Estee Lauder • Double Wear Light SPF10 • Liquid

rated 3.9(740 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Hellokitty93100 on 9/3/2011 9:22:00 PM more reviews by Hellokitty93100

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I got a very generous sample of this foundation in intensity 1 and intensity 1. I am am an nw20 in mac, and I find that because of the sheerness of the foundation I can get away with wearing both. Although this foundation is sheer it is buildable and will create a very even base for me( although I still need concealer for my acne) . The only reason I would not purchase this foundation is because for a light coverage foundation I feel that macs face and body is much better. The double wear light can look almost powdery on the skin while the mac is virtually undectable.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mufejunkie on 9/2/2011 11:26:00 PM more reviews by mufejunkie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this foundation. See, I tried the makeup forever mat velvet, and it was just not good. I would always get comments about how my face was much darker than my skin color and etc. But color match aside, the foundation really wouldnt stick to my face. My skin is mega oily. Something a primer can't control. And in the middle of a school day, I'd hate to look in the mirror because i know that the foundation would basically be off of the center of my face and still around my face, etc.
After that I went back to using my normal Mac studio powder foundation. But i hate the way powder foundation looks on my skin, so I decided to go back to liquid. I was looking into a lot of foundations, and I figured I might as well try the DWL because it had great reviews, and i had the concealer which I actually like. And guess what? PERFECT COLOR MATCH! I guess I'm one of the lucky ones who got matched to intensity 5.
The foundation did NOT oxidize! It was incredible. And it spreads easily too. I just take a little bit on my hand, and i dot the foundation around my face, and just start spreading, kind of like how I would put lotion on.
Let me tell you, this stuff is heavy duty stuff. I was at a pool party and kept getting splashed with water, and my whole face was drenched. I took a towel and dabbed my face, and yeah a little foundation came off, but the tiniest amount. Then, I figured, crap my face probably looks horrible. But i came back home and guess waht? absolutely perfect. It looked as though I just put it on. I never had that effect with ANY foundation. I loved it and I felt so confident and good about my makeup.
And my oily skin? It didn't bother me at all much. Sure, some oily skin still seeped through, but it gave a dewy look. I just blotted and quite honestly, there wasnt that much oil. Usually, after i use a clean and clear oil blotting sheet, the whole sheet is disgustingly covered with oil. But not with this foundation. My face was just great.
My friend even commented and said how I looked like I was glowing, and I was just wearing this foundation and concealer and nothing else.
I love this foundation so much.
My only problem is that it really is hard to take off. I mean I guess thats what I get from a foundation meant to last for hours, (which it does seeing as how i wore it from 10 a.m to 10 p.m. and it looked great) but its kind of annoying to take off. I scrubbed once, then put sugar on my face and scrubbed again, then kept scrubbing, and then restorted to using bar soap to take it off, and finally it came off.
So overall, love this foundation because it really does last long, I didn't need to touch up, its LIGHTWEIGHT! it feels awesome on the skin. I can't get enough. I just love it so much.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mariannepilgaard on 8/28/2011 2:31:00 PM more reviews by mariannepilgaard

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I got this as a sample as a part of an EL campaign in intensity 3.0. This was a great colour when I had the most tan during summer. For reference NARS Firming Foundation Santa Fe is my best match most of the year, and Helena Rubinstein Velvet Clone Vanilla during the darkest winter months. The tube is really great, the foundation is easy to apply, provides great coverage and still looks natural and gave my skin a nice glow. It is a shame that the selection of shades is so narrow, I could not find a good match to my skin tone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dragonflygirl7 on 8/27/2011 10:48:00 PM more reviews by dragonflygirl7

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a perfect foundation for me in the spring/summer warm temperatures that challenge my dewier foundations (BB Skin, BB TM, LM Silk Creme), and make them slide off. I had tried the original DW, but it was too heavy. If I apply this very sparingly and stipple it on with a foundation brush, it looks amazing, lasts all day and doesn't sweat off, and doesn't feel too heavy. I'm using it with BE's original primer, as this makeup is not necessarily pore minimizing. I was worried it would be too flat, but it does have some dimension, without any shine or shimmer.There are not many shades, but they are very forgiving and pretty neutral. I will see if it agrees with my fall/winter skin, which can be dehydrated at times. These days, in my 40's, I seem to need to tailor my foundation (and to a certain extent, my skin care) to the weather. The EL counter will give you a sample of any foundation you'd like to try, which is invaluable in helping you choose the right one for your skin!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 maeshiil on 8/25/2011 1:32:00 AM more reviews by maeshiil

