E.L.F. • Essential Eyelid Primer - Sheer • Eye Primer

rated 4.0(781 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 KeepFlyyingGirlie on 10/27/2012 6:37:00 PM more reviews by KeepFlyyingGirlie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I didn't really notice any difference with this. I have it in sheer, and contrary to the name, it does have a fair amount of pigment to it, which is nice if you are using sheer eyeshadow. It has a bit of a sheen to it, and when it dries you will notice the slightly "tacky" feeling (as to hold the eyeshadow). It has pretty good hold, but I still notice creasing when I wear it. It's not really good or bad for me, just a neutral product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BRANDI7013 on 10/27/2012 12:58:00 PM more reviews by BRANDI7013

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using this for a long time (original form.) I did purchase the other colors and they aren't near as good as the original. This primer is only $1...why do you need to buy UD or TF when this works just fine? I have super oily skin (including eyelids) and this primer lasts all day with no problems. I don't think it "enhances" my e/s by any means..it only adds to the longevity of it.The packaging could be better--bet hey..it's only a buck.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kamiekirk on 10/27/2012 9:48:00 AM more reviews by kamiekirk

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

Pros:
-cheap
-does the job

Cons:
-other brands may be better

Overall, I love this primer. It's cheap. It does the job. What more do you want?

However, I've done research that shows that the Palladio Herbal Eyelid Primer is better than this product.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 missmarytx on 10/23/2012 8:17:00 PM more reviews by missmarytx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I got this based on how many people love it on this website. I got the white(thin oily white with glitter) and the nude (oily thin beige color) I swatched this on may hand and the texture alone freaked me out that it was so oily that I was afraid to use my mac eyeshadow over this for fear of applying my brush over this oily substance to my eyeshadow pot repeatedly would transfer some of the oily product to my eyeshadow pot which could ruin it (mac eyeshadow textures will change if they are mixed with water or oil). Anywho I feel like people want to dupe everything... just because its an eyeshadow primer doesn't mean its "just like UDPP" and if you have never tried UDPP then how are you at liberty to compare the two?
I swatched this on my hand along with UDPP also to compare the two I put eyeshadow over it (romp by mac if you were wondering). It was very obvious the ELF primer did little in terms or enhancing the color and because of the oily texture of the primer the color just looked muddy and washed out. I tried it on my eyes and the same thing happened it looked lighter on some parts and darker on other parts very splotchy and cheap looking. While the swatch over the Urban Decay potion was vibrant, loud, smooth, even, honestly it just make your eyeshadow, whatever your wearing look flawless and high end.
This product makes me want to buy several backups for my UDPP. I would recomend buying the UDPP its worth the money and makes your makeup look amazing.
Im sorry I bought these primer they are gong in the garbage
From now on I might stick with just the elf brushes because the actual makeup products are just not up to par with h/e alternative, yes h/e makeup is good its worth the money and 90% of the time better than drugstore makeup, I'm sorry to say its true...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 daniellejmckenzie on 10/23/2012 10:36:00 AM more reviews by daniellejmckenzie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Pros
Helps eyeliner last most of the day

Cons
I can see all the way into the bottom of the tube...where is all the product? The way that the primer is fully covered up the sides of the tube you would think its filled to the top

Dries white...not sheer. Worse for darker complexions

Wouldn't buy again. I bought it as a first try

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 madisonlovesmakeup on 10/21/2012 5:13:00 PM more reviews by madisonlovesmakeup

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is awful. For the first few days it worked fine, but then it actually started to make my eyelids oily and my eye shadow crease like crazy, which has never been a problem before. I don't recommend this, spend the extra 19$ on Urban Decay's primer potion, it's the only one that truly works for me.




















    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jskellis on 10/20/2012 1:47:00 AM more reviews by jskellis

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

So amazing, just like UDPP. I have this one in sheer. It lasts all day without creasing and gives shadows vibrancy. Such a good deal for $1!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 autumnlee33 on 10/19/2012 7:53:00 PM more reviews by autumnlee33

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

great primer
makes my eyeshadow go on smooth and prevents creasing
its a great consistency not too thick not too thin
but you have to work with it fast because it does seem to dry pretty quickly
for a buck you cant go wrong if you cant afford UDPP try this youll love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Dacelynn101 on 10/17/2012 6:43:00 PM more reviews by Dacelynn101

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Works great if you apply 2 coats! One coat seems to crease throughout the day. It also works good if you apply it where your smiles are before foundation to prevent creasing there!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 samology on 10/15/2012 5:39:00 AM more reviews by samology

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I guess this is good for its price, but I don't like how difficult it is to blend in. It dries far too quickly & there were times I had splotches of it dried on my eyelids. Otherwise, good for its value - it does a good job in helping eyeshadow stay but not so much for eyeliner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Eye Primer products