Maybelline • Dream Matte Mousse • Foundations

rated 3.0(3147 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 alli829 on 8/12/2004 12:26:00 AM more reviews by alli829

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I absolutely hated this stuff. I have a lighter complexion, so I got a shade close to what I would use with any other type of Maybelline foundation. It looked totall orange. I also thought it was really cakey. It just creased and made my face look so dry. Definitely wouldn't buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 misa on 8/10/2004 8:43:00 PM more reviews by misa

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I have this in Classic Ivory and while it looks orange in the container, it goes on with a natural ivory color. Nice coverage, doesn't itch my sensitive skin and doesn't make my face oily. Will buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kappatit on 8/10/2004 7:57:00 PM more reviews by kappatit

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

wonderful feeling product. i used SO little, it would last forever to use it up. kinda cakey, good color match (nude).

first time using an NON oil free foundation ever. with that said, this stuff has jojoba oil in it. it broke me out into huge red, bumpy cystic zits.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ProductJunkey on 8/10/2004 6:15:00 AM more reviews by ProductJunkey

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I'm a believer in this make up, too! In fact I tried it only for the reviews I found here. I'm not a fan of Maybelline's foundations. I *did* like Great Wear, but that's been discontinued. When I first saw it in the store display, I thought if it's got Mousse in the name it has to be too sheer to work for me.
When I bought it, the price wasn't coming up on it, so the cashier said she'd ring it up for $4.00. I used a coupon for $3.00, so I was thrilled to get this makeup for only a dollar!
When I first used it I was in a hurry, so I put on just a little bit. In fact, that's all I needed. It made me have perfect skin!
I love how soft it feels and goes on so smoothly.
As far as oil control, it's about the same as any other matte foundations I've tried, I still have to use clean & clear tissues.Then again, no product can totally stop oil formation.
I'd buy this again. But I know it will take me a long time to use this up, because a little goes a long way.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* georgiasweety on 8/8/2004 11:49:00 PM more reviews by georgiasweety

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I wanted so badly to love this product. It gave such great coverage and felt sooo soft. It also kept my face extremely matte all day long. The problem was the silicone broke me out. I got the lightest shade and im a (ppp nw/15) but it was about 2 shades too dark for me. Even though I broke out from this, I highly recommend this to anyone looking for a great foundation that doubles as a concealer and will keep your face from looking shiny all day. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 JavaJunkie on 8/8/2004 9:14:00 PM more reviews by JavaJunkie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

What a great new product! The consistency of this creme foundation is mousse-like, like Stila Rouge Pots. The shades are a little tough, and the glass jar is not my favorite, but the jar itself is easy to get in and out of with fingers, spatulas, whatever. The slip of this product is silky and the coverage is fabulous. The price is great, even for drugstore--scored a sale at $4.99! Another inexpensive HG--and there are so few left! This one's a hit. UPDATE: Disregard the entire previous review. If there's one thing I hate (and I KNOW there's more!!) it's a foundation that sends CNN out to advertise my fine lines! By the end of the trial day with this stuff--which I was so excited about--I all but had those fluorescent orange cones around my laugh lines and whatever all other lines I have. Bad news. I am taking a lippie away and bringing this down to 3, as I wipe a tear of disappointment from the clearly-defined wrinkle just below my eye.......

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 moshi on 8/8/2004 10:41:00 AM more reviews by moshi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I absolutely love this foundation. Work alone, its an exceptionally natural-looking medium to heavy coverage. However, on my more au naturel days, I've found that it also gives a beautifully matte light coverage when used over a good silky moisturizer (I like Eyeko's cream). I had to take off 1 lippy because the color of lids doesn't really match the color of the foundation, at least for some of the shades. I bought nude originally, and found it really orange on my skintone. I went back and bought a lighter color, and it worked beautifully. Definitely will buy this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* birdmadgirl on 8/7/2004 10:13:00 PM more reviews by birdmadgirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

I was hesitant to try this foundation, being of the opinion that other than Full and Soft mascara, Maybelline products are crappy. After reading the reviews here, however, I'm glad I gave this new foundation a try. I bought this in Light 1/Porcelain Ivory. I could use a lighter color, but I'm assuming this is the lightest one. It still works OK, though. It gives me a little more color than normal, but I suppose that's not a bad thing. The foundation holds up pretty well while I'm at work, though I do have to blot or swipe on some powder by mid-day. It does NOT stand up to this gosh-awful Texas heat, but I'd probably have to use spackle on my face for that to happen. I like the texture--like a really thick mousse; it blends easily. Really, my only concern is that I think this foundation may be breaking me out. Today, my face is getting small, rough bumps in different areas. I'm going to keep wearing this for a few days and if I get more bumps, it'll have to go.

UPDATE: This is breaking me out :( That sucks, too, because I do really like this foundation. I think if it were oil free (and had sunscreen!), it'd be perfect for me. Unfortunately, I'm positive it *not* being oil free is the problem. Sigh...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* moonsista on 8/6/2004 6:24:00 PM more reviews by moonsista

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This would be a downright *perfect* foundation - it covers VERY well (almost to the point of not needing concealer), has a great texture, has a nice, solid glass container, and keeps oil breakthrough at bay for quite a long time throughout the day - BUT - I feel like this foundation sits on my face all day and never sinks into my skin. I feel like it just never SETS completely and like if I touched my face, the foundation would move with it...if that makes any sense.


Having said that, I want to emphasize that this is a really good, medium to heavy coverage foundation. It's not as "light" or "moussey" as you think - it's actually quite dense.


I like this foundation quite a bit. It also has a nice scent and isn't chemical-scented - it has a very faint floral scent, which I appreciate.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CheckyDoll on 8/6/2004 2:53:00 PM more reviews by CheckyDoll

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I wanted to wait a little while before I wrote my review of this to make sure I loved it as much as I did when I first tried it. Well.....I still love it!! This is THE MOST unique fx I've ever used & I've tried my share (that's an understatement!) the feel is unbeleiveable & the coverage is beautiful. I have slightly (constantly) red cheeks & some old breakouts marks & this totally covers them right up. The oil control is pretty good, but I have *really* oily skin so blotting a few times a day is a must. I do find it weird that it's not oil free & not indicated anywhere that it's non-comediogenic (sp??) but it hasn't made me breakout at all & I'm pretty darn sensitive. Go figure. I know this stuff is selling out like crazy so I've already bought a lighter color to wear in the fall/winter, I'll take no chances! Go try this stuff now!!

: )

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products