Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse

3.0

3271 reviews

48% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Squalane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Phenoxyethanol, Phenyltrimethicone, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Methylparaben, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Aluminum Hydroxide, Silica, BHT, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain ( /-):, CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77163 (Bismuth Oxychloride), Mica


on 11/16/2004 1:11:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Well, it's definitely matte, but it's certainly not my "dream" foundation. I have oily skin, yet this stuff somehow manages to make my whole face look dry and flaky. It also looks very "fake" on me. I usually wear a full face of makeup, but I don't like *looking* like I'm wearing a full face of makeup. This also fades on me after a few hours, leaving weird splotches of powder on my skin. Not to mention the fact that the lightest shade was a bit too dark on me (and I consider myself a LLL, or whichever is the next one after PPP) and it's too yellowish.



on 11/15/2004 4:20:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this foundation!! Great coverage, gives a beautiful matte finish. I got pure beige for my med. combination skin and its almost a perfect match. I've been wearing it for almost a week now and have been getting compliments on how nice my skin looks and someone even asked me if I had a facial recently....lol I'm going back to stock up.


on 11/12/2004 3:56:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I usually don't switch foundations but I thought I would give this a try. The coverage was alright but the colors are awful and it made my skin itch. I would never buy this again.


on 11/10/2004 9:31:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I have never found a drugstore foundation that I haven't returned or thrown out. And usually, in all honesty, it's shade options that are more a problem than quality. But in general, I am usually not satisfied either way.

This deserves some kudos. I think the formula is sheer enough that actually several skin tones can wear one shade. The finish is fine, but I think it's sheerer than they promise.

But again, for a drugstore foundation, yes, definitely worth checking out.


on 11/9/2004 8:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I had been considering switching up my foundation for a drugstore brand (I currently alternate between Chanel and MAC studio finish) I tend to stick to my faithful CG tinted moisturizer but wanted something with a bit more coverage for the winter months when I turn dreadfully sallow and pale. I bought this a few weeks back based of the ad with Adrian Lima in it. Figured we were the same color and got Pure Beige.
The texture is so yummy. And it goes on so airy and smooth. However I felt it made my already dry skin look to matte. I like to look a bit “dewy” fast forward to beginning of Nov in California and it is now my first line against the winter pale.
It covers up the ruddy-ness my cheeks from winter breeze and has my complexion looking incredibly smooth and perfect. I was so pleased and surprised.
I apply with a sponge (though in a rush I do admit to using a finger) a little goes a long was so go on light. I just use it to cover my t-zone- paying attention to the bridge of my nose and my red cheeks. It is sheer enough to let my complexion shine through but covers minor skin imperfections. Blends great with a warm finger or make-up sponge. I found out when I got an errant pimple that it provides great cover-up without drawing extra attention or irritating the zit. I have acne prone skin and I have had no breakouts and it has not irritated my skin.
I have extremely dry skin so I do prep with a moisturizer (pure bright by biotherm)
I try to just hit my target spots, and I find that I don’t even need a dusting of powder. (But that could be my stance against matte)
As stated people with dry flaky skin and deep lines should probably stay away from this.


on 11/9/2004 2:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a godsend for my oily/acne prone skin. It covers pimples, helps with looking like an oilslick and doesn't cause any more breakouts.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/9/2004 9:56:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Great foundation!! I got pure beige, which matches my skin perfectly. Its really easy to apply and blends perfectly. It evens out my skin tone and gives a great matte flawless finish. Will definitely buy again.


on 11/8/2004 12:22:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This really didn't work for me. I have a light complexion with dry skin. This looked terrible. It could just be because of the dry skin, but I wouldn't recommend it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/6/2004 4:01:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This foundation is ok. I am not overly impressed with it. It does not give the coverage I am looking for, it's a little sheer and doesn't give me that "flawless" look. It also clings to or makes me look like like I have dry spots on my face. It does have a nice feel going on & the color match is not bad but I don't love it like I should. I would not repurchase.


on 11/6/2004 12:11:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

Having used Dream Matte Mousse for a week, now I can safely say that I am extremely impressed by this foundation! The fluffy mousse texture glides on like silk on the skin and blends perfectly. It leaves my skin mostly matte all day with only one powder touch up (I usually need four.) It evens out my skin tone, and most amazingly, I do not need to use any concealer at all! I have Porcelain Ivory, and I do admit that it looks a bit dark and orange in the container, but on skin the orange and darkness is not apparent. I think I might have just found my holiest of all holy grails foundation! *Update* As time goes by this is looking more and more orange on my pale skin. I hope they come out with some more colours of this foundation, as I do really like the texture.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top