Estee Lauder Double Wear Light SPF10

3.9

758 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

New: Ingredients: Water, cyclopentailoxane, trimethylsiloxysilcate, butylene glycol, trimethyl pentaphenyl trixiloxane, phenyl trimethicone, silica, magnesium sulfate, polyglyceryl, 3 disostearate, tribehenin, peg-10 dimenthicone, bis-peg, ppg-14, 14 dimethicone, ethylhexylglycerin, phenyl methicone, sodium hyaluronate, dimethicone, polyglyceryl, 4 isosteratate, lauteth-7, glycerin, phenyl methicone, sodium hyaluronate, deimethicone, polyglyceryl, 4 isosterate, laureth-7, glycerin, polymethylsilsesquioxane, hexyl laurate, cetyl peg, ppg 10, 1 dimethicone, chamomilla recutita (matricaria), disteardimonium hectorite, methicone, propylene carbonate, tetramethyl hexaphenyl tetrasiloxane, cellulose gum, xanthan gum, dimethicone silylate, toccopheryl acetate, alumina , sorbic acid, chlorphenesin, phenoxyethanol, + - iron oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499) titanium dioxide (CI 77891), mica, bismuth oxychloride (CI 77163), Ferric Ammonium ferro cyanide.

Original:Active Ingredient: 5% Titanium Dioxide Additional Ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Butylene Glycol, Trimethyl Pentaphenyltrisiloxane, Phenyl Trimethicone, Magnesium Sulfate, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Silica, Tribehenin, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Bis-PEG/PPG-14 /14 Dimethicone, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenyl Methicone, Sodium Hyaluronate, Dimethicone, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Laureth-7, Glycerin, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Hexyl Laurate, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria), Disteardimonium Hectorite, Methicone, Propylene Carbonate, Tretramethyl Hexaphenyl Tetrasiloxane, Cellulose Gum, Xanthan Gum, Dimethicone Silylate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Alumina, Sorbic Acid, Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol, [ /- Iron Oxides (CI77491, CI77492, CI77499), Titanium Dioxide (CI77891), Mica, Bismuth Oxychloride (CI77163), Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide (CI77510)]



on 10/9/2011 9:19:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this foundation! It looks great, evens out my skin tone, keeps oil at bay and it really does stay put all day long! It is expensive but it's worth every penny.



on 10/9/2011 7:21:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This product goes on easily with a foundation brush. I found it easy to blend, but I do work fast! The coverage is great and it comes in a tube like container so you don't have to worry about contaminating your product. A little goes a long way with my combo/oilly skin and I don't have much break through oil while wearing this. I think it does a great job at concealing my largely visible pores also. I haven't noticed any breakouts from wearing this foundation and I think it photographs really well. The only reason that I wouldn't purchase it again is because it wasn't a close enough match for my dark skintone. It is pricey, but of course it's Estee Lauder.


on 10/5/2011 11:01:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This foundation looks very natural on me, also the color matches my skin very well, and it stays during the hot climate in Vietnam. The only thing I took 1 lippie off is everytime I put this foundation on my face, I have tons of small bumps on my face, and it took me a week to get rid of them. But nothing's like that with my regular DW. I like the packaging too since its easy to squeeze out, not like the thich heavy bottle of the ELDW. Anyway, now I have to give it away to someone that fits it better than me.


on 10/5/2011 10:29:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Double Wear Light foundation was way too matte and heavy for me. Looked ok soon after application, but within an hour or two had settled into every pore and make my skin look dry and crepey (I do not use any kind of powder). It may have oxidized to a darker color as well, or the color 02 may have just been too dark for me as a MAC NC25. On the upside for many users, this stuff wears like iron, so much so that it took two thorough cleansings to get it all off, and my skin felt like it had been through the war afterward. I think this foundation would work best on very oily young skin and/or in very hot climates when one's top priority is getting makeup to stay on longer.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 10/4/2011 8:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am always chopping and changing between different foundations. Usually all are medium/full coverage. But I decided, for daytime wear, to try out the Double Wear Light. I have always enjoyed using the original Double Wear - but was concerned it may look a lil too 'heavy' in the non-forgiving natural daylight.
I truly expected to dislike this foundation - I'm not a 'sheer/light' coverage sort of gal. My skin is very uneven and I have quite a bit of acne scarring and general redness. I apply a thin layer of this foundation all over my face and then using a buffing brush I apply a lil bit more product to my problem areas; buffing it into the skin.
It completely evened out my skin tone and covered my light acne scarring well. My more severe acne scarring, blemishes and dark circles were still visible (though not as severe).. but hey, that's what concealer is for. I am amazed with how natural the foundation looks; it is soft, semi-matte and light on my skin. And I felt no need to apply any powder to set it.
All day I kept checking my face in the mirror, I was waiting for the foundation to slide off, go patchy or go oily, like others that have come before it have... It didn't. It doesn't transfer on to my black work shirt (like alot of my other foundations do). I don't re-touch my makeup during the day and by the middle of the afternoon (I first applied the foundation at 0700) a lil sheen started to appear in my t-zone area... but nothing un-natural looking.
This foundation lasted all day, looked good, kept my oily t-zone at bay and did not irritate my sensitive skin. I'm really impressed with this product. It also photographs beautifully (unlike the original Double Wear which is soooo ghostly in flash photos). I'm not sure how well this product would go on dry skin; if you have dry skin I would suggest moisturising well before applying this product. Unfortunately the colors are limited; by 1.0 matches my pale skin well.
All in all this foundation turned out to be a great product, for me. I will definitely purchase it again.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 10/2/2011 10:38:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

