Estee Lauder • Double Wear Light SPF10 • Liquid

rated 3.9(720 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 Salari on 7/3/2011 4:36:00 AM more reviews by Salari

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I use intensity 01 which is just about light enough for me, but I do have issues with blending this properly - if I put it on in a hurry I'm very prone to the obvious lines around my hairline and jawline.
I also don't like the tube packaging - it's hard to see how much you have left. Am on my third tube now, but am thinking of trying something else as I'm getting frustrated with the lines!
Coverage is medium, staying power is good - it's still on my face after a long and sweaty day! My main gripe is the lack of choice in shades, I found it hard to match my very pale skin, making any lines really noticeable, and giving me a slight orange-y look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pkcatalina on 6/23/2011 9:53:00 PM more reviews by pkcatalina

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I just tried a sample. Like many others have stated, EL DW-Light needs more shades! I ended up having to go with the 1.0 which is at least as dark as Colorstay in Nude, maybe even a tad bit darker and warmer. I had to really apply a lot of moisturizer (DDMG) to get this applied and my skin is not dry - it's average to a tad bit oily. It does dry pretty quickly and initially seems a bit masky. Over the day, it wears well and looks pretty nice. When I tried it with my Olay Complete moisturizer underneath, it felt a little more hydrated. I'd say coverage is medium. If you can find a shade that works for you and you have oily skin, then you may like this foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 rambow on 6/20/2011 1:45:00 PM more reviews by rambow

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Terrible colour match for me. I got Intensity 2, and it's either a bit too orange or a bit too dark on me - hard to tell. No way I'm going for intensity 1, however, after my disaster with the lightest Double Wear shade - which made me look like I was wearing lead paint. And this is the first, and major, problem with DWL - the limited shade options.


I have to admit, I'm totally out of patience with the Double Wear line at this point. I'm gearing up for my THIRD trip to the goddamn Estee counter, to get what I originally went for, which was Lucidity. But I was too tempted to try DW and DWL, and the sales associates were happy to guide me in that direction since they said Lucidity is being discontinued (?) And I was so looking forward to trying this.


I'm not happy. This makeup looks fake on me, and emphasizes every imperfection in skin texture, and doesn't even seem to cover tone uneveness all that much on me. Even with a primer and a proper foundation brush -- no go. It's not working. I'm sick of Double Wear foundations. DWL is only marginally better than original DW on me. I'd rather go back to the somewhat-marginal Revlon Colorstay than wear this crap. Never again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ToxicMegacolon on 6/15/2011 5:04:00 PM more reviews by ToxicMegacolon

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I can't comment on the packaging of this since I've only ever used samples of this product. But I think this will be my next fdtn purchase. I LOVE this formula, and how it sits on my skin. Its sweatproof, oilproof, and really evens out my skin tone. Feels nice and light on the skin all day.

I took off one point for the fact that it can look cakey if you continue to layer. Its not terribly easy to blend, but I find it just fine if I moisturize first.

Overall, love

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 XxDeathXAngelxX on 6/13/2011 3:23:00 PM more reviews by XxDeathXAngelxX

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

While it is an okay foundation in terms of staying power, I really don't like this foundation. I have oily skin and I hate how all foundations for oily skin have a matte finish, honestly how hard would it be to make a foundation for oily skin that's oil free and keeps oil at bay. ugh. anyway the other problem with this is that intensity 1.0 is WAY orange on me ! They really need to make some lighter shades.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fatbottmdgrl on 6/13/2011 2:59:00 PM more reviews by fatbottmdgrl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Alright, first off, I work as a part-time SA for Lauder/Clinique (blended, smaller door store) I have absolutely no idea where all these reviewers get that this is a dry, hard to work with product. It is nothing of the sort. I actually bought this in a kit we were selling (yes, BOUGHT, when I can get this stuff for free), because it was an amazing deal with concealor and a foundation brush included. I prefer this in the summer months instead of the regular Double Wear. This coverage is a bit sheerer (come on, it says LIGHT right on the tube), however, it still covers well, I follow this with a light buffing of Double Wear powder in 1.0. I squeeze a small amount onto my foundation brush and work it from my nose and cheeks outward and get a nice even coverage and I have never had problems with application or it not covering evenly. I like that it comes in a squeeze tube and that you really do not waster the product. The only problem is I tend to get a bit shinier more quickly with this formula than the regular Double Wear formula. Other than that small problem (a blotting paper is a wonderful thing), I am satisfied with this product. I have plenty of clients who love it in the summer and request it regularly. It is limited shading because it is supposed to cover a range of skintones over one level. If you feel you need an EXACT match the will give good coverage, then you need the regular Doublewear. If you want a lighter coverage, but still want a polished look w/o the heaviness, then the light version is what you need. This runs $34 @ any Lauder counter nationwide.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* iloveblush on 6/6/2011 4:51:00 PM more reviews by iloveblush

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I had such high hopes. I'm searching for an HG foundation, good color match, dewy, doesn't magnify pores... you know, all the things we are all looking for. Well, this isn't it. 2.0 is a decent enough color match but if I put a good amount on it looks very makeup-y and fake. And after a while my skin starts to look super dry. And the lasting power isn't so great IMO. At least I didn't pay full price as I bought it at an outlet store.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 AspiringItGirl on 6/5/2011 5:52:00 PM more reviews by AspiringItGirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Well at least I can finally say ive used estee lauder double wear, albeit with awful results. Im so annoyed i caved in and bought this, i usually use Loreal true match liquid foundation in no9 Cocoa, probably the only drugstore brand that suits my complexion. i spend a month researching my next high end purchase, buy it use it, an always end up going back to true match (not amazing but 10 and a good colour match.)

Now, EL double wear in the normal formulation would probably give better coverage which is what i need so its my fault i bought the light formulation instead- i did tell the SA i need buildable coverage i can work with rather than outright cakey heavy coverage, and this is what she suggested.
The consistency is thin, dry... urgh i cant even explain it. I much prefer building up coverage with all my make up but this is like a losing battle! Does not give any good coverage and has caused breakouts. My skin feels weird and looks patchy after about 3 hours. Do.not.like.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ep229 on 5/27/2011 7:25:00 PM more reviews by ep229

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I am sorry, but this doesnt work for me. I have combination skin, Oily Tzone and cheeks tend to go dry, bit tricky when it comes to foundation..
I got a sampl of this product and thought I quite liked it. Bought it and now I hate it.
It is hard to apply evenly and it feels like a mask. Agree with many it stays well, but I feel my skin is not breathing while wearing it.
Packaging is not great either.. I remember my first foundation had the same 10 years ago.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chrissy397 on 5/27/2011 10:45:00 AM more reviews by chrissy397

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Wow oh wow!!!! I have normal double wear not double wear light but i figured they were about the same just different amounts of coverage. Double wear (normal) gives excellent coverage is extremely buildable. Just amazing put it on and it stays on all day. I ran a mile in 90 degrees sweating so so much and it stayed on even after I was done!!! It was amazing and i was sooo impressed! A little blob with a foundation bush (any kind mine was 7 dollars and works perfect no reason to splurge on name brand brushes) covers your whole face twice!! Even 2 coats look extremly natural! The price is a little high but go for it!!!! Worth every penny and you never seem to run out! The bottle is nice its a little hard to get out! Shake before using it. The only thing it might not be good for dry skin but moisterizer will make it fine!!! Love this foundation will buy again for sure!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Estee Lauder products

More Liquid products