Maybelline • Dream Matte Mousse • Foundations

rated 3.1(3219 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ChaiBliss on 9/11/2004 3:04:00 AM more reviews by ChaiBliss

Age: Unknown   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Just when I thought I would never get over the discontinuation of my beloved L'Oreal Cover Expert concealer and Nivea TM, I ran across this product. My initial interest stemmed solely from the fact that the foundation was a mousse formula. I managed to find what I thought was an accurate color match (Pure Beige), and was pleasantly surprised to find that the color blended perfectly and looked completely natural. I've noticed that when I first apply this, my skin almost looks a little too flawless and perfect - sort of pristine in an odd, airbrushed manner. I'd never complain about perfect looking skin, but those initial couple of minutes don't look as natural as you'd expect perfect skin to look!
Fortunately, it settles quickly, and my skin still looks flawless, with the difference being that it looks natural at the same time. I've been using this for a couple of months now, and my dry, sensitive skin is in great shape, which I'm really thankful for. The absolute best thing about this amazing foundation, besides the dreamy, whipped consistency (which feels heavenly to the touch and totally creamy and soft when applied), is the fact that it's made my makeup routine so much quicker. I don't need concealer at all anymore, because this covers up my circles and blotches so effectively. It lasts the entire day without budging.
It might be wise to apply this over a moisturizer, particularly if your skin is on the dry side. It's easier to blend in this way, and it also seems to help prevent some mild pilling. It's been a while since I've raved about anything, so this gets all the raves I've been storing up for months! Coming from someone who's never worn foundation with any regularity, that's saying a whole lot.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jojobean on 9/9/2004 1:30:00 PM more reviews by jojobean

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I am on the fence with this one. I like the coverage and blendability of this foundation, but I don't really like the "feel" of it--it feels somewhat greasy when you apply it. I don't know if it's non-comedogenic or non-acnegenic, but it doesn't "feel" like it is.
I haven't really given this a fair trial yet, so I will update when I can detect more results (breaking out, staying on, etc...).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* crystallineteddy on 9/9/2004 5:49:00 AM more reviews by crystallineteddy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this after I got cashmere perfection by L'Oreal, just as a comparison (that and I'm addicted to makeup). The coverage of this mousse foundation is heavier than L'Oreal and I couldn't really find a great color match either. Don't like the packaging as much because it's a pain to dive into the little pot with long nails and also not so sanitary. It does keep the face Matte though (as well as L'Oreal IMO). If you are looking for a better coverage, this would be perfect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* isitfriday on 9/8/2004 1:17:00 PM more reviews by isitfriday

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This was an impulse buy while i was wandering around the drugstore this weekend, trying to beat the heat and enjoying the ac! i have very oily skin, and my HG foundation for years has been Mac stuido fix NC 30- so i thought i'd mix it up and try this- i got Medium 3 and it is a perfect match for my face and neck. i love the light whipped texture of this product, the coverage is great not like a mask, but evens me out- the finish is powdery light and hours later i am still not a greasy mess (that is a good thing) - i would recommend this foundation, as it is a new twist on texture from a powder cake, and has not caused any breakout problems on my skin. no scent, and a little bit goes a long way on my face, so i see this pot lasting a while (not sure if my skin will match by the time i'm out of this).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ilse333 on 9/7/2004 12:15:00 PM more reviews by Ilse333

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

For a drugstore foundation, this is pretty decent. It's certainly not my HG but I'm guessing the problems I have with it - it is a little TOO matte on me and makes me look embalmed - are mostly basic skin type compatability issues. My friend who has horrible acne scars has begun wearing this and she really likes it. For me, I prefer something a little more sheer and with a dewier finish. I got this in Medium 1 which is an okay match for my NC30-35 skin, but it's still a bit pink-toned for me. I wear this at night to the gym and it's fine for that but for regular wear, no.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 stylemaker on 9/5/2004 5:45:00 PM more reviews by stylemaker

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

okay, I am the first to say that other than revlon skinlights, I am not a big fan of drug store foundations. I was introducted to this product by a makeup artist who works for maybelline new york and I was pleasantly surprised by it.

If it looks foundation on the skin, then you are probably starting with too much. The maybelline artist applies this foundation with a big fluffy powder brush, yes a powder brush and it goes on like an airbrush foundation. It didn't settle in the pores ro anything. I haven't tried it with a foundation brush, but i have tried it with a fluffy powder brush and I LOVE how this foundation looks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 aquariusaria on 9/5/2004 2:05:00 PM more reviews by aquariusaria

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this foundation. It blends perfectly and is so easy to blend. The coverage is enough to cover my acne and redness, and while the staying power cannot compare to my previous foundation, Revlon ColorStay, this foundation is *much* more comfortable and light as air! Finally, Maybelline hits it right in the foundation department.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* oasdus on 9/3/2004 3:56:00 PM more reviews by oasdus

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I finally tried this, and I think it's my HG summer foundation! My only two complaints are the packaging - a pot you have to dip your fingers in. (I wash my hands before using), and that I can see it in the pores on my cheeks near my nose. Powdering on top seems to help. This goes on really easily, a little goes a long way. It blends out and you can build the coverage. My skin looks pretty much flawless in all lighting. I use a little more on areas where I want more coverage. I powder on top for a real shine-free look that lasts a long time. I still use concealer on my darkest spots, but I don't have to use nearly as much. No breakouts. The shade I got is a perfect match - Porcelain ivory #1, I think it's called. If you have flakes, this can accentuate it, so regular exfoliation is necessary. I use an spf moisturizer under this, that probably makes a difference in how it wears. This is much too drying for cooler months.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 velveteenchaos on 9/2/2004 8:01:00 PM more reviews by velveteenchaos

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i REALLY wanted to like this, and at first try, i did! but now i have cystic acne (just like after i used CG's trublend.. hmm) and am going back to my normal liquid. the jar is super cute, but unsanitary. won't buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bronzedsugar on 9/1/2004 11:36:00 PM more reviews by bronzedsugar

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

A great drug store find. Good coverage and lasts all day on my normal skin with oily t-zone. A definate repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products