Estee Lauder Double Wear Light SPF10

3.9

768 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

New: Ingredients: Water, cyclopentailoxane, trimethylsiloxysilcate, butylene glycol, trimethyl pentaphenyl trixiloxane, phenyl trimethicone, silica, magnesium sulfate, polyglyceryl, 3 disostearate, tribehenin, peg-10 dimenthicone, bis-peg, ppg-14, 14 dimethicone, ethylhexylglycerin, phenyl methicone, sodium hyaluronate, dimethicone, polyglyceryl, 4 isosteratate, lauteth-7, glycerin, phenyl methicone, sodium hyaluronate, deimethicone, polyglyceryl, 4 isosterate, laureth-7, glycerin, polymethylsilsesquioxane, hexyl laurate, cetyl peg, ppg 10, 1 dimethicone, chamomilla recutita (matricaria), disteardimonium hectorite, methicone, propylene carbonate, tetramethyl hexaphenyl tetrasiloxane, cellulose gum, xanthan gum, dimethicone silylate, toccopheryl acetate, alumina , sorbic acid, chlorphenesin, phenoxyethanol, + - iron oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499) titanium dioxide (CI 77891), mica, bismuth oxychloride (CI 77163), Ferric Ammonium ferro cyanide.

Original:Active Ingredient: 5% Titanium Dioxide Additional Ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Butylene Glycol, Trimethyl Pentaphenyltrisiloxane, Phenyl Trimethicone, Magnesium Sulfate, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Silica, Tribehenin, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Bis-PEG/PPG-14 /14 Dimethicone, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenyl Methicone, Sodium Hyaluronate, Dimethicone, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Laureth-7, Glycerin, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Hexyl Laurate, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria), Disteardimonium Hectorite, Methicone, Propylene Carbonate, Tretramethyl Hexaphenyl Tetrasiloxane, Cellulose Gum, Xanthan Gum, Dimethicone Silylate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Alumina, Sorbic Acid, Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol, [ /- Iron Oxides (CI77491, CI77492, CI77499), Titanium Dioxide (CI77891), Mica, Bismuth Oxychloride (CI77163), Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide (CI77510)]



on 10/23/2011 11:27:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Love the squeeze tube, good color, but does NOT stay on for more than a couple hours. Nice sheer coverage, but if you're at all oily, it just melts right off--returning to store.



on 10/22/2011 3:01:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I really like this foundation! My skin can be oily and this is a nice foundation to control oil. It has a nice matte finish and blends well, looks natural. I'm Intensity 3.0. It comes in a tube which is nice so you can use up all the product easily.


on 10/21/2011 5:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is truly one of the Top 10 foundations out there. Dare I say Top 5. Like definitely in the top 5 foudations that have ever been in existance. Ever.

How do I know this? Because I KEEP on trying NOT to come back to it. Meaning, after I finish a bottle I say to myself "Why not try something new instead of EL again?" And so I do. Mac, Bobbi Brown, Chanel, MUFE, and EVERYTIME, just everytime, I slap myself on the forehead for not just rebuying this.

Here is why it's the absolute best:

1) Intensity 5 is one of only colors I have found to really match my skin. I'm African Americn with yellow undertones. In the summer I get a little darker and in the autumn/winter I get a little paler. This foundation moves with me. It somehow morphs into whatever color my skin needs it to be. It transcends season. Of course if not blended right or if too much is used, it will look heavyhanded and masky. But if you know what you're doing, this foundation is lovely.

2) The formula is magic. It's like a creamy gel to me. I find that liquid foundations that are thick rather than runny/watery have MORE staying power. This has staying power! IT HAS THE POWER! 24 hours, LITERALLY, and this magical elixr is still on my face. OF COURSE with help of touch ups. Goes on well with a brush, but I am finding that warming it into my skin with my hands gives better coverage and prevents it from getting too tacky and oxidizing on me.

3) Controls my oil. Here's the thing, some people here say they're oily but they're really not. They overexxagerate. Now, when I say I'm oily, I MEAN IT. And I'm oily everywhere, not just in my t-zone, I mean EVERYWHERE. EVERYWHERE OKAY? One minute after I wash my face? Oily. Oily. Oily.
This foundation, while it does not FIX my oil problem (since an oily face is something that has to be remedied from the inside out, not outside in), has done the BEST, THE BEST, at controlling my oil. I still need to blot, but instead of my foundation giving up around the 3rd hour like everything else, THIS foundation keeps on fighting the oily fight until the sun has set.

4) There's nothing light about this. I have massive (but fading) dark spots on both of my cheeks and ONE stroke of this foundation wipes them away for the day. If this is how well Double Wear Light covers, then I'd be afraid to see how the regular Double Wear works.

5) Estee Lauder in general doesn't play. Little fun make up companies like Mac and NARS are more about make up art and trends and just being stylish and cute. Estee Lauder is geared towards women who don't want to play with their make up. They just want it to work, and it better work over and over. We have lives and work and school and families and we need something to keep up with that. Lauder clients are more high end and thus expect more. That being said, Lauder formulates it's make up in a way that constatly delivers high and predicatble results. That's why people have been using Doublewear for decades religiously. It's a perfect science.

