Maybelline • Dream Matte Mousse • Foundations

rated 3.1(3217 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 endeara on 10/9/2004 11:58:00 AM more reviews by endeara

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I wanted to wait until I'd used this product for awhile before I reviewed it simply because if I had reviewed it right after I first applied it, I might have been too positive. So, I've been using this for a few weeks now, and I still only remove one lippie. This product does for my skin what I had wished Bare Escentuals would do. I use it in the same way. I have 2 shades of it: One in the porcelain and one in the next lightest shade. As a PPP, the second lightest shade looked a bit dark for me, but since I apply it with my big, fluffy Sonia Kashuk powder brush all over my face, it really does blend in well. I then use my Sonia Kashuk contour brush and use the porcelain under my eyes and on my browbone (concealer, highlighter) This is exactly how I used the Bare Escentuals, only I get better and longer lasting coverage. I do find that I have to take a powder to my oily nose late in the afternoon, but that's not half bad. This is, by far, the best drugstore foundation that I have used and I have been on a high-end foundation quest for years now. The only reason why I removed a lippie is that the lovely, glowy yet matte finish doesn't last all day. For the way I use it, the packaging is perfect. I truly hope that they don't discontinue it any time soon. Maybelline...who'd of thunk it?

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MargaretD on 10/8/2004 9:29:00 PM more reviews by MargaretD

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This foundation is great for someone wanting a deeper coverage. And it did stay matte all day. However, I wear a Stila 20 Watts and the lightest shade of the Dream Matte Mousse was still too dark and orange for me. Unfortunately I've found I get the best range of shades for me in department store foundations.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LisaLou099 on 10/8/2004 1:50:00 PM more reviews by LisaLou099

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

At first, I liked this product, but throughout the day, it started to make my skin feel kind of greasy. I kept using it for a week and finally got the application down, and it looked great all day! BUT, it started breaking me out!! Why me!? As soon as I find something I like, it decides it doesn't like me! Oh and the packaging stinks...I didn't like the idea of dipping my fingers in my foundation, but I invented my own technique that some of you can use. I dip a small amount out of the container with a clean cotten pad each time I use it. the only thing that it comes in contact with is a clean cotten pad. Just be careful not to use a cotten ball b/c it can leave some strings of cotten in there, yuck. That technique seemed to work for me and I avoided using my fingers to dispense my makeup. Hope this helps those of you concerned with this problem. : )

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 vze3bn2k on 10/7/2004 9:52:00 PM more reviews by vze3bn2k

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

For someone who is never a Maybelline foundation fan, I surely do love this foundation a lot. I got the #4 color Nude. The texture is very light, you don't really feel that you are actually wearing foundation. Coverage is good, you can build it from medium to full coverage. A little last forever. However I have to take one lippie off, because it does not has any SPF at all. So I can only use this foundation during night, or when I'm mostly indoor. Plus, my nose started to get a bit oily within 3 - 4 hrs. But overall, it looks very natural. The correct way to apply it is use a foundation brush. And you should brush the face a couple of time more (without the foundation) to make sure all of the foundation are even, and settle on your skin. So you won't have the feelings like the foundation are just sitting on your face.
I will buy this again if I ever finish mine (or if it is on sale again since I got mine on sale for only $3)
EDIT - (Nov 9, 04) All of a sudden, this thing broke me out BADLY. I stopped to use it for 2 weeks, all acne cleared. Then I gave it a try for just a 2 hours hang out... it broke me out again horribly in 3 days!! (i'm still recovering from it! grr) I really wanted to like this sooo bad since it has very good coverage, but gawd.. i can't deal with those breakout!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CWAHED on 10/7/2004 9:15:00 AM more reviews by CWAHED

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Originally purchased this at Wally World in tan. I went back out and purchased it in honey beige and mixed the two in order to achieve the right color mix. This was one product that I just had to have (after hearing so much about it).

I tried it on immediately when I got it but you have to take into consideration I was wearing the day on my face (grime, oil, morning foundation, etc) and it pulled when I put it on.

