Chanel • Vitalumiere Aqua Ultra-Light Skin Perfecting Makeup SPF 15 • Liquid

rated 3.9(809 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Effrontex16 on 10/1/2012 2:36:00 PM more reviews by Effrontex16

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I recently bought this foundation and even though I saw fantastic reviews about it I really thought it was only going to let me down. Let me start by saying my skin is oily and I have a hard time keeping my foundation from smearing off my face. I do have 2-3 pimples on my face but I have a few acne marks. This foundation has provided great coverage, it lasts mostly all day and it feels like you have nothing on your face. I love that its so lightweight and natural looking, it also provided me this soft feeling to my face and this scent that is very lovely. I wouldn't say the coverage is light-medium because you can put two lagers of the foundation on and it will cover EVERYTHING without giving your skin an unnatural look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 farmy on 10/1/2012 8:00:00 AM more reviews by farmy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

I got given a sample of this to try as well as a stack of all the other Chanel foundations (YAY). I got given B30 (beige) and B40 (beige) So far I've only tried the B30 and I have to admit that I really really like it.

Pros: The smell is really lovely. The sample is only a little bit of the product but I found it went on my skin really well and was light when first applied. As the day wore on I could barely feel it but my skin felt amazing.

Cons: Use with a light hand. I found that like most other foundations I've used I had to really really stay on top of shine. Yes I had to touch up and blot with powder during the day. I have oily skin this is my cross to bear.

I would purchase this but only after trying the others and seeing if they suit.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mi55bonnie on 9/27/2012 3:52:00 AM more reviews by mi55bonnie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

This foundation is amazing - it is lightweight but gives great coverage. It feels so soft, and looks like second skin, like I am not wearing any makeup. It gives me a flawless skin, dewy finish but not oily. This is great for anyone who wants a sheer light finish and you can wear this everyday without looking too heavy.
I got this sample in b20 (i'm nc 15-20) but i think it's too dark for me. I'm thinking to buy a full bottle in b10.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ultravee on 9/26/2012 8:57:00 AM more reviews by ultravee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Green    

This foundation gives light to medium coverage and comes in very good color range (I bought it in summer so I opted for B30 which matches my skin tone perfectly) and is probably a great choice for someone who's skin is normal, well hydrated and poreless. It looked absolutely fantastic when I tried it on the back of my hand in the store. However, even though it blends nicely and looks natural, my facial skin doesn't quite like it. It makes pores appear larger, emphasizes dry patches and does not mattify. I also noticed that it dries my skin out which might be due to the addition of alcohol. Inclusion of SPF is good but I would prefer if it didn't contain chemical factor. Packaging looks nicer than it is because it doesn't quite let you control how much you squeeze out and a pump bottle would be a far better choice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SCHAVDA on 9/23/2012 12:48:00 PM more reviews by SCHAVDA

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This foundation is amazing - it is lightweight but gives great coverage. I am shade b40 and usually around nc30-35 in mac. It also has SPF15 which is a great addition. I have slightly uneven skin and this is great for anyone who wants a sheer light finish. I wouldn't recommend this for anyone who wants heavy coverage as I don't think this would give that. It is expensive but totally worth it if you want an airbrushed finish (also looks great in photos) - I usually use a foundation brush to apply this and smooth over with a buffing brush. It comes in a small rectangular bottle which would be handy to carry around. The only problem I can think of is that you wouldn't be able to tell if it is running out but for me that's not a significant issue.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 linneahurtig on 9/23/2012 4:27:00 AM more reviews by linneahurtig

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm reviewing this based on my skin condition which is combination/ oily. This foundation, when mixed with my natural oils on my skin, goes blotchy after a 2h wear - even when i apply Chanel Loose Powder to set it.

I think this foundation is ideal for someone who have moderate oil on their skin ("normal" skintype") with slight discolouration. Its a lovely product to work with and sits nice on the skin.

Im nc 20 and B20 suits my skincolour very well.

I'm now using "Sisley Oil Free Fluid Foundation" which is amaaaaaazing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 allisonnai on 9/22/2012 1:44:00 PM more reviews by allisonnai

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this foundation. It's definitely a "your skin but better" kind of foundation, meaning that it evens out your skin tone and gives it a lovely finish. If you have hyper pigmentation, dark circles, or blemishes, you will need a concealer. It does tone down these problems, but it doesn't conceal them, as it is a light-medium coverage foundation. It's very expensive, but I think it's worth it. I use it for special occasions or on days when I want my skin to look really nice. My main issue with this foundation is that it doesn't hold up very well on oily skin. It looks perfect for 2-4 hours (my skin WILL get oily in this period of time but it'll just make the foundation look dewey), but after that point the foundation will start to look a little patchy if you don't blot.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kikkim on 9/22/2012 5:56:00 AM more reviews by kikkim

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

I really wanted to like this foundation, it looked good when the sales assistant applied it but when I actually started using it at home, it sank into my pores and ended up caking and looking chalky after a few hours on my combination skin. It also had quite a runny consistency which might bother some. It didn't offer much coverage at all and was so disappointing. I much prefer the Chanel Vitalumiere Eclat compact over this, with it's gorgeous sable brush. This is not good for dry skin days either, as it highlights all the dry patches. Think this is more for those who have pretty perfect complexions to begin with, rather than people who need a little bit of help day to day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* na8i on 9/19/2012 12:31:00 PM more reviews by na8i

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

After many years of fighting lucid mineral makeup and chalky compacts, I settled for oil-free liquid foundation because it provides the most natural and carefree look... Nowadays the formulations are getting more and more advanced and some of them are even mineral based, so you basically get the best of two worlds! :) My previous favorite was Lancome's Teint Idole Silky Mat, but after testing and comparing with Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua for over a year I have to say the latter gets my vote. Both are glycerin and oil free (no break-outs!). VA's gel-like consistency blends easily and although the finish is a little bit more dewy it stays on just as long. My skin looks natural and it doesn' feel like I am wearing any makeup. Lancome provides a more matte look, but the alcohol in it has a tendency to upset my skin. I was told by another MUA'er that Chanel does indeed contain alcohol as well (bummer!), but somehow it doesn't irritate my skin like Lancome. Another point for the bottle, Lancome oozes, this stays put. The package is also very travel friendly. This is the best foundation for everyday that I've found so far - the coverage is light, but that means it wears off gradually so it is not something you wear when it is important to look flawless around the clock..! Because of my recent discovery of the alcohol content I will look around for something similar, sans alcohol.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cheeky on 9/19/2012 12:48:00 AM more reviews by cheeky

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

i purchased this a few days ago, and so far and pretty pleased with it. i initially was worried that the coverage would be too sheer, but it's actually medium. drugstore foundations have always been too pink on me, i wear this foundation in the lightest color, and it's perfect for me. for reference, i am nc15, my skin is very fair with red undertones, and i have freckles. with a good primer, this will stay on your face all day and not become cakey. the area around my nose/chin gets cakey, but i suspect it is the mac studio finish concealer i use that is doing this. this foundation gives me a glow, and it's nice to FINALLY feel like i look natural. i have been breaking out the past few days, and am hoping that it's not caused by this foundation. the acne has been around my chin and jawline. i love the scent of this product, it disappears but i have never had a foundation smell like this one. i will definitely repurchase as long as this is not the cause of my breakouts.
update 6/8/11 - i honestly am pretty sure this has been breaking me out :( i will discontinue using it for now

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Liquid products