L'Oreal Double Extend Beauty Tubes

3.6

706 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Magnifier Inactive Ingredients: Aqua/Water/Eau, Paraffin, Potassium Cetyl Phosphate, Acrylates Copolymer, Cera Alba/Beeswax, Cera Carnauba (Carnauba Wax), Steareth 2, Cetyl Alcohol, Phenoxyethanol, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Acacia Senegal Gum, Rayon, Panthenol, Ethylenediamine/Stearyl Dimer Dilinoleate Copolymer, Methyparaben, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil, Hydrogenated Palm Oil, 2 Oleamido 1, 3 Octadecandiol, Disodium EDTA, Ethylparaben, Simethicone, Rosa Canina Fruit Oil, Isopropylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Butylparaben May Contain: CI 77891/Titanium Dioxide.
Extender: Inactive Ingredients: Aqua/Water/Eau, Styrene/Acrylates/Ammonium Methacrylate Copolymer, Butylene Glycol, Alcohol Denat., Sodium Laureth 12 Sulfate, Acrylamide, Acrylamide/Sodium Acryloyldimethyltaurate Copolymer, Isohexadecane, Phenoxyethanol, Rayon, Polysorbate 80, Methylparaben, Imidazoldinyl Urea, Sodium Dehyroacetate, Disodium EDTA, Silica, Ethylparaben, Isopropylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Butylparaben May contain: CI 77499, CI 77492, CI 77491/Iron Oxides, CI 77007 (Ultramines), Mica, CI 75470 (Carmine), CI 77288 (Chromium Oxide Greens), CI 77289 (Chromium Hydroxide Green), CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77510 (Ferric Ferrocyanide), FIL D32060/3.


on 3/17/2010 7:29:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is definitely my go to mascara now, but it has a few drawbacks. Applying it is easy, I like the combination of white and black because you get the feel of layering mascaras so they are full and thick, without having to find three quality mascaras. Do be careful applying to your bottom lashes or you get an OTT spider effect-some may like this. If you want to tone it done I would try it without using the white end. It looks as if I'm wearing false lashes and it is the best mascara I have found so far. Unlike others I would say it adds volume, and A LOT of length. It lasts a really long time so you don't need to worry about constantly re-applying throughout the day. At first I like the packaging as it clicks into place easily and is nice and strong, but after a while I have got some build up on the sides which I can't get rid of so it now longer clicks into place and as a result the mascara is going a bit sticky. It's also quite big for a makeup bag if your planning to travel. I also have to disagree with some others as I actually find it difficult to take off. I wet my eyelashes with warm water and apply makeup remover but I still feel I'm ripping out eyelashes. Despite a few problems, I love this mascara and would recommend it to anyone with thin or short lashes that need a big boost.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 3/9/2010 1:17:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am a contact lens wearer and to me there is nothing worse than trying to get off layers of mascara in the evening. This product makes my lashes look great, super long since my lashes are black and curled to begin with, but my all time favorite feature about it is the fact that I can simply remove the tubes with warm water. This mascara does not irritate my contact lenses and to me that is great! I tell everyone they should give this product a try if they want something that's easy to remove.


on 3/5/2010 11:49:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

For years I've tried lots of mascaras (high and low end) and I always find that L'Oreal (and Lancome) are my favorites. These Beauty Tubes are my favorites right now...I've been using them (and repurchasing) for several months. The second step is my favorite because I typically have to swipe my mascara wand on a tissue before applying (to avoid clumpiness) but it seems like there is not too much product on the wand and I don't have to swipe off any excess. It doesn't add a lot of volume, which is okay with me because if I want lots of volume I'll use falsies. But I gets lots of added length and the best part....comes off cleanly with warm water. No residue around my eyes, no raccoon eyes...love this mascara and will continue to use.


on 3/5/2010 11:33:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

So here's the deal. I bought this mascara on a whim because: 1) I saw that Kandee Johnson uses it alot and i LOOOOOVE her, so i thought, hey! if she uses it, it must be great! and 2) i was totally out of mascara and i always like to try something new. Well... it's not the worst mascara out there, but it's definitely not the best either. I don't think its as volumizing as I would like it to be. It does make my lashes long though. And it DEFINITELY stays put all day! I do kinda like how they actually come off in "tubes" when you wash it off. All in all... its an ok mascara... probably won't buy again.


on 2/26/2010 9:44:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Me: mascara spaz. I have thick, medium-long black lashes that are so curly they curl over onto themselves, and I have never been good at applying mascara to them. I get it all over my lid and have to Q-tip it off. My go-to mascara in the past has been Maybelline Full&Soft waterproof, but I hate the way it smudges after awhile under my eyes.


