Estee Lauder Double Wear Light SPF10

3.9

777 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

New: Ingredients: Water, cyclopentailoxane, trimethylsiloxysilcate, butylene glycol, trimethyl pentaphenyl trixiloxane, phenyl trimethicone, silica, magnesium sulfate, polyglyceryl, 3 disostearate, tribehenin, peg-10 dimenthicone, bis-peg, ppg-14, 14 dimethicone, ethylhexylglycerin, phenyl methicone, sodium hyaluronate, dimethicone, polyglyceryl, 4 isosteratate, lauteth-7, glycerin, phenyl methicone, sodium hyaluronate, deimethicone, polyglyceryl, 4 isosterate, laureth-7, glycerin, polymethylsilsesquioxane, hexyl laurate, cetyl peg, ppg 10, 1 dimethicone, chamomilla recutita (matricaria), disteardimonium hectorite, methicone, propylene carbonate, tetramethyl hexaphenyl tetrasiloxane, cellulose gum, xanthan gum, dimethicone silylate, toccopheryl acetate, alumina , sorbic acid, chlorphenesin, phenoxyethanol, + - iron oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499) titanium dioxide (CI 77891), mica, bismuth oxychloride (CI 77163), Ferric Ammonium ferro cyanide.

Original:Active Ingredient: 5% Titanium Dioxide Additional Ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Butylene Glycol, Trimethyl Pentaphenyltrisiloxane, Phenyl Trimethicone, Magnesium Sulfate, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Silica, Tribehenin, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Bis-PEG/PPG-14 /14 Dimethicone, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenyl Methicone, Sodium Hyaluronate, Dimethicone, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Laureth-7, Glycerin, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Hexyl Laurate, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria), Disteardimonium Hectorite, Methicone, Propylene Carbonate, Tretramethyl Hexaphenyl Tetrasiloxane, Cellulose Gum, Xanthan Gum, Dimethicone Silylate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Alumina, Sorbic Acid, Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol, [ /- Iron Oxides (CI77491, CI77492, CI77499), Titanium Dioxide (CI77891), Mica, Bismuth Oxychloride (CI77163), Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide (CI77510)]



on 11/17/2011 8:48:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This is my one of the best foundation good for summer. Medium to high coverage, oil control and not heavy. Only one point that I'm sad that I have to buy to color and mix them.



on 11/15/2011 1:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I'm pretty sure this is the one foundation I've repurchased more than once. It's not perfect, but it's as close to HG as I've gotten. On to the review!


Packaging: Convenient squeeze tube. I like it a lot better than the clunky glass bottle the original formula comes in, but I suspect it's like that because it's thicker and would probably clog if it were in a tube.


Application: I use LORAC's aquaPRIME because it's water based and I have oily skin. I hate the feeling of silicone based primers. The primer minimizes the appearance of pores and helps prevent the foundation from settling into laugh lines and under eye creases. I use the Real Techniques stippling brush. I squeeze some foundation on the back of my hand, get some onto the white tips of the bristles, and stipple/ buff it onto my face. I know you're not "supposed" to buff with a stippling brush, but I only buff on the areas of my face that don't require the stippling technique and that I just need to cover quickly. (Areas without visible pores like outer areas of my cheeks, above my lip, my chin, etc...) I only use one good layer and that's enough coverage for me. I would say it goes from light to moderate coverage depending on how much you use or if you layer it. The finish is natural. Not matte and not luminous. Next, I take a powder puff and dip it into some loose finishing powder, pat off any excess, and blot the puff onto my skin. I don't like using a powder brush for my finishing powder because it looks, well, powdery. After all this, I really do get a flawless finish. If you don't like how matte the foundation looks at this point, you can always use some Fix+ from MAC. I like to leave it matte, however, because I know shine will come through eventually. Which brings me to...


Lasting power: This stuff has great staying power. I have oily skin and live in a humid climate and it wears really well. I do get shine coming through after about 4 hours, but the neat thing is that it doesn't look disgustingly greasy. It looks a bit like a glow. I will, however, have to blot eventually or the oil will get out of control. The good thing is that even if I get really oily, as long as I blot it all to hell and use some MAC Blot Powder, it looks almost as good as new. It doesn't fade at all and it doesn't settle into lines or pores until about the 9th hour.


