Maybelline • Dream Matte Mousse • Foundations

rated 3.1(3220 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shadder on 9/24/2004 9:55:00 AM more reviews by shadder

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Ok, maybe it is too early to be giving this 5 lippies considering that I just bought this yesterday and started using this yesterday. However, I have to say wow. I don't usually trust drugstore foundations, one reason is you cannot test the colors. But I happen to find a perfect match Sandy Beige medium 1. Anyhoot, it does have a matte finish, my t-zone was not oily, it did not break me out, and MY PORES APPEARED SMALLER!!!! I can honestly say my skin looked so good without looking cakey. Also I have this list I got off the internet that rates ingredients 0-5 on what is most comedagenic (sp) non of the ingredients in the makeup were considered comedigenic :0)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* abfabjeanius on 9/23/2004 4:08:00 PM more reviews by abfabjeanius

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this two days ago and am wearing it for the second time. After hearing all of the raves on this board, I decided to give it a shot. (The ads featuring the beautiful Adriana Lima also helped!)

Oddly enough, I really like this foundation! I got it in Light 4 (Nude), which is the color I usually get in the Maybelline foundations. Although a *tiny* bit darker than my skin (which is NC25-ish), it blended end well without leaving any weird line of demarcation.

The texture is kind of interesting - powdery and creamy at the same time. It gives a light-medium coverage... enough coverage to cover my undereye circles, but also light enough to look natural. I didn't have to powder afterwards, and my face has stayed matte throughout the day. My nose is a little bit oily, but not as much as when I use other foundations, or no foundation at all.

I have heard complaints about people getting acne from this, so I will definitely test run this for a few more days before I tell everyone to run out and get it. So far, though, I do like it a lot!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 devoted_diva on 9/23/2004 3:37:00 PM more reviews by devoted_diva

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have oily skin and this stuff does help control the shine, but I'm still looking for that foundation with the right color. I wear caramel and it seems to be the closest shade to my skin color, but I don't think I'm going to abandon my Studio Fix NC45 by MAC. Overall, it a good product and females must keep in mind that everyone's skin is different.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 denise1105 on 9/21/2004 5:22:00 PM more reviews by denise1105

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I just started to use this last night. I saw a article in a beauty magazine that said oily skin you should try this foundation and Rimmel powder. Well I went to purchase this foundation last night, and I am very impressed with it. VERY Impressed. I might even go as fas as saying I think this is my HG Foundation

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gruveechik on 9/20/2004 2:56:00 PM more reviews by gruveechik

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Pros: Neat whipped texture - good coverage. Great price.

Cons: Caramel colour looks like mud+caramel=not great. Tooooo matte for me.. made my face look dull & made ashy areas even more so. Definitely not good choice for dry skin - felt my face was shrivelling up! Tried to mix w/ lotion in hand & apply - helped a bit. Won't repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Obsessedwithmac2 on 9/19/2004 12:29:00 PM more reviews by Obsessedwithmac2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This stuff is just abolutely horrible. Once again, there is no color for a PPP. The lightest one is about 2-3 shades too dark on me, but somehow it still ends up looking chalky? This is not a foundation.. this is pure whipped silicone. And silicone just happens to give me the worst reactions ever, especially in such high concentrations like this. It's the 2nd ingredient on the package! And who wants to dig their fingers into their foundation every day?? Can we spell bacteria breeding. Gross.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Gabi on 9/19/2004 6:47:00 AM more reviews by Gabi

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I got this one time for free and have then repurchased. I enjoy the mousee texture. I am using nude. At times I am concerned that it may be too orangey. I'm still not sure, but it seems to be related to what type of light I am in. I really like how well this goes on. It also seems to last. I have not found it to be drying. I would say the coverage is medium, which is not always adequate for my skin because I have melasma (dark patches from the sun & hormones). However, it's still my current favorite. Note that it does not have any spf & the product tends to get used up somewhat quickly compared to other foundations.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jezseeca on 9/19/2004 12:36:00 AM more reviews by jezseeca

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love this! i have two colors (one in a light shade, the other in the medium) because the color of my face is always changing depending on how my tan fades now that summer is leaving us once again.

a trick: apply with a sponge, instead of fingers, that way u get a more EVEN coverage. it changes everything! makes my skin look flawless, i love it! It's a nice change from using MAC studio fix, which can be drying. Now, I use Dream Matte Mouse for day wear, and i save MAC studiofix for nighttime evenings out.

Also--i use a light moisturizer underneath to help it blend better.

UPDATE: well.... i noticed that the silicone base in this product has been the culprit of tiny little bumps on my face... so.... i'm not going to be able to use this as a foundation anymore. HOWEVER, i think i will just use it as a concealor---esp, under my eyes to cover dark circles.... and little spots here and there. i also think it's good to have on hand just in case my skin needs emergency cover some day!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* akane on 9/18/2004 10:35:00 AM more reviews by akane

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I 3< this foundation! I've been using this for a week now and all i can say it's gawjus! I was a bit hesistant to try this when i read mixed reviews on MUA and i always have problems with DRUGSTORE foundations!! I also had breakouts after using Max Factor Color Adapt and CoverGirl TruBlend so this is definately HEAVEN!!

The texture is mousse like whipped creme makes it easy to blend with my skin, especially when the MEDIUM BEIGE(med 3) matched my By Terry #3, GA LSF#6 PERFECTLY!!! It's not too orange, too yellow and too pink. The coverage is buildable and eventhough when it was in sheer coverage, it does a good job in covering all the redness and stay
matte for whole day! Say no more to CONCEALER! My Combi Skin especially my Tzone don't even need to BLOT at all in this humid Malaysian weather :)

I love the natural finish, light consistency, non greasy, long lasting and the fact that i don't look oil slick by 11am. It does not absorbs as quick as the CG and MF so it's easier to blend blend blend.


Packaging: Instead of pump bottles like CG TruBlend and Max Factor Color Adapt, this comes in cute round glass jar. Because it's in jar and have mousse texture reminds me of Stila Rouge Pot. Since i hate dipping my fingers into the jar and don't like the idea i might drop this glass jar anytime soon, i have transfered some to another small container. Dry Skin - you need to apply this over moisturizer otherwise it'll sink into fine lines.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* akane on 9/18/2004 10:35:00 AM more reviews by akane

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I 3< this foundation! I've been using this for a week now and all i can say it's gawjus! I was a bit hesistant to try this when i read mixed reviews on MUA and i always have problems with DRUGSTORE foundations!! I also had breakouts after using Max Factor Color Adapt and CoverGirl TruBlend so this is definately HEAVEN!!

The texture is mousse like whipped creme makes it easy to blend with my skin, especially when the MEDIUM BEIGE(med 3) matched my By Terry #3, GA LSF#6 PERFECTLY!!! It's not too orange, too yellow and too pink. The coverage is buildable and eventhough when it was in sheer coverage, it does a good job in covering all the redness and stay
matte for whole day! Say no more to CONCEALER! My Combi Skin especially my Tzone don't even need to BLOT at all in this humid Malaysian weather :)

I love the natural finish, light consistency, non greasy, long lasting and the fact that i don't look oil slick by 11am. It does not absorbs as quick as the CG and MF so it's easier to blend blend blend.

Packaging: Instead of pump bottles like CG TruBlend and Max Factor Color Adapt, this comes in cute round glass jar. Because it's in jar and have mousse texture reminds me of Stila Rouge Pot. Since i hate dipping my fingers into the jar and don't like the idea i might drop this glass jar anytime soon, i have transfered some to another small container. Dry Skin - you need to apply this over moisturizer otherwise it'll sink into fine lines.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products