Jane Iredale • Pure Pressed Base • Powder

rated 4.0(611 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MakeupMomma on 11/17/2007 9:51:00 PM more reviews by MakeupMomma

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've used this pressed mineral foundation off and on for almost 2 years. It goes on smoothly -- not at all chalky -- and provides light to medium coverage, depending on how much you apply (it goes on best with a flocked sponge, but I've used my BE brushes as well). I've tried Suntan (pink undertone) and Warm Sienna (yellow undertone). I think this mineral foundation is superior to BE in many ways. First, the fact that it's pressed is a HUGE plus! It's much more portable and less messy. Second, it provides a matte finish, unlike the super-shiny finish of BE. Third, it looks and feels lighter on the skin. I don't get a mask-like appearance when I wear JI. Fourth, it has an SPF 18, which is a bit higher than the SPF 15 of BE. Another plus to this makeup is the gorgeous gold compact it comes in. The one minus to this makeup is the price. I paid $48 at my dermatologist's office! You can buy this makeup at various online stores, so I'm hoping to get a better deal the next time I purchase it.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Nina_F on 11/17/2007 3:59:00 PM more reviews by Nina_F

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I ordered a few samples and didn't use them because I didn't really know how to apply them. They sat unused in my makeup drawer until several years later when I started beauty school and this was the line my school carried. I really wanted to like this product because I got a great discount at school and it was readily available (no ordering and waiting for it to arrive, no separate trip to the mall). A professional makeup artist matched my cool, pink toned skin with radiant after exclaiming how much it "warmed me up". He used the pressed, liquid and loose and layered many times to get full coverage. I have red acne scars and uneven skin tone, so I decided to try it out and see how I liked it. Well.... after several months of daily use I've realized it just isn't for me. I could never get it to look good, even after different application techniques. The coverage was too sheer for my everyday. To get adequate coverage I would have layers of concealer, pressed and loose power. The color was also too dark, and I could not find a shade that matched me perfectly. However, it did feel good on my skin. There wasn't a greasy, heavy film even after wearing it all day.

The hype surrounding JI products was a huge factor as to why I kept at it for so long. People/magazines rave that it's good it is for your skin, anti-inflammatory, etc. After looking into I found out her products contain bismuth oxychloride which is irritating for alot of skin, mine included.
I had breakout activity and clogged pores while using this, and I always chalked it up to something else in my skin care routine, but now I believe it was due to using this foundation.

I'm a huge fan of her mascara, lip glosses and eye liners and shadows, but her bases just aren't for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 corinelyn on 11/15/2007 2:49:00 PM more reviews by corinelyn

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

Wow! I love that this feels like your wearing nothing at all. I bought 2 compacts on ebay for $49.00! I picked out warm silk, after looking at them on theJI web-site.The color is a great match for winter.I applied with a brush all over and use a small concealer brush under my eyes and around my nose.There is a day-spa here that sells JI but are often waiting for an order to come in (once a month) and it retails for $68! I'm so glad I checked on Ebay.update wearability is a couple hours before it disappears

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Goldie_Loks on 11/12/2007 11:53:00 PM more reviews by Goldie_Loks

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I had been using BE for about 2 years, when I heard that JI had a line of pressed mineral foundation. I ordered a sample, and was hooked! I have very sensitive skin, that breaks out from most kinds of makeup (even non-comedogenic formulas), and not only did I not break out with this makeup, it actually improved my skin! In fact, I break out when I DON'T wear it! It's also so natural looking, and it stays true to it's color and wear all day and all night long. 12 hours later, I look as good as I did in the morning! This is a product that makes the statement true "you get what you pay for". *Update: I switched to another brand , and when I went back to this one, I realized how shiny it makes my face, and poor/very sheer coverage, so I'm no longer using this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lisanne411 on 11/11/2007 6:05:00 PM more reviews by lisanne411

