L'Oreal • Double Extend Beauty Tubes • Mascara

rated 3.6(673 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 mindynguyen27 on 12/20/2009 12:00:00 PM more reviews by mindynguyen27

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i love this mascara! this is my favorite LENGTHENING mascara, the length i get is crazy! but i don't think it volumizes much for my lashes, but i definately do not get any clumping....what i do get is an extreme amount of flaking! they are falling into my eyes all the time! soooo it's prettty annoying, but i dont know if its just my recent tube bc i've bought like 3 of them and i interchange (1 in my purse, 1 at my house, 1 at my boyfriends house). i never really think which tube is the one flaking..could be all of them! could be only one of them.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Mel87Lem on 12/19/2009 7:24:00 PM more reviews by Mel87Lem

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I found this product at a cosmetics discount sale so decided to give it a shot. I found it added a decent amount of length to my lashes.... I don't like the idea of fake lashes, so this is the longest my lashes have ever been! Awesome! I don't know why everyones finding this so difficult to get off... I simply used a wash cloth with warm water, held it over my face for a few seconds, rinsed, and repeated on the eye area. The tubes just fell off! At this point, my mascara was completely gone, and my face makeup was still on. Not damaging to they eyes (for me) at all. The only downside is the lack of volume... perhaps I will try with a volumising mascara over the top. I will definitely repurchase, and gladly pay full price this time!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jj14x on 12/14/2009 8:33:00 AM more reviews by jj14x

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Green    

Hmmm, what can I say. It's a good mascara, not the worst one but not the best one either. If I have time applying primer and then the black color then its nice to have this for a change. It did lengthen my lashes somewhat, the color was nice although I'd say it tends to get a tiny bit clumpy. After you applied primer and one coat of color if you wanna apply one more coat of black its not to recommend - because lashes get so stiff that it is hard to apply a few coats and even if you do it wont do anything and you risk to get "spider-spiky" effect. What I couldnt put up with was the process of washing it off. I hear many people liked exactly this because it comes off so easily and in tubes but my first impression was after I saw those little 'tubes' on my palm is like OMG Im loosing my lashes. :O But those were just the 'tubes'. I dont like to pull those tubes off my lashes cause the process is not so appealing to be honest. I tried to just press a water pad as it says in the instruction but there were still some left so had to take those off with fingers again. So that process is the only thing that turned me off. But as a whole its a good average mascara. I would not repurchase it though just cause Im not a friend of 'tubes' coming off lashes like that but if it works for you, then its awesome :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AmyDbaby on 12/14/2009 12:16:00 AM more reviews by AmyDbaby

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I only use tubing mascara and have for years so I was excited to find a drugstore offering. Unfortauntely I was not impressed with this stuff at all. Too wet and goopy and the primer was worthless. I much prefer Kiss Me or Clinique or one of the others I have in rotation.

Please note, you cannot take this off with makeup remover, oil or vaseline. Tubing mascara is a competely different animal from conventional mascara. This product is NOT damaging to lashes if you know what you are doing. It's very simple. Warm water and gentle agitation. Warm water, rub very gently back and forth. The warm water releases the product from the lashes and they come right offf. Totally easy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 miss_mae on 12/13/2009 11:32:00 PM more reviews by miss_mae

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Hard times mean hard choices, and in my case that means giving up my beloved DiorShow mascara. Looking for a drugstore replacement, I was intrigued by the beauty tubes (horrible name) concept.

I wasn't so keen on the lash primer. When I use it I feel like my eyelashes look clumpy and fake. I do, however, adore the mascara itself. It looks great on curled lashes (meh on uncurled) and holds the shape wonderfully. I LOVE the fact that this stuff doesn't come off until I want to take it off. If I accidentally fall asleep in my mascara, I don't have racoon eyes the next day. And when I do take it off, all it takes is a little hot water to loosen the tubes--so easy.

