Jane Iredale • Pure Pressed Base • Powder

rated 4.0(618 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tC_girl on 1/22/2008 10:52:00 PM more reviews by tC_girl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I JUST bought this base a couple days ago because my aesthetician recommended it to me (she uses it). Right now, I'm leaning toward disliking it just because I feel the coverage is too sheer and I'm not too sure about its staying powder, although the website does boast about it. It goes on matte but tends to get a bit oily after an hour, even after I put on oil-control gel. I also felt it was too pricey ($48 for a small compact) and that it's just not worth it. There are a lot of better products for less. I regret buying it and wish I had saved my money. I was just lured in by the fact that it's "good" for acne-prone skin. However, I'd also like to add that I'm not a big fan of mineral powders in general, so I wouldn't completely blame it on the product itself.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sylvia225 on 1/15/2008 11:42:00 AM more reviews by Sylvia225

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I discovered this product after asking the aesthetician what would be a good yet natural foundation for my face. She recommended this product to me in the Natural color, and applied it over my face. It made my skin glow, and really was such a nice finish. I don't recommend this though if your skin has issues, such as acne, as this is a light coverage powder foundation. I am a NW15, and the Natural color is perfect for me. This is good for the summer, as it is not heavy/cakey..just glides over the face easily. It is very expensive..about $50, but I love it..and think Jane Iredale is the best mineral makeup out there, as far as I've experienced.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mrsfonz on 12/26/2007 7:22:00 PM more reviews by mrsfonz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this mineral powder. I have tried a number of different types over the years and thought that I finally found the perfect one in Laura Mercier Mineral Powder. After a friend raved about this product, I decided to give it a try. First of all, I think the color selection is superior to Laura Mercier's for my medium, Asian skin (I use Golden Glow and use Moonglow bronzer, which is another must-have for me). Laura Mercier's was great but I found that Jane Iredale's product gave me a more even finish and helped tone the redness better. I also like that it's more easily transportable than Laura Mercier's, noting of course that they are somewhat different products (the Pressed Powder does tend to deposit more and thus I suggest using a more light-handed approach especially if using a kabuki brush).
My one big negative: the packaging. It is a little heavy and the lever that locks the compact in place gets locked in. So, I usually have to try it a couple of times to open it. I'm not sure if maybe I just bought a lemon. I have e-mailed Jane Iredale but they weren't very helpful (they suggested I go back to the retailer and see if they can replace it... but my retailer didn't have spare compacts). Ugh.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Kruemmelchen on 12/21/2007 10:45:00 AM more reviews by Kruemmelchen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

So after reading many reviews of this product I thought I should have this one. Very disappointed though. I don't mind spending a little more money on good skincare and makeup products, but this one was not worth it. It seems to dry my skin and doesn't look too great on my face. Coverage is very sheer. It just doesn't live up to the price and my expectations I had for this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 happyme777 on 12/20/2007 9:11:00 AM more reviews by happyme777

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Black    

awful awful colour matches for my Asian origin skintone, even in the global range. the nearest match to me was fawn, and that was just so grey and unnatural looking. The only good thing about this line is that the minerals are pressed and compact compared to messy loose minerals, and the whole concept of this make up is just what i was looking for - makeup thats good for the skin, hence the two lippies. But very disappointed with the poor shades. The handi brush is lovely though and i use that to apply other products like powders and blushes.
I tried the moonglow too, which is like highlighter/ blush for cheeks and face. Oh, what a horrible product. Full of bismuth oxychloride. It itched, but i don't think it caused any breakouts. It was so metallicy and shimmery and accentuated my pores and bumps and blemishes so badly (and i didn't even think i had any, or well they weren't that obvious before i put this on anyway). When i had this on, even my boyfriend said what's wrong with your face, it looks burnt. No lie. Never touched the stuff since

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AlmaStarr on 12/10/2007 2:53:00 PM more reviews by AlmaStarr

