Bare Escentuals • Matte Foundation spf 15 • Powder

rated 3.5(700 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 maeshiil on 6/5/2011 1:10:00 AM more reviews by maeshiil

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I tried the regular Bare Minerals foundation and it broke me out. THIS however, does not. This stuff is really good. It has a matte finish, obviously, unlike the regular foundation which gives a "dewy" (in other words, greasy) look to the skin. The coverage is nice for a mineral foundation and if you use the Prime Time primer, the staying power is really good. The color range is superb. I have golden/yellow-ish skin and it's VERY difficult for me to find a foundation that matches my skin. However, the Golden Light matches me perfectly perfectly in the Winter and the Golden Medium or Golden Tan is my perfect Summer shade.

The cons are that you have to use a lot of product to get really nice coverage. Or at least I do. And if my skin is dry at all it will accentuate the dry patches and flake.

But it's pretty much flawless in the summer, when my skin is oilier.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 PamperedPrincess842 on 6/3/2011 3:29:00 PM more reviews by PamperedPrincess842

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I recently stopped using liquid foundation and concealer and switched over to Bare Escentuals because I didn't wanna spend another summer with an oily mess on my face and foundation dripping down my skin. I use the Bare Escentuals Bisque concealer to cover any blemishes and acne scars then use a Sephora brand kabuki brush to buff the foundation on my skin. I finish off with Mineral Veil. The result is more natural looking and longer lasting than my liquid foundation ever was. And I used Laura Mercier and Dior foundations, it's not like I was using cheap stuff.

Since switching over to the Bare Escentuals makeup my skin is about 80% clearer and I have less clogged pores. I was getting so fed up with my acne that I was considering ordering Pro Activ. But my skin is clearing up so much now. I used the Original formula of Bare Minerals in the past and hated it. It made my face look oily, it didn't hold up well over the course of the day and it made my skin itch and gave me weird bumps along my jawline. This Matte formulation is amazing though and I have had no adverse reactions to it. I use the Fair shade and it's a very good match for my skin. Everyone has different skin and not everyone is going to like this. But if you have oily, acne prone skin I urge you to give this a try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* realpeak on 6/3/2011 12:21:00 PM more reviews by realpeak

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Green    

I really like this foundation. The original BE was a nightmare - broke me out in cysts, irritated my skin and made it itchy, oxidised, gave that 'tin man' effect, made my t-zone oily after a while. I decided to try the matte version as it did not contain bismuth and didn't have the shine that the original does.


I chose the shade 'FAIRLY GOLDEN' for my skintone. The colour match is very good, almost perfect. I have golden tones to my skin and this goes really well with it. I use my MAC 134 fluffy brush to apply (I've tried kabuki's and duo fibre brushes but this brush works the best) and it gives me a nice light dusting of powder over my sunscreen. Despite being called 'matte foundation' it does not look flat or dull on my skin at all. Over my sunscreen it actually has a glowy finish that stays like that throughout the day. You really need to moisturize well beforehand though as if you don't it will look cakey and dry. I think it works best for normal/combination-oily skintypes as it can be pretty drying if you have much dryness. It controls oil really well - I've worn this foundation in the hot humid summers in Korea and it held up ALL DAY without a primer underneath. Doesn't require touch-ups throughout the day.


What I love is that this foundation evens out my skin and masks redness, and doesn't look like a cakey mask. I love it for days when I'm just going for coffee with friends or out shopping, when I don't want to wear much makeup. It actually looks natural, my skin but better, and nobody can tell I'm wearing foundation when I have this on, not to mention it feels lightweight on my skin.


I do really like it but it's very overpriced (25 for not much product). Despite that, I will repurchase again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 missxcindii on 5/28/2011 11:22:00 PM more reviews by missxcindii

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my favorite mineral foundation. If my skin is looking particularly clear I like to just use this foundation and a little bit of concealer. I'd say the coverage is light but buildable to a medium. Your skin definitely shines through. I have never tried the original so I can't compare. I do like the packaging and because I dont like to pile on the product in the cap I use a bowl to tap the foundation into and tap into my brush. Overall a great product for sensitive or oily or acne prone skin. The fairly light shade is my perfect match.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Brighteyes77 on 5/26/2011 8:24:00 PM more reviews by Brighteyes77

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

So I went to a BE event were I was treated to a facial with there new active soil line. Anywho, afterwards they asked did I want a free makeover to which I said of course! We decided to use the Matte formula for my foundation since I have combination skin. I never know if it's going to be oily or dry. Well, I do not like Matte. Like most reviewers I just don't feel the color match is right. I normally wear Warm Tan in the original. In the Matte, I wear something like Golden Yellow. Besides the coloring, I find my face to look like a grease-ball before the end of the day and I thought that was one of the benefits of this line was that the ingredients in the Matte absorbed the oil better!! I love Bare Escentuals/ Bare Minerals but I will be going back to the original formula.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 yankeesweetie35 on 5/26/2011 8:08:00 PM more reviews by yankeesweetie35

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this because I have very oily skin, but I must say that I had much better luck with the original formula. First of all, the shades seem really off compared to the original formula. I've used Fairly Light in the past, which matched me well (NW20). However in the matte it was a lot more yellow. I also didn't like the feeling on my skin. It almost felt kind of itchy and I found it didn't cover as well as the original formula.

Since using Bare Minerals, I found an ever better option: Silk Naturals. Better ingredients, better performance, and cheaper! But if you're a BM devotee than stick with the original formula.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lehzheng on 5/26/2011 12:11:00 PM more reviews by lehzheng

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

For what it's worth, those of you who say this foundation has no coverage dont know how to use a kabuki brush! I mean, you can layer the necessary amount of coverage you need with this one. Okay, so coverage is buildable, the foundation is very light on your skin, it does not make you feel like you are using makeup, but it gave me tiny red bumps on my skin! sad.... I would have purchased an entire jar too!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 niecie007 on 5/23/2011 6:56:00 PM more reviews by niecie007

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I got this product from Sephora and used it for four days and I am taking it back. I really do not like this. I got the warm deep (W55) and it didn't look right on me. I have combination skin and this powder made my skin look all blochy and weird.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 shopaholick on 5/9/2011 3:46:00 PM more reviews by shopaholick

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Purchased and was advised to get Golden fair for my NC20-25 skin - got the matte as the other one contains bismuth oxichloride and I did not wish to risk a breakout - it was way too yellow and dried out my skin - my skin is naturally normal not dry. Very drying had to send right back. Simple packaging nothing fancy, but had a spill proof type of thing which was good. 1 for good blending properties felt soft, prefer Bella pierre by far.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 loveandmakeup on 5/8/2011 7:47:00 PM more reviews by loveandmakeup

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I use this as my setting powder (I set my liquid foundation with another foundation because I like a lot of coverage), and it is fabulous. I tried the original formula and I just wasn't into it, but the matte has a great finish, doesn't feel heavy, and I like that you can lock it so the product doesn't come out when you're not using it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Powder products