Revlon Nearly Naked Foundation

3.5

467 reviews

59% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 2.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

(Active Ingredients : Octinoxate 3.5%, Titanium Dioxide 1.9%) -------------------- Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Glycerin, PEG-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Boron Nitride, Phenyl Trimethicone, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Niacinamide, Hydrolyzed Oat Flour, Lecithin, Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil, Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Phytosteryl Canola Glycerides, Palmitic Acid, Oleic Acid, Phytosphingosine, Ceramide 6 II, Cholesterol, Linoleic Acid, Ceramide 3, Tocopherol, Ceramide 1, Triolein, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Dimethicone/PEG-10/15 Crosspolymer, Alumina, Silica, Sodium Citrate, Dipropylene Glycol, Laureth-7, Sodium Chloride, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Methoxy Amodimethicone/Silsesquioxane Copolymer, Methicone, Stearic Acid, Xanthan Gum, Carbomer, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Tetrasodium EDTA, Potassium Sorbate, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol +/- (CI 77019/Mica, CI 77491/CI 77492/CI 77499/Iron Oxides, CI 77891/Titanium Dioxide, CI 77497/Zinc Oxide)


on 3/27/2013 9:25:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I didn't think this foundation would work for me because 1. I have oily skin and 2. jojobo oil is an ingredient. I have been using this a few months with zero breakouts and I really love it. It gives my skin a dewy glow without making me oily. I make sure to always set it with a powder since I do have oily skin. The finish is beautiful and natural.



on 3/24/2013 9:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This foundation is just awful. I don't think they understand what pale skin is. The lightest shade is so dark and pink and just horrid. It's cakey, even though it's named "Nearly Naked." Also, this foundation made me break out. I would not purchase this again.


on 3/24/2013 9:34:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've been wearing this foundation every day for about a month. After the first few uses, I started reaching for it exclusively. I wear 2N1 Desert Beige in ELDW and 2NC1 in EL IF, and in Nearly Naked I wear Shell. It's a perfect match. I apply this with my fingers, and then gently press my hands all over my face to warm and blend the foundation into my skin. You can't even tell I'm wearing anything. My skin looks like my skin but more even and smooth. I use L'Oreal's green correcting primer under this because I have rosacea on my cheeks. If I skip the green primer, my skin still looks great, but some of the redness shows through, which I don't like. I usually set this with translucent powder, but it's not necessary. Powder blush glides over this foundation. I am becoming more and more annoyed with pouring this foundation out of the bottle (no pump), but for 10 bucks and a perfect match to my skin color I didn't take anything off for it. I will repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/24/2013 9:33:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Grey

I used to love this foundation, but I fell out of love with it I guess. First off, I'm very fair and this just isn't quite light enough for me. The finish looks lovely and natural/silky when applied but I find that it makes me very oily (something I'm not usually too prone to) and it causes any powder to later cake up a little bit. I imagine that this would be a lot better for drier skinned ladies because it looked pretty great throughout the day on my drier forehead (and only my forehead)! The price is a bit high for a DS foundation, about 14 bucks at my local Walmart, and the packaging causes a lot of product to get stuck up in the lid if you're not careful. I probably won't repurchase, but who knows, maybe I'll fall in love with it again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/24/2013 9:06:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I am fair-skinned and I have acne prone skin. I have to be really careful with what I use on my skin, because I do break out so easily. Without knowing the ingredients of this product I purchased it in the color 120 vanilla, which was a pretty good match. I liked it, but it was a lot heavier than I thought. It gives light/medium coverage. I did like the finish of it, it has a natural finish. At first I did like it, and the coverage it gave. However, I found out that this foundation has SODIUM CHLORIDE in it which is a major acne-causing ingredient. So it was the cause of my break outs. I threw it away. Too bad they can't take that ingredient out, because otherwise I would of really liked it.


on 3/24/2013 10:47:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My first review!

I have depended on the reviews here for years so I thought it's about time I join in and help.

