Maybelline • Dream Matte Mousse • Foundations

rated 3.1(3232 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 killjoy14 on 10/16/2004 7:23:00 PM more reviews by killjoy14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff kicks butt. I have been trying to find something that gave me a nice even finish but not make me look like a grease ball and this has ended my search. It goes on super easily, and stays on all day. I don't have to but I set it with powder just in case so that might help it last a bit longer. The shade range isn't the greatest so I usually end up with one a little to dark or a little to light but it blends so well that I really don't care. It would be nice if this came in a pump but I don't mind the jar. The price depends on when you buy it. If it's on sale it's about $5.00 so stock up, but it can get pretty close to $10 when it's not on sale. I'll definetly repurchase.UPDATE: This stuff turned weird half way through the jar. It turned into a bunch of little balls and my skin felt greasy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rebec75 on 10/16/2004 1:42:00 PM more reviews by rebec75

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is one of the best foundations I've ever tried! Since I have a very fair complexion, it is very difficult to find a foundation that matches my skintone...well this one does! Leaves a silky feel to my skin and stays on all day! After spending lots of money on more expensive brands, Maybelline has defintely made me happy! You have to try this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cma777 on 10/15/2004 11:01:00 PM more reviews by cma777

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Got this in a swap just the other day. The colour was a perfect match for my c35 skintone, I got Pure Beige. It has a really nice finish especially since I tried it with my MAC foundation brush and that gave it a beautiful airbrushed quality. I loved Great Wear and was disappointed when they discontinued it. I think this may replace it well. I am not keen on the packaging for obvious hygienic reasons and the quantity isn't fabulous but since i switch b/w my foundations this jar should last for awhile. I took one lippie off because I find it does feel a little heavy on the skin but for the fall/winter that should be alright. Wouldn't like it in summer though. It did stay very matte for over 6 hours which is a plus. I only needed to use a tissue to dab at the excess oil and get the matte look back once. Update: August 14th 2005, I can't get used to the heavy texture of this stuff, Cinema Secrets is my HG foundation so that settles that one :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* b4byb33 on 10/15/2004 4:43:00 PM more reviews by b4byb33

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I usually use tinted moisturizers because I find foundations to be way too heavy. If you hate that heavy foundation on your skin like me, you might actually like this stuff. I was ready to try something new, something without SPF(they put that in almost all tinted moisturizers for some strange reason). This has a really light texture and blends beautifully. I have combo skin and my t-zone does shine a bit after a while, but it would shine with no matter what foundation or tinted moisturizer I put on. I don't think that there is anything out there that would prevent that! Back to the point: It's nice, doesn't break out my sensitive skin. Do moisturizer before you put this on because it can get into those fine lines if you have any. I think it's a nice foundation overall.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 melcat42 on 10/15/2004 2:51:00 PM more reviews by melcat42

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

After reading the reviews for Dream Matte I decided to give it a try. Unfortunately it is not the foundation for me much to my disappointment. For the first hour or two the makeup looks great but it really doesn't seem to have oil control or good staying power, which I need since I work all day. I have an oily t-zone and normal skin elsewhere and Dream Matte just didn't stay matte for me (and I powder afterwards)...Plus a couple of days later I get a couple of huge pimples and that rarely ever happens to me. I bought shade light#2 and it was a good color match (looks darker in the jar but blends into your skin color well.) First time I tried to blend it in with my fingers and it looked terrible... the texture is just to ... I don't know... almost slick and grease like... to use your fingers, as it tended to look very streaky and define pores... very bad. Next method I tried, I learned from another reviewer, and that was to take a large face powder brush and dip it in the jar and then brush it into your skin with a light to medium pressure in a circle like motion. This gave my skin a very soft and pretty finish without the foundation settling into my pores and all I had to do was dot a little bit more under my eyes to cover circles. I also tried w/ a makeup sponge and that just gave a little bit heavier coverage compared to the brush method. I recommend the brush method as that gave the nicest finish. I think this would be a good foundation for someone that doesn't have super sensitive skin or oily skin. I wish it had better staying power and oil control because it does leave a nice finish... for a couple of hours at least. I won't be buying again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tulipswallow on 10/14/2004 3:14:00 PM more reviews by tulipswallow

