Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse

3.0

3296 reviews

48% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Squalane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Phenoxyethanol, Phenyltrimethicone, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Methylparaben, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Aluminum Hydroxide, Silica, BHT, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain ( /-):, CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77163 (Bismuth Oxychloride), Mica


on 10/29/2004 6:32:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am loving this product. Sandy Beige is perfect for my skintone. Sometimes I accidentally smear on too much, which makes my face look greasy and made-up later on in the day, but normally this looks spectacular. I've been having trouble finding my beloved Jane Stay Calm foundation, but now this is a possible HG foundation.



on 10/28/2004 11:03:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

A great product not just for drugstore! The consistency and coverage of this is fabulous. The only problem is finding the right color and, as always, drugstore brands don't have enough color selection. But, it glides on smoothly, just a little goes a long way and it lasts all day! I use it as a concealer as well and it really gives a nice all over finish. Highly recommend it once you find your color.


on 10/28/2004 10:42:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Bought this after reading the reviews. I usually wear prescriptives Traceless, and have been looking for something a bit denser for winter. The first shade I bought (Nude) was WAY too dark for my fff complection. Went back and bought the (light 2) porceline color. Not impressed. It settled into my pores and created little makeup dots along the edges of my nose. The color isn't bad, it's just a little makeup-y for my tastes. It also made the tiny wrinkles around my eyes look really dry and crepey looking. I gave this two lippies because I love the texture in package, and I think this might work well on young, oily skin with refined pores, and the coverage was rather nice (covered well but my skin showed through a little)but ultimately it looked pretty nasty on me!!


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is one of the best drugstore foundations I've tried, and believe me, I've tried a lot!!! It is more heavily pigmented than most, with medium coverage. Easy to apply. Good for oily skin (but not extremely oily). But again (as usual), Maybelline doesn't make a match for my NC20 skin!!! (I bought the lightest color, which was too dark and pink.) ***IF*** they miracurously decided to make a color that matched me, I'd definitely buy this again!!!


on 10/25/2004 11:24:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

HOLP CRAP THIS IS REALLY GOOD!!! I never wear drugstore foundation, but decided to give this a try based on all the reviews and I am so glad I did. This gives full coverage (which I need) and it still looked great at the end of the day. Rave!!!!!!!
****** UPDATE *********
WELL, AFTER 2 WEEKS I BROKE OUT HORRIBLY. 3 CYSTIC PIMPLES ON MY CHIN. I HAVE NOT BROKEN OUT LIKE THIS IN 6 MONTHS.


on 10/25/2004 9:36:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The BEST foundation that I have ever tried. It is truly a 'Dream'; it stays Matte throughout most of the day (with my oily skin), and has a feathery, Mousse-like consistency. Medium coverage.
I love it.


on 10/24/2004 6:55:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I picked this up at Walgreen's because it was FREE after rebate and I see in today's newspaper circular that the deal is still on, so if you are curious,now's the time to try it. As mentioned in other reviews, its hard to pick out your shade. I suggest that you ignore the color of the jar lid and even the name. The shades are divided into light,medium and dark and then they are sorted by how deep they are within those catagories. I think most of us have a pretty good instinct for where we fall on that spectrum, so just choose the shade closest to what you think you are-for example, I chose the lightest of the medium shades and its pretty darn good even though it looked horrible in the jar.(Also, save your receipt! They do take returns whether they advertise it or not!) I have mixed feelings about this product. I LOVE the feel of it, so soft, and it gives me a beautiful poreless finish which lasts all day. Don't try to use it on any lines or flakiness you may have-it will only emphasize them. I use this only on my oily areas,which for me is more of a plus zone than a T zone, so the jar will last me a long time.If you prefer to use your fingers to apply, rather than a sponge or brush, I suggest you dip out a bit with a spatula or even a Q-tip to avoid contaminating the rest of the product.I guess that because of the unique texture of this stuff, a jar is the only way to package it,but it would be better if the jar was plastic and had a flip-top. Unfortunately this foundation has no SPF which for me means I won't be buying again...too bad,it could have been my HG.Its so much better than the MUAC Matte Velvet I have been using. Now that Maybelline has got this formula down, I hope they come out with a blush too!


on 10/23/2004 5:52:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

If I ever doubted that a drugstore foundation could be equal-if not better-than one from any high end or expensive line of makeup, than i have definitly made up my mind. I bought this, along with a L'Oreal True-Match foundation (see my review for more details on that) and I am 100% thoroughly impressed with the results. This goes on SOOOO smooth, and although some of the reviews have noted it as being hard to match to a particular skintone, perhaps I had a lucky guess when i picked this shade, because it blends wonderfully. I just love how creamy it goes on, yet it isn't thin or watery-- it conceals very well! The only thing is that my skin gets really oily, and if you have oily/severe acne-prone skin, you should just prep/powder skin before and after applying so that you don't have a greasy face later! :)


on 10/22/2004 7:03:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Awesome product! I was a bit skeptical at the whole "mousse" thing, but it's actually pretty cool! Mousse is a little bit easier to use, and gives better coverage, than liquid. I'll admit, it it VERY HARD to determine your shade, so I recommend buying two that are close to you. I did, and it turns out the lighter shade was better (Medium 2, Pure Beige). It makes my face look so flawless, it's got an "airbrushed model" look. Lasts nicely throughout the day, too! Seriously, 7th period in the girls room, it still looked the same as morning application!


on 10/20/2004 11:52:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Im the kind of girl that loves foundation! I'have tryed many one since so far. When I heard about this new Maybelline product, I was very curious to try it on my own. I bought it and I'm very satisfied and happy about it. I even use it more often then my Clinic Superfit foundation in Whipcream or my Divinora foundation. I like the texture, it blends easily and give me a very natural and great coverage. It's long wearing, i'm not shining and it doesn't dry out my skin. I put it with my fingers, I don't need to put so much to have a beautiful result, it covers well my occasional breakout. I agree with the publicity, very light, smooth and good coverage without feeling wearing something caky.

The nuance 3 creamy natural is perfect to me. I put sometimes bronzing powder after (Caroline Raz'ma'tazz blush or Satellite Soleil intense from Lise Watier).
I like the packaging, even if it is glass.

I won't hesitate to buy it again ! Cheap and very good product.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

MAYBELLINE Dream Matte Mousse foundation review [has Cancer producing ingredient] by LifeThoughtsCamera



Back to Top