Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse

3.0

3282 reviews

48% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Squalane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Phenoxyethanol, Phenyltrimethicone, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Methylparaben, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Aluminum Hydroxide, Silica, BHT, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain ( /-):, CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77163 (Bismuth Oxychloride), Mica


on 11/24/2004 12:26:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

edited 4-1-07****I bought this in one of the new shades light beige and it is a perfect match for my combination nc25/30 skin. It is yellow toned and the coverage is wonderful. I use many foundations, but for days when I want med-full matte coverage, I reach for this. This looks even better when you smooth it on over primer-huge difference for me and stays all day. This is much better IMO than BB smooth skin foundation.



Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really do love this. I have shade 2. I wear it over my AquaSmooth foundationa and it provides awesome coverage! However, it doesn't keep my face matte at all. My skin is so oily nothing does. But I still love this and it feels like air going on. I would repurchase and I will!


on 11/21/2004 1:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I never wear makeup anymore, and this product is why.

This is a great foundation. It blends so easily, has matte coverage and never, ever needs to be touched up during the day. The texture is so cool and finding a shade to match my skin tone was really easy.

I wore it for about two weeks until my skin became so dry and irritated I had to stop. My face was UGLY -- dry patches, oily patches, big red pimples. So I decided to lay off the makeup for awhile, just use simple products ...and my face cleared up. I was beautiful. My skin was smooth, dewey, pale, and even. And I knew I never , ever had to wear foundation or powder ever again.

Thanks, Maybelline!


on 11/21/2004 12:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this is Shade 2. I tried a sample of the Estee Lauder mousse foundation and loved it, but was way too much $$$. So when this came out I had to try it! I love the way it goes on my skin and how smooth it is!! Color works well onmy skin, and when applied, this seemed to diasppear. My redness is corrrected and does a good job of covering up my acne scars. Reason it gets 4 lippies rather than 5 is that it doesn't last as long as I would like, and needs to be touched up at least once during the day...Would buy again as I prefer this over liquid foundation, but still prefer BE over it. UPDATE: I fear this is breaking me out, in the trash it goes :(


on 11/20/2004 5:50:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this stuff! I got #2, Classic Ivory, and have no complaints whatsoever! It glides on, and makes my skin look absolutely flawless! I love the light coverage, too--I hate that "cakey" feeling I get with some foundations. As at least one other reviewer noted, a little goes a long way, so apply sparingly! My only complaint is during the actual purchase process: There's really no way to tell what shade you're getting. You can't really look inside the bottle, and I don't like the idea of relying on a jar cap as my color guide. I just got lucky & guessed right!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/19/2004 3:08:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm a dark woman of color and thru many ups and downs I always seem to come back to MAC NW45. So when I heard about the Matte Mouse I was curious, would they have a shade that would work for me.

To my great surprise not only did the color match (cocoa) this Mousse is wonderful in covering up my under eye circles. Actually I only need to use it in my T zone to even out my entire complexion. It stays matte for most of the day, which for my combination skin is great. The texture is light enough that it doesn't feel like I have on makeup and doesn’t give me that "cruddy" in of the end of the day feel.

It comes in a small jar ($6.00 or so) however a little goes a LONG way simply use a simple tap your middle finger and apply. I don't think those with dry skin may like it seeing it may make their skin feel "drawn" at the end of the day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/18/2004 10:28:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been using this for about a month now and I still like it! It blends great and feels soooo good! I do have to powder occasionally but my skin is so oily so I expected that. I will keep buying this!


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I really love this stuff. It was on sale at target this past week so I decided to give it a try. It has a lightweight feeling that doesnt make your skin feel all nasty like other foundations do. I have not had a problem with breakouts yet, nor has it dried out my skin. I will definately purchase again!
*Edit* I had to stop using this product due to skin breakouts.


on 11/18/2004 12:16:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I like mousse foundation textures, so I bought this against my better judgement. I know Maybelline never, ever makes pale foundations. And predictably, the Ivory in this line is really, really impossibly dark on me. I liked the texture, and the fact that it applies incredibly easily- no need to fuss with streaks or blotchiness, it just slides right on to create a nice finish. The problem, though, is the fact that I simply can't wear the color, it's that vastly off. The other problem is that it melts off my face in a few hours, worse than any other foundation except MAC StudioFix, creating a vast sea of streaky ick. I think it's probably because it is closer to full coverage foundation, and there's more of it to melt and streak. The one other plus is that it can last through a full on crying jag- it doesn't streak even with serious tear tracks.


on 11/17/2004 2:36:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I bought the Dream Matte Mousse #4 in Nude. I loved how it looked and how it glided on my face without having to pile on a ton of it to cover blemishes.

However this product makes me BREAK OUT ALL OVER!!! Painful clogged pimples resulting in dark blemishes. ughhhh....

I have no idea which ingredient is the culprit but each time I've applied it, I break out not only on my oily t-zone, but also on my cheeks too. I've already given it at least 3 chances, thinking my breaking out was a fluke but nope, it is definitely this foundation.

I only give it 2 stars, because it felt and looked really nice for the short time I had it on. You might not get clogged skin like I did on my oil-prone asian complexion, just proceed with caution.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

MAYBELLINE Dream Matte Mousse foundation review [has Cancer producing ingredient] by LifeThoughtsCamera



Back to Top