Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse

3.1

3262 reviews

48% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Squalane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Phenoxyethanol, Phenyltrimethicone, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Methylparaben, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Aluminum Hydroxide, Silica, BHT, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain ( /-):, CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77163 (Bismuth Oxychloride), Mica


on 10/6/2004 9:10:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I love this product. The finish it gives is lovely and texture is wonderful to touch and blend. It stays put and does not rub off. I use the lightest shade and it looks terrific.



on 10/6/2004 1:33:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

It seems like every time I come to MUA and check the newest reviews, there's always a new one for Dream Matte Mousse. So between all the reviews and all the commercials for the stuff, curiosity finally got the better of me and I went to Target to pick up a jar. Yeah, a jar. That threw me for a loop for at first. But I don't know how else you could package the stuff...too thick for a tube or bottle, too mushy for a compact. Like the name suggests, it is truly the consistency of chocolate mousse...thick and creamy, and light and fluffy all at the same time. It glides on smooth as butter, and blends like a dream. It's so light, you don't feel the makeup on your face at all. It has a lovely matte finish, but not so matte that you look chalky. (Although dry gals, this might not be the case for you. I can see where this would easily accentuate dry spots and flakiness.) I'll be honest, I didn't have great expectations for Dream Matte Mousse. How could something so light and airy give any decent coverage, and how could it possible last on my oily face? MUCH to my surprise, this foundation gives some of the best coverage of any I've ever tried. I have some pretty bad acne scarring on the sides of my face and by my jawline, and this foundation covers and smooths them away so nicely, it's beyond belief. I get it out with a foundation brush, and blend with my fingers where I need less coverage and with the brush where I need more. And you only have to use a tiny, tiny bit. I gently pat the flat side of my foundation brush into the pot, and the amount I get is enough to cover my whole forehead, or a cheek. You hear the phrase "a little goes a long way" a lot around here, but this foundation is the prime example of a little going a long way. The jar will last forever, so it's $7 very well spent. As for the wear, it's staying on for me all day. (But I use an oil-controlling moisturizer on my face and a mattifier on my nose, so I'm sure that helps with the wear quite a bit.) Another bonus point for this foundation: the shade I got I think would be a bit too dark for me in a regular foundation. But since it blends into the skin, it actually turns out looking perfect. So even if you get a jar, open it, and think the color will be all wrong, give it a shot. You might be surprised. I think this will be my permanent daytime foundation. Love, love, love!!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 10/6/2004 1:13:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I rarely try drugstore products, but I really liked the idea of the mousse makeup and heard suprisingly good things about this foundation, so I gave it a shot. Unfortunately, this was not a winner for me. There were some things I really liked: the texture of the mousse, the coverage, the staying power. But they weren't enough to override the negatives, the main one being that this foundation broke me out. Badly. It also seemed to be a bit too matte- my skin didn't look glowy, it looked dull. Perhaps it would work better for someone with more oily (and less sensitive) skin than I.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

PPP, combo skin- let me start by saying that very very rarely to products make me break out. but this one did. A LOT. The idea behind this foundation is great but it is really for those with fairly poreless, oily skin and not for those who are combination because it sinks into my pores on my nose and makes them much more noticable, flakes and accentuates my dry patches, but is fine in places where my skin is fairly smooth and more on the normal to oily side. I'm just not very impressed with this product to begin with, but adding the fact that they don't make shades suitable for PPPs (esp. cool toned ones like myself) and that it caused MAJOR breakouts within just a few days of use, then there is the fact that you have to dig your fingers into your foundation every day (not that sanitary, plus it gets under one's nails, eww)...I hate it. I know some people are in love with it, but I'm not one of them. HTHS


on 10/5/2004 9:58:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I really like this- up to now I have been blending my Colorstay natural and regular Colorstay (both in buff) to get the perfect foundation.

Dream Matte is very unique- it has a whipped, light, airy consistancy and smooths on effortlessly. It blends supurbly, drying to a soft, matte powder finish that feels like your makeup free.

I don't know if I like the jar, I prefer a tube or pump type bottle but with the texture of this I think the jar may be the best option.

The color ( I bought classic ivory) is not quite as perfect as my Colorstay, but it is a good match and even though it looks to orangey in the jar it blends into my skin completely and "sets up" to a natural look.

I have oily skin so I still set this with powder and I did not have shine breakthtough at all- although I feel like I was kind of faded by the end of the day- a feeling I never have with my Revlon Colorstays.

Dry skin should probably skip this one it will accentuate any dryness you have.

All in all I do like this I just wish the color was an EXACT match to my skin like my Revlon.


on 10/3/2004 10:53:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Made my skin break out. Hard to apply. Not worth it.


on 10/3/2004 7:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This foundation is great for a drugstore brand. I usually stick with MAC foundations but when I saw the commercial I was dying to try this. The whipped mousse texture is really nice, it glides onto my face nice and smooth. I usually put on my moisturizer first and then apply this and it gives my face a healthy glow.
UPDATE: 6/28/05 I stopped using this through the winter because I needed something more moisturizing. Anyhow since it's warm now, I switched back and what the hell was I thinking when I wrote the 1st part of my review?! The SECOND I step outside, my face turns greasy as hell! Yesterday I must have blotted my face close to 10x in 4 hrs...which is completely ridiculous for me. Any other foundation I wear, I only have to blot my face like twice for the whole day. My face is never this oily. And summer hasn't even started to kick in full effect yet. Ugh! I will never purchase this again. MATTE mousse my ***!


on 10/3/2004 7:38:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this makeup! It has the quality of department store makeup at a Wal-Mart price... I use the #2 and it suits my complexion perfectly--*hint* it looks a lot oranger in the jar than it does on your face--that's because it's so highly pigmented. I always use a silicone based primer with foundation and it's so matte I find I don't need powder to set it. I've already bought a second jar for when I run out--I've paid many times this for makeup not half as good--you've got to try it!


on 10/3/2004 12:42:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I adore this makeup. The coverage is great and it last all day. I did not find it settled in facial lines. My skin never look more flawless. I was lucky in choosing the perfect color. You can't really tell much from the jar. I have a light/medium skin tone and the true Beige medium No. 2 was perfect for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/1/2004 12:40:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really wanted to like this product. At first it went on with no problems, it dried matte, it was a perfect color match, it felt good and it looked okay. About two hours later I looked in the mirror and it had become chalky in spots and I had areas of my face that were itching. Also, the idea of having to dig into my foundation doesn't comfort me much simply because of issues of hygiene. Usually I try Maybelline foundation with the hopes that I will like it, only to discover that I don't. The only foundation I enjoyed was True Illusion and that was pulled a couple of years ago. As much as I wanted to give this a great rating, I just can't. Sorry girls.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

MAYBELLINE Dream Matte Mousse foundation review [has Cancer producing ingredient] by LifeThoughtsCamera



Back to Top