Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse

3.1

3258 reviews

48% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Squalane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Phenoxyethanol, Phenyltrimethicone, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Methylparaben, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Aluminum Hydroxide, Silica, BHT, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain ( /-):, CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77163 (Bismuth Oxychloride), Mica


on 10/5/2004 9:58:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I really like this- up to now I have been blending my Colorstay natural and regular Colorstay (both in buff) to get the perfect foundation.

Dream Matte is very unique- it has a whipped, light, airy consistancy and smooths on effortlessly. It blends supurbly, drying to a soft, matte powder finish that feels like your makeup free.

I don't know if I like the jar, I prefer a tube or pump type bottle but with the texture of this I think the jar may be the best option.

The color ( I bought classic ivory) is not quite as perfect as my Colorstay, but it is a good match and even though it looks to orangey in the jar it blends into my skin completely and "sets up" to a natural look.

I have oily skin so I still set this with powder and I did not have shine breakthtough at all- although I feel like I was kind of faded by the end of the day- a feeling I never have with my Revlon Colorstays.

Dry skin should probably skip this one it will accentuate any dryness you have.

All in all I do like this I just wish the color was an EXACT match to my skin like my Revlon.



on 10/3/2004 10:53:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Made my skin break out. Hard to apply. Not worth it.


on 10/3/2004 7:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This foundation is great for a drugstore brand. I usually stick with MAC foundations but when I saw the commercial I was dying to try this. The whipped mousse texture is really nice, it glides onto my face nice and smooth. I usually put on my moisturizer first and then apply this and it gives my face a healthy glow.
UPDATE: 6/28/05 I stopped using this through the winter because I needed something more moisturizing. Anyhow since it's warm now, I switched back and what the hell was I thinking when I wrote the 1st part of my review?! The SECOND I step outside, my face turns greasy as hell! Yesterday I must have blotted my face close to 10x in 4 hrs...which is completely ridiculous for me. Any other foundation I wear, I only have to blot my face like twice for the whole day. My face is never this oily. And summer hasn't even started to kick in full effect yet. Ugh! I will never purchase this again. MATTE mousse my ***!


on 10/3/2004 7:38:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this makeup! It has the quality of department store makeup at a Wal-Mart price... I use the #2 and it suits my complexion perfectly--*hint* it looks a lot oranger in the jar than it does on your face--that's because it's so highly pigmented. I always use a silicone based primer with foundation and it's so matte I find I don't need powder to set it. I've already bought a second jar for when I run out--I've paid many times this for makeup not half as good--you've got to try it!


on 10/3/2004 12:42:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I adore this makeup. The coverage is great and it last all day. I did not find it settled in facial lines. My skin never look more flawless. I was lucky in choosing the perfect color. You can't really tell much from the jar. I have a light/medium skin tone and the true Beige medium No. 2 was perfect for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/1/2004 12:40:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really wanted to like this product. At first it went on with no problems, it dried matte, it was a perfect color match, it felt good and it looked okay. About two hours later I looked in the mirror and it had become chalky in spots and I had areas of my face that were itching. Also, the idea of having to dig into my foundation doesn't comfort me much simply because of issues of hygiene. Usually I try Maybelline foundation with the hopes that I will like it, only to discover that I don't. The only foundation I enjoyed was True Illusion and that was pulled a couple of years ago. As much as I wanted to give this a great rating, I just can't. Sorry girls.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I really love this stuff. It was on sale at target this past week so I decided to give it a try. It has a lightweight feeling that doesnt make your skin feel all nasty like other foundations do. I have not had a problem with breakouts yet, nor has it dried out my skin. I will definately purchase again!
*Edit* I had to stop using this product due to skin breakouts.


on 9/30/2004 10:39:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was really hoping to like this foundation, but it didn't work for me. I need coverage, this goes on too sheer and does not build up. My skin is dry, this accented every dry area even though I had moisturized my skin before using. Lastly, I felt that it sat on the skin, rather than became a part of it...If you have dry skin and need fuller coverage, this is not for you.


on 9/30/2004 9:10:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I am truly impressed with this product, which is surprising because I usually only use much more expensive makeups. However, I have NEVER seen a foundation go on this smooth, I mean this stuff glides like butter. Not only that, it looks totally smooth... no cakeynesss. The only thing is, I don't think the staying power is totally up to par, but I have yet to find a foundation that has enough staying power for my PPP oily skin. So overall, very good product!


on 9/29/2004 6:08:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this stuff. It has a lovely matte finish and it applies very smoothly. Of course, I have extremely oily skin, so I don't imagine that a person with dry skin would have the same experience, but I don't know. Goodbye Lancome foundation. I'm gonna have to buy tons of this though, because Maybelline drops products as often as I buy lipgloss.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

MAYBELLINE Dream Matte Mousse foundation review [has Cancer producing ingredient] by LifeThoughtsCamera



Back to Top