Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse

3.0

3288 reviews

48% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Squalane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Phenoxyethanol, Phenyltrimethicone, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Methylparaben, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Aluminum Hydroxide, Silica, BHT, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain ( /-):, CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77163 (Bismuth Oxychloride), Mica


on 11/29/2004 2:18:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Nice consistancy and felt good going on. I used about 1/2 a jar. Stopped using it because the ingredient list is scary and it broke my cheeks out. I think it's because of the silicones and the jojoba oil in it. Also, would make flakes really stand out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 11/29/2004 1:10:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Green

The colors and packaging are horrible for this product. I purchased the Creamy Natural shade, which, judging by the (poor) in-store color swatch and the shade's appearance through the bottom of the glass jar, looked to be a very soft, natural, cool-toned choice. Once I opened the jar, however, the color was an obvious pink-orange (WHEN will the industry stop including so much peach/orange in foundation shades? I've never met a single human being with peach skin, outside of those who frequent tanning booths). The Dream Matte also showed up every flake and dry patch that I wasn't even aware I had. This experience sure left me wishing for the days when tester jars were routine in drugstores. It even left me hoping to find tampered jars, as wrong and as rude as that practice may be. But Maybelline has made the seals on these jars tamper-proof, to be opened only by scissors. So, you're left with a bunch of shades incredibly difficult to decipher, and I can't rate a product any higher than a 1 when a company deceives and rips off consumers like this.


on 11/28/2004 6:46:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I loved this when I first tried it but like a lot of people have said it made me break out. I don't get zits but this actually caused break outs. I stopped using it and they went away.


on 11/27/2004 10:49:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

There is a key to using this foundation, and it is moisture, moisture, moisture!! It will not work if you have excessively dry skin, as this formula will "ball up" upon application to dry patches. If you have normal, oily, or combination skin, this is a terrific, inexpensive foundation. Just moisturize before applying. I get silky, even coverage. You can go sheer, or build it up for problem areas.
A great buy.


on 11/25/2004 3:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I couldn't find a color match in this for my medium south asian skin. The tan color was way too dark and the honey beiege was slightly too light. I also needed something more tellow-toned than these too colors. I'll stick to my clinique superbalanced compact in golden beige.


on 11/24/2004 1:36:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I like this! I got it in Natural Ivory and it is a great shade for my skin. Medium coverage and it does keep my skin matte all day. Except for my nose. I don't think anything could keep it from getting oily. I really like this!! Would repurchase.


on 11/24/2004 12:26:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

edited 4-1-07****I bought this in one of the new shades light beige and it is a perfect match for my combination nc25/30 skin. It is yellow toned and the coverage is wonderful. I use many foundations, but for days when I want med-full matte coverage, I reach for this. This looks even better when you smooth it on over primer-huge difference for me and stays all day. This is much better IMO than BB smooth skin foundation.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really do love this. I have shade 2. I wear it over my AquaSmooth foundationa and it provides awesome coverage! However, it doesn't keep my face matte at all. My skin is so oily nothing does. But I still love this and it feels like air going on. I would repurchase and I will!


on 11/21/2004 1:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I never wear makeup anymore, and this product is why.

This is a great foundation. It blends so easily, has matte coverage and never, ever needs to be touched up during the day. The texture is so cool and finding a shade to match my skin tone was really easy.

I wore it for about two weeks until my skin became so dry and irritated I had to stop. My face was UGLY -- dry patches, oily patches, big red pimples. So I decided to lay off the makeup for awhile, just use simple products ...and my face cleared up. I was beautiful. My skin was smooth, dewey, pale, and even. And I knew I never , ever had to wear foundation or powder ever again.

Thanks, Maybelline!


on 11/21/2004 12:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this is Shade 2. I tried a sample of the Estee Lauder mousse foundation and loved it, but was way too much $$$. So when this came out I had to try it! I love the way it goes on my skin and how smooth it is!! Color works well onmy skin, and when applied, this seemed to diasppear. My redness is corrrected and does a good job of covering up my acne scars. Reason it gets 4 lippies rather than 5 is that it doesn't last as long as I would like, and needs to be touched up at least once during the day...Would buy again as I prefer this over liquid foundation, but still prefer BE over it. UPDATE: I fear this is breaking me out, in the trash it goes :(


Video Reviews & Tutorials

MAYBELLINE Dream Matte Mousse foundation review [has Cancer producing ingredient] by LifeThoughtsCamera



Back to Top