Maybelline • Dream Matte Mousse • Foundations

rated 3.0(3208 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Sabre on 9/1/2004 12:52:00 PM more reviews by Sabre

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff looked good in when I looked in the mirror in my bathroom, but when I checked it in the mirror in my car I realized how horrible this stuff looks out in the daylight. It doesn't stay matte for more than a few minutes on me either, but i mostly blame that on the extremely humid environment I live in. I wouldn't buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GimmeMore on 9/1/2004 8:23:00 AM more reviews by GimmeMore

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Surprise-Surprise! What a find for a drugstore foundation. Like others, I love the medium coverage and matte finish. Still need to re-touch by early afternoon, but that's true for my high-end Chanel stuff, too. EDIT: This product seemed to oxidize rather quickly. About 1/4 of the way into the pot, I found it to be rather orangey. Had to toss. Removed a lippie.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alt629 on 8/31/2004 7:57:00 PM more reviews by alt629

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is a pretty good fndn for the price. I was worried it would break me out after reading some of the reviews, but after almost a month it has not (although I don't want to jinx myself). I like the coverage which does a good job of evening out my skin tone although not as good a job at concealing blemishes as I was expecting. I was also not particularly impressed with the matteness or staying power. I am still powdering as much as I used to. Another reviewer mentioned that a Revlon fndn (can't remember the name!) blew this away as far as matteness goes. Too bad it's discontinued b/c I agree...

UPDATE: Ok, so years after this original review, this is not discontinued, and I have come to love this drugstore foundation. It's not my everyday pick, but on a day that I need to just hurry up and go, I just slap it on - no primer, no powder, no concealer necessary. It's a great little one-step product if you're in a rush or just don't feel like the effort of multiple products. I've used up the jars I bought years ago when writing this review, and have repurchased as recently as yesterday. Definitely my favorite drugstore foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 slkone on 8/31/2004 6:10:00 PM more reviews by slkone

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I love this foundation! I am very pleased with its texture, coverage (medium to full) and staying power. When I first put it on my very pale skin, I thought it was a bit orange, but as I blended it, it seemed to melt into my skin. The only downfall is its packaging. I don't like the jar because I think it's unhygienic to dip your fingers into your makeup, but the positives far outweigh the negatives. I am praying that this won't break me out and it will keep doing its job as it has been for the past week or so!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 taiwan_beauty on 8/31/2004 4:17:00 PM more reviews by taiwan_beauty

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I <3 this stuff! It gives me a nice matte finish and it blends well with my Asian skin. I have some discoloration on my skin from acne, but the coverage of this stuff is actually enough to cover it up. I don't have to use a separate concealer. I'm not crazy about concealer, it usually looks too unnatural for my skintone. It was only $4.99 at the CVS when I bought it too. And I had a $1.00 off any Maybelline foundation coupon. ;)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 utopian637 on 8/29/2004 10:46:00 AM more reviews by utopian637

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I love this product! The color is sooo perfect, and not orange at all. I have creamy natural. It looks really pretty and doesn't seem to enlarge my pores or anything like other people have said. I would DEFINITELY reccomend it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ashantiqueen on 8/29/2004 1:00:00 AM more reviews by ashantiqueen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The texture is good and feels nice on my face. It wears pretty well all day. I use a cosmetic wedge to apply this makeup and the technique works wonderfully for me. Will definately repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* edie4711 on 8/28/2004 2:59:00 PM more reviews by edie4711

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

*sigh* I am taking this foundation by the wrist and marching it straight back to the Walgreen's.
Positives: I do like the little jar--so cute! The texture is lovely, and the finish is indeed matte, as promised.
Negatives: For starters, the color. It's too orange. It sits on my skin and looks like foundation. Another reviewer mentioned the '80s. Yup, that's the first thought I had, too. Maybe it's just the shade I got, but still--ick.
The other thing I don't like about it is that after a few minutes, it settles into my pores in these lighter dots, so it makes my pores more visible, not less. And I only used the tiniest amount, as recommended by other reviewers.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* honeystix on 8/28/2004 9:32:00 AM more reviews by honeystix

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Cool   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This foundation has the most amazing texture. You need to avoid over-applying. It is a bit "solid" once it goes on your skin, so you need to apply just a tiny bit and smooth it in well, and it works best in the T-zone, not on the cheeks. The colors look darker in the jar than on the skin (I've tried two shades). This is a great full coverage makeup.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Crispyhexagon on 8/27/2004 10:58:00 PM more reviews by Crispyhexagon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I went in search of my beloved Almay Amazing Lasting foundation and it was nowhere to be seen so I figured I'd give this a go and I guess I fall into the group that likes it,, the texture is def. not like anything else I've ever used , and it does look orange in the pot,, I have the lightest 1 but it goes on fine and blends almost instantly , you really don't have to use much,, I think perhaps one mistake with this could easily be putting too much on. Now it doesn't last quite as long as my amazing lasting but it does last better than alot of other drugstore foundations I've tried and the color is better , I like it :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products