Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse

3.1

3262 reviews

48% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Squalane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Phenoxyethanol, Phenyltrimethicone, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Methylparaben, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Aluminum Hydroxide, Silica, BHT, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain ( /-):, CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77163 (Bismuth Oxychloride), Mica


on 9/12/2004 7:40:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

wow, I have to say this is a truly unique foundation! I bought it in 1Light, Porcelain Ivory or something like that...anywho, I can't believe how incredibly lightweight this foundation is! I know it's a mousse and all but sheesh! I used a foundation brush to apply and I felt like absolutely nothing was going on my face. But it really covered well! Totally covers redness, had to dab a bit extra over blemishes. A small bit goes a loooooong way. I can see this jar lasting a very long time. It is very matte, almost a tad drying. It emphasized some flaky spots I have, but that was expected. Color was actually great too, not to pasty or dark for my difficult skintone. Will definitely repurchase. **update 1/22/05** this foundation has been terrible about caking up during the day and made me look so flaky, so I have discontinued use of it.



on 9/11/2004 7:18:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I love this foundation. I am a PPP & typically use the lightest foundation in every line. I also have combination skin with an oily tee zone so I like a foundation that helps control the shine on my face. This was no exception. I chose #1 in the light color choices and it was a perfect match for my skin. You need very little of this product to get good coverage. The texture is silky smooth and glides onto your skin blending well and as mentioned offering excellent coverage. I did notice that it stuck in my pores (even with a foundation primer) after inital application but after it settled the foundation in the pores wasn't visible. After a minimum of 12 hours this foundation was still matte with no oily break through. I expereinced no breakouts. Typically I don't care for the Maybelline line but this was a nice surprise. I will definitely continue to use and if it is still available (you can never tell the way products are discontinued these days) I will definitely purchase again.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/11/2004 11:53:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I am actually really impressed with this! I thought the mousse texture was intriguing--not a cream, not a powder, but a perfect in-between. I wasn't really sure about which shade I would be, and I got Light 4. When I opened the jar it looked a little dark/scary/orangey to me, but when I applied it to my skin it just seemed to melt right in. It just made my skin look perfect, without looking made up. And isn't that the point of foundation??

I had been planning to try Linda Cantello's Forget Foundation but now that I've found this, I'll pass on that.

So far I haven't had any breakouts from this product and I'm keeping my fingers crossed.

I would absolutely buy this product again! If you give this a try, I think that you too will be pleased with the results.


on 9/11/2004 3:04:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Very Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Just when I thought I would never get over the discontinuation of my beloved L'Oreal Cover Expert concealer and Nivea TM, I ran across this product. My initial interest stemmed solely from the fact that the foundation was a mousse formula. I managed to find what I thought was an accurate color match (Pure Beige), and was pleasantly surprised to find that the color blended perfectly and looked completely natural. I've noticed that when I first apply this, my skin almost looks a little too flawless and perfect - sort of pristine in an odd, airbrushed manner. I'd never complain about perfect looking skin, but those initial couple of minutes don't look as natural as you'd expect perfect skin to look!
Fortunately, it settles quickly, and my skin still looks flawless, with the difference being that it looks natural at the same time. I've been using this for a couple of months now, and my dry, sensitive skin is in great shape, which I'm really thankful for. The absolute best thing about this amazing foundation, besides the dreamy, whipped consistency (which feels heavenly to the touch and totally creamy and soft when applied), is the fact that it's made my makeup routine so much quicker. I don't need concealer at all anymore, because this covers up my circles and blotches so effectively. It lasts the entire day without budging.
It might be wise to apply this over a moisturizer, particularly if your skin is on the dry side. It's easier to blend in this way, and it also seems to help prevent some mild pilling. It's been a while since I've raved about anything, so this gets all the raves I've been storing up for months! Coming from someone who's never worn foundation with any regularity, that's saying a whole lot.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/9/2004 1:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am on the fence with this one. I like the coverage and blendability of this foundation, but I don't really like the "feel" of it--it feels somewhat greasy when you apply it. I don't know if it's non-comedogenic or non-acnegenic, but it doesn't "feel" like it is.
I haven't really given this a fair trial yet, so I will update when I can detect more results (breaking out, staying on, etc...).


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this after I got cashmere perfection by L'Oreal, just as a comparison (that and I'm addicted to makeup). The coverage of this mousse foundation is heavier than L'Oreal and I couldn't really find a great color match either. Don't like the packaging as much because it's a pain to dive into the little pot with long nails and also not so sanitary. It does keep the face Matte though (as well as L'Oreal IMO). If you are looking for a better coverage, this would be perfect.


on 9/8/2004 1:17:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This was an impulse buy while i was wandering around the drugstore this weekend, trying to beat the heat and enjoying the ac! i have very oily skin, and my HG foundation for years has been Mac stuido fix NC 30- so i thought i'd mix it up and try this- i got Medium 3 and it is a perfect match for my face and neck. i love the light whipped texture of this product, the coverage is great not like a mask, but evens me out- the finish is powdery light and hours later i am still not a greasy mess (that is a good thing) - i would recommend this foundation, as it is a new twist on texture from a powder cake, and has not caused any breakout problems on my skin. no scent, and a little bit goes a long way on my face, so i see this pot lasting a while (not sure if my skin will match by the time i'm out of this).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/7/2004 12:15:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

For a drugstore foundation, this is pretty decent. It's certainly not my HG but I'm guessing the problems I have with it - it is a little TOO matte on me and makes me look embalmed - are mostly basic skin type compatability issues. My friend who has horrible acne scars has begun wearing this and she really likes it. For me, I prefer something a little more sheer and with a dewier finish. I got this in Medium 1 which is an okay match for my NC30-35 skin, but it's still a bit pink-toned for me. I wear this at night to the gym and it's fine for that but for regular wear, no.


on 9/5/2004 5:45:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

okay, I am the first to say that other than revlon skinlights, I am not a big fan of drug store foundations. I was introducted to this product by a makeup artist who works for maybelline new york and I was pleasantly surprised by it.

If it looks foundation on the skin, then you are probably starting with too much. The maybelline artist applies this foundation with a big fluffy powder brush, yes a powder brush and it goes on like an airbrush foundation. It didn't settle in the pores ro anything. I haven't tried it with a foundation brush, but i have tried it with a fluffy powder brush and I LOVE how this foundation looks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this foundation. It blends perfectly and is so easy to blend. The coverage is enough to cover my acne and redness, and while the staying power cannot compare to my previous foundation, Revlon ColorStay, this foundation is *much* more comfortable and light as air! Finally, Maybelline hits it right in the foundation department.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

MAYBELLINE Dream Matte Mousse foundation review [has Cancer producing ingredient] by LifeThoughtsCamera



Back to Top