I bought this foundation because I fell in love with Urban Decay's Naked Skin Foundation in the shade 3.5 and I heard this was a decent alternative. I watched YouTube videos, read reviews, and finally bought it for around $5 at Target with coupons. It does get a "Best Products" rating at Paula's Choice as well.

I picked up the shade 150 Nude based on the Revlon website recommendation. I have black hair, fair skin that leans dry, face full of freckles, and cool undertones (I have visible blue veins but I DO tan easily so probably more of a neutral to cool).

I am always looking for something that is very natural so my freckles can show but that is also buildable so that I can cover some minor redness and slight acne scarring on the sides of my cheeks. I basically wanted a step up from my LM tinted moisturizer (which does not have broad spectrum SPF). This did a really good job. It lasts, looks really natural, is buildable, has a great SPF (very important to me and the UD foundation does not have SPF). It does look better if you use some kind of primer or serum underneath. I have applied it in many ways: fingers, foundation brush, stippling, sponge. I like to start by using my fingers so that the first layer is as sheer as possible but then I go over the sides of my cheeks with the sponge for extra coverage that isn't detectable. It really does last and works well with anything that I put on top of it.

I think that this Revlon foundation is really great for the money and I will definitely use up this bottle. Still, I find myself longing for that UD Naked Skin in shade 3.5 because nothing else has matched me as well as that. However, with the UD Naked Skin I'd have to use more sunscreen underneath and that might change the performance and color. If anyone knows of an exact match for that UD Naked Skin in 3.5 please let me know!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/23/2013 7:53:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this product basically on a whim because i needed a new foundation and also because of all the amazing things ive heard about this product. First off the first time i bought it i got it in nude, but i had to return it and get a new one because it was too pink and i have yellow undertones, so i got the Medium beige instead. First off the color was a little too tan for me but I decided that im not gonna return this again and I just blend it in real good. I put the maybelline matte powder and omg it is so good. The foundation stayed on so well and it has light to med coverage which i like because it feels like your wearing nothing i also have oily and acne prone skin and this doesnt break me out and i only had to blot my face ONCE...this is such an amazing product especially for $8!


Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this foundation. its very light weight and blends easily. the only thing i don't like is that it does not have a pump.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/23/2013 5:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Green

I've been using this foundation for longer than I should I suppose. I guess I really wanted to like it. But....I don't.
COLOR: I have this in 110 Ivory which is too pink/light for me but the next step up is too yellow/dark. It's a small selection.
APPLICATION: It doesn't really buff or sink into the skin. The coverage is more of a medium, which is fine, but it does have a mask-like quality. I tried a few methods of application but they all rendered the same results. Too much work for a "natural" foundation.
FINISH: The immediate finish looks dewey and feels sticky. After it settles it looks more like a semi-matte. After a few hours It begins to separate and looks...gross.
As with any foundation, I think it's a personal trial and error. It just didn't work for me.


on 3/21/2013 1:49:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

First off, I thought that this product was going to be along the same lines as MAC's Face and Body (which really does provide 'nearly naked' coverage), but it's not. It's more pigmented and slightly thicker. So for some people, that might be a plus, but that wasn't quite what I was looking for in something touted as 'Nearly Naked'.

It has light/medium coverage, and it covered most of my acne scars well, which surprised me in a good way. But everything else kind of goes downhill after that. For some reason, this foundation just never sets on me. I have tried it with/without primer, with/without loose translucent powder, with/without pressed translucent powder and in all cases, I've been left with a wet, sticky finish (which is not a good feeling). So at first, I thought I was just using too much product but nope, even with a thin layer, I'm left with this wet finish (it's more oily than dewy -- and that's freshly applied!). As a result, this foundation barely lasts on my oily-as-heck skin. Furthermore, as someone else mentioned, it clings to dry patches. So not only is it sticky and wet, it still somehow manages to be drying as well, leaving behind a hot mess of clogged pores and a very unhappy me.

In conclusion, this foundation would perhaps be most suitable for those people who don't actually need foundation in the first place -- which defeats its entire purpose. I am unbelievably disappointed.


Back to Top