Maybelline Dream Smooth Mousse

3.6

668 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Dimethicone, Cyclopentsiloxane, isotridecyl, isononanoate, Glycerin, Dipropylene Glycol, Polymethylsilses Quioxane, Candelilla Cera Wax, Peg-9 Polydimethylxiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Caprylyl Glycol, Disodium Stearoyl, Glutamate, Ethylhexylglycerin, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Tocopherol, Propeylene Glycol, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Ethylhexylglycerin, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Tocopherol, Propylene Glycol, Aluminum Hydroxide, Citric Acid, Royal Jelly, Royal Jelly Extract, Chamomilla Recutita Extract/Matricaria Flower Extract.


on 5/13/2011 7:25:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

It is a great product but i have a couple pros and cons

pros -It covers great
-covers bags under eyes
- looks great indoors..

cons-Not long lasting at all maybe 1 hour
-under eyes crease and is hard to get off
- In the sunlight/outside looks cakey, very think
Its great and i would reccomended just not working for me



on 5/12/2011 9:50:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I only bought this foundation because when it first came out, so many YouTube gurus were raving about it, and therefore I thought I would check it out. It wasn't until January 2011 (I heard reviews on YT around July 2010) that I actually found it anywhere in Canada. It was very pricey for a drugstore foundation at the time, $15, but it's recently been on sale at a lot of places - I know that it was on sale at Shopper's for about $11 and Wal-Mart $12. The formula is very nice, super creamy and it just glides onto your skin. Coverage is about medium, not quite full coverage, but not at all light. It covered my acne scars pretty well, along with some concealer, and it made my skin glowy and smooth. However, since I have combination skin, it didn't wear very long. I also found that I had to constantly powder my T-zone because of how shiny my skin was. I love this foundation, just remember to use powder with it if you have combination to oily skin.


on 5/10/2011 3:21:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Okay. So after using revlon colorstay for forever. I'm sick of it. The small, texture was so horrible. It would stick all over my fingers like glue into all my lines on my fingers and I would have a towel close by to wipe it all off my hands. I just put up with it because I thought there was nothing else out there to help cover up my acne scares.
I wanted something that didn't take as long to apply as the colorstay did, and for some reason, the colorstay dosn't even have amazing coverage. i had to put what seemed like a million layers on to cover up scaring.
But now. I am wearing dream smooth mousse and I LOVE IT. One overall sweep of color smoothed out my complexion like crazy, then another quick layer on top my scarring to cover up discoloration. This is amazing. It looks so much more natural than the revlon did. Doesn't set into my pores and make them look huge, doesn't smell, wonderful texture, dries matte, doesn't rub off and leave my skin looking all weird.
The color I choose it a little off for me, but I still love it. I blended it down to my neck to make it look more natural, but I love this. I just hope it doesn't make me break out. :( PLEASE dont break me out. :( ladies! go buy this. This may be my HG foundation. So hopefully it doesn't break me out. We'll see.
ALSO: THEY HAVE TWO KINDS! ONE FOR DRY SKIN, NORMAL SKIN, ONE FOR OILY SKIN. THEY HAVE DIFFERENT PACKAGING. SO IF YOU HAVE OILY SKIN, GET THE ONE FOR OILY SKIN. DIFFERENT PACKAGING. THIS IS FOR DRY-NORMAL SKIN. Good luck!


on 5/6/2011 9:48:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Ok very simple here it goes, NOT good for oily skin. I do love how it goes on smooth and looks beautiful and flawless. Unfortunately for me it doesn't last, my t zone oxidizes 3hrs after application even with diff methods, setting powder, diff primers ect. I'm sure it will work fine for drier skin but then again it does settle into dry patches, just make sure you scrub well pre application. Nars sheer glow is the bomb no word of a lie.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I got this because I liked the Matte version but wanted a foundation that came with a sponge. What I like about it is it really does give a baby smooth appearance, and stays like that all day. I have trouble with my skin flaking (Retin-A is both a blessing and a curse), and it is impossible for me to use a foundation that has to be smoothed on. This one let me use the sponge to press the foundation on, without any side to side movement. It worked perfectly and many people have complimented my skin when I'm wearing it. It has great coverage that starts fairly sheer and can be built up as needed, eliminating the need for additional concealer. It also goes on nicely around my eyes, as most foundations I've tried tend to cake up in that area. The down side is that even the lightest color available (Porcelain Ivory) isn't quite light enough for me, and has a tendency to look orange. This can be remedied by using an extremely fair powder on top, but I wish Maybelline could make a truly fair shade. I also have chipped a nail several times trying to open the top compartment to get at the sponge, but I think I've learned the trick to it now. Slide your thumb nail under the catch and lift up with that, instead of trying to push up from the outside. All in all, the best foundation I've ever found so far, and I'm on my third one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/4/2011 1:38:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I bought this foundation a few months ago in the lightest shade available (porcelain ivory) and loved everything about it. For a split second I actually thought I may have found my holy grail foundation but then I looked in a mirror in natural light and realized…..my skin was orange! This really bummed me out because this foundation goes on so smooth, creamy and it’s so easy to blend. Plus, for me, it lasts all day without any problems. It doesn’t make me super oily within a few hours like some foundations (I’m talking to you Rimmel Lasting Finish); I apply more powder around lunchtime but I probably don’t even need it. But since the lightest color was too dark for me I put the foundation in a drawer and forgot about it.

