Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse

3.0

3268 reviews

48% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Squalane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Phenoxyethanol, Phenyltrimethicone, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Methylparaben, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Aluminum Hydroxide, Silica, BHT, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain ( /-):, CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77163 (Bismuth Oxychloride), Mica


on 9/17/2004 10:18:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

HEY, OILY GIRLS!!!! GIVE THIS ONE A TRY!!!!! I'm pretty happy with this foundation. NOTE: It took me a couple of days to get the application down just right. Now I can't live without it! I think I like L'Oreal Cashmere Perfect slightly more (I like the packaging better and it gives a little more coverage)...but this may be the perfect summer foundation.



on 9/16/2004 9:47:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Ok, I admit I can be a drugstore snob and had serious reservations about trying this, I thought it would be real cheap and not work at all. But everyone on the boards was so excited about this and since I can no longer afford my HG I figured I'd try. Well, I gotta say I really like it! It covers nicely and lasts all day, my HG didn't even last as long. And it does seem to cut down on oil. I bought Natural Cream and I'm an NC20 in MAC and it matches pretty well, maybe a tad too dark, but the next lightest color was too light. The only thing I don't like about it is that it does seem to settle into lines and if you have a big blemish it really accentuates it. It makes the redness go away, which is nice but it's still pretty noticeable. I'm ok with that since I usually don't break out at all but I had particurally bad PMS for some reason so it was not so good. Otherwise, I liked it for the amount of $$ I paid ($6.99). If I had the money for my HG (BE mineral found. BTW) I would still get that but it's nice to know there's inexpensive alternatives.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/16/2004 8:01:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I was dying to try this product so when it came on sale I jumped on it. I tried it first on may hand and it left an obvious make-up look to it even though the color matched well. On my face I must say it felt very nice going on but sunk into my pores and made them really stand out. I also broke out with blackheads on my cheeks and chin. I was disappointed with this and will stick with covergirl trublend until I find something better :)


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

OMG! I think I've just found my HG foundation. No fricken way...
I've been having problems with foundations. TOo oily for my skin, to drying for my skin, then oily later, and I NEVER find a color that matches. My friend had that dream matte mouse stuff from maybelline and she always looks beautiful. I decided to waste more money, and bought it in Caramel which was one color darker than hers. AND IT MATCHED! And if feeeels awesome. It's so smooth. I don't have to use a powder anymore, and it's so easy and covers so well and. OMG I LOVE IT!!! I'm so happy. :) No more foundation mixing. It's so light. :) It also controls oil. The packaging is great and compact. I'll definately keep buying as long as it doesn't turn on me! :P


on 9/13/2004 3:24:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really like this makeup. I have the warm nude color, and I'm NC25. This is the first foundation I have ever worn where I didn't feel the need to put powder on over it. That is huge. I've tried lots of "3-in-1" makeups even that I still felt would look better with a dusting of loose powder. But this makeup doesn't always need it. The texture and color blend into my skin beautifully. I apply it with my fingertips and then blend it with a sponge.
I'm surprised I like this as much as I do. It is definately worth a try...for $8 it can't be beat.


on 9/13/2004 1:37:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This foundation is great for a drugstore product. Pros: It goes on very sheer, yet does a fantastic job evening out redness and smoothing overall skin tone. The texture is amazing and soft.

Cons: Emphasizes any flakiness of the face (I need to use a good exfoliator beforehand). Color range could use some improvement. Matte finish isn't long lasting and makes me look a bit flat.

Overall, I like something a bit more dewy. Probably wouldn't repurchase unless they come out with new shades. But a good product for the price.


on 9/12/2004 7:40:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

wow, I have to say this is a truly unique foundation! I bought it in 1Light, Porcelain Ivory or something like that...anywho, I can't believe how incredibly lightweight this foundation is! I know it's a mousse and all but sheesh! I used a foundation brush to apply and I felt like absolutely nothing was going on my face. But it really covered well! Totally covers redness, had to dab a bit extra over blemishes. A small bit goes a loooooong way. I can see this jar lasting a very long time. It is very matte, almost a tad drying. It emphasized some flaky spots I have, but that was expected. Color was actually great too, not to pasty or dark for my difficult skintone. Will definitely repurchase. **update 1/22/05** this foundation has been terrible about caking up during the day and made me look so flaky, so I have discontinued use of it.


on 9/11/2004 7:18:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I love this foundation. I am a PPP & typically use the lightest foundation in every line. I also have combination skin with an oily tee zone so I like a foundation that helps control the shine on my face. This was no exception. I chose #1 in the light color choices and it was a perfect match for my skin. You need very little of this product to get good coverage. The texture is silky smooth and glides onto your skin blending well and as mentioned offering excellent coverage. I did notice that it stuck in my pores (even with a foundation primer) after inital application but after it settled the foundation in the pores wasn't visible. After a minimum of 12 hours this foundation was still matte with no oily break through. I expereinced no breakouts. Typically I don't care for the Maybelline line but this was a nice surprise. I will definitely continue to use and if it is still available (you can never tell the way products are discontinued these days) I will definitely purchase again.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/11/2004 11:53:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I am actually really impressed with this! I thought the mousse texture was intriguing--not a cream, not a powder, but a perfect in-between. I wasn't really sure about which shade I would be, and I got Light 4. When I opened the jar it looked a little dark/scary/orangey to me, but when I applied it to my skin it just seemed to melt right in. It just made my skin look perfect, without looking made up. And isn't that the point of foundation??

I had been planning to try Linda Cantello's Forget Foundation but now that I've found this, I'll pass on that.

So far I haven't had any breakouts from this product and I'm keeping my fingers crossed.

I would absolutely buy this product again! If you give this a try, I think that you too will be pleased with the results.


on 9/11/2004 3:04:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Very Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Just when I thought I would never get over the discontinuation of my beloved L'Oreal Cover Expert concealer and Nivea TM, I ran across this product. My initial interest stemmed solely from the fact that the foundation was a mousse formula. I managed to find what I thought was an accurate color match (Pure Beige), and was pleasantly surprised to find that the color blended perfectly and looked completely natural. I've noticed that when I first apply this, my skin almost looks a little too flawless and perfect - sort of pristine in an odd, airbrushed manner. I'd never complain about perfect looking skin, but those initial couple of minutes don't look as natural as you'd expect perfect skin to look!
Fortunately, it settles quickly, and my skin still looks flawless, with the difference being that it looks natural at the same time. I've been using this for a couple of months now, and my dry, sensitive skin is in great shape, which I'm really thankful for. The absolute best thing about this amazing foundation, besides the dreamy, whipped consistency (which feels heavenly to the touch and totally creamy and soft when applied), is the fact that it's made my makeup routine so much quicker. I don't need concealer at all anymore, because this covers up my circles and blotches so effectively. It lasts the entire day without budging.
It might be wise to apply this over a moisturizer, particularly if your skin is on the dry side. It's easier to blend in this way, and it also seems to help prevent some mild pilling. It's been a while since I've raved about anything, so this gets all the raves I've been storing up for months! Coming from someone who's never worn foundation with any regularity, that's saying a whole lot.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

MAYBELLINE Dream Matte Mousse foundation review [has Cancer producing ingredient] by LifeThoughtsCamera



Back to Top