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I really wanted to like this products, especially after a representative told me that it had absolutely no harmful ingredients in it. At first application, I really liked it. The powder seemed to be more finely milled then BE and didn't emphasize pores. However, as the day wore on I developed an orangey shade. Also, I started to break out into itchy patches on my skin. I brought this back to the rep and they said that it was absolutely impossible for me to be having a reaction to this, that no one has EVER had a reaction. First of all, that's ridiculous. People can be allergic to all sorts of things - even all natural, etc. Second, I have ridiculously sensitive skin. So, alas, this did not work for me. I gave the rest of my sample to my friend and she looked good although it didn't seem to have quite enough coverage... Would not repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ohboy on 11/22/2007 11:09:00 PM more reviews by ohboy

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I actually liked it enough to use it for almost a year. My acne-prone, combination skin is starting to feel dry now and then and I don't think this formula works for me when it's in that phase. The coverage is not bad and this foundation has never caused a break out. It has potential to feel heavy when applied to achieve full coverage. In daylight, I do notice my lines, but not as bad as when I used BE (hated that). Also, I had to leave this line because of the color match. I was somewhere between golden glow and latte and didn't want to go thru the hassle of customizing the shade every morning. If you find the right shade and your skin is not too dry, this might be worth a try.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MakeupMomma on 11/17/2007 9:51:00 PM more reviews by MakeupMomma

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've used this pressed mineral foundation off and on for almost 2 years. It goes on smoothly -- not at all chalky -- and provides light to medium coverage, depending on how much you apply (it goes on best with a flocked sponge, but I've used my BE brushes as well). I've tried Suntan (pink undertone) and Warm Sienna (yellow undertone). I think this mineral foundation is superior to BE in many ways. First, the fact that it's pressed is a HUGE plus! It's much more portable and less messy. Second, it provides a matte finish, unlike the super-shiny finish of BE. Third, it looks and feels lighter on the skin. I don't get a mask-like appearance when I wear JI. Fourth, it has an SPF 18, which is a bit higher than the SPF 15 of BE. Another plus to this makeup is the gorgeous gold compact it comes in. The one minus to this makeup is the price. I paid $48 at my dermatologist's office! You can buy this makeup at various online stores, so I'm hoping to get a better deal the next time I purchase it.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Nina_F on 11/17/2007 3:59:00 PM more reviews by Nina_F

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I ordered a few samples and didn't use them because I didn't really know how to apply them. They sat unused in my makeup drawer until several years later when I started beauty school and this was the line my school carried. I really wanted to like this product because I got a great discount at school and it was readily available (no ordering and waiting for it to arrive, no separate trip to the mall). A professional makeup artist matched my cool, pink toned skin with radiant after exclaiming how much it "warmed me up". He used the pressed, liquid and loose and layered many times to get full coverage. I have red acne scars and uneven skin tone, so I decided to try it out and see how I liked it. Well.... after several months of daily use I've realized it just isn't for me. I could never get it to look good, even after different application techniques. The coverage was too sheer for my everyday. To get adequate coverage I would have layers of concealer, pressed and loose power. The color was also too dark, and I could not find a shade that matched me perfectly. However, it did feel good on my skin. There wasn't a greasy, heavy film even after wearing it all day.

The hype surrounding JI products was a huge factor as to why I kept at it for so long. People/magazines rave that it's good it is for your skin, anti-inflammatory, etc. After looking into I found out her products contain bismuth oxychloride which is irritating for alot of skin, mine included.
I had breakout activity and clogged pores while using this, and I always chalked it up to something else in my skin care routine, but now I believe it was due to using this foundation.

I'm a huge fan of her mascara, lip glosses and eye liners and shadows, but her bases just aren't for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 corinelyn on 11/15/2007 2:49:00 PM more reviews by corinelyn

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

Wow! I love that this feels like your wearing nothing at all. I bought 2 compacts on ebay for $49.00! I picked out warm silk, after looking at them on theJI web-site.The color is a great match for winter.I applied with a brush all over and use a small concealer brush under my eyes and around my nose.There is a day-spa here that sells JI but are often waiting for an order to come in (once a month) and it retails for $68! I'm so glad I checked on Ebay.update wearability is a couple hours before it disappears

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Jane Iredale products

More Powder products