Maybelline • Dream Smooth Mousse • Crème

rated 3.6(665 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 karoleeny on 5/6/2011 9:48:00 PM more reviews by karoleeny

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Ok very simple here it goes, NOT good for oily skin. I do love how it goes on smooth and looks beautiful and flawless. Unfortunately for me it doesn't last, my t zone oxidizes 3hrs after application even with diff methods, setting powder, diff primers ect. I'm sure it will work fine for drier skin but then again it does settle into dry patches, just make sure you scrub well pre application. Nars sheer glow is the bomb no word of a lie.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* arwynundomiel on 5/6/2011 9:23:00 PM more reviews by arwynundomiel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this because I liked the Matte version but wanted a foundation that came with a sponge. What I like about it is it really does give a baby smooth appearance, and stays like that all day. I have trouble with my skin flaking (Retin-A is both a blessing and a curse), and it is impossible for me to use a foundation that has to be smoothed on. This one let me use the sponge to press the foundation on, without any side to side movement. It worked perfectly and many people have complimented my skin when I'm wearing it. It has great coverage that starts fairly sheer and can be built up as needed, eliminating the need for additional concealer. It also goes on nicely around my eyes, as most foundations I've tried tend to cake up in that area. The down side is that even the lightest color available (Porcelain Ivory) isn't quite light enough for me, and has a tendency to look orange. This can be remedied by using an extremely fair powder on top, but I wish Maybelline could make a truly fair shade. I also have chipped a nail several times trying to open the top compartment to get at the sponge, but I think I've learned the trick to it now. Slide your thumb nail under the catch and lift up with that, instead of trying to push up from the outside. All in all, the best foundation I've ever found so far, and I'm on my third one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* vwzen81 on 5/4/2011 1:38:00 PM more reviews by vwzen81

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I bought this foundation a few months ago in the lightest shade available (porcelain ivory) and loved everything about it. For a split second I actually thought I may have found my holy grail foundation but then I looked in a mirror in natural light and realized…..my skin was orange! This really bummed me out because this foundation goes on so smooth, creamy and it’s so easy to blend. Plus, for me, it lasts all day without any problems. It doesn’t make me super oily within a few hours like some foundations (I’m talking to you Rimmel Lasting Finish); I apply more powder around lunchtime but I probably don’t even need it. But since the lightest color was too dark for me I put the foundation in a drawer and forgot about it.

Until now! I had been using a colored powder to set this foundation but I’ve recently discovered the Hard Candy Welcome Matte powder which is a translucent powder that actually lightens my skin just a bit, so I decided to give this foundation another try using this powder to set it. Viola! The Hard Candy powder lightens up this foundation just enough so that it matches me perfectly. Plus, I had been applying this foundation with the sponge that it came with and I believe it was depositing too much foundation on my face; which I’m sure wasn’t helping with the orange factor. Now I’m applying it with a flat top kabuki brush and I couldn’t be happier.

I know a lot of people complain that you don’t get as much product with this foundation as you do with most other foundations. However, you really need to use such a SMALL amount of this foundation that I believe this container of foundation will last me the same amount of time that a normal 1 oz bottle would or it might last even longer.

Give it a try and don’t give up if it’s not perfect at first; you just have to find the right way to apply it that works for you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 elinayal on 5/2/2011 3:53:00 PM more reviews by elinayal

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

At first when I bought this product, I loved it. It was the first foundation I tried and I felt that it was amazing. I was just trying to cover up some redness and discoloration, and the makeup did so well. Then after a while, i started to notice that the foundation made my skin a lot more orange compared to other foundations i bought. I have a couple dry spots around my nose, and it made those spots more dry and flaky and looked horrible. I slowly began disliking this product, and I found a different one, much better (Kirkland Sheer Foundation from Costco) and I'm not going back to this on again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* emysiu on 5/2/2011 2:28:00 AM more reviews by emysiu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have minimal skin problems, just redness in some places and uneven skin tone. This takes care of all of that and I look like I'm not wearing anything at all. I am NC35 and chose 240 Natural Beige and even though it looks a tad darker, the blending takes care of all of that. I put a dab on each side of my face, blend, and I am set. It provides a dewy finish so I find that a light powdering is necessary. I set it with some NYX powder and I pretty much don't worry about it for the rest of the day except blotting for excess oil every now and so. This is light coverage and has the feel of a light concealer, rather than an actual foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Southernbelleky on 5/1/2011 6:11:00 PM more reviews by Southernbelleky

