Bare Escentuals Matte Foundation spf 15

3.4

736 reviews

60% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

ACTIVE Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide 15% and Zinc Oxide 5% INACTIVE ingredients: Lauroyl Lysine, Silica, Calcium Silicate, Soil Minerals. May Contain: Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I tried to get this to work.. but no such luck. After not liking the original formula and still on the hunt for my HG foundation I decided to see if the matte would be better for my combo skin. As much as it was nice to have a matte face for a change, it was so obvious I was wearing powder and I didn't even apply that much. I blended and blended and blended with many different brushes to try to get it to look "flawless" or "real skin" but it just didnt work. I want that naturally matte face not one where you can see the powder all over my pores. On the bright note it didn't make me itch!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 8/26/2011 12:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this because I have oily skin so I thought it would be better to control the oil. It gave me a very natural look which I loved. But I was still pretty oily. Also I have large pores and it just made them look even larger :[ After a while I noticed it started to make my skin itchy, so I returned it.


on 8/25/2011 11:53:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I'm really upset. I have heard all of the reviews about this brand so I wanted to try it myself. Well, I went to get color matched and the lady there told me I wore dark (4c). I took it home and applied it all over, and it was way too dark. I bought the matte product because I have oily skin and after reading some of the reviews it could have been that she color matched me using the original formula since the matte formula tends to be a bit darker. It also makes me look ashy, and makes me look like I have a lot of makeup on and doesn't cover my blemishes well. I don't really like putting a lot of product on so I want a foundation that can cover blemishes by itself. As for it controlling oil, I doubt it. I tried it on at home and my nose (which is the oiliest portion of my face) already had oil spots after about 30 minutes. This is a waste of my money and I can't get a return since I've opened it. I wish I would have read the reviews before buying this because an average rating of 3 out of 5 for this price isn't good. Should have just bought it off eBay.


on 8/23/2011 1:05:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I liked the pot against the old one. That is the only positive things to say on this rubbish product.

I applied two coats of this and my skin still looked bad, applied another coat and still the same. I then threw it in the bin because I am not realisticallly going to use a foundation that needs more than three applications. I do not have the time or the inclination to be messing about with foundation for 20 minutes in the morning.

The coverage was rubbish, the matte effect was rubbish. Save your money and skip this one

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/21/2011 2:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I always HATED mineral makeup. I've used liquid makeup for as long as I can remember. I've even purchased Bare Escentuals and returned it before because I just couldn't understand how it worked for people. I recently picked up a sample of the Matte version and I'm in love!! I used a large dense kabuki brush to apply it and I actually used a lot more product then they recommend. I pretty much skipped the tapping the excess product off part and just put whatever was on my brush on my forehead, cheeks,and chin and then blended it all in circles. I like medium/full coverage so this was the best method for me! It looks just as good, if not better, than my liquid makeup. Great for summer because it feels lightweight and its quick to apply and touch up. If this wears well through the day I'm going to pick up a full size! So glad I finally discovered how to use this makeup !


on 8/20/2011 3:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I first tried the original but didn't like it as I found myself getting shiny and oxidising quickly, not to mention it made my skin itch. The matte version is a much better match for my skin. The price is pretty high but last me for at least 9 months.


Application is messy but quick, I use the ELF kabuki brush as it allows you to really buff the minerals into the skin. I find the coverage to be buildable; anything from light to near-full. Despite that, it looks pretty natural on me. Provided that you have moisturized well beforehand, it will not look cakey or thick. I use the Golden Fair shade for my NC20 skin which is a good match as it's light and yellow toned just like my natural skintone. I would recommend it for NC15-20.


Despite being called Matte, it doesn't give a totally flat finish, which I like. After about 3 hours or so my skin starts getting dewy in the tzone but not oily. I don't find myself having to blot unless it's quite warm outside. I have normal cheeks and a combo tzone btw. It does last for a good 9 hours without sliding off my face or fading, so I'd class it as pretty long wearing. Best of all, it feels lightweight on my face and not like I'm wearing makeup.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 8/18/2011 1:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

LOVE this foundation. It gives medium-full coverage without looking un-natural, which a lot of liquid foundations can. I feel like my skin can breathe when I have it on- it doesn't give you that caked-on make-up feel, which I love. I'll never go back to any other foundation.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this for a couple of days now and i love it! I apply this using my E.L.F flat top brush and it makes my skin look flawless! i have used many high end foundations like MUFE hd foundation,but they never gave me a true flawless clean look, but with this powder my face looks so SMOOTH and even. I wouldn't recommend this to people who have some kind of peeling in their skin , because it WILL show. I recommend you use a moisturizer before hand and also spraying it with a setting spray. i use the e.l.f setting spray.


on 8/9/2011 8:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I was so excited when I found out that there was a matte foundation in the BE series! And then I tried it.. I can't even explain the expectations I had for this product, I thought that all my problems with shiny skin would be over, but unfortunately it wasn't. I think that it is exactly the same as the ordinary BE foundation, except a lighter coverage. The only reason that I'm going to buy this again is because I've been using BE foundations for a while, so I have purchased all the brushes. And it doesn't make me break out. I hope that they come up with something new that actually can give you some shine free days in the summer!


on 7/27/2011 10:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I wanted to like this product, but unfortunately i did not. i got it b/c i needed a matte foundation for the summer. this did not keep the oils at bay...i got oily withing 2 hours and had to constantly blot my face even if i applied another powder on top of this. my liquid foundations set with powder work much better than this for controlling the oils


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Review/Comparison: BareMinerals vs. It Cosmetics Celebration Foundation Illumination by TheKatalicious17



Top Rated Bare Escentuals Products

image

Eye Brow powder

113 reviews
image

Vanilla Sugar

61 reviews
image

Rose Radiance

76 reviews
image

Faux Tan

257 reviews
Back to Top