Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse

3.0

3282 reviews

48% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Squalane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Phenoxyethanol, Phenyltrimethicone, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Methylparaben, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Aluminum Hydroxide, Silica, BHT, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain ( /-):, CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77163 (Bismuth Oxychloride), Mica


on 9/27/2004 12:01:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Curly, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is now my HG! I'm on my 2nd jar. I use the lightest shade, porcelain ivory. The coverage is matte and moderate for me. This gives me the perfect complexion and doesn't change throughout the day! I will continue to stock up on this product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 9/26/2004 12:36:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really like this product! I have combination skin and it really keeps my face matte without drying it out. My pores appear much smaller too. I use #2 Classic Ivory - a great match for my skin tone. It's not too orangey or pinkish. The only thing slightly negative is the jar. I recommend using a makeup sponge to apply. I don't like to stick my fingers into the jar. Great price! Would buy again.


on 9/24/2004 9:55:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ok, maybe it is too early to be giving this 5 lippies considering that I just bought this yesterday and started using this yesterday. However, I have to say wow. I don't usually trust drugstore foundations, one reason is you cannot test the colors. But I happen to find a perfect match Sandy Beige medium 1. Anyhoot, it does have a matte finish, my t-zone was not oily, it did not break me out, and MY PORES APPEARED SMALLER!!!! I can honestly say my skin looked so good without looking cakey. Also I have this list I got off the internet that rates ingredients 0-5 on what is most comedagenic (sp) non of the ingredients in the makeup were considered comedigenic :0)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/23/2004 4:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this two days ago and am wearing it for the second time. After hearing all of the raves on this board, I decided to give it a shot. (The ads featuring the beautiful Adriana Lima also helped!)

Oddly enough, I really like this foundation! I got it in Light 4 (Nude), which is the color I usually get in the Maybelline foundations. Although a *tiny* bit darker than my skin (which is NC25-ish), it blended end well without leaving any weird line of demarcation.

The texture is kind of interesting - powdery and creamy at the same time. It gives a light-medium coverage... enough coverage to cover my undereye circles, but also light enough to look natural. I didn't have to powder afterwards, and my face has stayed matte throughout the day. My nose is a little bit oily, but not as much as when I use other foundations, or no foundation at all.

I have heard complaints about people getting acne from this, so I will definitely test run this for a few more days before I tell everyone to run out and get it. So far, though, I do like it a lot!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/23/2004 3:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have oily skin and this stuff does help control the shine, but I'm still looking for that foundation with the right color. I wear caramel and it seems to be the closest shade to my skin color, but I don't think I'm going to abandon my Studio Fix NC45 by MAC. Overall, it a good product and females must keep in mind that everyone's skin is different.


on 9/21/2004 5:22:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I just started to use this last night. I saw a article in a beauty magazine that said oily skin you should try this foundation and Rimmel powder. Well I went to purchase this foundation last night, and I am very impressed with it. VERY Impressed. I might even go as fas as saying I think this is my HG Foundation


on 9/20/2004 2:56:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Pros: Neat whipped texture - good coverage. Great price.

Cons: Caramel colour looks like mud+caramel=not great. Tooooo matte for me.. made my face look dull & made ashy areas even more so. Definitely not good choice for dry skin - felt my face was shrivelling up! Tried to mix w/ lotion in hand & apply - helped a bit. Won't repurchase.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This stuff is just abolutely horrible. Once again, there is no color for a PPP. The lightest one is about 2-3 shades too dark on me, but somehow it still ends up looking chalky? This is not a foundation.. this is pure whipped silicone. And silicone just happens to give me the worst reactions ever, especially in such high concentrations like this. It's the 2nd ingredient on the package! And who wants to dig their fingers into their foundation every day?? Can we spell bacteria breeding. Gross.


on 9/19/2004 6:47:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I got this one time for free and have then repurchased. I enjoy the mousee texture. I am using nude. At times I am concerned that it may be too orangey. I'm still not sure, but it seems to be related to what type of light I am in. I really like how well this goes on. It also seems to last. I have not found it to be drying. I would say the coverage is medium, which is not always adequate for my skin because I have melasma (dark patches from the sun & hormones). However, it's still my current favorite. Note that it does not have any spf & the product tends to get used up somewhat quickly compared to other foundations.


on 9/19/2004 12:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I love this! i have two colors (one in a light shade, the other in the medium) because the color of my face is always changing depending on how my tan fades now that summer is leaving us once again.

a trick: apply with a sponge, instead of fingers, that way u get a more EVEN coverage. it changes everything! makes my skin look flawless, i love it! It's a nice change from using MAC studio fix, which can be drying. Now, I use Dream Matte Mouse for day wear, and i save MAC studiofix for nighttime evenings out.

Also--i use a light moisturizer underneath to help it blend better.

UPDATE: well.... i noticed that the silicone base in this product has been the culprit of tiny little bumps on my face... so.... i'm not going to be able to use this as a foundation anymore. HOWEVER, i think i will just use it as a concealor---esp, under my eyes to cover dark circles.... and little spots here and there. i also think it's good to have on hand just in case my skin needs emergency cover some day!


Video Reviews & Tutorials

MAYBELLINE Dream Matte Mousse foundation review [has Cancer producing ingredient] by LifeThoughtsCamera



Back to Top