Estee Lauder Double Wear Light SPF10

3.9

772 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

New: Ingredients: Water, cyclopentailoxane, trimethylsiloxysilcate, butylene glycol, trimethyl pentaphenyl trixiloxane, phenyl trimethicone, silica, magnesium sulfate, polyglyceryl, 3 disostearate, tribehenin, peg-10 dimenthicone, bis-peg, ppg-14, 14 dimethicone, ethylhexylglycerin, phenyl methicone, sodium hyaluronate, dimethicone, polyglyceryl, 4 isosteratate, lauteth-7, glycerin, phenyl methicone, sodium hyaluronate, deimethicone, polyglyceryl, 4 isosterate, laureth-7, glycerin, polymethylsilsesquioxane, hexyl laurate, cetyl peg, ppg 10, 1 dimethicone, chamomilla recutita (matricaria), disteardimonium hectorite, methicone, propylene carbonate, tetramethyl hexaphenyl tetrasiloxane, cellulose gum, xanthan gum, dimethicone silylate, toccopheryl acetate, alumina , sorbic acid, chlorphenesin, phenoxyethanol, + - iron oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499) titanium dioxide (CI 77891), mica, bismuth oxychloride (CI 77163), Ferric Ammonium ferro cyanide.

Original:Active Ingredient: 5% Titanium Dioxide Additional Ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Butylene Glycol, Trimethyl Pentaphenyltrisiloxane, Phenyl Trimethicone, Magnesium Sulfate, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Silica, Tribehenin, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Bis-PEG/PPG-14 /14 Dimethicone, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenyl Methicone, Sodium Hyaluronate, Dimethicone, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Laureth-7, Glycerin, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Hexyl Laurate, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria), Disteardimonium Hectorite, Methicone, Propylene Carbonate, Tretramethyl Hexaphenyl Tetrasiloxane, Cellulose Gum, Xanthan Gum, Dimethicone Silylate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Alumina, Sorbic Acid, Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol, [ /- Iron Oxides (CI77491, CI77492, CI77499), Titanium Dioxide (CI77891), Mica, Bismuth Oxychloride (CI77163), Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide (CI77510)]



on 11/2/2011 2:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I really wanted to love this stuff. I have really oily skin and an uneven skintone and have yet to find my HG foundation.
PRO: Stayed on all day and night!
Color match was almost perfect which never happens
Evened my skin tone
CON: I would not consider this to be sheer like they say.
Looked cakey in areas and I applied lightly
Mask like
I have to say that I would not purchase this again. I am super bummed too because it matched my coloring which is hard for me to do and it also stayed put and kept me oil free, BUMMER! I just can't get over the mask look. I can't imagine what the regular doublewear must be like if this was the light version.



on 10/31/2011 7:25:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I've recently been on a crusade to find a foundation that will give me everything I want. This comes very, very close and may become my favorite if nothing else knocks it off the pedestal. I need good coverage (more than a tm) but dont like a heavy made-up look. PROS: long-lasting on my oily/combo complexion; excellent coverage for melasma patches with a natural, satiny finish, excellent color match (intensity 1.0/Mac nw 15/20); great packaging. CON: SPF 10. Really, guys? You couldn't do better than SPF 10? Fortunately, it's broad-spectrum but I don't like diluting my SPF moisturizer with a foundation that has a lower rating.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/27/2011 11:15:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is my HG foundation. Every time I try something else, I run back to this. It lasts, doesn't break me out and it looks like skin. Not too heavy like DW. I wish there were a larger range of colors, but 2 works for me. I like the creamy light texture and the matte but not flat finish. It covers redness and depending on how you apply it, gives light to a good medium coverage. It's everything I want a foundation to be. Except the packaging kind of sucks. It seems like there always develops a pool of wasted product in the cap, especially when stored standing up. But I can live with it. Photographs nicely. I also like how I can cut the plastic bottle when I can't squeeze any more product out, and use a q-tip to scrape the sides until I can buy another one. Love this so much.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/24/2011 3:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Really like this for a winter foundation. Covers enough - would say it's moderate coverage & really stays put all day. I can not check my make-up all day & know it'll still be fine when I get home in the evening. Intensity 1.0 is a good match for my skin but I can imagine some people would have a hard time finding a good shade as there aren't many. Doesn't cause any dryness on my skin which is what I have the most trouble with, & I really do have the driest skin on earth! Only this one & Chanel Vitalumiere seem to be ok for me to use, otherwise it's a tinted moisturiser! Not too bad for price when you think about how good it is, gave it 5 for packaging too as the tube is a really good shape for getting every last bit out. Definitely recommend & have repurchased many times.


on 10/23/2011 11:27:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Love the squeeze tube, good color, but does NOT stay on for more than a couple hours. Nice sheer coverage, but if you're at all oily, it just melts right off--returning to store.


on 10/22/2011 3:01:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I really like this foundation! My skin can be oily and this is a nice foundation to control oil. It has a nice matte finish and blends well, looks natural. I'm Intensity 3.0. It comes in a tube which is nice so you can use up all the product easily.


on 10/21/2011 5:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is truly one of the Top 10 foundations out there. Dare I say Top 5. Like definitely in the top 5 foudations that have ever been in existance. Ever.

