Maybelline • Dream Matte Mousse • Foundations

rated 3.1(3237 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Leontine on 10/20/2004 11:52:00 AM more reviews by Leontine

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Im the kind of girl that loves foundation! I'have tryed many one since so far. When I heard about this new Maybelline product, I was very curious to try it on my own. I bought it and I'm very satisfied and happy about it. I even use it more often then my Clinic Superfit foundation in Whipcream or my Divinora foundation. I like the texture, it blends easily and give me a very natural and great coverage. It's long wearing, i'm not shining and it doesn't dry out my skin. I put it with my fingers, I don't need to put so much to have a beautiful result, it covers well my occasional breakout. I agree with the publicity, very light, smooth and good coverage without feeling wearing something caky.

The nuance 3 creamy natural is perfect to me. I put sometimes bronzing powder after (Caroline Raz'ma'tazz blush or Satellite Soleil intense from Lise Watier).
I like the packaging, even if it is glass.

I won't hesitate to buy it again ! Cheap and very good product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aznbebebabe on 10/19/2004 2:03:00 PM more reviews by aznbebebabe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm surprised by how well this stuff works. I usually just use the high end stuff, but when this came out, I was so curious. I tried the Pure Beige Color, and its a pretty good match. Its a little lighter than what I like, but I just put on a little bronzer powder afterwards. This stuff covers like a dream. It give almost full coverage, but feels light and looks natural. I use this as an all over foundation, to spot conceal zits, and as an eye shadow base. It works so well for something so cheap. This is a must try.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 BeastieGirl5 on 10/17/2004 7:08:00 PM more reviews by BeastieGirl5

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I wanted to love this- I like a matte face, especially since I have an oily t-zone. However, the "matte" look fades quickly, as does the coverage. While matte, it gives a sheer to somewhat medium coverage. My big complaint is that it broke me out something awful- I recommend that you buy this at a CVS or Walgreens where they take returns.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 QAlice on 10/17/2004 12:33:00 AM more reviews by QAlice

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse (Nude):
I have been using for a week. The color is slightly pinker and gray then the color in Wonder Finish, but still golden enough to make my Asian NC25 skintone look natural. It has a moussy texture (think Chocolate mouse!) just as its name, I find it fun and interesting, but then this texture is thicker then cream or liquid, and less easier to blend. I apply it dry with sponge, about a soy bean size of product is enough for whole face. I will have to try use it wet to thinning it out. The coverage is super! Pls expect a medium to full coverage from this, I think this is enough to be used double as concealer in spot or under eye circles. This is defiantly NOT for dry skin, because it controls oil very well, less then 1/2 J&J blotting paper in noon and again in the evening is well enough to keep my face ULTRA matte, in time when i'm busy at work and have no time blotting at noon, my look is still pretty presentable. To sum up, this is a matter foundation with great coverage. (i MIGHT repurchase)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TinaV on 10/16/2004 11:58:00 PM more reviews by TinaV

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Oh I love this. The texture is hard to describe. It really is a "mousse". Blends super well and leaves a matte, powdery finish. Great for oily skin. I have oily skin and this works so well. Good coverage, too. No need for concealer or powder at all. I will definately repurchase. So glad I discovered this. The price is great, too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 killjoy14 on 10/16/2004 7:23:00 PM more reviews by killjoy14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff kicks butt. I have been trying to find something that gave me a nice even finish but not make me look like a grease ball and this has ended my search. It goes on super easily, and stays on all day. I don't have to but I set it with powder just in case so that might help it last a bit longer. The shade range isn't the greatest so I usually end up with one a little to dark or a little to light but it blends so well that I really don't care. It would be nice if this came in a pump but I don't mind the jar. The price depends on when you buy it. If it's on sale it's about $5.00 so stock up, but it can get pretty close to $10 when it's not on sale. I'll definetly repurchase.UPDATE: This stuff turned weird half way through the jar. It turned into a bunch of little balls and my skin felt greasy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rebec75 on 10/16/2004 1:42:00 PM more reviews by rebec75

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is one of the best foundations I've ever tried! Since I have a very fair complexion, it is very difficult to find a foundation that matches my skintone...well this one does! Leaves a silky feel to my skin and stays on all day! After spending lots of money on more expensive brands, Maybelline has defintely made me happy! You have to try this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cma777 on 10/15/2004 11:01:00 PM more reviews by cma777

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Got this in a swap just the other day. The colour was a perfect match for my c35 skintone, I got Pure Beige. It has a really nice finish especially since I tried it with my MAC foundation brush and that gave it a beautiful airbrushed quality. I loved Great Wear and was disappointed when they discontinued it. I think this may replace it well. I am not keen on the packaging for obvious hygienic reasons and the quantity isn't fabulous but since i switch b/w my foundations this jar should last for awhile. I took one lippie off because I find it does feel a little heavy on the skin but for the fall/winter that should be alright. Wouldn't like it in summer though. It did stay very matte for over 6 hours which is a plus. I only needed to use a tissue to dab at the excess oil and get the matte look back once. Update: August 14th 2005, I can't get used to the heavy texture of this stuff, Cinema Secrets is my HG foundation so that settles that one :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* b4byb33 on 10/15/2004 4:43:00 PM more reviews by b4byb33

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I usually use tinted moisturizers because I find foundations to be way too heavy. If you hate that heavy foundation on your skin like me, you might actually like this stuff. I was ready to try something new, something without SPF(they put that in almost all tinted moisturizers for some strange reason). This has a really light texture and blends beautifully. I have combo skin and my t-zone does shine a bit after a while, but it would shine with no matter what foundation or tinted moisturizer I put on. I don't think that there is anything out there that would prevent that! Back to the point: It's nice, doesn't break out my sensitive skin. Do moisturizer before you put this on because it can get into those fine lines if you have any. I think it's a nice foundation overall.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 melcat42 on 10/15/2004 2:51:00 PM more reviews by melcat42

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

After reading the reviews for Dream Matte I decided to give it a try. Unfortunately it is not the foundation for me much to my disappointment. For the first hour or two the makeup looks great but it really doesn't seem to have oil control or good staying power, which I need since I work all day. I have an oily t-zone and normal skin elsewhere and Dream Matte just didn't stay matte for me (and I powder afterwards)...Plus a couple of days later I get a couple of huge pimples and that rarely ever happens to me. I bought shade light#2 and it was a good color match (looks darker in the jar but blends into your skin color well.) First time I tried to blend it in with my fingers and it looked terrible... the texture is just to ... I don't know... almost slick and grease like... to use your fingers, as it tended to look very streaky and define pores... very bad. Next method I tried, I learned from another reviewer, and that was to take a large face powder brush and dip it in the jar and then brush it into your skin with a light to medium pressure in a circle like motion. This gave my skin a very soft and pretty finish without the foundation settling into my pores and all I had to do was dot a little bit more under my eyes to cover circles. I also tried w/ a makeup sponge and that just gave a little bit heavier coverage compared to the brush method. I recommend the brush method as that gave the nicest finish. I think this would be a good foundation for someone that doesn't have super sensitive skin or oily skin. I wish it had better staying power and oil control because it does leave a nice finish... for a couple of hours at least. I won't be buying again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products