I used it this morning on fresh cleansed skin and while it takes a minute to get use to the texture (mousse/souffle). It is difficult to use just the right amount - too much and you look terrible (think pancake)and too little...nothing. I finally got the portions right and used it a very small amount to cover my entire face. It doesn't sink in the way I would like it to but it doesn't feel as if it is just sitting on my face. It blends well and that is a plus but something is missing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Beachlover3 on 10/6/2004 9:10:00 PM more reviews by Beachlover3

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I love this product. The finish it gives is lovely and texture is wonderful to touch and blend. It stays put and does not rub off. I use the lightest shade and it looks terrific.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Julesbait on 10/6/2004 1:33:00 PM more reviews by Julesbait

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

It seems like every time I come to MUA and check the newest reviews, there's always a new one for Dream Matte Mousse. So between all the reviews and all the commercials for the stuff, curiosity finally got the better of me and I went to Target to pick up a jar. Yeah, a jar. That threw me for a loop for at first. But I don't know how else you could package the stuff...too thick for a tube or bottle, too mushy for a compact. Like the name suggests, it is truly the consistency of chocolate mousse...thick and creamy, and light and fluffy all at the same time. It glides on smooth as butter, and blends like a dream. It's so light, you don't feel the makeup on your face at all. It has a lovely matte finish, but not so matte that you look chalky. (Although dry gals, this might not be the case for you. I can see where this would easily accentuate dry spots and flakiness.) I'll be honest, I didn't have great expectations for Dream Matte Mousse. How could something so light and airy give any decent coverage, and how could it possible last on my oily face? MUCH to my surprise, this foundation gives some of the best coverage of any I've ever tried. I have some pretty bad acne scarring on the sides of my face and by my jawline, and this foundation covers and smooths them away so nicely, it's beyond belief. I get it out with a foundation brush, and blend with my fingers where I need less coverage and with the brush where I need more. And you only have to use a tiny, tiny bit. I gently pat the flat side of my foundation brush into the pot, and the amount I get is enough to cover my whole forehead, or a cheek. You hear the phrase "a little goes a long way" a lot around here, but this foundation is the prime example of a little going a long way. The jar will last forever, so it's $7 very well spent. As for the wear, it's staying on for me all day. (But I use an oil-controlling moisturizer on my face and a mattifier on my nose, so I'm sure that helps with the wear quite a bit.) Another bonus point for this foundation: the shade I got I think would be a bit too dark for me in a regular foundation. But since it blends into the skin, it actually turns out looking perfect. So even if you get a jar, open it, and think the color will be all wrong, give it a shot. You might be surprised. I think this will be my permanent daytime foundation. Love, love, love!!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LizaLou on 10/6/2004 1:13:00 PM more reviews by LizaLou

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I rarely try drugstore products, but I really liked the idea of the mousse makeup and heard suprisingly good things about this foundation, so I gave it a shot. Unfortunately, this was not a winner for me. There were some things I really liked: the texture of the mousse, the coverage, the staying power. But they weren't enough to override the negatives, the main one being that this foundation broke me out. Badly. It also seemed to be a bit too matte- my skin didn't look glowy, it looked dull. Perhaps it would work better for someone with more oily (and less sensitive) skin than I.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 daylightwilight on 10/6/2004 12:11:00 AM more reviews by daylightwilight

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

PPP, combo skin- let me start by saying that very very rarely to products make me break out. but this one did. A LOT. The idea behind this foundation is great but it is really for those with fairly poreless, oily skin and not for those who are combination because it sinks into my pores on my nose and makes them much more noticable, flakes and accentuates my dry patches, but is fine in places where my skin is fairly smooth and more on the normal to oily side. I'm just not very impressed with this product to begin with, but adding the fact that they don't make shades suitable for PPPs (esp. cool toned ones like myself) and that it caused MAJOR breakouts within just a few days of use, then there is the fact that you have to dig your fingers into your foundation every day (not that sanitary, plus it gets under one's nails, eww)...I hate it. I know some people are in love with it, but I'm not one of them. HTHS

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* countrygyrl on 10/5/2004 9:58:00 PM more reviews by countrygyrl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this- up to now I have been blending my Colorstay natural and regular Colorstay (both in buff) to get the perfect foundation.

Dream Matte is very unique- it has a whipped, light, airy consistancy and smooths on effortlessly. It blends supurbly, drying to a soft, matte powder finish that feels like your makeup free.

I don't know if I like the jar, I prefer a tube or pump type bottle but with the texture of this I think the jar may be the best option.

The color ( I bought classic ivory) is not quite as perfect as my Colorstay, but it is a good match and even though it looks to orangey in the jar it blends into my skin completely and "sets up" to a natural look.

I have oily skin so I still set this with powder and I did not have shine breakthtough at all- although I feel like I was kind of faded by the end of the day- a feeling I never have with my Revlon Colorstays.

Dry skin should probably skip this one it will accentuate any dryness you have.

All in all I do like this I just wish the color was an EXACT match to my skin like my Revlon.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products