Until now! I had been using a colored powder to set this foundation but I’ve recently discovered the Hard Candy Welcome Matte powder which is a translucent powder that actually lightens my skin just a bit, so I decided to give this foundation another try using this powder to set it. Viola! The Hard Candy powder lightens up this foundation just enough so that it matches me perfectly. Plus, I had been applying this foundation with the sponge that it came with and I believe it was depositing too much foundation on my face; which I’m sure wasn’t helping with the orange factor. Now I’m applying it with a flat top kabuki brush and I couldn’t be happier.

I know a lot of people complain that you don’t get as much product with this foundation as you do with most other foundations. However, you really need to use such a SMALL amount of this foundation that I believe this container of foundation will last me the same amount of time that a normal 1 oz bottle would or it might last even longer.

Give it a try and don’t give up if it’s not perfect at first; you just have to find the right way to apply it that works for you.


on 5/2/2011 3:53:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

At first when I bought this product, I loved it. It was the first foundation I tried and I felt that it was amazing. I was just trying to cover up some redness and discoloration, and the makeup did so well. Then after a while, i started to notice that the foundation made my skin a lot more orange compared to other foundations i bought. I have a couple dry spots around my nose, and it made those spots more dry and flaky and looked horrible. I slowly began disliking this product, and I found a different one, much better (Kirkland Sheer Foundation from Costco) and I'm not going back to this on again!


on 5/2/2011 2:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have minimal skin problems, just redness in some places and uneven skin tone. This takes care of all of that and I look like I'm not wearing anything at all. I am NC35 and chose 240 Natural Beige and even though it looks a tad darker, the blending takes care of all of that. I put a dab on each side of my face, blend, and I am set. It provides a dewy finish so I find that a light powdering is necessary. I set it with some NYX powder and I pretty much don't worry about it for the rest of the day except blotting for excess oil every now and so. This is light coverage and has the feel of a light concealer, rather than an actual foundation.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I now love this foundation, but didn't at first. Application and choosing the right shade are the keys to making this work. If you are between two shades, go with the lighter one, because it does appear darker on your skin. Also, I do use the sponge but I pat it on lightly instead of rubbing it on. I have combination skin, with very dry patches on my cheeks and part of my nose, and oily in my T-zone (forehead, nose and chin). I use a light transluscent powder applied in light pats to set it. Then I use a kabuki or a blush brush to apply blush on the apples of my cheeks. The result is beautiful, very natural but smooth skin. I used Age Rewind for a long time because no matter what moisturizer I used or how I exfoliated, I still had makeup settle into those dry patches. This does not. I am really happy with it and think it's great quality for a "drug store" foundation.

When I first bought it, I rubbed it on with the sponge, and it looked cakey and too dark. Using the patting technique, it goes on beautifully, and with powder to set the oily spots, it stays on all day. I put it on around 8 this morning, and it still looks good at 6 at night.

I think this is best for dry or combination skin. I think oily skin would struggle with this product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/29/2011 4:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

i have a question!! in mac the guy that did my makeup said im cool undertone but then he said i look better in NW and my shade is NW 20-25 so if i buy the maybelline dream smootbh mousse foundation, what shade would look best on me? im not that pale, and my neck looks kinda yellow undertone and my face is so much lighter, so when i wear a pinkish undertone foundation i look like i rubbed mylanta on my face or something


Back to Top