Estee Lauder Double Wear Light SPF10

3.9

790 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

New: Ingredients: Water, cyclopentailoxane, trimethylsiloxysilcate, butylene glycol, trimethyl pentaphenyl trixiloxane, phenyl trimethicone, silica, magnesium sulfate, polyglyceryl, 3 disostearate, tribehenin, peg-10 dimenthicone, bis-peg, ppg-14, 14 dimethicone, ethylhexylglycerin, phenyl methicone, sodium hyaluronate, dimethicone, polyglyceryl, 4 isosteratate, lauteth-7, glycerin, phenyl methicone, sodium hyaluronate, deimethicone, polyglyceryl, 4 isosterate, laureth-7, glycerin, polymethylsilsesquioxane, hexyl laurate, cetyl peg, ppg 10, 1 dimethicone, chamomilla recutita (matricaria), disteardimonium hectorite, methicone, propylene carbonate, tetramethyl hexaphenyl tetrasiloxane, cellulose gum, xanthan gum, dimethicone silylate, toccopheryl acetate, alumina , sorbic acid, chlorphenesin, phenoxyethanol, + - iron oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499) titanium dioxide (CI 77891), mica, bismuth oxychloride (CI 77163), Ferric Ammonium ferro cyanide.

Original:Active Ingredient: 5% Titanium Dioxide Additional Ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Butylene Glycol, Trimethyl Pentaphenyltrisiloxane, Phenyl Trimethicone, Magnesium Sulfate, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Silica, Tribehenin, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Bis-PEG/PPG-14 /14 Dimethicone, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenyl Methicone, Sodium Hyaluronate, Dimethicone, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Laureth-7, Glycerin, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Hexyl Laurate, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria), Disteardimonium Hectorite, Methicone, Propylene Carbonate, Tretramethyl Hexaphenyl Tetrasiloxane, Cellulose Gum, Xanthan Gum, Dimethicone Silylate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Alumina, Sorbic Acid, Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol, [ /- Iron Oxides (CI77491, CI77492, CI77499), Titanium Dioxide (CI77891), Mica, Bismuth Oxychloride (CI77163), Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide (CI77510)]



on 1/16/2012 1:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this foundation hoping to find a product that is for everyday use, lightweight, and to help cover my acne and acne scars. This foundation is not available in a variety of shades, however I am able to wear Intensity 3.0 (I am a MAC NC35). I wear this foundation on top of moisturizer and it lasts for a good 5-6 hours on my oily skin. I have worn this foundation in any weather (summer or winter) and find that it wears well in any temperature.

The first time I tried on this foundation, I have to admit I was a bit disappointed because it applied sheer. However, it is able to provide a medium coverage using a flat foundation brush utilizing short, quick strokes. It also photographs really nicely. I used this for my engagement photos and it really camouflaged all my acne breakouts and scars on my face.

The only downside is the foundation only being available in 6 colors and I don't quite fit any of the shades. So, I apply a powder on top, blush and bronzer and pulls the look together. This is my 3rd tube of this foundation. I highly recommend getting a sample first and try it out!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 1/15/2012 5:07:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this product a few months ago and I was shocked by how far the product went. I only had to use a small drop and it spread evenly all over my face and gave good enough coverage. Also it doesn't feel too heavy on the skin which I love because I find some other foundations with good coverage just make my skin itch but this product felt quite light on my skin. I basically have nearly a full bottle left and have been using approx. 2-3 times a week for the past few months. I bought this product for around 25 pounds and it is definitely worth the price as it lasts so long. The packaging is also very beautiful and classy!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love Estee Lauder skincare, so when I was in the market for a new foundation, I figured one of their bestselling foundations was my best bet. I found it to give ok coverage and it looks nice when I first put it on, but in under and hour my skin felt dry and tight and I could see it settling into fine lines I didn't even know I had. The staying power is pretty good though. Lasts at least 6 hours without needing retouching. However, the drying situation is a dealbreaker for me.


on 1/1/2012 3:25:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is the best for oily skin! I get super oily, and this is the only foundation that I've used that doesn't change color, run, or cake. Also, it allows buildable coverage: you can blend out a thin layer for the look of a tinted moisturizer, or you can use alot for full foundation coverage. My only complaint is the small color selection, in the winter I'm between a 1 and 2, wish there were more options.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/1/2012 2:47:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This was the first liquid foundation I bought (I was sucked in by the Hillary Rhoda ads when it was initially released), and it luckily ended up becoming my HG foundation. I apply it with a foundation brush and blend it in with my fingers, it gives a medium amount of coverage without being obvious or cake-y. I like that it looks quite natural on, I've gotten compliments on my skin because people don't realise i'm wearing foundation! I get it in 3.0, which is a perfect match for my skin. I used to use Mac blot powder over the top but have found that my skin is less oily these days so there's no longer a need. I only wish it had a higher SPF.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/26/2011 6:32:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I got this earlier this month and at first I wasn't impressed when I applied power over it, it became cakey. I even went to the extent to return it at the department store.. however due to unforeseen circumstance I was unable to return it and decided to give it another change since I had no other foundation. I tried applying it with my fingers (after washing my hands very well with antibacterial soup) and then applied my HD ELF powder over it and OMG my face look flawless! I was getting compliments from everyone and people even asked me what my skin regime was its my HG product now!


on 12/26/2011 8:22:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I just got my hands on this product from an online site that was offering it at a discounted price. It retails for SGD56 in department stores which is around the average price for a department store brand.