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been on the hunt for a more natural foundation for so long and never thought I would find a product this good, especially one that is so good for my skin. Cream foundations tend not to blend well into my dry, sensitive skin and my pores look large. Other mineral products I tried were streaky no matter how much I blended. I have rosacea along my nose so I need something that makes my pores look smaller, evens my skin tone, and takes down the shine along my forehead, and tones down the redness. This is it for me - finally! I wish it were less expensive, but it will last awhile. I use a sponge to blend the powder and even everything out, then use a powder brush (not the $39 Handi) to go over and remove any extra. My husband actually asked me if my rosacea went away (I do use the JI Disappear for the really red skin and the undereye concealer for my dark circles). I reapply in the afternoon just for a refesher, but it really keeps my skin nice all day. **You may want a professional consultation for a color match, because I would have picked the wrong color without it and probably would not have loved the product so much** I feel so good about myself when I catch my reflection in the mirror, and I never thought I would say that about my problem skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amor_peace on 11/8/2007 8:30:00 PM more reviews by amor_peace

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this pressed base with amazing powder. I use amazing powder as like for foundation, and I use pressed base for like concealer. It's coverage is better than amazing powder but both are great! To choose right color for my skin before I ever use it, I was concerned about colors. Therefore, I bought loose powder bisque, and incase it can be lighter for my skin, I bought pressed powder light beige. They go perfectly well together. I tried this product as travel size but I would buy full size.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 rainsim on 10/22/2007 8:42:00 AM more reviews by rainsim

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Was intrigued by the whole mineral foundation hoop-la, so decided to try Jane Iredale after reading so many reviews. Thankfully, only bought samples. Suprisingly, bad colour match. There seem to be so many. Nothing seems to fit, and all I tried is too yellow (literally made me look jaundiced), too red, too pink or too muddy. Yes, it's mattfying of you have very oily skin perhaps. I actually have combo skin with oily tendencies, and this actually made me have itchy, painful flakes. Breaks me out too - which is the deal breaker. Dissappointing as I thought the whole point of it being mineral is it's natural-ish, and WON'T react with my skin. Off to the bin it goes!
UPDATE: recently tried Laura Mercier's and love this!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 GloriaWondrus on 10/19/2007 4:07:00 PM more reviews by GloriaWondrus

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Sounds odd, but I just spent $45 for a product that makes me look like I'm not wearing any product at all, which is exactly what I wanted! Hesitant at first to try this because I've seen women wear mineral makeup and look very cakey, but gave it a go when my skin technician offered the Warm Sienna as a natural, neutral powder after my facial. If it looked heavy, well, that's why God created soap and warter! She put a deep moisturizer on my face, explaining that this product works best with a base of moisturizer. She applied it with a brush, using light strokes. It really did look natural, even outdoors in the sunlight.. It evened out my splotchiness and I could still see my freckles. She said to use a damp sponge for a heavier "nighttime" look (no, but thanks anyway). Glad I tried it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 damnblondy on 10/17/2007 10:36:00 PM more reviews by damnblondy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING! Jane Iredale is one of the best poweders I have ever used. It goes on feeling light and clean, yet provides the most beautiful coverage. After a long night out, it covers all my red spots, undereye circles, etc. I rarely ever even use under eye conc. anymore as this can be used in place of it. On nights when I am going out, I use the loose powder for added coverage which leaves a soft glow on the skin (NOT oily). I would def recommend this to anyone who is looking for flawless coverage and light finish. I am also very acne-prone with large pores and this still works like a dream. BIG TIP- Invest in the HANDI brush as well...it will make all the difference when applying this as well as the loose powder (works better then kobuki). I am fair skined and the warm silk looks great!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* krystennicole on 10/12/2007 11:14:00 PM more reviews by krystennicole

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Case is heavy and hard to open-chips my nails. The coverage is good but I do not like the feel of it on my skin and unless my skin is super moisturized first it goes on too dry and looks weird. Also it is easy to overdose the amount of this. The sponge it came with is awful. Use the flocked sponge. I went back to my MAC studiofix powder.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Jane Iredale products

More Powder products