Jane Iredale Pure Pressed Base

4.0

636 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

CTIVE INGREDIENTS: Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891) 14%, Zinc Oxide (CI 77947) 3% INACTIVE INGREDIENTS: Mica (CI 77019), Boron Nitride, Dimethicone, Hydrated Silica, Stearic Acid, Plankton Extract, Algae Extract, Pinus Strobus (Pine) Bark Extract, Punica Granatum (Pomegranate) Extract. [ /- Iron Oxides (CI 77489, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Ultramarines (CI 77007), Carmine (CI 75470)]


on 6/3/2008 12:40:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Hands down best mineral foundation I have ever used especially now that they don't have bismuth in the product which makes me itch like crazy..... I have had no reaction to this foundation at all and it covers like a dream.... I will be using this from now on... I just wish it wasn't so spendy but I am in love with it, my hg foundation for mineral powders.... a plus also is that it doesn't accentuate any fine lines or pores I have, just gives a beautiful skin look and covers imperfections....



on 5/19/2008 8:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I needed a powder for a few up coming weddings I am in and I don't normally wear powder so I started looking at the department stores but all of those powders felt like a mask and sat on top of my skin and just didn't look right.

So I decided to give their pressed powder a shot. The lady at the spa matched my colour exactly and as soon as I saw my skin I was hooked!!! It was applied with a powder brush and gave me the most flawless look and you really don't need to touch it up at all. It has a great SPF, no talc and I have very sensitive skin and this really works well and provides amazing coverage but looks natural:) I had a friend wear this at her wedding and has never used anything else. At $63 CAN it is very expensive. This is a good foundation if you need little coverage, don't mind shimmer, and don't have a combo complexion. If you do you msy want something different.

You can always purchase the brush they suggest but it gives too matte of a finish for me so I stick with the powder brush.


on 5/15/2008 2:52:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This was recommended by my dermatologist as I am recovering from a bad case of adult acne and am now going through the fade cream process. I love it! It's often hard for me to find any makeup that's not cakey or clogging my pores. I love how light and flawless it looks! I was matched perfectly - she had me go out in the sun to make sure it looked right. This is where most people mess up...they look at it inside where they can't really see how it really will show on the skin. Most people don't even realize I have any makeup on, but it covers my scars. Would definitely buy again.


on 5/6/2008 9:00:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I've worn this for over a week now and I keep liking it more and more! Let me start by describing my stupid, stupid skin: I have the large pores and whiteheads of rosacea along with redness on my cheeks, nose, and chin. The rest of my skin is pretty normal...except for the flakes and sun damage. I'm also sensitive to chemical sunblocks, which is bad considering my propensity to sunburn and my history of skin cancer. I have been through probably 5 foundations in the last year and have settled for different ones at different times while loving none of them. I've wasted countless hours on the internet researching foundations with SPF that don't contain chemical sunscreens/sunblocks. I combed Paula Begoun's website and read everything I could about physical sunscreens such as titanium dioxide. And then somehow I ended up at www.skin-one.com, looking at Jane Iredale's cosmetics. Fate must have led me there, is all I can say about it. I called the 1-800 number, where an exceptionally friendly and knowledgeable person color-matched me OVER THE PHONE! Dude! She was amazing. Anyway, after talking to her, I ordered the Pure Pressed Base in Bisque. It looks kind of saffron-colored in the container, which weirded me out a bit, but it goes on sheer and fair, with just enough yellow to counter my red. It applies like a dream (I'm sure I did it all wrong, using a foundation brush and stroking it on rather than tapping and buffing and whatever-all the hell you're supposed to do with these mineral things) and looks SO natural! I spritzed my face with a bit of Pom Mist when I was through (also a Jane Iredale product--but any LRP, Avene, Aquafina, Evian, whatever spray would work fine) and was ready to go. No flakes, zits a-covered, no apparent pores, and no tightness or dryness from the talc and physical sunblocks. I forgot my rosacea medicine in my rush to try this product, and by golly I forgot that I forgot--that's how good this looked! I was worried that it would dry my face out by noon, but it's the end of my day now and there is no dryness to be found. I kept checking the mirror at work to look for the dreaded orange "oxidation" phenomenon, but nope, none of that either. The only thing that makes me sad about it is that it looks so good upon application that I don't need my beloved Besame powder to finish my face in the mornings. So...can this get any better? Nah, I don't think so. I'll just keep my Besame on my dresser to remember the good times we had together.

