Jane Iredale Pure Pressed Base

4.0

629 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

CTIVE INGREDIENTS: Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891) 14%, Zinc Oxide (CI 77947) 3% INACTIVE INGREDIENTS: Mica (CI 77019), Boron Nitride, Dimethicone, Hydrated Silica, Stearic Acid, Plankton Extract, Algae Extract, Pinus Strobus (Pine) Bark Extract, Punica Granatum (Pomegranate) Extract. [ /- Iron Oxides (CI 77489, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Ultramarines (CI 77007), Carmine (CI 75470)]


on 3/21/2008 4:44:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I tried this about a year ago when I started breaking out horribly. At the time, I was using Studio Fix from MAC in C7, and the esthetician suggested I stop using ASAP. She suggested I try JI. I went to this spa and the lady there gave me the wrong colors (she made me buy two colors so I could make my own, which I found annoying. The colors were not right for me). I went back and got it in Autumn. I tried it on and was very disappointed: it made my skin itch and made me look shiny and gave me this grayish look. I put it aside and went to Prescriptives: they matched my skin tone as being yellow-orange. Flawless Skin in Antelope matched perfectly, although you wouldn't think so when first putting it on. Now, a couple of days ago, I decided to try JI again. I still looked gray and shiny. I went back to the spa to see if I would get another color, and even after I told the lady that I had a yellow-orange skin-tone, she tried to make me buy Mink, which has a pinkish undertone. After a couple of hours, I looked like I had tried to wear melted chocolate on my face. I realized it was just in the application. You really have to put a little at a time. And yes, it's sheer, but I don't want to look like I piled it on. I just put a little more on dark marks and blend. I look natural, and yes, it gives a glo, but it didn't turn orange, or pink. Turns out that Autumn was the right color after all. If you wish to try this, I say do it, but try it on first in natural light, see what it looks like after a couple of hours. The lady was convinced that Mink was perfect for me, and I just knew it wasn't right and I got the proof hours later. My boyfriend who can't even tell when I'm wearing make-up told me that I looked darker than usual. Experiment!



on 3/19/2008 11:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I am currently using this product, and I'm still not completely sure if I like it. Some days I feel like I get oily much quicker, although I find a primer will help. But really don't feel like I get great coverage from it. It is good for the skin though and I like that it has SPF in it. I also dont like the setting spray that is supposed to go over it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Cool

Hair: Other, Straight, Other

Eyes: Other

I have probably tried over 100 different foundations. This is IT. The HG. At first I didn't think it would provide enough coverage, but it is all in how you apply it. I invested in the JI Handi Brush and it made the application flawless. I swirl the Handi Brush in the powder, apply in downward strokes, and then use a concealer brush (with the same powder) for undereyes and on any spots. I get beautiful, flawless coverage without the look and feel of a heavy foundation. Perfect.


on 3/15/2008 10:31:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I recently started getting microdermabrasion in an effort to get rid of my awful adult acne and brown spots. The facialist at my derm's office asked me what makeup I used. When I told her I used MAC Studio Fix, she balked and told me about this product. I was skeptical because the color (Chesnut) looked red and cakey to me when she applied it. She gave me a generous sample and I tried it during the week with my MAC 187 brush. Well,by my next visit I had to buy the product. I rarely break out anymore and this powder feels light yet covers my dark spots. Doesn't look cakey, or too made-up and just blends into my skin. It doesn't control oil very well- for right now (winter) my Clean and Clear blotting sheets help but I don't know if they'll suffice in the summer. It is pricey but anything that looks this good and doesn't make me break out is worth it to me.
EDIT- I've moved on to The Prescriptives All Skins Mineral, Level 6 Warm- the color is so much better, less red, more natural. Better oil control as well. A few bucks cheaper.(but not cheap, cheap) LOVE IT! The only downside is that it doesn't come in pressed form.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/14/2008 7:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I was hoping this would be a great foundation, but alas the minerals break up so easily that 3 hours later your face is so shiny! Even with "absence" it didn't make much of a difference. I've had better luck with glominerals, which is such a beautiful finish! But glo has bismuth I'm sure.


