Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse

3.0

3291 reviews

48% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Squalane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Phenoxyethanol, Phenyltrimethicone, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Methylparaben, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Aluminum Hydroxide, Silica, BHT, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain ( /-):, CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77163 (Bismuth Oxychloride), Mica


on 9/30/2004 10:39:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was really hoping to like this foundation, but it didn't work for me. I need coverage, this goes on too sheer and does not build up. My skin is dry, this accented every dry area even though I had moisturized my skin before using. Lastly, I felt that it sat on the skin, rather than became a part of it...If you have dry skin and need fuller coverage, this is not for you.



on 9/30/2004 9:10:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I am truly impressed with this product, which is surprising because I usually only use much more expensive makeups. However, I have NEVER seen a foundation go on this smooth, I mean this stuff glides like butter. Not only that, it looks totally smooth... no cakeynesss. The only thing is, I don't think the staying power is totally up to par, but I have yet to find a foundation that has enough staying power for my PPP oily skin. So overall, very good product!


on 9/29/2004 6:08:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this stuff. It has a lovely matte finish and it applies very smoothly. Of course, I have extremely oily skin, so I don't imagine that a person with dry skin would have the same experience, but I don't know. Goodbye Lancome foundation. I'm gonna have to buy tons of this though, because Maybelline drops products as often as I buy lipgloss.


on 9/28/2004 10:07:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I gave this 3 lippies, because I think the problem, is that I have not found which one is my color.The problem with low end brands, is that there are no testers...or only one tester,in one color. I like the easy application. I am tired of brushes, and sponges. The faster the better, for me...but the color I bought just didn't work for me.I wont rule it out, until I find my color, and then I will decide.


on 9/28/2004 2:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I was totally afraid to try this one because I'm quite fair and usually have a hard time finding products for my complexion, but Maybelline has rarely let me down out of the drugstore brand stuff I've tried so I gave it a whirl and so far I love it.Not to heavy, pretty blendable, the color (light#1) works well..I could see how it wouldn't be for everybody though.


on 9/28/2004 10:11:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I'm always on a quest for the perfect foundation and I think I may have come close w/Maybelline's Dream Matte Mousse. First, the positives:

I love the way it feels on my skin - like I'm wearing nothing! Very light, clean texture.

The finish is great - it doesn't make my combo/oily skin look like a death mask while it mattifies.

Coverage is decent, too. It makes my skin tone look even and doesn't settle in to my pores. Yay!

Now, for the negatives:

No sunscreen - booooo!

I'm not crazy about the packaging. I don't think repeatedly dipping my fingers in to the jar will keep the product very sanitary. It should have come in a squeeze-tube to make application easier.

Shade selection could be better.

Obviously it's not the perfect foundation for me, but it's better than most drugstore foundations I've tried. I'll probably repurchase when I finish it.


on 9/28/2004 1:50:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Problem #1 - Not enough shades for women of color. Compared to the 6 other ivory/beige tones, I only had 3 to choose from.

I should have listened to myself then.

I ended up picking up the darkest shade Cocoa 3 because the other two shades were too light. The the mousse formula idea is cool but this thing turned orange/red on me. Good thing I tested it before I wore it outside because it looked bad. Real bad. It looked like I had a mask on and I barely put any on. I believe that if I mixed two of the 3 shades I could have gotten a better shade but why should I do that? The packaging isn't so bad as some make it seem as I always use a clean sponge to dip into my jar but I can see where the problems lie.

Good idea, bad acting on it Maybelline.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/27/2004 1:17:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I liked the finish, and how this made my oily skin look matte.....for about an hour. Then it seemed to slide around on my face and not stay too well. I've tried with many different powders, and have not found the winning combination yet, however I am not discardign it completely...I will use it for special occasions like out to dinner when I don't need my makeup to last through the entire day. So in short, a nice product, but does not last well on very oily skin.


on 9/27/2004 12:25:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Luv this foundation sooo much!! such great texture, MAKES MY PORES SEEM SMALLER!!! doesn't even look like i'm wearing foundation. and i don't even need concealer or powder for blemishes!! yay!


on 9/27/2004 12:01:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Curly, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is now my HG! I'm on my 2nd jar. I use the lightest shade, porcelain ivory. The coverage is matte and moderate for me. This gives me the perfect complexion and doesn't change throughout the day! I will continue to stock up on this product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top