Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse

3.0

3296 reviews

48% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Squalane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Phenoxyethanol, Phenyltrimethicone, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Methylparaben, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Aluminum Hydroxide, Silica, BHT, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain ( /-):, CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77163 (Bismuth Oxychloride), Mica


on 12/3/2004 4:30:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I read about mousse foundations about a year ago and have been searching ever since for some, I bought this at Big Lot's for about $3.50 on sale, I love it! I love the feel after I put it on I love the coverage it's great for covering up my uneven tone and it looks so natural....it blends nicely and little can go a long way. I will absolutely buy more when I run out of this



on 12/2/2004 7:04:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I can't RAVE enough about this foundation! This really is a nice 3 in one product like others have mentioned. No need for a concealor, or powder. This stuff is better than foundations I tried at 5 and 6 times the price. I got a perfect match with #3 in the light - Natural Ivory. Not too yellow. Very neutral. Don't let the color in the jar fool you. It goes on way lighter. Only gripe is I got my color match on the 3rd try (which is normal when purcahsing from a discount/drug store). Heck, I've even made mistakes in the department store! I am very impressed with drug store cosmetice lately, especially Maybelline. They are owned by L'Oreal now and it shows.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/2/2004 11:19:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I agree with the rest that Maybelline has not done justice by displaying deceiving color swatches. It is almost impossible to determine the right color by the display and the color of the jars. Also, is this product sanitary? I mean, for heaven sake, everyday you have to put your fingers in the product to apply it. Elizabeth Arden also has a Mousse foundation but it comes in a spray jar. Why couldn't Maybelline do the same? Especially, knowing that the majority of consumers are teenagers with acne problem. Anyway, I would not recommend this product at all.


on 12/2/2004 9:44:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I bought it about a week ago, tried ones, hated uneven coverage and decided to return. When yesterday my new foundation brush arrived I tried it again out of curiosity, using the brush. Honestly, I was amazed! It looked so natural, like I didn’t have any foundation, only perfect transparent skin! It wasn’t totally matte, like new Chanel Double Matte (which I didn’t like), just natural looking skin! My skin is combination and with foundation on I have to blot after one-two hours. Dream matte mousse didn’t require blotting for 6 hours! It did not crease, did not slide, and did not fade. I admit, I set it with HR semi-pressed powder. Color Nude perfectly matched my skin (Chanel 20 Clair) but it looked scary dark and yellow in the jar… Thanks to SA who insisted I’d get it and promised to exchange with no question if it won’t match.
I was off to buy Chanel Tent Compact cream SPF15, but Maybelline performed almost the same (Chanel I had to blot earlier), what a joke! I never wore drugstore foundation, well I buy it sometimes, but end up returning or tossing it – it never works for me (color, texture etc.).
I will edit if I will get any reaction, my skin is sensitive with possibilities of rosacea breakouts, but usually I react right away. But I woke up today with no rush or itching. Just cross my fingers that this “dream of the mousse” will continue to perform this good.
Thank you ladies, for your reviews, I wouldn’t be able to discover it if not MUA!


on 12/2/2004 8:16:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Warm

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I have super oily skin that is also acne-prone. I work 12 hour shifts and this stuff lasts without breaking down or fading. At the end of the shift, my face won't be an oil slick but look slightly dewy and nice. The coverage is amazing! Covers my old acne scars pretty well. Obviously, this isn't for someone who has dry or flaky skin, hence the word "matte" in the product name for those with oily skin. I have some flakies on the sides of my nose and they are made more noticeable with the foundation. I wear Light #4 and it's a perfect match for my skin with yellow undertones. I wear MAC C25, Illuminare Florentine Fair, and I'm blanking on the other shades right now. I just apply with my fingers and I will repurchase again.


on 12/1/2004 10:15:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been on a two-month long search for my HG foundation and this, while I wouldn't say it's HG, is the best I have tried so far including some department store brands. I have oily acne prone skin and this makes my skin look so soft and it hasn't broken me out and I've been wearing it on and off for a month now. I put a light dusting of powder over it only because I am so oily and it holds up better throughout the day than any foundation I have ever tried. I wear Classic Ivory and it is a perfect match to my light olive colored skin. It has been such a long search to find something that doesn't sink into my pores, separate on my skin, or slide off my face. I have literally been in tears over my face lately and this is the only foundation that doesn't have me crying in the mirror. I never would have thought that a product from Maybelline would be my daily foundation but it is from this day forward. My search is over for the time being. I absolutely love it and would be lost without it at this point.


on 11/30/2004 3:48:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Not good for my semi dry skin, make me look flaky after about 2 hours. Hate the packaging. The color matched nicely.


on 11/30/2004 2:56:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

this is the best foundation i have tried so far, which doesnt say much because i don't buy foundation often. the nude color seems to match my asian skin pretty well, although its not a PERFECT match (i have yet to find a foundation that will match my skin perfectly anyway.)

i just purchased this and with my finger the application isnt very good, but with a make up sponge it looks awesome and lasts all day. i havent used it long enough to get the break outs yet.. i'm kind of scared after reading all these reviews but hopefully it wont happen to me *crosses fingers*


on 11/29/2004 2:18:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Nice consistancy and felt good going on. I used about 1/2 a jar. Stopped using it because the ingredient list is scary and it broke my cheeks out. I think it's because of the silicones and the jojoba oil in it. Also, would make flakes really stand out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/29/2004 1:10:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Green

The colors and packaging are horrible for this product. I purchased the Creamy Natural shade, which, judging by the (poor) in-store color swatch and the shade's appearance through the bottom of the glass jar, looked to be a very soft, natural, cool-toned choice. Once I opened the jar, however, the color was an obvious pink-orange (WHEN will the industry stop including so much peach/orange in foundation shades? I've never met a single human being with peach skin, outside of those who frequent tanning booths). The Dream Matte also showed up every flake and dry patch that I wasn't even aware I had. This experience sure left me wishing for the days when tester jars were routine in drugstores. It even left me hoping to find tampered jars, as wrong and as rude as that practice may be. But Maybelline has made the seals on these jars tamper-proof, to be opened only by scissors. So, you're left with a bunch of shades incredibly difficult to decipher, and I can't rate a product any higher than a 1 when a company deceives and rips off consumers like this.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

MAYBELLINE Dream Matte Mousse foundation review [has Cancer producing ingredient] by LifeThoughtsCamera



Back to Top