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I'm a sucker for the whipped foundations, so when this came out, I had to give it a try. With a coupon, and on sale, I got this for a very reasonable $5.00. I love the feel of this -- very light, easy to apply, and super matte. I chose Nude and it seems to be an excellent match for my skin tone. The mousse itself is very silky and glides on your skin with ease. I have to agree with so many of the other reviewers here -- a little goes a long way. I simply touch the product with two fingers, and whatever they pick up is plenty to cover my whole face. It goes on slightly damp, but almost instantly dries to a powder finish, and makeup glides on over this easily and beautifully. My one and only complaint with this is the lack of coverage. This is a great foundation for someone in their 20s who just has a bit of tiny flaws, and wants more even skin. This will do nothing for discoloration, enlarger pores, or fine lines.My suggestion to someone who would like to try a foundation of this type (whipped, mousse to powder) but needs a bit more coverage is to try Mojave Magic's Airwhip Foundation. Very similar in feel, but a better overall foundation, in my opinion. I will most likely repurchase this, though -- on sale or with coupon, you just can't beat the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sburton on 10/14/2004 1:59:00 PM more reviews by sburton

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

OK, I have baught a million foudations in my lifetime from 1.00 to over 50.00 and somehow cant seem to find the right one but this comes close. I am 45 years old with very dry skin and freckles. This goes on great and stays most of the day. I covers the redness on my chin and my skin had a velvety texture. I use heavy moisterizers to the foundation does not dry my skin or cause flakiness. I bought mine in natural cream and when i opened it, boy was it orange and when i started to put it on my face boy was it orange and then all of the sudden the colore was perfect and looks great, the orange went immediately away. I have been using this for over a month and still love it. I will buy this again.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GlamDiva on 10/13/2004 8:13:00 PM more reviews by GlamDiva

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I tried 2 shades but neither worked well on me. I have yet to find my optimal color in the Matte Mousse line. The texture and coverage are really great uses as an under-eye concealer, even if you didn't use it as a foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ucantgetridame on 10/13/2004 6:53:00 PM more reviews by ucantgetridame

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation gave me PERFECT coverage and a FLAWLESS face. People tell me how natural it looks when the find out I have it on. But the only problem is that if you touch your face it gets on your fingers and if you touch your papger it leaves a big mess. And if you go in to hug someone or your changeing your shirt the makeup gets all over your/their clothes! If your carefull about not touching your face or anything like that go head and buy it its perfect! I only paid 3 bucks for it cause i had a coupon and it was on sale but its normally 9 bucks so im probably not gonna buy it again. I'll stick to liquid makeup--it stays on better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ygrmyster on 10/13/2004 12:41:00 PM more reviews by ygrmyster

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've always been a bit of a snob when it comes to drugstore makeup, but this just might be one of my HG foundations. I really like this stuff! My only complaint is the colors. They are a bit orangey, and finding a color match was difficult for me. I tried my best to match my shade by looking at the bottom of the jar, but when you open it up the color appears much more orangey. I bought three different shades before I found one that suited me (Pure Beige). I thought it was too dark for me at first, but the next lightest color (Sand Beige) is too "orange" for my skin. I'm a MAC C3, Chanel Beige, BB Sand. I make sure to blend it well with a sponge, especially around my jawline, and I haven't noticed any Oompa Loompa orangey spots. I even took a mirror outside to check in the sunlight and it looks just fine on me. Other than my color frustration, this foundation glides on my skin and gives a flawess look. I haven't noticed any breakouts yet, but if I do I'll update. I don't recommend this for dry skin, but if you're oily like me or combo you might want to give this one a try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products