Estee Lauder • Double Wear Light SPF10 [DISCONTINUED] • Liquid

rated 3.9(745 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 4 of 5 doubleclicks on 9/14/2011 5:13:00 AM more reviews by doubleclicks

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have come to appreciate this foundation overtime - it lasts ALL day without any touch ups and it helps to control oil very very well. i have oily skin but this helps to control sebum secretion and it makes me feel more comfortable! coverage is not very thick. i used to dislike this because it made my skin sticky, but that has been easily solved with the use of a loose powder (from bare minerals, which i highly recommend too!).

Very suitable for oily skin girls!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Beachbunnie on 9/12/2011 12:26:00 PM more reviews by Beachbunnie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

OMG this is my HG!! Nothing could pull me away from my beloved Revlon Colourstay untill I had a major breakout! I was like what am I supposed to do now? So dug around in my makeup draw and found a tiny sample bottle of ELDWL that I got ages ago in the colour 2.
This applys like a dream, its magical! I love using my fingers with this because it blends silk, melting into my skin. The coverage is superb medium to full. It feels like moisturser. It doesnt set matte so once you apply powder bam! Its matt. The staying power is amazing, I blot once a day no more, and I used to blot 3-4 times! I set this with Mac Prep+Prime and it does not budge. I am inlove with this it is the best foundation ever! It photographs beautifully and makes my skin look incredibly smooth! Two of my friends are now using this too.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 gossamer1013 on 9/9/2011 7:34:00 PM more reviews by gossamer1013

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Good coverage----not too heavy; it seems to go on better when I use my hands. My foundation brush made it very streaky; the stippling brush was slightly better but was time-consuming. It seems to stay put, which is quite an accomplishment with my skin and given our climate.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staciarose22 on 9/8/2011 9:32:00 PM more reviews by staciarose22

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I think I've found one that's worth the money. I've tried just about all foundations on the market. I have dry skin in the winter and combination skin the rest of the year, but most foundations seem to make me go oily or dry up like chalk. I have the original in Fresco and a sample of Double Wear Light #2, and it matches really good. At first I thought the coverage was rubbish or I'd need a lot of product, but no. A little goes a very long way. I have some things to cover like redness and spot acne from time to time. Other than this I've been using MUFE HD and Revlon Colorstay. This has a beautiful and natural finish, but it covers and lasts all day. It's worth saving up to buy or keeping it in your collection. There are only six shade options, but #2 works for me. I don't know how they did it, but it matches a range of skin tones.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 graycelou on 9/4/2011 11:13:00 PM more reviews by graycelou

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

My favorite foundation of ALL TIME!!!!

I do own a good bit of base makeups because I like to have a variety of coverages, colors, and staying powers.

Pros:
- Good coverage
- Stays on skin
- Great price for quality

Cons:

- None

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Hellokitty93100 on 9/3/2011 9:22:00 PM more reviews by Hellokitty93100

