Maybelline • Dream Matte Mousse • Foundations

rated 3.0(3248 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 superduty455 on 10/29/2004 8:54:00 PM more reviews by superduty455

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I am 43 and I normally use Estee Lauder Bare Skin or Clinique Superfit Make-up, or Victoria;s Secret Liquid Lingerie. I would rate Maybelline Dream Matte right up there with thos products! I put it on (I bought a rubber ended cuticle pusher) instead of my finger, and I put it on my face, and WOW!!!! I looked like a porcelain doll. It has the best coverage and the smoothest feel I have ever seen! I have worn it all day for 3 days now, and all I notice is that by the end of the day, I am a little dewy, but the coverage is still perfect and it feels fabulous all day. My skin is a little dry, so I don't mind being a little dewy at the end of the day. I don't have wrinkles yet, but I don't think this would set in the wrinkles unless your skin is VERY DRY. I love this product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 JDiggity on 10/29/2004 7:38:00 PM more reviews by JDiggity

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I do like this, however it sometimes seems too heavy. I like to mix it with a little moisturizer and then it works out well. It wears pretty well but for some reason, once in a while it settles into my skin after a few hours and makes my pores look too big. Overall, I did like it though. Just not sure if I will race out and buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* medeia13 on 10/29/2004 6:32:00 PM more reviews by medeia13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am loving this product. Sandy Beige is perfect for my skintone. Sometimes I accidentally smear on too much, which makes my face look greasy and made-up later on in the day, but normally this looks spectacular. I've been having trouble finding my beloved Jane Stay Calm foundation, but now this is a possible HG foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AmyinNO on 10/28/2004 11:03:00 PM more reviews by AmyinNO

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

A great product not just for drugstore! The consistency and coverage of this is fabulous. The only problem is finding the right color and, as always, drugstore brands don't have enough color selection. But, it glides on smoothly, just a little goes a long way and it lasts all day! I use it as a concealer as well and it really gives a nice all over finish. Highly recommend it once you find your color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jes1 on 10/28/2004 10:42:00 PM more reviews by jes1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Bought this after reading the reviews. I usually wear prescriptives Traceless, and have been looking for something a bit denser for winter. The first shade I bought (Nude) was WAY too dark for my fff complection. Went back and bought the (light 2) porceline color. Not impressed. It settled into my pores and created little makeup dots along the edges of my nose. The color isn't bad, it's just a little makeup-y for my tastes. It also made the tiny wrinkles around my eyes look really dry and crepey looking. I gave this two lippies because I love the texture in package, and I think this might work well on young, oily skin with refined pores, and the coverage was rather nice (covered well but my skin showed through a little)but ultimately it looked pretty nasty on me!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* honeybearkitty on 10/27/2004 2:28:00 AM more reviews by honeybearkitty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of the best drugstore foundations I've tried, and believe me, I've tried a lot!!! It is more heavily pigmented than most, with medium coverage. Easy to apply. Good for oily skin (but not extremely oily). But again (as usual), Maybelline doesn't make a match for my NC20 skin!!! (I bought the lightest color, which was too dark and pink.) ***IF*** they miracurously decided to make a color that matched me, I'd definitely buy this again!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Lyric311 on 10/25/2004 11:24:00 PM more reviews by Lyric311

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

HOLP CRAP THIS IS REALLY GOOD!!! I never wear drugstore foundation, but decided to give this a try based on all the reviews and I am so glad I did. This gives full coverage (which I need) and it still looked great at the end of the day. Rave!!!!!!!
****** UPDATE *********
WELL, AFTER 2 WEEKS I BROKE OUT HORRIBLY. 3 CYSTIC PIMPLES ON MY CHIN. I HAVE NOT BROKEN OUT LIKE THIS IN 6 MONTHS.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 s3dated on 10/25/2004 9:36:00 AM more reviews by s3dated

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The BEST foundation that I have ever tried. It is truly a 'Dream'; it stays Matte throughout most of the day (with my oily skin), and has a feathery, Mousse-like consistency. Medium coverage.
I love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jacie07 on 10/24/2004 6:55:00 PM more reviews by jacie07

Age: Unknown   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I picked this up at Walgreen's because it was FREE after rebate and I see in today's newspaper circular that the deal is still on, so if you are curious,now's the time to try it. As mentioned in other reviews, its hard to pick out your shade. I suggest that you ignore the color of the jar lid and even the name. The shades are divided into light,medium and dark and then they are sorted by how deep they are within those catagories. I think most of us have a pretty good instinct for where we fall on that spectrum, so just choose the shade closest to what you think you are-for example, I chose the lightest of the medium shades and its pretty darn good even though it looked horrible in the jar.(Also, save your receipt! They do take returns whether they advertise it or not!) I have mixed feelings about this product. I LOVE the feel of it, so soft, and it gives me a beautiful poreless finish which lasts all day. Don't try to use it on any lines or flakiness you may have-it will only emphasize them. I use this only on my oily areas,which for me is more of a plus zone than a T zone, so the jar will last me a long time.If you prefer to use your fingers to apply, rather than a sponge or brush, I suggest you dip out a bit with a spatula or even a Q-tip to avoid contaminating the rest of the product.I guess that because of the unique texture of this stuff, a jar is the only way to package it,but it would be better if the jar was plastic and had a flip-top. Unfortunately this foundation has no SPF which for me means I won't be buying again...too bad,it could have been my HG.Its so much better than the MUAC Matte Velvet I have been using. Now that Maybelline has got this formula down, I hope they come out with a blush too!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CaliAllyCat on 10/23/2004 5:52:00 AM more reviews by CaliAllyCat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

If I ever doubted that a drugstore foundation could be equal-if not better-than one from any high end or expensive line of makeup, than i have definitly made up my mind. I bought this, along with a L'Oreal True-Match foundation (see my review for more details on that) and I am 100% thoroughly impressed with the results. This goes on SOOOO smooth, and although some of the reviews have noted it as being hard to match to a particular skintone, perhaps I had a lucky guess when i picked this shade, because it blends wonderfully. I just love how creamy it goes on, yet it isn't thin or watery-- it conceals very well! The only thing is that my skin gets really oily, and if you have oily/severe acne-prone skin, you should just prep/powder skin before and after applying so that you don't have a greasy face later! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products