Maybelline • Dream Matte Mousse • Foundations

rated 3.1(3228 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 PeroxideGloss on 8/23/2004 10:06:00 PM more reviews by PeroxideGloss

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have this in the lightest shade they make and it passes my test for best drugstore foundation ever. The tone is right, and the texture is absolutely wonderful. It feels like I'm wearing nothing, but it gives me flawless, even, matte, powdery smooth skin. I had sampled Bed Heads Glamma Whipped (the product on which this was based) but was not impressed with the sheer coverage - this however covered every last flaw. I'll be sticking to this base for a looooong time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 terrian on 8/23/2004 11:17:00 AM more reviews by terrian

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I waited until after 3 weeks of daily use to review Dream Matte.
My skin is combo with large pores and heavy oil in the t-zone. I've never had another foundation apply as easily, look as heavenly, and stay on as well, and I've tried many high-end ones including Chantecaille and Lancome.

One thing I learned early - it does NOT sit well on primers, it slid right off my EL Idealist. That may sound like a bad thing but in fact Dream Matte looks and stays better w/o primer that other foundations do with primer. I apply a light layer of moisturizing sun screen, let it sit for 15 mins or so, then apply the DM. Incredibly my oily zone behaves well with this treatment, only needs minor touch-ups during my long work-day in hot humid Texas.
I can't believe something so wonderful is priced so reasonably.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shulamith on 8/22/2004 11:07:00 PM more reviews by Shulamith

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have dry skin and am very pleased with this foundation. It's delightful to put on and you can place it on just the spots where you need coverage. I have the lightest shade, which is a little dark but a decent match. After using this, I find I can't stand liquid foundations anymore. Some have criticized the packaging, but you can get every last dab of foundation out of the jar, which is not the case with metered pumps.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 doveanunu on 8/22/2004 9:38:00 PM more reviews by doveanunu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really love this foundation. It gives good coverage and oil control. I chose the lightest color available. However, I would not recommend this to someone with dry skin. I suspect that it would highlight dry spots.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 WontPayRetail23 on 8/21/2004 3:38:00 PM more reviews by WontPayRetail23

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I used to never wear foundation, only powder. I gave this a try because it looked easy to use and all the new raves about it. I apply it with a foundation brush. I really love it. I almost bought the wrong shade (I'm an NC25) so don't buy w/o trying the testers! Classic Ivory #2 works good for my coloring. I wish this wasn't in a glass jar because it makes the packaging really heavy. But thats no big deal. Wish this had SPF in it that would really make it a great product. Definately give this a try!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BlitzedBeauty on 8/20/2004 6:12:00 PM more reviews by BlitzedBeauty

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I really didn't like this stuff. The only thing I thought was cool about it was the consistency...Other than that it didn't give good coverage and the packageing sucks because your putting your fingers in there every day so bacteria is deffenantly going to be in there...definantly wouldn't buy again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 marinablue on 8/20/2004 2:32:00 PM more reviews by marinablue

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Is it just me? I bought 4 different shades of this and every single shade looks exactly the same-orangy tan. Ugly. I threw them all out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 amberlily on 8/20/2004 10:40:00 AM more reviews by amberlily

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This foundation is EXCELLENT! I bought it on a whim after seeing the commercials and reading about it on icompact. It was difficult figuring out which shade to buy since there were no testers and the packaging makes it difficult to see the exact shade inside. However, I lucked out by picking the 2nd lightest shade, Classic Ivory. (I wear Jane Stay Calm Buffy or Almay Kinetin in Buff). It looks darker & orangey in the jar, but looks lighter when applied. I have combo skin with some breakouts on my forehead & chin and redness on my sensitive cheeks, so finding a foundation with good coverage is important to me. This one fits the bill! It offers excellent coverage that feels totally weightless! It offers excellent yet natural coverage and I don't even need to apply powder afterwards. And it blends so nicely...almost like it melds & becomes one with my skin. I don't have a problem with the jar packaging, since I use a sponge to apply it, so I don't stick my fingers into the pot. Also, I love that it takes so little to cover so much! When you first try this foundation, make sure to only take a tiny amount and then you can add more from there if needed. That little jar will last me months, so it's also good for the budget. :)

EDIT - This accentuates any dry patch I might have so I stopped using it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 emmadilemma on 8/20/2004 12:53:00 AM more reviews by emmadilemma

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this foundation, i feel like it really evens out my skin tone and gives good coverage, and it also makes the skin on my face feel so smooth after i put it on! i wish i didn't have to dip my finger in it to apply it, but that's life.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 TXIRISH on 8/19/2004 3:51:00 PM more reviews by TXIRISH

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

After hearing many raves about this foundation I had to try it for myself. Now I usually don't buy drugstore foundation because I generally don't buy any foundation that hasn't been tested and tried out on my skin, so I wasn't too sure about which color to choose. I picked #3 Natural Ivory, which ended up being a touch too dark, but blended well enough w the aid of my SK Foundation brush (love this) to make it not so noticable. While I like it's light-weight feel and the fact that it doesnt need to be set nor touched up with powder (as it stays matte all day on me), I find it highlights both my pores and dry areas on my cheeks. Quite honestly I don't know who this foundation could work for other than someone with small pores and oily skin, which I'm sure is quite rare.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products