Jane Iredale • Pure Pressed Base • Powder

rated 4.0(626 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Toya28 on 3/15/2008 10:31:00 AM more reviews by Toya28

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Brown, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I recently started getting microdermabrasion in an effort to get rid of my awful adult acne and brown spots. The facialist at my derm's office asked me what makeup I used. When I told her I used MAC Studio Fix, she balked and told me about this product. I was skeptical because the color (Chesnut) looked red and cakey to me when she applied it. She gave me a generous sample and I tried it during the week with my MAC 187 brush. Well,by my next visit I had to buy the product. I rarely break out anymore and this powder feels light yet covers my dark spots. Doesn't look cakey, or too made-up and just blends into my skin. It doesn't control oil very well- for right now (winter) my Clean and Clear blotting sheets help but I don't know if they'll suffice in the summer. It is pricey but anything that looks this good and doesn't make me break out is worth it to me.
EDIT- I've moved on to The Prescriptives All Skins Mineral, Level 6 Warm- the color is so much better, less red, more natural. Better oil control as well. A few bucks cheaper.(but not cheap, cheap) LOVE IT! The only downside is that it doesn't come in pressed form.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ivy3 on 3/14/2008 7:48:00 PM more reviews by ivy3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I was hoping this would be a great foundation, but alas the minerals break up so easily that 3 hours later your face is so shiny! Even with "absence" it didn't make much of a difference. I've had better luck with glominerals, which is such a beautiful finish! But glo has bismuth I'm sure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kobri78 on 3/13/2008 10:17:00 PM more reviews by kobri78

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I adore this base! It makes my skin look absolutely perfect and everyone comments on my "great complexion". I have rosacea and oily skin, prone to breakouts but you would never know it with this base. You have to play with it a bit to get the right amount of coverage foryou and you shouldn't overwork the minerals on your skin or it will make you shiny. You also definitely need a blush as this masks your natural flush! I have tried BE and Youngblood mineral bases but I found them too chalky and heavythis one is like a dream. I can't even feel it on my skin! If you have dry skin though you should go for the loose base not the pressed. The loose is designed for dry skin and if you have really dry skin you can mix it with your day cream.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cjbrowne on 3/11/2008 11:03:00 PM more reviews by cjbrowne

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I've had a lot of issues with my skin in the past, so around two years ago I switched to mineral powder. I started with Bare Escentuals, but I noticed that the colors were just not right for my skin tone, the untertones clashed horribly. BE gave me decent coverage, but I didn't like the texture or the color, so finally I gave up on it. Since my switch to Jane Iredale I have been so happy with my skin. I am totally comfortable with the somewhat sheer but very buildable coverage. When I need to, I can use it as a concealer as well. It doesn't erase any of my blemishes, but it blends them and makes them much less noticeable, which is all any makeup will ever do (including the thick creamy concealer that worsens things down the line). In this way, I've learned to get past bad skin days, because I know that if I don't irritate it too much by using thick products in an attempt to hide a temporary imperfection, a great skin day is just around the corner. Using this foundation is the best decision I've made for my skin (apart from seeing an esthetician who set me up with a personalized daily routine), and I, who used to have awful skin, get compliments all the time. If you like the idea of mineral foundation, but haven't found one that you like, try this one, it really is noticeably better (try the brush too!). It's truly worth the price.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 geniabeme on 3/8/2008 11:05:00 AM more reviews by geniabeme

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have acne prone-very oily skin. I've tried so many foundations to cover my acne spots and etc and I've been using MAC studio fix fluid for the longest time (it gives great coverage but made me super oily still). My esthetician recommended Jane Iredale. I was very skeptical because I have wasted my money on Bare Minerals and Everyday Minerals and other drug store brands. They were all horrible and made my skin look 5x shinier. But after a lot of persuading from her, I finally bought pure pressed in golden glow (i'm a NC 40-44 depending on seasons and I tan also) and I LOVE it. I use Bare Mineral's concealer brush for my acne scars and then a kabuki brush from Sephora on top. If I need more coverage I just use the concealer brush on top of that again. My face def. likes the rest from my heavy MAC foundation and powders. Even though I still get oily it is a big change from other makeup.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 janerbabe on 2/18/2008 3:47:00 AM more reviews by janerbabe

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

To be honest, I'm not 100% sure if I will buy this product again, but it's a good product. First of all, let me warn all future buyers that if you are looking for good coverage, this is not for you. The coverage is very sheer and you need to pack on the powder with some sort of concealer brush, or use more concealer underneath the powder to hide even small to medium acne or scars. My esthetician even said that the main purpose of this base is to even out the skin tone and smooth little bumps. It provides a lovely glow and staying power is good. It feels very light on, which I like because I am not a fan of wearing so much makeup, and you can indeed sleep in it. Your skin looking good the morning after is another question (I got so much more breakouts) but it's not impossible to remove I guess, unless you put a lot on!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kcielo on 2/10/2008 1:46:00 AM more reviews by kcielo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

A friend of mine who was an aesthetician recommended this powder to me after I asked her what she was using that made her skin so natural and glowy. So I gave it a try in Caramel... minus the kabuki brush that went with it because I have my #182 kabuki brush from MAC. Packaging is decent with the gold compact, but it loses it's appeal after being tossed around a lot.

Anyway, I bought Pure Pressed Base in the summer particularly for the SPF 17 but really didn't start using it until the fall. Surprisingly, I found that this powder made me extremely oily and shiny in less than an hour. Not the results I was expecting and for the price... totally unacceptable. Needless to say I'm going to have to suck this one up and call it a loss, but I'm still on my search for the perfect powder.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 penguin44 on 2/7/2008 9:35:00 AM more reviews by penguin44

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have been using this pressed formula for months now and am very happy with it. It no longer has bismuth oxychloride in it where most other mineral foundations still contain this ingredient. It goes on smoothy, covers redness, feels clean, no messiness of loose powder, and my skin no longer breaks out! There is no clogging of pores as with liquid foundation. I feel good that I am getting some sunscreen with it. You must use a moisturizer before applying this pressed formula for a smooth finish. I would highly recommend it to anyone whose skin breaks out or who just likes a good, light, clean coverage.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tC_girl on 1/22/2008 10:52:00 PM more reviews by tC_girl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I JUST bought this base a couple days ago because my aesthetician recommended it to me (she uses it). Right now, I'm leaning toward disliking it just because I feel the coverage is too sheer and I'm not too sure about its staying powder, although the website does boast about it. It goes on matte but tends to get a bit oily after an hour, even after I put on oil-control gel. I also felt it was too pricey ($48 for a small compact) and that it's just not worth it. There are a lot of better products for less. I regret buying it and wish I had saved my money. I was just lured in by the fact that it's "good" for acne-prone skin. However, I'd also like to add that I'm not a big fan of mineral powders in general, so I wouldn't completely blame it on the product itself.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sylvia225 on 1/15/2008 11:42:00 AM more reviews by Sylvia225

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I discovered this product after asking the aesthetician what would be a good yet natural foundation for my face. She recommended this product to me in the Natural color, and applied it over my face. It made my skin glow, and really was such a nice finish. I don't recommend this though if your skin has issues, such as acne, as this is a light coverage powder foundation. I am a NW15, and the Natural color is perfect for me. This is good for the summer, as it is not heavy/cakey..just glides over the face easily. It is very expensive..about $50, but I love it..and think Jane Iredale is the best mineral makeup out there, as far as I've experienced.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Jane Iredale products

More Powder products