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.


on 4/29/2008 11:54:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Oh my goodness, best product ever. I used to have a bad case of picking at my skin in an OCD type manner... I had red marks and scars all over my face. I could not leave my room without putting the thickest foundation on to cover it up. I used this Jane product to replace what I had been using in an attempt to correct the pigmentation of my skin and do something good for it. I will explain how much of a miracle Jane Iredale can give: Pigmentation evened out, oily skin is no more, overall complexion almost glows, (what used to be big) pores look much better, beautiful healthy glow while wearing the product, stays on for the most part throughout the day unless you sweat, and looks so natural that it is almost impossible to tell you are wearing any makeup at all! Thank you, Jane!
UPDATE: I still haven't found a cheaper replacement for this product. I'm going to try the loose version from eBay for only $29. I had to stop buying the pressed powder because it's way too expensive for such a small amount - it would last a month tops! And I purchased this powder for over a year, and no matter how sparingly I used it... 4 weeks would go by and it was gone. I will not buy it again for that reason... At least my MAC Studio Fix Foundation Powder is $26 and lasts 6-8 months AND is 15 grams.


on 4/12/2008 3:51:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this powder foundation! I use this mainly as an undereye and spot concealer - I don't really use powder or foundation - and it works beautifully. (My shade is warm silk.) IMO, it doesn't cover my dark circles completely but it minimizes them dramatically so, according to my family and friends, I'm the only one who sees them. (Aren't we all more critical of ourselves?) With that in mind, I am curious about trying the loose powder to see if it might work better - or even BE's well rested. (If I ever get around to testing them, I'll report my opinion on them.) In the meantime, this is pretty close to being a HG. In spite of my dry skin, it is not cakey or powdery and applies smoothly and evenly every time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/12/2008 8:43:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Basically this is the only mineral makeup I will even deal with, although it has its problems. I bought this after weeks of wearing Get Even #1 powder only and thinking I looked alright, but then saw myself in a Target mirror one afternoon after work and I looked like a__. Maybe it was the cruddy light but I felt I needed a little coverage. So I pick up this at a salon on my way home. $45 down the drain, because I really don't know if this really does much more than the Get Even as far as "evening out" my skin tone. Mainly it just makes my face really shiny by the middle of the day, and so I break out the powder. However, the color BIsque is a PERFECT match for my skin, which is very difficult to match, and it does a better job of eliminating the redness that tends to come up during the day. Also, I like the spf action so I don't have to wear a separate sunscreen.


on 3/21/2008 4:44:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I tried this about a year ago when I started breaking out horribly. At the time, I was using Studio Fix from MAC in C7, and the esthetician suggested I stop using ASAP. She suggested I try JI. I went to this spa and the lady there gave me the wrong colors (she made me buy two colors so I could make my own, which I found annoying. The colors were not right for me). I went back and got it in Autumn. I tried it on and was very disappointed: it made my skin itch and made me look shiny and gave me this grayish look. I put it aside and went to Prescriptives: they matched my skin tone as being yellow-orange. Flawless Skin in Antelope matched perfectly, although you wouldn't think so when first putting it on. Now, a couple of days ago, I decided to try JI again. I still looked gray and shiny. I went back to the spa to see if I would get another color, and even after I told the lady that I had a yellow-orange skin-tone, she tried to make me buy Mink, which has a pinkish undertone. After a couple of hours, I looked like I had tried to wear melted chocolate on my face. I realized it was just in the application. You really have to put a little at a time. And yes, it's sheer, but I don't want to look like I piled it on. I just put a little more on dark marks and blend. I look natural, and yes, it gives a glo, but it didn't turn orange, or pink. Turns out that Autumn was the right color after all. If you wish to try this, I say do it, but try it on first in natural light, see what it looks like after a couple of hours. The lady was convinced that Mink was perfect for me, and I just knew it wasn't right and I got the proof hours later. My boyfriend who can't even tell when I'm wearing make-up told me that I looked darker than usual. Experiment!


on 3/19/2008 11:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I am currently using this product, and I'm still not completely sure if I like it. Some days I feel like I get oily much quicker, although I find a primer will help. But really don't feel like I get great coverage from it. It is good for the skin though and I like that it has SPF in it. I also dont like the setting spray that is supposed to go over it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Cool

Hair: Other, Straight, Other

Eyes: Other

I have probably tried over 100 different foundations. This is IT. The HG. At first I didn't think it would provide enough coverage, but it is all in how you apply it. I invested in the JI Handi Brush and it made the application flawless. I swirl the Handi Brush in the powder, apply in downward strokes, and then use a concealer brush (with the same powder) for undereyes and on any spots. I get beautiful, flawless coverage without the look and feel of a heavy foundation. Perfect.


Back to Top