Maybelline • Dream Matte Mousse • Foundations

rated 3.1(3232 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* carinnemj on 8/24/2004 10:49:00 PM more reviews by carinnemj

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Okay, I'm admittedly a bit of a foundation snob, but this is an amazing product, even compared with all my high-end stuff! Wonderful and unusual Cool Whip texture, though it's easy to use more than you need -- experiment with amounts and blending to figure out how little you really have to use, and you'll extend the life of this little glass jar (which holds .64 oz of product). I'm amazed at how well it covers even serious blotchiness and blemishes, and the matte finish lasts all day!
Oh, and a word to the sale-savvy: Check stores for discounts and displays for coupons -- I got mine for $3.00 at CVS, which was such a good deal I went back and stocked up...sorry to any Natural Ivory girls in the DC area, 'cause I bought them all! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dazee on 8/24/2004 8:24:00 PM more reviews by dazee

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

After so much fuss over this, I finally went to get one and see for myself! I like the format, and the small jar looks like it wouldn't hold much product, but it's more than enough to last a long time, as you don't need much. I like the color I picked (#2) I love the way it feels, very light and whipped. It feels light on your skin as well. It has decent coverage. The down side for me was the way it felt like it was so dry, and didn't want to blend well on my skin. I have combo skin, and by mid-day my nose was shining like the north star. The coverage had worn off in my dryer cheek area. I need a product to last longer than this did on me. I know alot of people really love this, and I wanted to love it, but I will stick with my hg EL foundation for now!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Beachlover3 on 8/24/2004 8:11:00 PM more reviews by Beachlover3

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This foundation is wonderful. It gives a perfect finish that does not look dry. It blends super easily, because of the texture of the product, and I love the jar! I wish it had SPF but that is ok. I got the lightest color and it looked too dark in the jar but went on lighter and matched just fine. I definitely will buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lessthanastar on 8/23/2004 11:25:00 PM more reviews by lessthanastar

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I love it! I got it about a week ago, I have Oily Combination skin, dry cheeks, oily nose + chin. It goes on smooth and it doesnt feel too cakey. I love it! I saw it at walmart and kind of bought it because it looked nice (i didnt even see the commercial yet). I love love love love it! Would recommend it, and a little bit goes a long way.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PeroxideGloss on 8/23/2004 10:06:00 PM more reviews by PeroxideGloss

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have this in the lightest shade they make and it passes my test for best drugstore foundation ever. The tone is right, and the texture is absolutely wonderful. It feels like I'm wearing nothing, but it gives me flawless, even, matte, powdery smooth skin. I had sampled Bed Heads Glamma Whipped (the product on which this was based) but was not impressed with the sheer coverage - this however covered every last flaw. I'll be sticking to this base for a looooong time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 terrian on 8/23/2004 11:17:00 AM more reviews by terrian

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I waited until after 3 weeks of daily use to review Dream Matte.
My skin is combo with large pores and heavy oil in the t-zone. I've never had another foundation apply as easily, look as heavenly, and stay on as well, and I've tried many high-end ones including Chantecaille and Lancome.

One thing I learned early - it does NOT sit well on primers, it slid right off my EL Idealist. That may sound like a bad thing but in fact Dream Matte looks and stays better w/o primer that other foundations do with primer. I apply a light layer of moisturizing sun screen, let it sit for 15 mins or so, then apply the DM. Incredibly my oily zone behaves well with this treatment, only needs minor touch-ups during my long work-day in hot humid Texas.
I can't believe something so wonderful is priced so reasonably.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shulamith on 8/22/2004 11:07:00 PM more reviews by Shulamith

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have dry skin and am very pleased with this foundation. It's delightful to put on and you can place it on just the spots where you need coverage. I have the lightest shade, which is a little dark but a decent match. After using this, I find I can't stand liquid foundations anymore. Some have criticized the packaging, but you can get every last dab of foundation out of the jar, which is not the case with metered pumps.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 doveanunu on 8/22/2004 9:38:00 PM more reviews by doveanunu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really love this foundation. It gives good coverage and oil control. I chose the lightest color available. However, I would not recommend this to someone with dry skin. I suspect that it would highlight dry spots.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 WontPayRetail23 on 8/21/2004 3:38:00 PM more reviews by WontPayRetail23

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I used to never wear foundation, only powder. I gave this a try because it looked easy to use and all the new raves about it. I apply it with a foundation brush. I really love it. I almost bought the wrong shade (I'm an NC25) so don't buy w/o trying the testers! Classic Ivory #2 works good for my coloring. I wish this wasn't in a glass jar because it makes the packaging really heavy. But thats no big deal. Wish this had SPF in it that would really make it a great product. Definately give this a try!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BlitzedBeauty on 8/20/2004 6:12:00 PM more reviews by BlitzedBeauty

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I really didn't like this stuff. The only thing I thought was cool about it was the consistency...Other than that it didn't give good coverage and the packageing sucks because your putting your fingers in there every day so bacteria is deffenantly going to be in there...definantly wouldn't buy again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products