How do I know this? Because I KEEP on trying NOT to come back to it. Meaning, after I finish a bottle I say to myself "Why not try something new instead of EL again?" And so I do. Mac, Bobbi Brown, Chanel, MUFE, and EVERYTIME, just everytime, I slap myself on the forehead for not just rebuying this.

Here is why it's the absolute best:

1) Intensity 5 is one of only colors I have found to really match my skin. I'm African Americn with yellow undertones. In the summer I get a little darker and in the autumn/winter I get a little paler. This foundation moves with me. It somehow morphs into whatever color my skin needs it to be. It transcends season. Of course if not blended right or if too much is used, it will look heavyhanded and masky. But if you know what you're doing, this foundation is lovely.

2) The formula is magic. It's like a creamy gel to me. I find that liquid foundations that are thick rather than runny/watery have MORE staying power. This has staying power! IT HAS THE POWER! 24 hours, LITERALLY, and this magical elixr is still on my face. OF COURSE with help of touch ups. Goes on well with a brush, but I am finding that warming it into my skin with my hands gives better coverage and prevents it from getting too tacky and oxidizing on me.

3) Controls my oil. Here's the thing, some people here say they're oily but they're really not. They overexxagerate. Now, when I say I'm oily, I MEAN IT. And I'm oily everywhere, not just in my t-zone, I mean EVERYWHERE. EVERYWHERE OKAY? One minute after I wash my face? Oily. Oily. Oily.
This foundation, while it does not FIX my oil problem (since an oily face is something that has to be remedied from the inside out, not outside in), has done the BEST, THE BEST, at controlling my oil. I still need to blot, but instead of my foundation giving up around the 3rd hour like everything else, THIS foundation keeps on fighting the oily fight until the sun has set.

4) There's nothing light about this. I have massive (but fading) dark spots on both of my cheeks and ONE stroke of this foundation wipes them away for the day. If this is how well Double Wear Light covers, then I'd be afraid to see how the regular Double Wear works.

5) Estee Lauder in general doesn't play. Little fun make up companies like Mac and NARS are more about make up art and trends and just being stylish and cute. Estee Lauder is geared towards women who don't want to play with their make up. They just want it to work, and it better work over and over. We have lives and work and school and families and we need something to keep up with that. Lauder clients are more high end and thus expect more. That being said, Lauder formulates it's make up in a way that constatly delivers high and predicatble results. That's why people have been using Doublewear for decades religiously. It's a perfect science.

So this being said, it's clearly my HG foundation but I still don't use it everyday (I like to try on different brands, it's just fun to me). I just know it's there in the back of my make up cabinent ready to work for me when I need it. It's trusty and dependable.

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.


on 10/21/2011 5:24:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Black

Wow, this was a pleasant surprise! For only having 5 shades, I was surprised to find that one matched me. Shade 4 has a yellow/ slightly olive undertone that works well with my GGG, Mac C6 skintone. Granted, a stronger yellow undertone would match me better but this is good enough, since a perfect match is rare.


I tend to splurge on foundation because it’s near impossible to find something to match my strong golden undertones. So when something works, I buy. I noticed on the Estee Lauder website, you can buy a kit with the Double Wear Light foundation, plus the Double Wear concealer, the Skin Tone Perfector, and the foundation brush for $37.50!


This is a medium coverage foundation with a dewy finish. It is NOT transfer resistant like the Double Wear foundation, and may not last all day on oilier skins. The look is natural and doesn’t cake. I applied with a damp sponge and the effect was a flawless complexion with a natural glow. It doesn’t even look like I’m wearing foundation. But for dark circles or pimples, you will need a concealer because this foundation doesn’t layer well. It’s great for those with less skin concerns or for minimal makeup girls.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/21/2011 4:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have mixed feelings about this foundation. Firstly, the name is rather misleading, despite being called light, this foundation is rather heavy and provides full coverage. The shade selection is poor; the lightest colour is too dark for me (NC15-20, Nars Mont Blanc) and it somehow looks ashy yet pink. That said, the staying power is great, it does not break me out and it looks really nice in photos. If this foundation was true to its name and if there was a better selection of colours then I'd definitely repurchase but, for now, I'm on the hunt for something better.


on 10/19/2011 12:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I recently decided my current foundations were not working for me (NARS Sheer Glow - Mont Blanc and MUFE HD - 110) so I happened by an Estee Lauder counter and figured I'd see what they had to offer. The SA suggested Double Wear Light in shade 1.0. When she put it on me in the store I thought it was a bit too heavy and cakey around my mouth and chin areas, but I took home a sample to try anyways.


I really like this foundation as far as coverage, but color choices are very disappointing. I bought the lightest shade and I think it may be a tad too dark and kind of turns me orange. If I sheer it out a bit (which I prefer anyways) it works and blends in much better.


This would be almost HG for me if only it had a few more color choices. Please, Estee Lauder make this in a lighter shade!


Back to Top