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I got a very generous sample of this foundation in intensity 1 and intensity 1. I am am an nw20 in mac, and I find that because of the sheerness of the foundation I can get away with wearing both. Although this foundation is sheer it is buildable and will create a very even base for me( although I still need concealer for my acne) . The only reason I would not purchase this foundation is because for a light coverage foundation I feel that macs face and body is much better. The double wear light can look almost powdery on the skin while the mac is virtually undectable.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mufejunkie on 9/2/2011 11:26:00 PM more reviews by mufejunkie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this foundation. See, I tried the makeup forever mat velvet, and it was just not good. I would always get comments about how my face was much darker than my skin color and etc. But color match aside, the foundation really wouldnt stick to my face. My skin is mega oily. Something a primer can't control. And in the middle of a school day, I'd hate to look in the mirror because i know that the foundation would basically be off of the center of my face and still around my face, etc.
After that I went back to using my normal Mac studio powder foundation. But i hate the way powder foundation looks on my skin, so I decided to go back to liquid. I was looking into a lot of foundations, and I figured I might as well try the DWL because it had great reviews, and i had the concealer which I actually like. And guess what? PERFECT COLOR MATCH! I guess I'm one of the lucky ones who got matched to intensity 5.
The foundation did NOT oxidize! It was incredible. And it spreads easily too. I just take a little bit on my hand, and i dot the foundation around my face, and just start spreading, kind of like how I would put lotion on.
Let me tell you, this stuff is heavy duty stuff. I was at a pool party and kept getting splashed with water, and my whole face was drenched. I took a towel and dabbed my face, and yeah a little foundation came off, but the tiniest amount. Then, I figured, crap my face probably looks horrible. But i came back home and guess waht? absolutely perfect. It looked as though I just put it on. I never had that effect with ANY foundation. I loved it and I felt so confident and good about my makeup.
And my oily skin? It didn't bother me at all much. Sure, some oily skin still seeped through, but it gave a dewy look. I just blotted and quite honestly, there wasnt that much oil. Usually, after i use a clean and clear oil blotting sheet, the whole sheet is disgustingly covered with oil. But not with this foundation. My face was just great.
My friend even commented and said how I looked like I was glowing, and I was just wearing this foundation and concealer and nothing else.
I love this foundation so much.
My only problem is that it really is hard to take off. I mean I guess thats what I get from a foundation meant to last for hours, (which it does seeing as how i wore it from 10 a.m to 10 p.m. and it looked great) but its kind of annoying to take off. I scrubbed once, then put sugar on my face and scrubbed again, then kept scrubbing, and then restorted to using bar soap to take it off, and finally it came off.
So overall, love this foundation because it really does last long, I didn't need to touch up, its LIGHTWEIGHT! it feels awesome on the skin. I can't get enough. I just love it so much.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mariannepilgaard on 8/28/2011 2:31:00 PM more reviews by mariannepilgaard

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I got this as a sample as a part of an EL campaign in intensity 3.0. This was a great colour when I had the most tan during summer. For reference NARS Firming Foundation Santa Fe is my best match most of the year, and Helena Rubinstein Velvet Clone Vanilla during the darkest winter months. The tube is really great, the foundation is easy to apply, provides great coverage and still looks natural and gave my skin a nice glow. It is a shame that the selection of shades is so narrow, I could not find a good match to my skin tone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dragonflygirl7 on 8/27/2011 10:48:00 PM more reviews by dragonflygirl7

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a perfect foundation for me in the spring/summer warm temperatures that challenge my dewier foundations (BB Skin, BB TM, LM Silk Creme), and make them slide off. I had tried the original DW, but it was too heavy. If I apply this very sparingly and stipple it on with a foundation brush, it looks amazing, lasts all day and doesn't sweat off, and doesn't feel too heavy. I'm using it with BE's original primer, as this makeup is not necessarily pore minimizing. I was worried it would be too flat, but it does have some dimension, without any shine or shimmer.There are not many shades, but they are very forgiving and pretty neutral. I will see if it agrees with my fall/winter skin, which can be dehydrated at times. These days, in my 40's, I seem to need to tailor my foundation (and to a certain extent, my skin care) to the weather. The EL counter will give you a sample of any foundation you'd like to try, which is invaluable in helping you choose the right one for your skin!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 maeshiil on 8/25/2011 1:32:00 AM more reviews by maeshiil

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is amazing.
It has very good coverage with a natural finish; it looks like my skin, only perfected. I have a very hard time finding a foundation to match my yellow/golden undertone and Intensity 1.0 is perfect for my skin when it's not tanned. As for the longevity, it's great. It lasts a whole school day and still looks just as good when I get home at 5pm as it did at 8am. And most importantly, it doesn't break me out! I couldn't ask for a better foundation and I'm so happy I have finally found my HG. :D

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Estee Lauder products

More Liquid products