MAC • Select SPF 15 Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.1(607 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Bloodrush192 on 5/28/2008 1:23:00 AM more reviews by Bloodrush192

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I got to try this stuff out at the MAC counter at Nordstrom's in Las Vegas. The MA was extremely friendly, gave my sister and I a nice makeover, and recommended this foundation for my skin. I tend to get oily during the day, and usually breakout. She applied the foundation with a 187 Duo Fibre brush. She didn't apply a lot of foundation to my face so it didn't pile on, which was great. The brush definitely helped blend the foundation onto my face. It lasted all day, didn't seem too oily at all. NOTE: I also washed my face with an exfoliator that morning and applied a suble moisturizer to my face, and I think that's how I got the great results I did.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Keslynn on 5/21/2008 8:29:00 PM more reviews by Keslynn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

MAC Select SPF 15 was an okay (though expensive) foundation until it broke my face out in hives. Apparently I've developed a sensitivity to chemical sunscreens. Thus I will not be repurchasing. That being said, I probably would not repurchase even if I hadn't had a bad reaction. It's an average foundation and not worth the price.

Pros:
- Excellent color match
- Nice porcelain finish
- Decent coverage
- Lightweight
- Built-in sunscreen

Cons:
- High ruboff factor
- A little streaky to apply though it can be blended enough to make the final finish nice
- Settles into lines (I think this was due to my oily forehead)

I know there are more pros than cons but my Revlon Colorstay has all those pros and none of the cons for about half the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Msadams224 on 5/20/2008 11:25:00 PM more reviews by Msadams224

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was really excited to try MAC's foundations! I came home with this product and was quite thrilled at first. The price was reasonable and while the packaging was kind of bleh, I purchased a pump to go with the bottle so I was at peace with it. I loved the coverage...a true medium foundation. The problem is, I woke up the next morning after wearing this product for only 8 hours the day before to find a HUGE whitehead on a part of my face I have NEVER had a blemish. It had to be the make-up. I returned it to the store immediately. If it made me break out after 8 hours I didn't want to wait and see what else it would do to my skin with continued use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MDavis5 on 5/19/2008 1:24:00 PM more reviews by MDavis5

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have combo skin. This foundation provided good coverage and went on smoothly. However, I could "feel" it on my face. It also rubs off very easily and looks oily fairly quickly. With all of the mineral and air brush makup, I am spoiled and don't like ot feel foundation on my face. I purchased this to wear when I needed heavier coverage. However, I found Merle Norman and will stick with that instead.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 riomarie on 5/18/2008 11:46:00 PM more reviews by riomarie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

well, for the first week i LOVED it. BUT i realized this weekend as i was driving 2 hrs to a wedding that i have fallen victim to the oompa loompa orange face oxidation disaster. the finish is lovely. lasts most of the day. doesnt turn oily. BUT i am not ok with my face changing colors like that. i dont know if i had that problem before. i never really noticed it till i got out of my car and looked in the window and saw my reflection. OMG it was so bad. i ran to target, got makeup remover and took it all off. thankfully i had my smashbox powder foundation which i LOVE because it saved my life this weekend!!
but NO. no NO. mac has let me down again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* user1988 on 5/8/2008 11:41:00 PM more reviews by user1988

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really do hate all MAC foundations, every one of them has oxidized on me... even the lightest shades turned orange on me. This one looks good at first, then it dries into streaks and patches and disappears. Hate it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sakecat22 on 5/8/2008 6:06:00 PM more reviews by sakecat22

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Two things I really like about this foundation. First, I like the finish - slightly matte, lasts all day, and doesn't feel like I'm wearing makeup. I still have pretty oily skin, so having this stuff last and not feel greasy within a few hours is a very big deal to me. Second, it doesn't break me out.

I would definitely use the foundation brush with this product. It seems to be made for that type of application - especially when you follow the nice MAC SA's instructions (put some on the brush, dab lightly a couple of times, then blend). My attempt to use my usual finger application technique (dot on forehead, nose, cheeks, chin and spread) was not pretty. Just streaky, heavy and wrong.

Got this foundation in NW30 - which seems a bit too yellow upon first application. Interestingly, upon asking my more makeup-savvy co-workers whether I looked funny, they said it looked very natural. Jury is still out on the color match.

Update: Returned to a different MAC store and got re-color matched. NW25 works much better. Note - if the MAC store has dark walls, don't rely on just the mirrors to give you a good indication of the color. Quality time all the way outside in bright sunlight (and not just outside in the doorway) is key.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 minax on 5/5/2008 9:27:00 PM more reviews by minax

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first review and it was prompted by the awful product that is MAC Select. I was matched with NC30, (Chanel 40, Dior 300 for ref) and it was horrible. My face is only slightly yellow toned and this very golden toned foundation made me look jaundiced and made my neck look pink in comparison! Staying power was next to nothing too and the MA kept arguing that it was powdery because she set it with powder, ignoring the fact that just touching my face made the powder AND the foundation come off on my fingers. The foundation itself dries to a powdery finish and basically falls off by itself. Adding MAC loose powder did nothing to set it and just produced a over-powdered look. This was my first MAC purchase and I was really disappointed. I will definitely not be buying this ever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ricerice on 5/4/2008 9:15:00 AM more reviews by ricerice

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i like how this foundation doesn't leave you greasy, although it doesn't stop you from getting greasy throughout the day. the coverage is very good too, not too cakey looking but still fully covers minor imperfections. the texture is very smooth and blends in very easily. the only downside to this product is that it doesnt last ( so if your skin is oily it will melt/slide, quite ugly), powder and primer is a must, it also accentuate some bumps i have under the skin (congestions). i will buy this again if i dont find a better foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mtm103 on 5/1/2008 12:50:00 PM more reviews by mtm103

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I went to the MAC counter wanting to buy the other foundation (studio), but the make up girl said this was better. So I bought this with the pump.
Bad things about it
- It starts off really nice, by about 5pm it goes all orange.. (which I think is what some people call oxidasing!). I am an NW15, and the orange look is not so nice.
- It seems to sink in your pores (but rubs off everywhere else)
- It tingles after you put it on.. not sure if this is a good thing or not!
Good things
- The colour match is great
- I like the medium coverage (may not be enough for some people)
- It starts off really really good

Not sure if it helps, but when I first b˘ught it I was setting it with some Elizabeth Arden powder, which made it look really horrible. I have gone back to Chanel, and this sets it much better.. I also use serum before putting it on, which really makes a difference.

All in all I would not buy again, as although the colour is great, my face looks really horrible by the end of the day, I just want to wash my face at 5pm!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products