Maybelline • Dream Matte Mousse • Foundations

rated 3.0(3181 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* akane on 9/18/2004 10:35:00 AM more reviews by akane

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I 3< this foundation! I've been using this for a week now and all i can say it's gawjus! I was a bit hesistant to try this when i read mixed reviews on MUA and i always have problems with DRUGSTORE foundations!! I also had breakouts after using Max Factor Color Adapt and CoverGirl TruBlend so this is definately HEAVEN!!

The texture is mousse like whipped creme makes it easy to blend with my skin, especially when the MEDIUM BEIGE(med 3) matched my By Terry #3, GA LSF#6 PERFECTLY!!! It's not too orange, too yellow and too pink. The coverage is buildable and eventhough when it was in sheer coverage, it does a good job in covering all the redness and stay
matte for whole day! Say no more to CONCEALER! My Combi Skin especially my Tzone don't even need to BLOT at all in this humid Malaysian weather :)

I love the natural finish, light consistency, non greasy, long lasting and the fact that i don't look oil slick by 11am. It does not absorbs as quick as the CG and MF so it's easier to blend blend blend.

Packaging: Instead of pump bottles like CG TruBlend and Max Factor Color Adapt, this comes in cute round glass jar. Because it's in jar and have mousse texture reminds me of Stila Rouge Pot. Since i hate dipping my fingers into the jar and don't like the idea i might drop this glass jar anytime soon, i have transfered some to another small container. Dry Skin - you need to apply this over moisturizer otherwise it'll sink into fine lines.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lnajaar on 9/18/2004 12:12:00 AM more reviews by lnajaar

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Had to try this out of curiosity at it's popularity since I have an oily T-zone and mild Rosacea. Well, it's not for me. It gave my skin a flat matte look that seemed unnatural to me. Upon application it had a "tightening" sensation. The coverage was moderate. It emphasized natural lines around my eyes and flakes everywhere that usually aren't visible. It keeps the oil at bay, but the consequence is skin that doesn't look pretty. While I like a matte finish, the ULTRA-mattes never look natural on me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GrissomsGirl on 9/17/2004 6:47:00 PM more reviews by GrissomsGirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

For a drugstore foundation this is pretty great. Not as matte as the name implies but definitely keeps any shine from coming through even after hours of wear. I put a sunscreen on first then apply this with a dry sponge (the only way I apply all foundations)a little does go a long way and it builds without looking heavy or cakey. Beautiful consistancy so it melds on the skin. I am a PPP with some pink undertones and although 'Classic Ivory' looked pretty dark and yellow it turned out perfect. This is a definite grail AND I like this better than Armani LSF. So there!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 feliciaborges on 9/17/2004 10:18:00 AM more reviews by feliciaborges

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

HEY, OILY GIRLS!!!! GIVE THIS ONE A TRY!!!!! I'm pretty happy with this foundation. NOTE: It took me a couple of days to get the application down just right. Now I can't live without it! I think I like L'Oreal Cashmere Perfect slightly more (I like the packaging better and it gives a little more coverage)...but this may be the perfect summer foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ledonatella on 9/16/2004 9:47:00 PM more reviews by ledonatella

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Ok, I admit I can be a drugstore snob and had serious reservations about trying this, I thought it would be real cheap and not work at all. But everyone on the boards was so excited about this and since I can no longer afford my HG I figured I'd try. Well, I gotta say I really like it! It covers nicely and lasts all day, my HG didn't even last as long. And it does seem to cut down on oil. I bought Natural Cream and I'm an NC20 in MAC and it matches pretty well, maybe a tad too dark, but the next lightest color was too light. The only thing I don't like about it is that it does seem to settle into lines and if you have a big blemish it really accentuates it. It makes the redness go away, which is nice but it's still pretty noticeable. I'm ok with that since I usually don't break out at all but I had particurally bad PMS for some reason so it was not so good. Otherwise, I liked it for the amount of $$ I paid ($6.99). If I had the money for my HG (BE mineral found. BTW) I would still get that but it's nice to know there's inexpensive alternatives.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bodeca on 9/16/2004 8:01:00 PM more reviews by bodeca

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I was dying to try this product so when it came on sale I jumped on it. I tried it first on may hand and it left an obvious make-up look to it even though the color matched well. On my face I must say it felt very nice going on but sunk into my pores and made them really stand out. I also broke out with blackheads on my cheeks and chin. I was disappointed with this and will stick with covergirl trublend until I find something better :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 IndianAngel22 on 9/16/2004 6:50:00 PM more reviews by IndianAngel22

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

OMG! I think I've just found my HG foundation. No fricken way...
I've been having problems with foundations. TOo oily for my skin, to drying for my skin, then oily later, and I NEVER find a color that matches. My friend had that dream matte mouse stuff from maybelline and she always looks beautiful. I decided to waste more money, and bought it in Caramel which was one color darker than hers. AND IT MATCHED! And if feeeels awesome. It's so smooth. I don't have to use a powder anymore, and it's so easy and covers so well and. OMG I LOVE IT!!! I'm so happy. :) No more foundation mixing. It's so light. :) It also controls oil. The packaging is great and compact. I'll definately keep buying as long as it doesn't turn on me! :P

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cjpretzer on 9/13/2004 3:24:00 PM more reviews by cjpretzer

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this makeup. I have the warm nude color, and I'm NC25. This is the first foundation I have ever worn where I didn't feel the need to put powder on over it. That is huge. I've tried lots of "3-in-1" makeups even that I still felt would look better with a dusting of loose powder. But this makeup doesn't always need it. The texture and color blend into my skin beautifully. I apply it with my fingertips and then blend it with a sponge.
I'm surprised I like this as much as I do. It is definately worth a try...for $8 it can't be beat.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kitten75 on 9/13/2004 1:37:00 PM more reviews by kitten75

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This foundation is great for a drugstore product. Pros: It goes on very sheer, yet does a fantastic job evening out redness and smoothing overall skin tone. The texture is amazing and soft.

Cons: Emphasizes any flakiness of the face (I need to use a good exfoliator beforehand). Color range could use some improvement. Matte finish isn't long lasting and makes me look a bit flat.

Overall, I like something a bit more dewy. Probably wouldn't repurchase unless they come out with new shades. But a good product for the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Lynsi01 on 9/12/2004 7:40:00 PM more reviews by Lynsi01

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

wow, I have to say this is a truly unique foundation! I bought it in 1Light, Porcelain Ivory or something like that...anywho, I can't believe how incredibly lightweight this foundation is! I know it's a mousse and all but sheesh! I used a foundation brush to apply and I felt like absolutely nothing was going on my face. But it really covered well! Totally covers redness, had to dab a bit extra over blemishes. A small bit goes a loooooong way. I can see this jar lasting a very long time. It is very matte, almost a tad drying. It emphasized some flaky spots I have, but that was expected. Color was actually great too, not to pasty or dark for my difficult skintone. Will definitely repurchase. **update 1/22/05** this foundation has been terrible about caking up during the day and made me look so flaky, so I have discontinued use of it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products