E.L.F. • Essential Eyelid Primer - Sheer • Eye Primer

rated 3.9(745 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kikidoll27 on 8/29/2012 7:17:00 PM more reviews by kikidoll27

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The Elf Eyelid Primer is a great primer! I can't really compare it to anything, as this is my first- and only- eye primer. I normally do bold lips and subtle eyes, but decided to pick up some eyeshadows, and, in turn, I needed a primer. I bought this one since I didn't want to spend big bucks on something people won't even see, and I really like it. I have oily lids, and this helps my shadows to not crease/smudge through out the day. It also controlls shine on my lids, which I love. For a dollar, if it doesn't work for you, it's not a huge loss, so I would reccomend trying this out. Also, I did a split test to see if this was really as great as I thought it was...I used this on one eye, then put my shadows on, and left it off on the other eye. By the end of the day, the one with the primer looked the same as when I put it on, while the one without this smudged slightly and creased. I really love this primer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AndreaJunelle on 8/26/2012 1:53:00 AM more reviews by AndreaJunelle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I recently purchased this for $1 at my local Target store as I noticed I was running low on my beloved UDPP & have been on the hunt for more inexpensive options.
After reading some hopeful reviews here I had semi- high hopes but for me personally, this product is a dud :(
For someone with "Normal" to "dry" eye lids it may seem like a decent eye primer, & it does make a nice base. But upon my 1st application, I noticed it dried nicely, and it helped make my e/s pop, then after 1-2 hrs it was like I hadn't even applied any primer at all & I had an oily, creasy mess going on :-/
Not sure yet if I'm going to give it a go as a lip primer or pass it along to my mother (she has dry skin so it may work for her, she's also not very picky about her m/u ;D) But even though this is only $1, it's still something I'll never repurchase & I'm wishing I had that $1 back Lol
Overall I would not recommend this original eye primer to anyone with extremely oily lids (like myself) but I do look forward to trying the "Mineral Eyeshadow Primer" from ELF's line as I've read it's a bit better than this version..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 asianl0vex on 8/25/2012 7:35:00 AM more reviews by asianl0vex

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my every day primer. I use this every day, usually just under eyeliner. I have extremely oily lids and this extra step is necessary to help even waterproof eyeliners stay better on my lids. For eyeshadow, it is good as well. For the price, you really cannot complain. If you want more vibrant eyeshadow, definitely go with UDPP. But this ELF primer does ~8/10 of the same job for 1/20 of the price. Definitely a staple in my everyday makeup.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 theparsley on 8/16/2012 1:12:00 PM more reviews by theparsley

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Wow. This was only one dollar. And it WORKS. I have never tried an eye primer before so I decided to buy something cheap. I have nothing else to compare this to, but I can definitely tell a difference in how long my eyeshadow/liner lasts. It even saves me more money since I don't have to reapply my eye makeup. THANK YOU MUA!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 emmamulligan on 8/16/2012 6:55:00 AM more reviews by emmamulligan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I liked this primer because it works. I have a lot of problems with eye makeup running/smudging/creasing. It was a little glittery for my taste, not shimmery like I'd prefer. I also have to blend it right after applying it because it'll dry quickly and then flake otherwise.

Edit Jan. 5, 2012: I threw it out. I disliked the glitter too much to be able to appreciate its mediocre effects. I've just been using that Maybelline Age Rewind stuff and putting it on my eyes, too. No problems yet (and no glitter!)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jenyabunney on 8/11/2012 5:59:00 AM more reviews by jenyabunney

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I've worked as a model and had diffferent lid primers used on me, and this one works as well as any of the high end ones.

For the price, the staying powder (I have oily lids), and that it's non tested on animals I will forever use this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 raymondgirl21 on 8/11/2012 1:03:00 AM more reviews by raymondgirl21

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

For only a buck you aren't going to expect urban decay primer quality but shockingly this holds pretty well. With my mac eyeshadows it lasts about 4 hours but with e.l.f eyeshadows or other cheaper eyeshadows it does not hold. Personally I think mac eyeshadows last a couple hours on their own anyways so I don't usually use a primer with them anyway. Good primer but a little greasy. For a buck.. sure why not! I'd buy again (:

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Seanna4444 on 8/10/2012 12:48:00 AM more reviews by Seanna4444

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Very please with this E.L.F. Product. I'm sure that there are alot better eye primers out there however at 20 times the price. It works very well for only one dollar. If you are looking for a miracle eyelid primer then you may want to spend a little more money. But for the price this is very worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cyndinurse on 8/8/2012 9:00:00 PM more reviews by cyndinurse

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Great product. Will most definitely buy again. It's very liquidy so I just dab a titch on each lid and blend upward. My e/s lasts all day no kidding! I also pat a bit under my eyes where I put some e/s for my liner and that too lasts even in the hot, humid summer!! Can't be beat and the price...oh my...one dollar...in this day and age that's unheard of....try it...you won't be disappointed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HeidiF69 on 8/8/2012 1:20:00 PM more reviews by HeidiF69

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I can't believe I've forgotten to review this, since I have already repurchased a few times! I absolutely love it! Goes on very light, not sticky, and it keeps the colors true all day. What more could you ask for? At $1 you have nothing to lose and I'm sure you'll be pleasantly surprised. It has replaced my UDPP and my Lancome as my every day primer. I also tested a swatch on my hand of all of them, and the colors stay much more like "in the pan" shades with ELF.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Eye Primer products