Maybelline • Dream Smooth Mousse • Crème

rated 3.6(648 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 matt44bek on 3/28/2011 7:44:00 AM more reviews by matt44bek

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have been reading makeup alley reviews for years without contributing a review but I feel that this foundation deserves a good wrap !! I have combo skin and thought based on other reviews that this would be too oily for me. Indeed I have used the matte mousse for years and found it great for full coverage and longevity so was a bit hesitant to try the new smooth mousse but boy was I super impressed with it. First the color #240 natural beige is the best color I have ever found in any foundation line...and trust me I've tried them all, secondly the coverage is lovely...just enough to cover imperfections and redness without being as heavy as it's matte counterpart. The finish is great too , very soft and glowy. I do tend to put a light dusting of powder over the top just to set but I do that with nearly all foundations so that's no big deal. I don't use the sponge included but just warm some foundation up in my fingers and apply like that, using the natural warmth from my hands. I wish it was a little cheaper in Australia but once I know my color I tend to scour eBay for cheaper items anyway. I will definitely be using this daily now...until my next favorite foundation comes along, but needless to say I am extremely happy with how this foundation makes my very ordinary complexion look !! Give it a try !!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kermie70 on 3/26/2011 8:33:00 PM more reviews by kermie70

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I am really surprised how much I like this. It covers my rosacea well as long as I use a damp sponge. You need to apply and then wait before applying again - so you don't put on too much. No smell and it lasts a long time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lovesyou on 3/21/2011 5:46:00 PM more reviews by lovesyou

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

first day of wearing this foundation I will edit if it breaks me out(:
Pros:
-stays on long
-comes with a sponge
-easy to apply(I use my Fingers)
-hasn't broken me out yet
-looks natural
Cons:
-gets oiler looking throughout the day
-feels greasy
-the sponge sucks
-feels like you have makeup on
EDIT:Has Not broken me out and i have wore it for a week now.I really like this foundation now. it not greasy anymore because i was putting way to much on (you only need a little for full coverage)a very good foundation when appiled correctly(:

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cosmic007 on 3/19/2011 10:22:00 PM more reviews by cosmic007

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have oily skin, and despite what numerous reviewers said about this product being bad for oily skin, I loved it. It was lightweight and melted into my skin unlike any other foundation I have ever used. It completely and easily masked the large pores on my nose.
With that being said, I found that on most days it oxidized terribly, and left me looking completely orange (usiually in the warmer weather/on sunny days). As much as I love the formula, I'm sad to say I can't use this because of the unnatural color change it takes on after a few hours of wear. :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Chelles93 on 3/17/2011 6:01:00 PM more reviews by Chelles93

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Although I bought a shade too light, I get decent medium cover and it seems to even out my skin tone pretty well.

It doesn't last on me, though, and I cannot wear it over any sunscreen or it makes my face greasy. Good for when I work at night - nothing special, just easy to apply and go.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tamedDOLL on 3/17/2011 12:34:00 AM more reviews by tamedDOLL

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    


First I was going for 240natural beige but when I got to the store it seemed too dark, so I went with 200creamy natural. I thought it was going to be very pink but it actually looked fine with my neutral-yellow under tone.
This product is so creamy and goes on so smooth on the skin and it's very natural looking. I feel it gives medium-full build-able coverage. You can definitely layer this foundation to get very full coverage or double up as concealer ( I love it as concealer too) as it does not get cakey as easily as other foundations. I had applied some on a dry area due to acne medication and this foundation did not cling on to the dry patch and didn't feel as rough as before. I have a oily center forehead+temples and this did not create shine or more oil on those areas. For now it does not break me out.
For the price (got mine for about $14.. so at Walmart in Canada it should be around $11-12 ish.) it seems that you get very little product but some say most cream foundations only offer 9-10g of product compared to the 14g the Dream Smooth has. The packaging isn't bad, not as bulky as it looks. The sponge actually is convenient. It;s great for touch up and I personally like to apply the foundation with it.

EDIT: This foundation lasts pretty well on me. Using a powder or primer extends the wear GREATLY. It still wears off just a tiny bit after about 6-8 hours but I don't really need to re-apply if I need it on longer.
EDIT2: I have finally used this enough to see if it breaks me out. It does not. :D

I don't know if the amount of product will last me awhile but I will update to an HG if this does not break me out and will last me some time:).


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 angelcake16 on 3/10/2011 9:40:00 AM more reviews by angelcake16

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I love this foundation! I apply this with a damp beauty blender sponge. It gives a very nice finish and has not broken me out. It is the one foundation I've used that I cannot "feel" on my face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 CHISEIPIECE on 3/9/2011 12:45:00 AM more reviews by CHISEIPIECE

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I wish... Oh, how I wish this product worked out for me.
At first when I started using this foundation, I fell in love!
It has such a beautiful air brushed like cover. Not too thick and not too thin. Just enough coverage. I'd have to say more like a medium to sheer coverage.. Once first applied it's nice, but hours later I'd end up greasy and super shiny it appears my makeup is sliding off.. :(
I'd powder like crazy (removing the oils and grease first with a blotting paper or tissue) and still I'd be so greasy..
Sadly, this product isn't for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kay13 on 3/7/2011 7:23:00 PM more reviews by kay13

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This foundation is the best i've used. I have dry sensitive skin, and this did not make me break out. Provides complete coverage when set with powder. The only thing I didn't love was the sponge it comes with, which is totally useless. Better off using stippling brush or fingers!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mzlovely on 3/6/2011 12:48:00 AM more reviews by mzlovely

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I didn't like this product when I had got it. It didn't give me enough coverage, it was sticky/greasy, made me breakout, and didn't make my skin look good at all...

It was way too much work to apply also.

I haven't repurchased this product and won't.
This product would probably work best for people with dry skin that don't have acne problems as myself. Too many chemicals in this foundation, you always know cause you can smell it and it feels awful on your skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Crème products