Estee Lauder • Double Wear Light SPF10 • Liquid

rated 3.9(734 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 temadeamor on 8/19/2011 5:03:00 PM more reviews by temadeamor

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love, love, love this foundation. I can't even tell i have it on, except my skin looks even and brighter. It is not full coverage as the name says, but still gives nice coverage. Most importantly, it does not transfer, which is essential to me. I'd rather go sans foundation than have it transfer to my clothes, hands, etc.

UPDATE. thank you EL for making intensity 3.5. Intensity 3 had gotten too light for me and I was bummed, but i went to the counter to try Intensity 4 again, and luckily they had 3.5, which is a perfect match. I am on cloud nine. I am Loreal W6 and Mac NC37 for reference.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* triotrio on 8/9/2011 1:15:00 PM more reviews by triotrio

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

If you work 10+ hour shifts, then you may feel like weeping in gratitude after you discover this stuff.

I work in a hospital ward, with barely enough time to use the bathroom let alone touch up make up. I put this on at 6.30am and look in the mirror at 7.30 that night, and I look as matte and flawless and perfect as when I first applied.

It has superb coverage, actually I don't really know what's so "Light" about it - the original DW must be hard-core indeed. It covers up dark undereye circles amazingly.

I usually keep it just for work cos it's pricey, but it's also great for things like weddings when you're up early and have a late night.

This stuff is worth every penny - there's simply no cheaper foundation that's as reliable as this.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 vivi123 on 8/7/2011 7:12:00 PM more reviews by vivi123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great everyday foundation. Perfect for casual days like school and work when you don't want to look like a ball gown barbie.


Pros: It definitely stays put on your face for a long time and looks natural with a primer. I have a very oily T-zone, and this foundation with some powder prevented my usual shininess. It also seems to be somewhat waterproof, because I swatched on my arm, and it was incredibly stubborn to wash off with water when I got home. The packaging is great too (unlike the silly glass bottle for the original double wear).


Cons: It dries fast so you will need to be quick with blending. This is very light/sheer so it only semi covered my imperfections such as acne scars (but that's where concealer comes in anyways). I was told this was buildable, but I don't recommend doing so. It will only look chalky, so buy a full coverage rather than building up on this.


Overall, I like this and it creates a lovely thin base for your face as it gets rid of redness, uneven tones and controls oil (if you are sweaty like me). btw, you can receive a 10 day sample of any foundation from your estee lauder counter.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* polarpooch on 8/5/2011 9:56:00 PM more reviews by polarpooch

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

HOLY GRAIL FOUND. I have been searching for 10 long years for a foundation that can last me through my (LONG) days at work (12-14 hours). I have VERY oily skin and nothing I've tried has not degraded on my face by the end of half my day. Till now. EL DW Light is the first makeup that did not break down on my face half way through my day. Better than that, it lasted my whole workday and still looked pretty darn fresh at the end. I did still have to use my oil blotting papers, but still...wow! The coverage is lovely and light. Sheer/Medium to Medium coverage. I am using Intensity 2.0, which is the second lightest shade and the color match is perfect. It sets fast, so you have to work fast to blend it in. It is not a moisturizing makeup (which is why I got it), so wear a moisturizer if you have dry skin. Honestly I still can't believe I finally found a makeup that lasts on my face all day. One irritating daily battle is now behind me! Excellent!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mandy117 on 8/3/2011 10:28:00 PM more reviews by mandy117

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this foundation. It covers well and feels like I'm wearing nothing all day. It also stays all day. My only issue is that it isn't as moisturizing as I would like, but I can supplement that with extra moisturizer. The price (around $30) isn't even all that bad. Intensity No. 1 works well for me on tan days and pale days. I love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Homegirl81 on 8/1/2011 1:04:00 PM more reviews by Homegirl81

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This foundation is stupendous! My skin gets quite oily (particularly in summer), and this stuff keeps it matte but slightly dewy looking. I don't even need to set it with powder, as it is extremely long lasting and has a gorgeous finish. Even after a night in a club, dancing etc, it still looks fresh and fab. Photographs really well also.

Though it has "light" in the title, it is at least medium coverage, so great for covering any blemishes etc.