After going through a multitude of long lasting foundations that were very heavy and full coverage (Revlon Colorstay, MUFE Mat Velvet +.. although it can be sheered out, Lancome Teint Idole Ultra, to name just a few), I was introduced Lancome's Teint Miracle (which has a very medium coverage formula) when it first came out. And through this, I realised that I actually don't need all that coverage - one layer of Teint Miracle was enough! I thought that I had found the perfect foundation until I realised that I was having to touch up quite a bit. This is where Estee Lauder's Double Wear Light comes in.

I was looking for a summer foundation that was sheer, watery, and let my skin breathe, while still lasting long enough for me not to have to blot every 2 hours. There were lots of raves for DW Light when it was released not too long ago, and it sounded like everything I was looking for. Unfortunately, I was very disappointed.

First of all, the texture. I like the consistency of my foundations to match the coverage it gives. For example, I would expect a heavy cream foundation (like MAC's Studio Fix Cream Foundation) to cover everything, while a liquidy thin one (like MUFE's Face and Body Foundation) to have far less coverage. DW Light was thick, but it sheered out very quickly. It also had a weird lotiony texture that was difficult to blend, yet was not moisturizing.

And what I hate most of all is that within several hours, it had worn off in patches - the very worst way a foundation can wear off. You can't just smooth it back in with your finger either - it's insanely stubborn in this regard. Additionally, I find that it cakes up quickly.

So yes, I hate this foundation. I like that it comes in a squeeze bottle as opposed to the heavy glass the original formula comes in, but even this is kind of a fail - it squirts out blobs unevenly. Can't recommend this one, I'm afraid.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 9/24/2011 7:01:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

So, my quest for the perfect foundation may very well end here. On a lark, I ran out of Colorstay. My backup BB foundation is still a shade too light on account of it being the beginning of the fall. Based on the reviews here, I ordered EL Double Wear Light in Intensity 2.0. I primed with Sephora's basic primer and applied a small amount of this foundation with a wedge sponge. Blending was really a non issue, as it seemed to glide fairly easily over my skin. The color match was also dead on for my light tan. After blush I set the foundation with a swirl of Sonya Kushuk powder, and off I went to work at 5:30 a.m. Here I am at 7 p.m. and my foundation is still perfect! I kid you not. I blotted twice over the course of my very active day as a nurse but that is it! And for my combo skin with super oily t-zone I could not ask for anything more. HG!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/22/2011 11:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Love this foundation! I have combination skin, an oily nose area and this works perfectly, I did not have to powder my face once after applying this!It's so light, natural and makes your skin really air-brushed!The best foundation I've ever tried.Works like a charm.


on 9/22/2011 7:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have very pale, oily but constantly dehydrated skin. I tried Double wear first but found the coverage quite mask like so decided to try this. I tried several ways to apply it with moisturiser/primer etc and found the best way for me was using with the Nars pore refining primer (if you want tighter pores) or beauty flash balm (for a more luminised look) but my favourite primer is the Institut Esthederm shine control fluid for a matte finish. When applying my foundation I put it on the back of my hand to warm the liquid, then blend quickly and lightly with clean fingers. I then take a pourus makeup sponge and blot until any excess is removed and no streaks are visible. This ensures a flawless finish without blending excess makeup. I stick to liquid bronzer, blush and highlighter, then set all over with Chanel powder. Using less powder prevents my face looking heavily made up or cakey whilst keeping it matte. I usually use a tacha beauty paper after about 5 hours under hot lights or 8 hours outside. It's a very nice foundation, it isn't perfect but what foundation is? It's far better than Nars sheer glow/matte, Vichy dermablend, any from lancome, clinique, armani or YSL, Chanel aqua or matte lumiere, Dior nudeskin.......you get the picture. I have tried a great deal of foundations and for the price, this is a great everyday foundation that even when oil breaks through looks dewy or glowy at most.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I refuse to wear any other foundations the day I found Double Wear. The light version is perfect for winter when skin is a lil drier cuz the regular double wear can look cakey on dry skin. This foundation is the only one I've found that doesn't break me out and keeps my sensitive skin calm even after I take it off. It really does last all day long at work and I do sweat some. The finish is flawless and doesn't feel like most long wearing foundations that feel like wearing a plastic mask!! It is so worth the money cuz a little goes a long way. I love this stuff!


Back to Top