It takes me over fifteen minutes to put this stuff on. Even after wiping the brush off, both the white and the black sides go on extremely clumpy. Over the white primer, the black has a "beaded" effect for me, like the lash is covered and then there is a little blob at the tip. I have to comb the heck out of my lashes after I have applied it to get the lashes to separate and to minimize the beading.


I like that it has no smell and it doesn't irritate my eyes at all. There is also NO smudging at all, and every mascara (including waterproof, including high-dollar, including everything) smudges on me. For this reason, I am using it.


I also like that (once I've combed and coaxed my lashes apart) it looks like false lashes on me. The little fibers also add enough length that my lashes start bumping up against my sunglasses, which is annoying but somehow deeply satisfying at the same time.


I don't like how stiff my lashes are after using this, but again, the lack of smudging is a big deal to me, so I put up with it. I found that combing most of it off helped with the stiffness/heaviness.


I don't know. I wish there was a "maybe" button next to "would you repurchase." I am thinking there is probably a tubing mascara out there that is easier to use than this one.


One rec: Once I take the brush out of the tube to apply, I stick the tube in a ziploc bag and seal it while I'm working. It's a pain to reopen the bag get more mascara reseal the bag repeat, but it seems to have maintained its consistency well since I bought the tube a month ago; it's not drying out on me. I have no doubt the tube would be dried up by now if I didn't do this, given the length of time it takes me to get this to look nice.


Overall, it's okay. I can't slap it on, but it does stay all day once I've labored over it. Try it if you haven't already, and especially if you are already good at application.


on 2/25/2010 9:58:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I thought this mascara was ok, but after using it for around 3 months I noticed that it had left my eyelashes looking thinner. I stopped using it, and now my lashes are back to normal.


on 2/25/2010 8:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This mascara is FANTASTIC at first, but I think mine only lasted 3 weeks? The primer is still good but the black part is too dry to use anymore.

When I first got this my lashes were so long, almost to my eyebrows, I loved it. This was perfect for school when I don't want to wear a lot of makeup. I was so in love with this mascara before it dried up, I was raving to everyone and people were complimenting my lashes (and they are so wimpy and limp w/o mascara, believe me).

With that said, it is a bit of a PITA to put on. It took me a little bit to get it just right, definitely not good for on the rush. I would definitely recommend putting this on before eyeshadow and if you mess your lashes up before it dries you will have wonky eyelashes all day. I also didn't notice any flaking until it got dry and weird.


on 2/19/2010 6:13:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is a great tubing mascara. The packaging is great too and it 'clicks' in place.

It doesn't go on clumpy at all and it removes properly like it should. It doesn't do a lot for volume (but most tubing mascaras don't).

My only gripe is that it doesn't hold a curl that well. It doesn't completely flatten though.


on 2/16/2010 9:17:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Black

I am underwhelmed with this product. The white primer and the mascara, used together, are supposed to create a tube around your lashes in order to lengthen and thickent them. I already have eyelashes that are pretty long and thick, and so I like mascaras to accentuate that; however, this mascara didn't do the job for me. What I found strange was that the white primer was thicker and wetter than the mascara itself, which therefore made it very difficult to cover and blend effectively. Another thing I did not like was that the mascara made my lashes "crunchy," which I never like as I get nervous about breakage. It did do a good job at freezing my lashes in place; however, it made my lashes look straight and weighed-down, when I prefer them to look curled up and lifted.

The product was also very difficult to remove- I have tried Albolene, which is very greasy, and Cold Cream, which always works like a charm, but neither worked very well- and I do not like to rub the eye area, so I kept everything gentle. Nevertheless, after 3 days of using this product, my breakage fears still came true, and my eyelashes were left a bit damaged.

However, I do like the shape of the mascara wand on the black end. It has a moderate amount of thin, stiff bristles that are not packed too closely together, and I found that this shape worked well to separate my lashes and avoid clumping. However, on the primer wand, the bristles are much shorter, softer, and there are more of them (it reminds me of the traditional mascara wand), and this was not helpful in avoiding clumping. Therefore, so as not to completely waste the product, what I do now is I apply my usual mascara first, and then I touch it up/thicken it with the black mascara end of the L'Oreal Double Extension. This mascara works well enough for something like this, but that is not what it is intended for, and therefore, not worth the purchase.


on 2/16/2010 8:50:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I purchased this mascara expecting to have LONGER lashes, no dice. This mascara SUCKS! it does absolutely nothing for me. I have fair eyelashes, it really doesn't take much to make them look fuller or even longer. I would NOT recommend this product. ;-)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top