Maybelline • Dream Matte Mousse • Foundations

rated 3.1(3228 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 lipglosadict on 9/28/2004 10:07:00 PM more reviews by lipglosadict

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I gave this 3 lippies, because I think the problem, is that I have not found which one is my color.The problem with low end brands, is that there are no testers...or only one tester,in one color. I like the easy application. I am tired of brushes, and sponges. The faster the better, for me...but the color I bought just didn't work for me.I wont rule it out, until I find my color, and then I will decide.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 anjel_phish on 9/28/2004 2:49:00 PM more reviews by anjel_phish

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I was totally afraid to try this one because I'm quite fair and usually have a hard time finding products for my complexion, but Maybelline has rarely let me down out of the drugstore brand stuff I've tried so I gave it a whirl and so far I love it.Not to heavy, pretty blendable, the color (light#1) works well..I could see how it wouldn't be for everybody though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MaureenAnn on 9/28/2004 10:11:00 AM more reviews by MaureenAnn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm always on a quest for the perfect foundation and I think I may have come close w/Maybelline's Dream Matte Mousse. First, the positives:

I love the way it feels on my skin - like I'm wearing nothing! Very light, clean texture.

The finish is great - it doesn't make my combo/oily skin look like a death mask while it mattifies.

Coverage is decent, too. It makes my skin tone look even and doesn't settle in to my pores. Yay!

Now, for the negatives:

No sunscreen - booooo!

I'm not crazy about the packaging. I don't think repeatedly dipping my fingers in to the jar will keep the product very sanitary. It should have come in a squeeze-tube to make application easier.

Shade selection could be better.

Obviously it's not the perfect foundation for me, but it's better than most drugstore foundations I've tried. I'll probably repurchase when I finish it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 starrah on 9/28/2004 1:50:00 AM more reviews by starrah

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Problem #1 - Not enough shades for women of color. Compared to the 6 other ivory/beige tones, I only had 3 to choose from.

I should have listened to myself then.

I ended up picking up the darkest shade Cocoa 3 because the other two shades were too light. The the mousse formula idea is cool but this thing turned orange/red on me. Good thing I tested it before I wore it outside because it looked bad. Real bad. It looked like I had a mask on and I barely put any on. I believe that if I mixed two of the 3 shades I could have gotten a better shade but why should I do that? The packaging isn't so bad as some make it seem as I always use a clean sponge to dip into my jar but I can see where the problems lie.

Good idea, bad acting on it Maybelline.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dani7865 on 9/27/2004 1:17:00 PM more reviews by dani7865

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

I liked the finish, and how this made my oily skin look matte.....for about an hour. Then it seemed to slide around on my face and not stay too well. I've tried with many different powders, and have not found the winning combination yet, however I am not discardign it completely...I will use it for special occasions like out to dinner when I don't need my makeup to last through the entire day. So in short, a nice product, but does not last well on very oily skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 funnyhunny202 on 9/27/2004 12:25:00 PM more reviews by funnyhunny202

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Luv this foundation sooo much!! such great texture, MAKES MY PORES SEEM SMALLER!!! doesn't even look like i'm wearing foundation. and i don't even need concealer or powder for blemishes!! yay!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shanidy on 9/27/2004 12:01:00 PM more reviews by shanidy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly   Eyes: Blue    

This is now my HG! I'm on my 2nd jar. I use the lightest shade, porcelain ivory. The coverage is matte and moderate for me. This gives me the perfect complexion and doesn't change throughout the day! I will continue to stock up on this product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BBCat on 9/26/2004 12:36:00 PM more reviews by BBCat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this product! I have combination skin and it really keeps my face matte without drying it out. My pores appear much smaller too. I use #2 Classic Ivory - a great match for my skin tone. It's not too orangey or pinkish. The only thing slightly negative is the jar. I recommend using a makeup sponge to apply. I don't like to stick my fingers into the jar. Great price! Would buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shadder on 9/24/2004 9:55:00 AM more reviews by shadder

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Ok, maybe it is too early to be giving this 5 lippies considering that I just bought this yesterday and started using this yesterday. However, I have to say wow. I don't usually trust drugstore foundations, one reason is you cannot test the colors. But I happen to find a perfect match Sandy Beige medium 1. Anyhoot, it does have a matte finish, my t-zone was not oily, it did not break me out, and MY PORES APPEARED SMALLER!!!! I can honestly say my skin looked so good without looking cakey. Also I have this list I got off the internet that rates ingredients 0-5 on what is most comedagenic (sp) non of the ingredients in the makeup were considered comedigenic :0)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* abfabjeanius on 9/23/2004 4:08:00 PM more reviews by abfabjeanius

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this two days ago and am wearing it for the second time. After hearing all of the raves on this board, I decided to give it a shot. (The ads featuring the beautiful Adriana Lima also helped!)

Oddly enough, I really like this foundation! I got it in Light 4 (Nude), which is the color I usually get in the Maybelline foundations. Although a *tiny* bit darker than my skin (which is NC25-ish), it blended end well without leaving any weird line of demarcation.

The texture is kind of interesting - powdery and creamy at the same time. It gives a light-medium coverage... enough coverage to cover my undereye circles, but also light enough to look natural. I didn't have to powder afterwards, and my face has stayed matte throughout the day. My nose is a little bit oily, but not as much as when I use other foundations, or no foundation at all.

I have heard complaints about people getting acne from this, so I will definitely test run this for a few more days before I tell everyone to run out and get it. So far, though, I do like it a lot!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products