So this being said, it's clearly my HG foundation but I still don't use it everyday (I like to try on different brands, it's just fun to me). I just know it's there in the back of my make up cabinent ready to work for me when I need it. It's trusty and dependable.

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.


on 10/21/2011 5:24:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Black

Wow, this was a pleasant surprise! For only having 5 shades, I was surprised to find that one matched me. Shade 4 has a yellow/ slightly olive undertone that works well with my GGG, Mac C6 skintone. Granted, a stronger yellow undertone would match me better but this is good enough, since a perfect match is rare.


I tend to splurge on foundation because it’s near impossible to find something to match my strong golden undertones. So when something works, I buy. I noticed on the Estee Lauder website, you can buy a kit with the Double Wear Light foundation, plus the Double Wear concealer, the Skin Tone Perfector, and the foundation brush for $37.50!


This is a medium coverage foundation with a dewy finish. It is NOT transfer resistant like the Double Wear foundation, and may not last all day on oilier skins. The look is natural and doesn’t cake. I applied with a damp sponge and the effect was a flawless complexion with a natural glow. It doesn’t even look like I’m wearing foundation. But for dark circles or pimples, you will need a concealer because this foundation doesn’t layer well. It’s great for those with less skin concerns or for minimal makeup girls.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/21/2011 4:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have mixed feelings about this foundation. Firstly, the name is rather misleading, despite being called light, this foundation is rather heavy and provides full coverage. The shade selection is poor; the lightest colour is too dark for me (NC15-20, Nars Mont Blanc) and it somehow looks ashy yet pink. That said, the staying power is great, it does not break me out and it looks really nice in photos. If this foundation was true to its name and if there was a better selection of colours then I'd definitely repurchase but, for now, I'm on the hunt for something better.


on 10/19/2011 12:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I recently decided my current foundations were not working for me (NARS Sheer Glow - Mont Blanc and MUFE HD - 110) so I happened by an Estee Lauder counter and figured I'd see what they had to offer. The SA suggested Double Wear Light in shade 1.0. When she put it on me in the store I thought it was a bit too heavy and cakey around my mouth and chin areas, but I took home a sample to try anyways.


I really like this foundation as far as coverage, but color choices are very disappointing. I bought the lightest shade and I think it may be a tad too dark and kind of turns me orange. If I sheer it out a bit (which I prefer anyways) it works and blends in much better.


This would be almost HG for me if only it had a few more color choices. Please, Estee Lauder make this in a lighter shade!


on 10/18/2011 6:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I've always used DW and loved the coverage. Only now my skin has settled down in my 20's i wanted a lighter coverage. I got a tester of this and loved it. My skin is oily and this kept my skin matte all day and it lasted just as well as DW original did, which is brilliantly. Overall i really liked this foundation the only downside is the cost, but i would easily pay what is cost for such a great product.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Hazel

MY HG HANDS DOWN I WILL USE THIS FOR LIFE!! I have this in shade 03 and it is 100% worth the price!!
Pros:
1. does not oxidize
2. the perfect mix of yellow and beige undertones [i have jessica alba/KK skin tone]
3. NO scent, non-comedogenic etc
4. Actually lasts for a long time.
5. does not easily transfer, i say easily as all foundations will transfer to a degree

I may get skin after 7 hours but still, when skin looks this good the shine can add a hightlight effect lol. Seriously this is a decent time for foundation to last.

Cons:
1. limited colour range - i think if they expanded in this area DWL might attract more customers.
- I do get darker in summer but then whats the purpose of bronzer?? [then again i was born bronze - people are nuts for buying 2 shades of foundation - BRONZER!]
2. In Australia it costs $70 and seeing as the AUD is higher than the USD, i'm sure the American make up alley reviewers would be shocked.

I use this with the smashbox oil free primer and think that its a perfect duo all year round. But i find in winter i can wear this foundation on its own.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/10/2011 6:37:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I really LOVE this foundation! I've been looking for a long lasting makeup that looks natural all day long and I think I may have found it! It settles into my skin really well and gives me a slight glow. The packaging is hygenic and gives out the right amount. I'm in between Intensity 2.0 and 3.0 so have both depending on whether I've tanned or not. I highy recommend!


on 10/10/2011 6:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Other

I LOVE THIS FOUNDATION! It does everything I want a foundation to do. It covers well, lasts all day, and doesn't break me out even though I am very acne-prone. Most importantly, it looks like SKIN. I hate heavy foundations that make skin look too matte and unnatural. This has a satin finish (not shimmery) that ends up looking like I have naturally flawless skin, which I don't. I have pretty dry skin and as long as I moisturize well before applying this it doesn't cling to dry patches. I go to school full-time and work part-time so I often have my makeup on for 13 hours. This holds up the whole time. It is expensive at $35 but I will definitely repurchase. I am MAC NC20/Revlon Colorstay Buff and wear Intensity 1.0. It matches perfectly.

TIP: I recommend getting the Double Wear Makeup Lesson kit if you are going to buy this foundation. It is $37.50 and comes with the foundation, a mini Double Wear concealer, a foundation brush, and Spotlight. It's a much better deal.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top