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is amazing.
It has very good coverage with a natural finish; it looks like my skin, only perfected. I have a very hard time finding a foundation to match my yellow/golden undertone and Intensity 1.0 is perfect for my skin when it's not tanned. As for the longevity, it's great. It lasts a whole school day and still looks just as good when I get home at 5pm as it did at 8am. And most importantly, it doesn't break me out! I couldn't ask for a better foundation and I'm so happy I have finally found my HG. :D

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KP1234 on 8/23/2011 12:44:00 AM more reviews by KP1234

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is the best foundation I've tried ever so far.
Pros
- Good medium coverage but buildable
- Blends well and controls shine
- Fragrance and oil free; safe for sensitive skin and doesn't break me out (unlike my Loreal True Match which broke me out)
- Great color match for my warm yellow Asian skin (I have this in 3.0)
- Natural finish and photo friendly

Cons
- Can look pasty if over applied (Duh right)
- Hard to wash product off my foundation brush (have to buy a makeup removing brush cleaner)

Overall I'm really happy with this foundation so far.



    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 temadeamor on 8/19/2011 5:03:00 PM more reviews by temadeamor

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love, love, love this foundation. I can't even tell i have it on, except my skin looks even and brighter. It is not full coverage as the name says, but still gives nice coverage. Most importantly, it does not transfer, which is essential to me. I'd rather go sans foundation than have it transfer to my clothes, hands, etc.

UPDATE. thank you EL for making intensity 3.5. Intensity 3 had gotten too light for me and I was bummed, but i went to the counter to try Intensity 4 again, and luckily they had 3.5, which is a perfect match. I am on cloud nine. I am Loreal W6 and Mac NC37 for reference.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* triotrio on 8/9/2011 1:15:00 PM more reviews by triotrio

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

If you work 10+ hour shifts, then you may feel like weeping in gratitude after you discover this stuff.

I work in a hospital ward, with barely enough time to use the bathroom let alone touch up make up. I put this on at 6.30am and look in the mirror at 7.30 that night, and I look as matte and flawless and perfect as when I first applied.

It has superb coverage, actually I don't really know what's so "Light" about it - the original DW must be hard-core indeed. It covers up dark undereye circles amazingly.

I usually keep it just for work cos it's pricey, but it's also great for things like weddings when you're up early and have a late night.

This stuff is worth every penny - there's simply no cheaper foundation that's as reliable as this.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 vivi123 on 8/7/2011 7:12:00 PM more reviews by vivi123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great everyday foundation. Perfect for casual days like school and work when you don't want to look like a ball gown barbie.


Pros: It definitely stays put on your face for a long time and looks natural with a primer. I have a very oily T-zone, and this foundation with some powder prevented my usual shininess. It also seems to be somewhat waterproof, because I swatched on my arm, and it was incredibly stubborn to wash off with water when I got home. The packaging is great too (unlike the silly glass bottle for the original double wear).


Cons: It dries fast so you will need to be quick with blending. This is very light/sheer so it only semi covered my imperfections such as acne scars (but that's where concealer comes in anyways). I was told this was buildable, but I don't recommend doing so. It will only look chalky, so buy a full coverage rather than building up on this.


Overall, I like this and it creates a lovely thin base for your face as it gets rid of redness, uneven tones and controls oil (if you are sweaty like me). btw, you can receive a 10 day sample of any foundation from your estee lauder counter.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* polarpooch on 8/5/2011 9:56:00 PM more reviews by polarpooch

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

HOLY GRAIL FOUND. I have been searching for 10 long years for a foundation that can last me through my (LONG) days at work (12-14 hours). I have VERY oily skin and nothing I've tried has not degraded on my face by the end of half my day. Till now. EL DW Light is the first makeup that did not break down on my face half way through my day. Better than that, it lasted my whole workday and still looked pretty darn fresh at the end. I did still have to use my oil blotting papers, but still...wow! The coverage is lovely and light. Sheer/Medium to Medium coverage. I am using Intensity 2.0, which is the second lightest shade and the color match is perfect. It sets fast, so you have to work fast to blend it in. It is not a moisturizing makeup (which is why I got it), so wear a moisturizer if you have dry skin. Honestly I still can't believe I finally found a makeup that lasts on my face all day. One irritating daily battle is now behind me! Excellent!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Estee Lauder products

More Liquid products