Color: I got this in Intensity 2.5 (I've not been able to find this color on the website so I'm not sure if it is unique to Asia but they have it at the counters). It was a perfect match for me, not too yellow-undertoned but not too pink either, kinda in-between. The Intensity 2.0 was extremely yellow-undertoned whereas the Intensity 3.0 was rather pinky-undertoned.

First impressions: Overall an excellent product. I'm not sure if it stays on for 15 hours as claimed (since I almost never wear makeup for that long) but for my purpose it stayed on well through about 8 hours of outdoor/indoor air-conditioning in a humid country like Singapore. After application it really felt like I had no makeup on, which is a huge plus since I hate that mask-ey feeling you get with some foundations.

I did need to use a blotting sheet every 3 hours or so but I find it's the same with the Revlon Colorstay. Also, did not find any need to use powder with this. Coverage is sheer as described, it didn't really give me the 'perfect skin' look but it did help even out my skin colour, covers minor imperfections and kept it from looking greasy. I still needed to apply concealer on some of my darker blemishes. It photographs extremely well. I would use this as an everyday foundation for work when all you need is a little coverage to even things out.

The only issue I had was that I had to blend really, and I mean, REALLY, fast in order to get an even application all over my face. I had a similar problem with the Revlon Colorstay foundation but this set even faster than the Revlon one! I used my fingers which is what most people have been recommending and still could not work fast enough to blend it in. While it didn't really leave any harsh lines, once it's set you can't touch it any more otherwise it gets streaky and becomes really obvious. I suppose it is this setting quality that gives it the ability to last so long.

Packaging: Five stars for using a squeeze tube instead of the glass bottle the normal Double Wear uses (I broke my last Revlon Colorstay bottle so I'm rather wary of glass bottles now!). Fingerprints do get all over the gold shiny cap though.

Will I repurchase? Probably not. For about half the price I can get the Revlon Colorstay which I would say works almost the same as the Double Wear Light.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/23/2011 7:40:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love everything on this foundation exept for the lack of shades.It controls my oily skin quite well and it doesn't flake ao my dry patches. The texture fits perfectly into my skin so do the undertones but my colour is somewhere between shade 2 and 3.I wish estee would make more shades though...


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this because I was interested in Double Wear, but there was a good deal on Double Wear Light and a few other products for $37 so I figured I'd give it a try. At first, I was extremely happy with how much it covered my blemishes and redmarks. However, one day I caught a glimpse of myself in bright light and I was horrified; my face color was pinkish, my skin was cakey and dry AND my blemishes still showed. The color range is very limited and intensity 3.0 was not a match for my skin with yellow undertones (unfortunately I had to realize this after wearing it for weeks). Would not purchase again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/12/2011 11:04:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I was given a sample of this at my local Macy's as I was strolling through. Didn't think much of it, until one day I was bored and remembered I had that little bottle to try and WOW, fell in love at first use! I ended up using whole little bottle that week and bummed when I ran out. The next time I was in Macy's I went to the EL counter to find out price and was like no way I'm spending that much and walked away. I continued to use my cheap L'Oreal true match foundation which is not great and kind of watery, but in the back of my mind always thought about the EL one. So one day took the plunge and went to Macy's and asked for it, and since it's close to the holidays I got the package deal that had the full size foundation, the spotlight skin perfector, concealer, and DVD for $37 when foundation alone is $35! I love the way this foundation covers. I apply with my fingers since brush seems so time consuming. I find I use less product using my fingers too, since the warmth of my fingers spreads it around more and really smooth. The color #2 matches my skin so perfect you can't even tell I have makeup on. If I had one negative thing to say, is the price. I feel like since I use every day it's not really practical for stay at home mom to wear such expensive stuff daily just running errands and sitting home etc.. So went on a mission for a cheaper comparable drugstore brand, and found it! Revlon colorstray Combo/Oily Nude matches EL #2 perfect. So at $9 I will use Revlon for my everyday wear, and EL for special occasions. But I have to tell you, I love the Revlon so much, I may just keep buying that, and when my EL runs out not sure if I will re-purchase or not. We will see when time comes I guess.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top