Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse

3.0

3271 reviews

48% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Squalane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Phenoxyethanol, Phenyltrimethicone, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Methylparaben, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Aluminum Hydroxide, Silica, BHT, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain ( /-):, CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77163 (Bismuth Oxychloride), Mica


on 10/25/2004 9:36:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The BEST foundation that I have ever tried. It is truly a 'Dream'; it stays Matte throughout most of the day (with my oily skin), and has a feathery, Mousse-like consistency. Medium coverage.
I love it.



on 10/24/2004 6:55:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I picked this up at Walgreen's because it was FREE after rebate and I see in today's newspaper circular that the deal is still on, so if you are curious,now's the time to try it. As mentioned in other reviews, its hard to pick out your shade. I suggest that you ignore the color of the jar lid and even the name. The shades are divided into light,medium and dark and then they are sorted by how deep they are within those catagories. I think most of us have a pretty good instinct for where we fall on that spectrum, so just choose the shade closest to what you think you are-for example, I chose the lightest of the medium shades and its pretty darn good even though it looked horrible in the jar.(Also, save your receipt! They do take returns whether they advertise it or not!) I have mixed feelings about this product. I LOVE the feel of it, so soft, and it gives me a beautiful poreless finish which lasts all day. Don't try to use it on any lines or flakiness you may have-it will only emphasize them. I use this only on my oily areas,which for me is more of a plus zone than a T zone, so the jar will last me a long time.If you prefer to use your fingers to apply, rather than a sponge or brush, I suggest you dip out a bit with a spatula or even a Q-tip to avoid contaminating the rest of the product.I guess that because of the unique texture of this stuff, a jar is the only way to package it,but it would be better if the jar was plastic and had a flip-top. Unfortunately this foundation has no SPF which for me means I won't be buying again...too bad,it could have been my HG.Its so much better than the MUAC Matte Velvet I have been using. Now that Maybelline has got this formula down, I hope they come out with a blush too!


on 10/23/2004 5:52:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

If I ever doubted that a drugstore foundation could be equal-if not better-than one from any high end or expensive line of makeup, than i have definitly made up my mind. I bought this, along with a L'Oreal True-Match foundation (see my review for more details on that) and I am 100% thoroughly impressed with the results. This goes on SOOOO smooth, and although some of the reviews have noted it as being hard to match to a particular skintone, perhaps I had a lucky guess when i picked this shade, because it blends wonderfully. I just love how creamy it goes on, yet it isn't thin or watery-- it conceals very well! The only thing is that my skin gets really oily, and if you have oily/severe acne-prone skin, you should just prep/powder skin before and after applying so that you don't have a greasy face later! :)


on 10/22/2004 7:03:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Awesome product! I was a bit skeptical at the whole "mousse" thing, but it's actually pretty cool! Mousse is a little bit easier to use, and gives better coverage, than liquid. I'll admit, it it VERY HARD to determine your shade, so I recommend buying two that are close to you. I did, and it turns out the lighter shade was better (Medium 2, Pure Beige). It makes my face look so flawless, it's got an "airbrushed model" look. Lasts nicely throughout the day, too! Seriously, 7th period in the girls room, it still looked the same as morning application!


on 10/20/2004 11:52:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Im the kind of girl that loves foundation! I'have tryed many one since so far. When I heard about this new Maybelline product, I was very curious to try it on my own. I bought it and I'm very satisfied and happy about it. I even use it more often then my Clinic Superfit foundation in Whipcream or my Divinora foundation. I like the texture, it blends easily and give me a very natural and great coverage. It's long wearing, i'm not shining and it doesn't dry out my skin. I put it with my fingers, I don't need to put so much to have a beautiful result, it covers well my occasional breakout. I agree with the publicity, very light, smooth and good coverage without feeling wearing something caky.

The nuance 3 creamy natural is perfect to me. I put sometimes bronzing powder after (Caroline Raz'ma'tazz blush or Satellite Soleil intense from Lise Watier).
I like the packaging, even if it is glass.

I won't hesitate to buy it again ! Cheap and very good product.


on 10/19/2004 2:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm surprised by how well this stuff works. I usually just use the high end stuff, but when this came out, I was so curious. I tried the Pure Beige Color, and its a pretty good match. Its a little lighter than what I like, but I just put on a little bronzer powder afterwards. This stuff covers like a dream. It give almost full coverage, but feels light and looks natural. I use this as an all over foundation, to spot conceal zits, and as an eye shadow base. It works so well for something so cheap. This is a must try.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/17/2004 7:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I wanted to love this- I like a matte face, especially since I have an oily t-zone. However, the "matte" look fades quickly, as does the coverage. While matte, it gives a sheer to somewhat medium coverage. My big complaint is that it broke me out something awful- I recommend that you buy this at a CVS or Walgreens where they take returns.


on 10/17/2004 12:33:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse (Nude):
I have been using for a week. The color is slightly pinker and gray then the color in Wonder Finish, but still golden enough to make my Asian NC25 skintone look natural. It has a moussy texture (think Chocolate mouse!) just as its name, I find it fun and interesting, but then this texture is thicker then cream or liquid, and less easier to blend. I apply it dry with sponge, about a soy bean size of product is enough for whole face. I will have to try use it wet to thinning it out. The coverage is super! Pls expect a medium to full coverage from this, I think this is enough to be used double as concealer in spot or under eye circles. This is defiantly NOT for dry skin, because it controls oil very well, less then 1/2 J&J blotting paper in noon and again in the evening is well enough to keep my face ULTRA matte, in time when i'm busy at work and have no time blotting at noon, my look is still pretty presentable. To sum up, this is a matter foundation with great coverage. (i MIGHT repurchase)


on 10/16/2004 11:58:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Oh I love this. The texture is hard to describe. It really is a "mousse". Blends super well and leaves a matte, powdery finish. Great for oily skin. I have oily skin and this works so well. Good coverage, too. No need for concealer or powder at all. I will definately repurchase. So glad I discovered this. The price is great, too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/16/2004 7:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This stuff kicks butt. I have been trying to find something that gave me a nice even finish but not make me look like a grease ball and this has ended my search. It goes on super easily, and stays on all day. I don't have to but I set it with powder just in case so that might help it last a bit longer. The shade range isn't the greatest so I usually end up with one a little to dark or a little to light but it blends so well that I really don't care. It would be nice if this came in a pump but I don't mind the jar. The price depends on when you buy it. If it's on sale it's about $5.00 so stock up, but it can get pretty close to $10 when it's not on sale. I'll definetly repurchase.UPDATE: This stuff turned weird half way through the jar. It turned into a bunch of little balls and my skin felt greasy.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

MAYBELLINE Dream Matte Mousse foundation review [has Cancer producing ingredient] by LifeThoughtsCamera



Back to Top