this powder is....
A little goes a long way, the snap and go would be sooo much more effective for this product because it ends up spilling to the side and blah blah. But nothing else bad to say :)

Make Up Forever, you have my heart forever.


on 3/14/2011 5:06:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I got the trial size sample of this about 3 months ago at my local Sephora and I am still using it. This stuff lasts forever and its amazing. If you have oily skin like me this will really help because it will make your face matte and take away the shine without looking cakey or like you applied a bunch of makeup on your face. I have heard a lot of reviewers say that it turns your face white and I think they must be using way too much. What I do is I put a very small amount in the lid then swirl, tap and put it on. You put it on kinda how you would mineral makeup. The only thing I hate about this product is the packaging. It doesnt have a sifter and for a while when I had a lot left in the jar, product would get everywhere when I opened the lid so that was a pain. Other than that I really love this. I use it as a setting powder over my foundation, and then also throughout the day to control oil/shine! Will repurchase again.


on 3/10/2011 10:48:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've been using a sample of this for a week and really like it. I find used over my current foundation Graftobian, I get a semi matte, very pretty, soft focus look. I think it makes me look younger too for that reason. I don't find it cakey, even after reapplying, which I've been doing since the sample sized is great for carrying in my mu bag. I have very dry skin mainly, but a shiny t zone. I think this takes the worst of that shine off without making the rest of my face where its dry, suffer for it, meaning some mattifying powders look awful if they get on your drier spots.

I like this a lot and was told by others the ELF powder is a near dupe and I may just try it for the price. I am not sure if I will use this to set and another powder to touch up. This seems so very different from any traditional loose powder I've tried, but for now, quite liking the look of it.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Product Wars - Episode 10 by fionaman

Recommended for Normal Skin



Back to Top