Neutrogena • Norwegian Formula Hand Cream • Lotions/ Creams

rated 4.2(617 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 prettygurll on 3/4/2008 12:51:00 AM more reviews by prettygurll

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i used to get this for free from my sisters BF since he worked fr neutrogena but since i havent had contact with them i'd have to buy it on my own. This cream is great, my hands are so soft all the time because of this, specially during the winter. I use it on my lips too when its hella chapped, i put it on over night so the smell and wierd taste doesnt bother me. also, when my hands are especially dry, I soak them in warm water then rub this on and wear gloves overnight, daym! in the morning its soft again! I love this

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kschmiddy on 2/26/2008 4:12:00 PM more reviews by kschmiddy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this because it seems to be such a staple, classic product and I know many women who love it. I wouldn't say that I completely love it or even that I would continually repurchase, but I was glad I bought it and I did use up the whole tube. ;) There were a few annoyances-first, the bottle is terrible. Try twisting off the cap, holding the cap and bottle in your hands while applying lotion, then putting the cap back on with greasy hands! And you always get the bottle greasy, so if you carry it in your purse like me it can make a mess. Ugh, I would much prefer a pump or flip top. Second, it takes a long time to absorb. I have to keep rubbing and rubbing my hands around for it to absorb into my skin enough, and most of the time I just have a few seconds to put on hand lotion, so I want it to absorb fast. Third, it just feels a lot like slightly thinner vaseline! Also, my hands feel dryer after using this when it eventually wears off. But I would consider buying this in exteme conditions, like very dry cold weather. Where I live it's usually humid and not too cold in the winter, so I wouldn't use this every day even though my hands are very dry. It seems to work best as a "protectant" barrier instead of a true moisturizer. It would also be a nice nighttime lotion after showering if I could ever remember to apply at night. ;p I'll look elsewhere for an everyday purse product for when my hands get dry on the go, however.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nutsaboutmakeup on 2/26/2008 3:04:00 PM more reviews by nutsaboutmakeup

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I love this...especially the mini concentrated versions! i have small tubes lying around the house n in my different bags cos sometimes the back of my hand starts to itch like crazy and i just slap this one & it relieves the itchness straight away!!works very well at healing chapped, cracked, tearing skin but its actually quite expensive! GBP2 for a 15ml tube, GBP5 for the bigger one...its a staple but i stock up when boots has a promotion (but the shelves are usually empty at this time too...)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 demella on 2/19/2008 10:07:00 AM more reviews by demella

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Although the product seems a bit greasy at first it is quickly absorbed into the skin and does a great job of moisturizing the hands. You only need a small amount of this to make the hands very smooth. The 2 oz. packaging is perfect to keep in the purse.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 laurita_elena_1978 on 2/15/2008 3:58:00 PM more reviews by laurita_elena_1978

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have tried all hand creams from the price range of 15 to 25 dollars. I was surprised for the results of this hand cream the first time I tried it. My hands were in so much pain since they were so dry and cracked, I bought this at Walgreens as an emergency. So, after I tried it my hands immediately looked and felt way better. The smell is actually pretty nice. Reminds me of some Avon lotion when I ws a little girl.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 venteux on 2/2/2008 8:50:00 PM more reviews by venteux

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Like other reviewers, this is my HG hand cream at night, before bed. I've been using it for over 15 years, and still love it. It's very heavy duty! When I don't use it, I can tell the difference immediately. I like the unscented formula.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ChristinaSF on 1/29/2008 4:16:00 PM more reviews by ChristinaSF

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I used this as a hand lotion before bed.

This lotion is greasy, and takes a while to absorb, so I only used it at night. It does an okay job of making my hands feel soft.
I prefer l'occitane or aveeno.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kimk on 1/24/2008 11:07:00 AM more reviews by kimk

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is my HG nighttime hand cream. I've used this for over 25 years,and I haven't found anything I like better. It's heavy duty stuff - make no mistake! This does not soak in immediately. But it keeps my hands and cuticles intact during the winter, and so I use it at night right before beddy-bye time. :) It is awesomely effective - if I haven't used it for a few days, I can really tell, and I can tell a difference after the first use. I love it and have bought countless tubes of it, and will do so to the end!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 starberr1e on 1/19/2008 11:15:00 PM more reviews by starberr1e

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Ahhhhhhhhhh...I just put some on the backs of my hands. I wash my hands a lot during the winter so they tend to get quite dry and papery/leathery. It's good for elbows, face, anything really. So, the Norwegian Formula is never absent from my purse. And it's so true that "just a dab" will do the trick - the 1.7 oz. tube lasts me at *least* through the winter, usually more. My mother introduced me to this stuff when I was probably about 10 years old (I've always had somewhat dry skin!!), and I've been hooked ever since. I don't mind the scented kind, because the smell reminds me of my mother, but it's not so strong that it overpowers my perfume or anything. I just love this stuff and it's one of the only things that really seems to help my dry skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Possummama on 1/9/2008 3:00:00 PM more reviews by Possummama

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my all-time favorite hand cream. My dad (whom I inherited dry, raw hands and rough peeling cuticles) always used this when I was little. I started using it about 6 years ago and it's the only thing that seems to truly help repair my hands. I love that there's an unscented option.
One problem: I've recently tried YuBe hand cream from Japan and it's encroaching on Neutrogena's HG status. However, the affordability and availability of Neutrogena will probably give it a pretty firm foothold. But in case anyone is wondering, the YuBe is definitely worth a try. And don't worry, the camphor smell fades after a minute or two.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Lotions/ Creams products