The color selections sucks. Ugh! The 1 is too light and the 2 is too dark. I honestly prefer to look a little too dark because for some reason the number 1 actually does fade when my oil starts coming through, and you can see my redness more than with the 2. I don't really mind, but a 1.5 would be awesome. ;)


So, aside from the slight color issue and the oil coming through eventually, which I suppose can never be helped because I've tried a million foundations, this is definitely my favorite one, ever!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/14/2011 3:05:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Love it. I was using the regular Double Wear for years but have determined that it is way too heavy for me. I got stuck in a rut and continued to buy it even though I didn't like the way I looked in it. Intensity 2 is a perfect match for me. I tried using a brush but I could see brush strokes and felt like I was using too much. My clean fingers worked much better. I've already received one compliment on how my face is glowing. I never did with the regular DW. I keep running to the bathroom and looking at my face because my complexion looks awesome! I have noticed that my skin is a little dewy but I like it compared to a completely matte finish. I've been using for about 3 days now. Hopefully I will continue to feel this way. Took one lippie off because I do not like the packaging.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/11/2011 6:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

i lovee this foundation! the price isn't too bad for the quality either. It goes on nicely and dries good while not drying out my face. i have tried cream, and did not like when i'd have makup on my fingers from touching my face. this product also is "light" feels perf on my face, not heavy at all! i give it a 4 because their possibly is something better out their, im a bit of a make-up junkie. but i would def buy again!


on 11/5/2011 1:11:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Coverage is too full to be called LIGHT. Too drying and turns orange on me.


on 11/2/2011 2:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I really wanted to love this stuff. I have really oily skin and an uneven skintone and have yet to find my HG foundation.
PRO: Stayed on all day and night!
Color match was almost perfect which never happens
Evened my skin tone
CON: I would not consider this to be sheer like they say.
Looked cakey in areas and I applied lightly
Mask like
I have to say that I would not purchase this again. I am super bummed too because it matched my coloring which is hard for me to do and it also stayed put and kept me oil free, BUMMER! I just can't get over the mask look. I can't imagine what the regular doublewear must be like if this was the light version.


on 10/31/2011 7:25:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I've recently been on a crusade to find a foundation that will give me everything I want. This comes very, very close and may become my favorite if nothing else knocks it off the pedestal. I need good coverage (more than a tm) but dont like a heavy made-up look. PROS: long-lasting on my oily/combo complexion; excellent coverage for melasma patches with a natural, satiny finish, excellent color match (intensity 1.0/Mac nw 15/20); great packaging. CON: SPF 10. Really, guys? You couldn't do better than SPF 10? Fortunately, it's broad-spectrum but I don't like diluting my SPF moisturizer with a foundation that has a lower rating.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/27/2011 11:15:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is my HG foundation. Every time I try something else, I run back to this. It lasts, doesn't break me out and it looks like skin. Not too heavy like DW. I wish there were a larger range of colors, but 2 works for me. I like the creamy light texture and the matte but not flat finish. It covers redness and depending on how you apply it, gives light to a good medium coverage. It's everything I want a foundation to be. Except the packaging kind of sucks. It seems like there always develops a pool of wasted product in the cap, especially when stored standing up. But I can live with it. Photographs nicely. I also like how I can cut the plastic bottle when I can't squeeze any more product out, and use a q-tip to scrape the sides until I can buy another one. Love this so much.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/24/2011 3:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Really like this for a winter foundation. Covers enough - would say it's moderate coverage & really stays put all day. I can not check my make-up all day & know it'll still be fine when I get home in the evening. Intensity 1.0 is a good match for my skin but I can imagine some people would have a hard time finding a good shade as there aren't many. Doesn't cause any dryness on my skin which is what I have the most trouble with, & I really do have the driest skin on earth! Only this one & Chanel Vitalumiere seem to be ok for me to use, otherwise it's a tinted moisturiser! Not too bad for price when you think about how good it is, gave it 5 for packaging too as the tube is a really good shape for getting every last bit out. Definitely recommend & have repurchased many times.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/23/2011 11:27:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Love the squeeze tube, good color, but does NOT stay on for more than a couple hours. Nice sheer coverage, but if you're at all oily, it just melts right off--returning to store.


Back to Top