Maybelline • Dream Matte Mousse • Foundations

rated 3.1(3258 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maggiegault on 11/3/2004 1:53:00 PM more reviews by maggiegault

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Great product. It just glides on the skin, gives incredible coverage, and looks totally natural. A dusting of translucent loose powder is all I need to have a matte, fresh-looking face all day. I was also able to find a perfect shade for my skin: Nude. I love that the colors are yellow based, not pinkish. I have been an ardent devotee of powder foundations for some time now, but with the arrival of Dream Matte Mousse and L'Oreal Cashmere Perfect, I may have to abandon the powder foundations completely! Edited: And then the zits hit. The horrible kinds, with no heads, just cysts under the dermis. I won't repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MostAdorable on 11/3/2004 11:01:00 AM more reviews by MostAdorable

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Finding a foundation that I really like has been nearly impossible. I was very hopeful and thought this would work out for me, but it did not. I got the darkest color available - hoping it would be a decent match. Not sure about the other colors, but I noticed right away that it did not seem to have enough yellow in it to match my skin's natural undertone - or something. Foundations that lack the yellowy undertone can look very ashey gray on me. And that's exactly what happened with this one. I really should have known better though, because in the jar, the color is a flat dark brown. Maybe I am naive, but I have YET to see anyone walking around with a complexion that flat. Most people actually do have some type of undertone you know. :x Anyway, if you like Estee Lauder's Ideal matte, this product overall may be a great inexpensive alternative because the texture is similar. That is, IF you can find a shade that matches you. *Sigh*. This is going back to the store ASAP.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* georgiasweety on 11/2/2004 10:23:00 PM more reviews by georgiasweety

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I wanted so badly to love this product. It gave such great coverage and felt sooo soft. It also kept my face extremely matte all day long. The problem was the silicone broke me out. I got the lightest shade and im a (ppp nw/15) but it was about 2 shades too dark for me. Even though I broke out from this, I highly recommend this to anyone looking for a great foundation that doubles as a concealer and will keep your face from looking shiny all day. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rustload on 11/2/2004 2:28:00 PM more reviews by rustload

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

picked this up after reading the reviews here. packaging is cute, but would prefer a squeeze-tube for sanitary reasons and for better portability. still, it looks neat. in formulation i still far prefer my estee lauder ideal matte foundation, which is also silicone based and mousse-textured. this is, however, a great drug store foundation. i paid nine dollars for it which is alright for the quality.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 beautifulmistake on 11/1/2004 11:11:00 PM more reviews by beautifulmistake

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Boo. This product made me look like I have dry skin, even though I really don't. It just clumped up on my face. I bought it today after reading the good reviews about the product. But, I am definately not a fan. It feels nice though when you touch it in the jar.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 powderplotz on 11/1/2004 8:59:00 PM more reviews by powderplotz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Excellent, excellent product. Stays matte throughout the day and offers perfect coverage. The only problem is that it can be hard to blend and it's difficult to remove. Even so it's great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jenniletv on 11/1/2004 2:16:00 PM more reviews by Jenniletv

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is pretty good foundation. It covers well and blends great. Did not break me out. Stayed pretty matte most of the day, but I did have to touch up once. All in all, a must try for the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PinkFix on 11/1/2004 10:55:00 AM more reviews by PinkFix

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE THIS PRODUCT. I've seen the commercials for it and read these reviews and had been waiting to try it. I finally broke down and got it at CVS on sale and it was worth every penny. I've been looking forever for a foundation that evens out my skintone and gives a flawless look. This is it. Picking a shade was a little challenging but on a whim I chose which one I thought matched me and then went up one level darker. I ended up with Medium Sandy Beige... nothing less than perfect on my skin. The texture makes for an easy application and with a few blots of some powder and a little blush later, I'm good to go. Only thing is people have said it stays matte throughout the day... not with me. I tend to have a very oily t-zone and while this may have lessened it a little, I still am a bit oily after a few hours. But nothing a little powder can't fix.

CASE IN POINT: This is my permanent foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sabine on 11/1/2004 12:02:00 AM more reviews by sabine

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

like a previous reviewer said, THIS CRAP IS REALLY GOOD!!! I too never wear drugstore foundation, but decided to give this a try based on all the reviews and I am so glad I did.I was worried i wouldn't find my colormatch (i'm a MAC NW43), but i bought the darkest one, and it seems to match (i played with it at night at home). i'll try it tomorrow morning (and leave the house!), so we'll see, but so far so good. i alos love hte coverage: medium-to-full, i think -- just perfect! i'll update this if necessary, but so far, i'm truly impressed. i NEVER buy drugstore foudnations. EVER!!! oh - and i love the packaging too - so sleek!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jet_set on 10/30/2004 8:55:00 PM more reviews by jet_set

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

i have this in classic ivory - a PERFECT match for my skin. texture and blendability is amazing, good coverage, nice matte, non-cakey finish. a little goes a long way, and iève discovered that adding more does nothing- it actually makes it look worse. less is more with this foundation.
i have very oily skin so i need to blot often during the day. while this controls oil somewhat, it doesnt mattify completely.. but nothing ever does, for me.
i recommend it to anyone except those with the driest skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products