It isn't my beloved DiorShow, but I will definitely re-buy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 teresa1083 on 12/11/2009 1:13:00 PM more reviews by teresa1083

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I bought this because Kandee Johnson was using this in her makeup videos. It does work quite well, but my gripe with this stuff is it is almost impossible to get off. I dont like tugging or pulling around my eyes so this is a definite no no for me. I tried using oils, makeup removers, vaseline but nothing could easily remove this stuff without some elbow grease so for that reason i wont wear it or buy it again.

I did give me nice looking lashes though. I was actually surprised by how much added length there was. It was more clumpy than regular mascara, but workable if you are carefull.

So i am 50-50 with the mascara. Good product, but damaging to my lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 roxygirl89 on 12/10/2009 10:41:00 AM more reviews by roxygirl89

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've rebought this mascara several times, when other mascaras fail, this is the one I turn to. The primer side does a good job of thickening my lashes and making them a little longer. It's not a miracle worker, but it does its job. The mascara side really doesn't do much for me except coat the primer and maybe make my eyelashes a tiny bit longer and thicker. I wear contacts and this is the one mascara that doesn't bother my eyes. It hardly ever flakes and it tries super fast. It's very easy to take off too, just apply some water and the tubes slide off. I will keep turning to this mascara until I find something better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 WebbyGale on 12/10/2009 10:00:00 AM more reviews by WebbyGale

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is an excellent mascara. I tried it on my mother, who has short lashes. The primer (white side) really made her lashes look longer and then with the actual mascara, you could really see the difference. My only problem is that it doesn't do a good job of thickening. The lashes looked really thin, so I had to add about three coats.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 juliettevictoria on 12/8/2009 1:20:00 AM more reviews by juliettevictoria

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The Double Extension Beauty Tubes by L'Oreal is a revolutionary way of putting mascara. Unlike most mascaras, it does not just "paint" your lashes with black ink. Because it wraps each lash individually in "tubes", it is SO convenient when removed with practically NO makeup remover, just water! This mascara saves me so much TIME & EFFORT when removing my eye makeup at night. I am such a lazy person when removing my makeup (and I always wear full-face makeup) but with this mascara, it makes my job so much easier at night. I think there is another brand that developped the same concept, if I'm not mistaken its the new Lise Watier mascara called 24 Hours Glam or something. But that one retails at 20$, so almost twice as pricier than the L'Oreal one. So, overall, I am very pleased with this product. The only complaint I would say is that it does not do a good job in curling my lashes, but then again, I do not curl them with a curling tool. But, I would definitely repurchase this product just cause it's so convenient in my daily routine of removing my makeup.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MissJacqui85 on 12/7/2009 5:43:00 PM more reviews by MissJacqui85

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My review will be slightly biased as this little bastard of a mascara gave me an eye infection! All these people are saying how easy it is to remove- I don't know what's going on!
There are some who share my opinion on here- it is a pain in the BUTT to get off! I tried everything, stuck it out for a few weeks, as I liked the normal L'oreal DE mascara.

I tried oil based remover, waterproof remover, makeup clothes, wet cotton pads etc. The only technique that worked was SOAKING a makeup cloth (with remover in it) in HOT water, pressing to my eyes for 10 seconds, and re-wetting the cloth and repeating again and again. It took forever, and they didn't just slip off. I tried to rub as gently as I could as I do not like to rub around my eyes and am very careful and gentle on them- so I would say if you care about ageing well DO NOT use this mascara as it involves a lot of stimulation around the delicate eye are to remove.

I was in a rush and accidentally got one of the 'beauty tubes under my top eye lid. My eye blew up and I looked like Rocky Balboa after 10 rounds with Apollo- for a whole week! I went to an eye doctor and it was fine, no damage done. The fact the mascara comes of in tubes (like spider legs) rather than dissolves makes this a very large risk if you are not extremely careful.

As for the mascara performance itself- it definitely lengthens, but separates too much for my liking- being very liquidy it will make one lash out of 4. And I can apply mascara very well, but found this was the result each time.
I like my lashes fuller and thicker, INDIVIDUALLY separated- so that waste of lashes did not make me happy. I would say perfomance is average. Some of the cheaper brands like Maybelline were better than this mascara.

I boycott it now because of the wear and tear on your eyes while removing it. No product is worth that.

Will absolutely never purchase this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Mascara products