Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse

3.0

3269 reviews

48% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Squalane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Phenoxyethanol, Phenyltrimethicone, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Methylparaben, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Aluminum Hydroxide, Silica, BHT, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain ( /-):, CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77163 (Bismuth Oxychloride), Mica


on 11/12/2004 3:56:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I usually don't switch foundations but I thought I would give this a try. The coverage was alright but the colors are awful and it made my skin itch. I would never buy this again.



on 11/10/2004 9:31:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I have never found a drugstore foundation that I haven't returned or thrown out. And usually, in all honesty, it's shade options that are more a problem than quality. But in general, I am usually not satisfied either way.

This deserves some kudos. I think the formula is sheer enough that actually several skin tones can wear one shade. The finish is fine, but I think it's sheerer than they promise.

But again, for a drugstore foundation, yes, definitely worth checking out.


on 11/9/2004 8:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I had been considering switching up my foundation for a drugstore brand (I currently alternate between Chanel and MAC studio finish) I tend to stick to my faithful CG tinted moisturizer but wanted something with a bit more coverage for the winter months when I turn dreadfully sallow and pale. I bought this a few weeks back based of the ad with Adrian Lima in it. Figured we were the same color and got Pure Beige.
The texture is so yummy. And it goes on so airy and smooth. However I felt it made my already dry skin look to matte. I like to look a bit “dewy” fast forward to beginning of Nov in California and it is now my first line against the winter pale.
It covers up the ruddy-ness my cheeks from winter breeze and has my complexion looking incredibly smooth and perfect. I was so pleased and surprised.
I apply with a sponge (though in a rush I do admit to using a finger) a little goes a long was so go on light. I just use it to cover my t-zone- paying attention to the bridge of my nose and my red cheeks. It is sheer enough to let my complexion shine through but covers minor skin imperfections. Blends great with a warm finger or make-up sponge. I found out when I got an errant pimple that it provides great cover-up without drawing extra attention or irritating the zit. I have acne prone skin and I have had no breakouts and it has not irritated my skin.
I have extremely dry skin so I do prep with a moisturizer (pure bright by biotherm)
I try to just hit my target spots, and I find that I don’t even need a dusting of powder. (But that could be my stance against matte)
As stated people with dry flaky skin and deep lines should probably stay away from this.


on 11/9/2004 2:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a godsend for my oily/acne prone skin. It covers pimples, helps with looking like an oilslick and doesn't cause any more breakouts.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/9/2004 9:56:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Great foundation!! I got pure beige, which matches my skin perfectly. Its really easy to apply and blends perfectly. It evens out my skin tone and gives a great matte flawless finish. Will definitely buy again.


on 11/8/2004 12:22:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This really didn't work for me. I have a light complexion with dry skin. This looked terrible. It could just be because of the dry skin, but I wouldn't recommend it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/6/2004 4:01:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This foundation is ok. I am not overly impressed with it. It does not give the coverage I am looking for, it's a little sheer and doesn't give me that "flawless" look. It also clings to or makes me look like like I have dry spots on my face. It does have a nice feel going on & the color match is not bad but I don't love it like I should. I would not repurchase.


on 11/6/2004 12:11:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

Having used Dream Matte Mousse for a week, now I can safely say that I am extremely impressed by this foundation! The fluffy mousse texture glides on like silk on the skin and blends perfectly. It leaves my skin mostly matte all day with only one powder touch up (I usually need four.) It evens out my skin tone, and most amazingly, I do not need to use any concealer at all! I have Porcelain Ivory, and I do admit that it looks a bit dark and orange in the container, but on skin the orange and darkness is not apparent. I think I might have just found my holiest of all holy grails foundation! *Update* As time goes by this is looking more and more orange on my pale skin. I hope they come out with some more colours of this foundation, as I do really like the texture.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/5/2004 10:04:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I tried this product out and thought their was nothing MATTE about it, Maybelline's product just looked awful. I looked like I was wearing makeup and any matte mousse product would seem to be light and airy, not so with this product...I bet since mroe of these mousse makeups are hitting the shelves, someone will perfect it soon...


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Terrific product! I have Pure Beige. The coverage is somewhat airbrushed-like, and with the right blush and concealer, this makes my skin look translucent. Finding the right shade is hard, so I bought two and it turns out the lighter one was perfect! IMHO, you should try this no matter what the bad reviews say!


Back to Top