Maybelline • Dream Matte Mousse • Foundations

rated 3.0(3147 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KatieLynn on 8/27/2004 2:43:00 PM more reviews by KatieLynn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This has the distinction of being among the worst foundations I have ever used. As a MAC NC20 and someone who uses the lightest shade available in most lines, I went for their Light1 shade. Even so, it was still too dark, though not as orange as Light2. I love the consistency; truly just like mousse, it was fun to poke my finger in. Buuut...

I applied it in the morning (7:45ish) and by noon time, it was a m-e-s-s. Splotchy, cakey, flakey, you name it! All I wanted to do was wash my face. It had settled into lines and pores I never knew I had. This foundation will draw attention to every flaw on your face, so unless you have near perfect skin I do not think this is the foundation for you. (FWIW, I have normal skin)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 violetsun on 8/26/2004 11:44:00 AM more reviews by violetsun

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've always loved those cream to powder foundations for complete coverage but they were a bit drying for me especially since I've started using Renova and my skin can get a bit flaky. This stuff gives you a finish sort of like those but it glides on so smoothly. A little goes a looong way and it doesn't dry instantly making it very blendable. This will be my 1st choice for days when my skin is breaking out and I need a good base. The best part is that you can layer it on thicker where you need it and smooth it out thin where you don't. There are no other foundations (availible in a drugstore) that do that. None.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 harleyandhank on 8/25/2004 12:59:00 PM more reviews by harleyandhank

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I wanted someting to replace Revlon Colorstay Natural foundation. I use colorstay in summer because of the sunblock and that it sticks to my face. Now that I am indoors more I wanted something that wasn't so hard to wash off at night. This works great on my skin. I like a matte foundation on my skin because I have more combo/oily and I want it to stay put. This feels lighter than what I was using and it washes off very easily. I look so much better because it dosen't look as dull. I think it is the easiest makeup I have ever applied. I would like sunscreen in it but not if it changes the texture of the formula. Dream matte mousse is definately the best drugstore foundation ever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 margaux93 on 8/25/2004 11:40:00 AM more reviews by margaux93

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I was so sad after I tried using this foundation for a few days. First off, I really like the little glass jar it comes in. It looks cute in my cabinet. And the texture is great, it hid all the redness in my complexion and didn't make me turn orange. However, I did look more made up than usual - but I liked how it looked. I'm so pale and its difficult to find anything that either a) hides the ruddiness on my cheeks or b) looks good on my skin.

I was so excited to have found something great that I didn't notice the first blemish on my cheek which lead to another and then to another and...you get the drift. I woke up a few days later with a major breakout. I'm talking big, deep blemishes that are really difficult to get rid of. My fault really, I never checked to see whether or not the product was oil free and non-comedonegenic (which it isn't). The thing I don't get is why you would need oil in a matte foundation? *shrug. Looks like I'm back on the search for something else. I do hope I can find something like this in the future though that I will be able to use. :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mischa251 on 8/25/2004 9:41:00 AM more reviews by mischa251

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I saw the ad on tv for this, then went to the computer to look at the reviews on this MB and I ran out to purchase. First, CVS only had the really dark colors, they sold out of every thing else, so I took that as a good sign and went to Target, where they were almost sold out as well.

I couldn't make up my mind which color to buy, so I bought three. (on sale at 5.99) Two of them were more red toned, and one yellow toned, which is more like my skin tone. (forget the names)

Got home from work, washed my face and put this on...and it's a dream! It is so light and fluffy, and you don't need a whole lot which amazed me. But the coverage is awesome! Hit all my red marks/scars and gave my skin a semi-matte finish, which I never thought I would like, but I do!

It does feel a little heavy on my skin, but that's probably because I got carried away with it at first and put too much on.

This rocks! Go out and buy! I just hope they won't discontinue this one!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* carinnemj on 8/24/2004 10:49:00 PM more reviews by carinnemj

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Okay, I'm admittedly a bit of a foundation snob, but this is an amazing product, even compared with all my high-end stuff! Wonderful and unusual Cool Whip texture, though it's easy to use more than you need -- experiment with amounts and blending to figure out how little you really have to use, and you'll extend the life of this little glass jar (which holds .64 oz of product). I'm amazed at how well it covers even serious blotchiness and blemishes, and the matte finish lasts all day!
Oh, and a word to the sale-savvy: Check stores for discounts and displays for coupons -- I got mine for $3.00 at CVS, which was such a good deal I went back and stocked up...sorry to any Natural Ivory girls in the DC area, 'cause I bought them all! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dazee on 8/24/2004 8:24:00 PM more reviews by dazee

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

After so much fuss over this, I finally went to get one and see for myself! I like the format, and the small jar looks like it wouldn't hold much product, but it's more than enough to last a long time, as you don't need much. I like the color I picked (#2) I love the way it feels, very light and whipped. It feels light on your skin as well. It has decent coverage. The down side for me was the way it felt like it was so dry, and didn't want to blend well on my skin. I have combo skin, and by mid-day my nose was shining like the north star. The coverage had worn off in my dryer cheek area. I need a product to last longer than this did on me. I know alot of people really love this, and I wanted to love it, but I will stick with my hg EL foundation for now!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Beachlover3 on 8/24/2004 8:11:00 PM more reviews by Beachlover3

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This foundation is wonderful. It gives a perfect finish that does not look dry. It blends super easily, because of the texture of the product, and I love the jar! I wish it had SPF but that is ok. I got the lightest color and it looked too dark in the jar but went on lighter and matched just fine. I definitely will buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lessthanastar on 8/23/2004 11:25:00 PM more reviews by lessthanastar

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I love it! I got it about a week ago, I have Oily Combination skin, dry cheeks, oily nose + chin. It goes on smooth and it doesnt feel too cakey. I love it! I saw it at walmart and kind of bought it because it looked nice (i didnt even see the commercial yet). I love love love love it! Would recommend it, and a little bit goes a long way.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PeroxideGloss on 8/23/2004 10:06:00 PM more reviews by PeroxideGloss

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have this in the lightest shade they make and it passes my test for best drugstore foundation ever. The tone is right, and the texture is absolutely wonderful. It feels like I'm wearing nothing, but it gives me flawless, even, matte, powdery smooth skin. I had sampled Bed Heads Glamma Whipped (the product on which this was based) but was not impressed with the sheer coverage - this however covered every last flaw. I'll be sticking to this base for a looooong time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products