It's a bit expensive, but I don't rock foundation everyday, and it's such a great product, I'd totally repurchase.

EDIT: Was loving this, but I've discovered that it breaks me out. I decided just to use it on special occasions - wore it to a party on Saturday night, and about 2 hours after applying it I had a nasty whitehead in the crease of my nose. Also, it is difficult to get off (although I suppose this is the cost of a long lasting formula!). No longer the brilliant product I thought it was. 80(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lexieisnotsexy on 8/1/2011 1:22:00 AM more reviews by lexieisnotsexy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I originally went to the Estee Lauder counter to get their full coverage Double Wear founation. The salesgirl insisted I didn't need that much coverage and talked me into buying this. I've been using this for a few weeks, and so far I really like it. It's lightweight and long lasting, which is great for summer. I like the plastic squeeze tube, it's much better than the glass, pumpless bottle that the regular DW comes in. On bad skin days, I usually don't use this or I mix it with a little bit of my Revlon Colorstay because it doesn't cover everything. The biggest problem I have with this foundation, something many others have mentioned, is the color selection. There are only a few, so not everyone can wear this, and most won't be able to wear it year round.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 coco93 on 7/27/2011 1:45:00 PM more reviews by coco93

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I am unsure of i would buy this product again :-\ i like the way it looks on my skin when first applied and i find that it warms up my skin nicely ( shade 2) in the summer months. This foundation is described as beeing light to medium coverage which i agree with. Unlike the original double wear this feels lighter in the skin ! and photographs well. It also controles oil pretty well and holds up on the skin for about 6-7 hours before a little powder is needed. The only reason i dont know if i would buy this again is because after about 7 hours of wear it starts to go a bit patchy :-/ which isnt very nice. I think i will finish the rest of the bottle and continue on with my shiseido sun protection foundation which looks amazing all the time, even in pictures which i was surprised about because it has spf 30 :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 TheSarahMaire on 7/25/2011 12:24:00 PM more reviews by TheSarahMaire

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've been wearing this foundation for about 2 yrs. now and at first i thought that it matched my skin perfectly and looked very natural and felt super soft on my face. Unfortunately as time went on i realized that it definitely did not match my skin tone very well and did not look natural at all, and on humid days it felt very heavy on my face. It did kind of look masky. The closest color i could find to match my skin tone was intensity 3.0.
Pros:
-controlled oil pretty well
-stayed on my face for a good 6 hours
-easy to blend
Cons:
-not enough color selections (all had to much cool undertones and not enough warm)
-looked cakey after about 7 hours
-clogged pores
-felt like i was wearing makeup (a lot of makeup)
I also have estee lauder doublewear that's not light but i would say its about the same as this one but a LOT more heavy. I'm thinking about switching over to lancome teint idole ultra next and see how i like it, hope it feels a little better then this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NicoleNightly on 7/25/2011 11:34:00 AM more reviews by NicoleNightly

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Skin Type: Sensitive/Combination
Goal: Light coverage foundation that has staying power
Results: Great match for my hard to match skin tone that gives a nice glow

Summary: This is my go to foundation, Ive only used it in the spring/summer months so I cant tell you how it performs in the winter but it leaves my skin with a wonderful glow. It has just enough coverage to hide any slight imperfections (I have decent skin so I dont need full coverage) it also doesn't break me out.
I use intensity 4.0 which is only slightly darker then my complexion but when smoothed out, looks flawless. This is the only shade that looks natural on my skin as all of the other foundation lines in this brand do not have a shade for me. So when it comes to EL, DW-Light is the only one I can use.
It has great staying power for a light foundation and does not transfer on items or clothing. I also enjoy the packaging since I have a thing for golden accented cosmetics. The tube is more hygienic than a bar/bottle and is shatter-proof unlike most pump foundations Ive used (who met early untimely ends on the bathroom floor). Definitely great for everyday use

(Side note: Reading the reviews I get this feeling that people may be reviewing the wrong product, this is Double Wear LIGHT, it is not dry (opposite) nor hard to blend nor 'masky', you may be thinking of Double Wear)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Estee Lauder products

More Liquid products