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I now love this foundation, but didn't at first. Application and choosing the right shade are the keys to making this work. If you are between two shades, go with the lighter one, because it does appear darker on your skin. Also, I do use the sponge but I pat it on lightly instead of rubbing it on. I have combination skin, with very dry patches on my cheeks and part of my nose, and oily in my T-zone (forehead, nose and chin). I use a light transluscent powder applied in light pats to set it. Then I use a kabuki or a blush brush to apply blush on the apples of my cheeks. The result is beautiful, very natural but smooth skin. I used Age Rewind for a long time because no matter what moisturizer I used or how I exfoliated, I still had makeup settle into those dry patches. This does not. I am really happy with it and think it's great quality for a "drug store" foundation.

When I first bought it, I rubbed it on with the sponge, and it looked cakey and too dark. Using the patting technique, it goes on beautifully, and with powder to set the oily spots, it stays on all day. I put it on around 8 this morning, and it still looks good at 6 at night.

I think this is best for dry or combination skin. I think oily skin would struggle with this product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hazel101 on 4/29/2011 4:25:00 PM more reviews by hazel101

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

i have a question!! in mac the guy that did my makeup said im cool undertone but then he said i look better in NW and my shade is NW 20-25 so if i buy the maybelline dream smootbh mousse foundation, what shade would look best on me? im not that pale, and my neck looks kinda yellow undertone and my face is so much lighter, so when i wear a pinkish undertone foundation i look like i rubbed mylanta on my face or something

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vashawnique on 4/21/2011 9:25:00 PM more reviews by vashawnique

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love love love this product. The smoothness (if that's even a word) is just remarkable. I dont even look as if I have any type of make-up on at all. I love to look natural!! so if your looking for a creme foundation that has medium to light coverage ... this would be ur girl! ") I love the blush as well ... but thats another review. take care gals!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Piggie8 on 4/21/2011 7:43:00 PM more reviews by Piggie8

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I really want to like this, but I can't. I have to apply it with a damp sponge, but it goes on sheer if I do. Also, it gets EVERYWHERE even if I use my loose powder, which I use a lot of on my face. I also go the lightest shade and it makes my face look tan, which isn't that great because I have pale skin. Tan face and pale arms don't really look good. Honestly the thing that bothers me the most is that it gets everywhere on my clothes, other people. Will NOT buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 curlywurly89 on 4/21/2011 10:12:00 AM more reviews by curlywurly89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is currently my go-to foundation. I really like it. I feel like alot of the negative reviews for this product may be due to poor application techniques perhaps? I've had this for a good 3 months now and after experimenting with different tools and techniques i feel like I’ve perfected its application. First of all, remember that this is a cream foundation, so if applied liberally it WILL look cakey and extremely unattractive-the key is to build up the coverage because i do consider this a full coverage foundation. So it you have decent skin you should use this sparingly. My skin is by no means in need for a full coverage foundation but at the same time its not perfect, i have quite a few acne scars and redness. But when i use this foundation i honestly love how natural my skin looks. Now, I like to use it with a traditional foundation brush (mine is from red earth) and using small strokes i cover my entire face and blend till there’s no harsh edges. After that i like to grab the sponge that comes in the compact and sprtiz some MAC fix+ then roll it across my face. When i do this i can honestly see a major difference in terms of how natural it looks. I just love it!! It's been my go to foundation ever since. Try it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Crème products