E.L.F. Essential Eyelid Primer - Sheer

3.9

848 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Octyl Palmitate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Dimethicone, Kaolin, Triacontanyl PVP, Propylene Carbonate, Titanium Dioxide, Barium Sulfate, Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Mica (CI 77019).


on 2/24/2013 12:43:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Even though I said I wouldn't buy this primer again, I still think it works just fine - espcly for the money since its really cheap. It keeps the shadow on decently but doesn't do a great job at preventing creasing.



on 2/24/2013 12:37:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Surprisingly works really, really well. The price is great, too! It's a dollar, for chrissake. My eye-shadow doesn't need to be re-applied throughout the day, but there is a slight fade, so I took a star away. Maybe I'm not using enough of it. Regardless, I would definitely repurchase.


on 2/23/2013 3:08:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This primer is probably not quite as good as the Urban Decay eyelid primer, but the difference is negligible. It keeps my eyeshadow & eyeliner on all day and there's no creasing from the shadow. And you cannot beat paying $1 for this compared to $30 for the Urban Decay primer. I will definitely repurchase this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/22/2013 8:08:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I think that this is a great and totally affordable product. Its only around one or two dollars and it works amazing! It isnt as good as the urban decay primer potion but comes close. I mean you could buy around twenty of these for the price of one urban decay one

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/21/2013 2:51:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is the best primer I've ever bought... and though I've been using it for a couple of years already, it still shocks me to say this because it's only $1, but it is seriously the best. I use this daily, and I don't wear eye shadow daily. It keeps my creases from getting super oily, and even keeps my eyeliner in place on days where that is all I am wearing. I love it and buy it 5 at a time, just in case .. plus, hello.. it's only $1!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/18/2013 4:52:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

It's a buck. Like most of their stuff. Might as well try it because it's, you know, a BUCK and you might love it like I do.

It evens out the skin tone juuuust a bit...but provides a nice tacky surface for my WnW Brulee to cling to. And I use Brulee to even out all those poopy purple, veiny, reddish blah colors on my perpetually tired eyelids.

Applying it with the doe foot applicator is a bit of a pain, if not only just to get an even amount on each eyelid. I then smooth it out with my fingertips. Give it about 30 seconds to set, then apply shadow. Shadow lasts for about 8 hours without creasing or fading. It doesn't add POP to colors, as noted below, but it certainly keeps them from disappearing in a puff of smoke like they would if you didn't use any primer.

I love it, will never be without it, and better buy some backups because they'll probably frigging discontinue this too. Great value, HG.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 2/18/2013 4:20:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

One of my favorite makeup products! I have oily eyelids that need an amazing primer and this one is great! I have the sheer one that is $1 and am so happy that I found out about it. It not only helps my eyeshadow stay on, but I also apply it when I am just putting on eyeliner for that day and my eyeliner stays put for the whole day without a single smudge! Without the primer, my eyeliner and eyeshadow would slide right off.

The hype is worth it! Plus, it is only $1 so it would be a shame not to just try it out.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/14/2013 9:07:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

A lot of people seem to like this product, but I'm not one of them. I used this in Pearl and it dried my eyelids. The colour never applied evenly, there were lighter and darker areas, no matter how I tried. While applying, it kept smearing to my lashes and I couldn't take it off. And it fails to do it's job. Even when using this primer, my shadows still creased and fell.

This was a big disappointment for me. Not going to re-purchase.


on 2/12/2013 1:02:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is the second eye primer I have tried. The first being ud primer potion so I will be comparing it to that. I would recommend the e.l.f. primer for everyday use it lasted me 8 hours at work compared to ud epp it is more watery and it takes a little bit longer to dry which I like cause you have more time to blend your shadow with U.D. It dries really fast once the shadow is there its not moving not good for blending . Save the expensive primer for a special event / occasion and this one for every day use. As with alot of elf products for the price you can't beat it ! Note: this will not make your shadow more vibrant like U.D. But it will make shadow last with out creasing . :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/9/2013 3:40:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is the first eye shadow primer I've tried (have also tried Urban Decay Primer Potion, but this elf one is my first). I have used this with cheap, drugstore eye shadows, but also with high quality ones, like my Urban Decay Naked Pallet. I find both eye shadows stay on all day while using this and they never, ever crease. I have dry skin, but my eyelids are SUPER oily, it's as if all the oil my face doesn't produce goes to my eyelids, and I also have hooded eyes. Having this in mind, wearing eyeshadow is difficult for me already, and I need a good primer. I find this works so good! My only complaint is the smell; very chemically and synthetic, but not unbearable and it doesn't linger when you put it on, either. I think it smells better than UD Primer Potion, though, and works just as well. The packing is nothing special, but it is sturdy and convenient for travel. I use this every time I wear eye shadow, wether it be for a few hours with a simple look, or if I want something super long wearing and dramatic, it works. UD Primer Potion is just as good, but the Elf one is a dollar and drugstore, price and accessibility you can't beat. Just try it, and if you don't like it, it was just a dollar. I'm quite fair and mine is in the color Sheer, if you were wondering. Honestly, there is not much to say about this product, other than it's very good. Will repurchase, and I gave it 4 lippies because of the smell, but overall, great product for an unbeatable price.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top