Maybelline • Dream Matte Mousse • Foundations

rated 3.0(3188 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Chrisskins on 8/2/2004 8:00:00 PM more reviews by Chrisskins

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I admit it--I am a foundation snob. Bought on a lark at CVS-4.99. ALL DAY BEAUTFUL FINISH. And I am an oil-producing force of nature in the summer. Get this stuff, apply with a foundation brush and you are an angel walking the earth for 8 hours plus.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 luc10 on 8/2/2004 9:00:00 AM more reviews by luc10

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I should hate this product for 2 reasons: 1)it's in a jar, and 2)it;s from the drugstore (and ALL drugstore foundations, and some high-rnd ones, turn orange on me). Now, the truth is, I love this!! Usually I have to wash my face during the day and reapply my base if I'm going out somewhere that evening, simply b/c my face could probably take the place of Saudi Arabia in the oil business. :) Seriously, this stuff kept my face matte and very pretty throughout the day and evening. This definitely gives you a soft matte finish with a hint of a glow. The shde Porcelain ivory looked nightmarish in the jar, but, with lots of blending, smoothed down to a very pretty neautral color on my face. All in all, this is an awesome product and I'mm definitely be repurchasing! Thanks MUA for all the wonderful reviews, b/c I never would've tried this if not for those!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SuzyCutie on 8/2/2004 6:49:00 AM more reviews by SuzyCutie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

The only misgiving I have about this is the container-I dip my fdn brush in it to apply it on my skin;it makes me feel a bit more sanitary.The coverage is perfect-it feels great on and blends seamlessly.I picked Nude-I'm FFF(NC20ish,Stila B,Becca banana).The color is yellow based enough for me which was a concern as a lot of drugstore foundations tend to be too pinkish.It holds up well in heat/humidity and doesn't slide off my skin or make me a grease pit.My summer skin is far more oily than in other months,so I'd say I'm combination to the nth degree right now.In winter this may require a lot of moisture underneath to make it work but for now it works well.I got mine for 2 USD and change-40% off at Rite Aid and I had a $3 of coupon,so even if this doesn't perform as well later as it does now,I haven't lost much:).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lippyloo on 8/2/2004 6:44:00 AM more reviews by Lippyloo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

ACNE-PRONE GALS BEWARE! I am SO disappointed that this product didn't work out for me; I loved the texture and powdery feel and the way it seemed to disappear into my skin. However, after two days' use my skin erupted into huge, inflamed, cystic zits, and the Dream Matte was in the trash as the only possible culprit. This product is fragranced and there's nothing on the label about its being non-comedogenic or hypoallergenic. I very seldom have an allergic reaction to a product, but this made my face itchy and painful after 36 hours.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Angela4508 on 8/1/2004 6:21:00 PM more reviews by Angela4508

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Grey   Eyes: Blue    

I gave this a couple of tries and I have to say I like it. I am a PPP and I chose Light 2/Classic Ivory. I was afraid it would be too yellow at first but it blended in nicely. I do like the matte finish and the soft feel when you but it on. I can use my fingers or the prescriptives foundation brush and it works just find. I am going to have to use the brush when I get down to the bottom of the jar for this. That is the only thing I really don't like about it is the glass jar. I'm oily and still have to blot with this occasionally but its not bad. Probably won't be able to wear in the winter because it will show any flakiness you have

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Glossaholic on 8/1/2004 5:52:00 PM more reviews by Glossaholic

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Oh my! This is a WONDERFUL product! I read the reviews and had to try it for myself. I am a PPP, NW20, so I chose one of the lightest shades, Classic Ivory Light #2. The texture of this IS very mousse-like, and it spreads so nicely with flawless medium coverage. Just terrific! I didn't even need powder to finish, as the look was just perfect. I highly recommend trying this. I paid $4.99 on sale this past week at CVS. Unbelievable!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* vanity68 on 8/1/2004 5:20:00 PM more reviews by vanity68

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like this foundation and it really keeps my face shine free for hours. I do need a primer first because I have flakes sometimes and it will show...but overall..it covers well and doesn't break me out. I use both the ivory and warm beige..you only need a dab cause it blends really well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shanidy on 8/1/2004 3:40:00 PM more reviews by shanidy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly   Eyes: Blue    

Ok...add me to the list of fans for this new product. I grabbed it on sale at Target last week and have been using it for 4 days now. I have normal, blemish free skin with a touch of pink to my cheeks ( Mom gave me great skin, but the roseacea starts early) This foundation is perfect...I apply with a sponge or a brush and get perfect coverage. The foundation seems to melt into my skin and gives me a flawless,even matte finish! This takes my nice skin and makes it perfect. I agree with other reviewers that have said it takes a minute for this to look good. I let it set for a few minutes before placing anything on top of it. Great product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ladybug000 on 8/1/2004 2:03:00 PM more reviews by ladybug000

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

After seeing an add at Target for $5.99 I thought I would give this new Dream Matte Mousse foundation a try. Glad I did as I like it very much. I bought Natural Ivory Light #3 hoping that it would not be to dark for my medium fair skin tone. It look a bit to dark in the jar but all of the other colors seems to be way to pink or yellow in the light selections. This color turned out to be perfect and looks very natural on my skin. I have good skin to begin with but this foundation evened out the skin tone very nicely. I am only wearing this under my eyes, on my eyelids and on my nose as I prefer the more dewey look on my cheeks. No need to wear undereye conceler with this product either (at least for me that would be way to much product under the eyes). This little jar will last a long time as only a very small amount is needed. I like the consistancy and the finish of this product and it blends very nicely with no lines.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* catlike on 7/31/2004 10:20:00 AM more reviews by catlike

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

After spotting this on sale in the CVS ad for $4.99, I came here to look it up and saw some good words. I purchased the nude shade, which is very yellow (a good thing for me). The coverage is flawless and holds up well with my oily skin. At first, it does have an unreal look to it (but that happens a lot with matte foundations, I've found), but it settles and fixes in a few minutes and looks much better. I'm seeing some girls having problems with breaking out after continued use, so I'm going to keep an eye out for that and report my findings.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products