E.L.F. • Essential Eyelid Primer - Sheer • Eye Primer

rated 3.9(795 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 lnb4563 on 12/2/2012 8:06:00 PM more reviews by lnb4563

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

PRICE/AVAILABILITY: E.L.F products, as far as I know, are exclusively available at Target and online. Walgreens occasionally has their larger palettes, but never individually packaged items such as this primer. I found this for $1 USD at Target. I had always thought an eyelid primer sounded rather pointless, but I figured for a buck it was worth a shot. There are 4 different colors online: sheer, champagne, pearl, and golden. I've seen a set of 3 at Target before, but I've only ever bought the shade "Sheer" by itself.
PACKAGING & USAGE: The packaging is similar to a tube of lip gloss. It's got a screw-off black lid that, when pulled out, forms a tapered end. I apply a streak of primer across each lid before gently patting it in. It does give my lids a hint of color, but that doesn't bother me since it's soon covered with eyeshadow anyway.
PERFORMANCE: I've used this under Wet n Wild's Color Icon, L'Oreal's Infallible shadows, Maybelline's Color Tattoos, and Rimmel's Glam'Eyes trio. Granted, most of those are long-lasting to begin with, but the Rimmel is not. This primer did indeed increase the wear of that eyeshadow. The Rimmel lasted about 12 hours with minimal fading. And for a shadow that lasts maybe 4 hours without primer, if you're lucky, that's awesome! However, it doesn't seem to increase the color quality of any shadow I've tried.
SUMMARY: If you're looking for a primer for shadows that aren't already long-wearing, this is a good bet. If you're wanting an increase in color pay out, look elsewhere. But for a basic, cheap primer, I'd say this is as sweet as it gets. In spite of its small size, it lasts quite awhile.
REBUY?: Already have!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wanly01 on 11/28/2012 4:06:00 AM more reviews by wanly01

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I love this product! I've chosen this over my urban decay primer potion all the time! Like seriously... You cannot go wrong and it's only $1! Try to beat that!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TheJuicyJuJuBean on 11/27/2012 10:20:00 AM more reviews by TheJuicyJuJuBean

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

ive bought this product three times and it never fails me. it keeps my eyeshadow in place for hours and hours and hours! i have very oliy skin/eye lids so at a price like this who can go wrong?!?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 brio815 on 11/27/2012 8:36:00 AM more reviews by brio815

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using UDPP for many years now. My BFF got me into UDPP. Recent I kept seeing ELF primer on YouTube beauty guru channels. I was at the closest target that sells Elf so I decided to get it. $1. I'm not losing much if I end up hating it. But I don't hate it. It is easy to apply. Thin consistency. Has a doe foot type applicator (that occasionally feels like it's scratching my lid but whatever). It's plastic packaging and small. Hey, it's a buck. Cheaper than a package of gum. With my UDPP my lids would start to crease near end of work day (4 or 5 PM). With the ELF- no creasing. I have very oily skin & oily lids to boot. Idk if this helps my shadow colors pop but it certainly keeps the color on my lids & decreases my chances for creasing. I'll buy again. :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Emese1 on 11/27/2012 8:24:00 AM more reviews by Emese1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I normally use Lorac behind the scenes eye primer, but when I ordered it I though, what the heck, I need a few extra dollars' worth of product, why not try this and compare it just for the fun of it. At first I thought it was working. But I don't know what happened. Maybe those were e/s' that don't need much primer anyway, or the weather changed, or my skin got used to it, but after a couple of disastrous mid-day looks of my e/s I stopped using it. My e/s' crease like crazy. I don't want to continue experimenting which ones do and which ones don't.
UPDATE: I'm upping this up to 5 lippies. It's just as good as the Lorac one for the fraction of the price & when I run out of the Lorac one I'll only use this. I do have some tricky eyeshadows but found that they crease even with the Lorac. I just do a matte base shadow first, like MAC Brule or an Inglot one in similar color. I might even touch it with a bit of face powder if I know it's a nasty e/s.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 thelilacdawn on 11/26/2012 12:27:00 PM more reviews by thelilacdawn

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this primer.It works and blends well with my skin. I don't have any creasing. Plus it's so cheap for a great product. I have bought duplicates of this product just so I don't have that chance to run out. Not like they would but It's one of my favorite products out of my whole collection. If you are a beginner at makeup and want to know a great primer, this is an affordable, easily accessible, easy to use product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beegirl81 on 11/25/2012 5:34:00 PM more reviews by beegirl81

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This product is just perfect for me! I mean, you cannot beat the price. but also, I find the quality really good. it just makes my eyeshadow last all day and keeps their color vibrant and intense. I apply this in the morning and when I come back home at night my make up is still crease free. the color just helps making the lid all matte and neutral and helps bring out the tones of the eyeshadows I use on top. the packaging is good. I like primers in pots but they tend to dry out a lot quicker than this tube ones. I would only like the tube to be transparent to be able to see when the product is actually over. I will repurchase again and again, for sure. it just makes a great job for me and I don't see why I should buy more expensive products when I can have such good quality for this price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rawortley on 11/23/2012 9:40:00 PM more reviews by rawortley

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

The people describing the eyelid primer as being oily or glittery or even both are NOT using the 1$ primer (that says simplyelf eyelid primer) in sheer. That primer may feel a little silicone like at 1st but after a few seconds it dries down to a matte like texture that rids the slick feeling of just normal unprimed eyelids have. I do know that it will make your eyeshadow more vibrant but I can't say if it does a better or as well job as some other eyelid primers BUT I can say that it does make your freaking eyeshadow STAY PUT! In my 15 yrs of makeup wearing I have only started wearing shadow primers in the last maybe 2 years and I'm seriously sad I didn't find out how much better your shadow will stay with this primer than alone or just a concealer under it. I was a bridesmaid a few days ago and did a teal smokey eye and couldn't believe when I got home 10 hours later it looked as if I had just did my eye makeup which is alot for smokey eye that several colors blended together. The lighter was still in the inner and the darker still on the outside, no creasing or smudging. It even helps my eyelinerto stay put. I know for a FACT without that primer my shadow would of been a hot mess way before it was even time to walk down the aisle. Anyone who has had a problem make sure you try the the 1$ one in sheer, and that u give it a chance to dry before you put your shadow on. If it's just that u want to make it last (which for me is the most important) I can't see how u would be disappointed. If it's brighter color thats something u will have to judge for yourself.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 brooke2010 on 11/19/2012 11:31:00 PM more reviews by brooke2010

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Thank God for ELF and its incredible products at low prices. Seriously, 1 dollar for this primer?! Can't beat that! I've found that it may not last quite as long as the urban decay one, but it's SO much cheaper and works well enough, let's just say that. Plus it's much easier to remove than the UD primer. I will absolutely repurchase this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ancatje on 11/19/2012 10:08:00 AM more reviews by Ancatje

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Mine looks the same as the one in the picture, but the colour is white, not nude. The name is the same though.
Two words: glitter central! Not even shimmer, just plain huge chunks of glitter in this primer. And it leaves a white cast on my eyes, which I don't like and find aging. Not very easy to blend either.
Chucked it right to the bin and never buying again.
I do recommend the mineral eyeshadow primer from ELF though! That one is nude and matte and works great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Eye Primer products