on 3/13/2008 10:17:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I adore this base! It makes my skin look absolutely perfect and everyone comments on my "great complexion". I have rosacea and oily skin, prone to breakouts but you would never know it with this base. You have to play with it a bit to get the right amount of coverage foryou and you shouldn't overwork the minerals on your skin or it will make you shiny. You also definitely need a blush as this masks your natural flush! I have tried BE and Youngblood mineral bases but I found them too chalky and heavythis one is like a dream. I can't even feel it on my skin! If you have dry skin though you should go for the loose base not the pressed. The loose is designed for dry skin and if you have really dry skin you can mix it with your day cream.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/11/2008 11:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I've had a lot of issues with my skin in the past, so around two years ago I switched to mineral powder. I started with Bare Escentuals, but I noticed that the colors were just not right for my skin tone, the untertones clashed horribly. BE gave me decent coverage, but I didn't like the texture or the color, so finally I gave up on it. Since my switch to Jane Iredale I have been so happy with my skin. I am totally comfortable with the somewhat sheer but very buildable coverage. When I need to, I can use it as a concealer as well. It doesn't erase any of my blemishes, but it blends them and makes them much less noticeable, which is all any makeup will ever do (including the thick creamy concealer that worsens things down the line). In this way, I've learned to get past bad skin days, because I know that if I don't irritate it too much by using thick products in an attempt to hide a temporary imperfection, a great skin day is just around the corner. Using this foundation is the best decision I've made for my skin (apart from seeing an esthetician who set me up with a personalized daily routine), and I, who used to have awful skin, get compliments all the time. If you like the idea of mineral foundation, but haven't found one that you like, try this one, it really is noticeably better (try the brush too!). It's truly worth the price.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/8/2008 11:05:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I have acne prone-very oily skin. I've tried so many foundations to cover my acne spots and etc and I've been using MAC studio fix fluid for the longest time (it gives great coverage but made me super oily still). My esthetician recommended Jane Iredale. I was very skeptical because I have wasted my money on Bare Minerals and Everyday Minerals and other drug store brands. They were all horrible and made my skin look 5x shinier. But after a lot of persuading from her, I finally bought pure pressed in golden glow (i'm a NC 40-44 depending on seasons and I tan also) and I LOVE it. I use Bare Mineral's concealer brush for my acne scars and then a kabuki brush from Sephora on top. If I need more coverage I just use the concealer brush on top of that again. My face def. likes the rest from my heavy MAC foundation and powders. Even though I still get oily it is a big change from other makeup.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/18/2008 3:47:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

To be honest, I'm not 100% sure if I will buy this product again, but it's a good product. First of all, let me warn all future buyers that if you are looking for good coverage, this is not for you. The coverage is very sheer and you need to pack on the powder with some sort of concealer brush, or use more concealer underneath the powder to hide even small to medium acne or scars. My esthetician even said that the main purpose of this base is to even out the skin tone and smooth little bumps. It provides a lovely glow and staying power is good. It feels very light on, which I like because I am not a fan of wearing so much makeup, and you can indeed sleep in it. Your skin looking good the morning after is another question (I got so much more breakouts) but it's not impossible to remove I guess, unless you put a lot on!


on 2/10/2008 1:46:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

A friend of mine who was an aesthetician recommended this powder to me after I asked her what she was using that made her skin so natural and glowy. So I gave it a try in Caramel... minus the kabuki brush that went with it because I have my #182 kabuki brush from MAC. Packaging is decent with the gold compact, but it loses it's appeal after being tossed around a lot.

Anyway, I bought Pure Pressed Base in the summer particularly for the SPF 17 but really didn't start using it until the fall. Surprisingly, I found that this powder made me extremely oily and shiny in less than an hour. Not the results I was expecting and for the price... totally unacceptable. Needless to say I'm going to have to suck this one up and call it a loss, but I'm still on my search for the perfect powder.


Back to Top