Bare Escentuals • Matte Foundation spf 15 • Powder

rated 3.4(667 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 xoxoarcade on 3/29/2011 12:01:00 AM more reviews by xoxoarcade

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I greatly prefer my BM matte foundation in fairly light to the original 'luminescent' line with which I started to use at 18 (almost 4 yrs ago).
The original foundations always made my face wither too white(fairly light) or too yellow (light), while the matte formulation diminishes the ghostly luminescent effect of the fairly light shade.
Even with primer, this made my 22 yr old skin look chalky and settled into fine lines, only emphasizing them in broad daylight.
Regarding packaging, while the brilliant design of the turn and lock lid prevents you from spilling too much onto the lid, much powder ended up on the lid side after travelling, and unlike the older containers, it is impossible to pour powder back into its chamber.
I'm also trying to avoid loose powders since Dr. Oz scared me off of inhaling the minerals into my lungs.

Have moved onto using Origins Silk Screen in the meantime, but might return to this for special occasions that require a powder with staying power.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hellobird on 3/26/2011 2:07:00 PM more reviews by hellobird

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I tried this foundation along with Mineral Veil. It's a good mineral foundation and lasts well on my oily skin. It lasted nearly all day and only became slightly oily around my nose at the end of the day. I definitely recommend using Mineral Veil as it's a very good finishing powder and helps keep my makeup matte all day! I had just two problems with this make up, the brushes are quite coarse to use as they suggest and scratched and hurt my skin when I had the 'make under' in store. The other problem is that the lightest shade 'fair' is far too dark for my skin.

I recommend Lily Lolo foundation as a cheaper alternative, they have more lighter shades and softer brushes too! Currently I'm using Lily Lolo foundation and Bare Minerals Mineral Veil.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 dais0307 on 3/24/2011 8:34:00 PM more reviews by dais0307

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

When I purchased this, I thought it would be a lot better than the original formulation because it was a couple of dollars more expensive. The original formulation wore off throughout the day and didn't last long. However, with this one, there is not much coverage. You have to apply a lot of it to get some coverage. And when you do, your entire face looks chalky and it is filled with patchy sides because this foundation doesn't blend well at all. I bought this formulation thinking it would not get oily on my t-zone but it still did. I would choose the other formulation over this one. But I don't like either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 paintsmeblue on 3/23/2011 11:25:00 PM more reviews by paintsmeblue

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product! I use this everyday and although it doesn't give a lot of coverage I'm alright with that because I don't need that much coverage. It leaves my face matte through the day and then my face starts to get a little bit shiny after 8 hours. I have mine in the shade light which matches perfectly. It was quite expensive: $35 at Sephora but you don't need a lot of it, and I will repurchase when I run out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* starrz329 on 3/15/2011 5:14:00 PM more reviews by starrz329

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Cool   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this new matte formulation. I had been a loyal customer of BE for years but discontinued use because my skin is very oily and with the original formula, it would melt of my face within 1 -2 hrs. The new matte formula actually will last on me for8+ hrs which is alot for me. I have to blot a few times, but I dont get uber shiny like before, just like a nice glow if ne thing. It gives me a nice finish, to me it seems like its low to medium coverage, but thats perfect for me, because I dont really have ne thing to cover, I just need something to even out my skin tone. THANK YOU BARE MINERALS <3

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 maggieha on 3/12/2011 5:22:00 PM more reviews by maggieha

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

So i got this foundation a while back having paid it over from Ebay as Australians crazily overprice their cosmetics.. grr. Anyways, the foundation in itself is a matte formula of the original which gives more of a dewy glow. The matte formula has no bismuth and has rare minerals which is supposedly going to minimise your pores. What i think of it?, i really liked the original when first applied, however realised during the day oil control and glowiness just ended up making my face a pool of oil with my pores emphasised as pits (trust me its not a pretty sight seeing i have huge as pores). So of course i was excited for this formula. What can i say about it, it controls oiliness quite well and it took out the glowiness which is ok because after a while my natural oils make it kinda glowy anyways. It is quite drying however, and i do find my face kind of flat looking when first applied so you definitely need blush or some kind of fix (i use mac fix +) for this. Coverage wise is decent, it doesnt cover extremely well so dont expect coverage of liquid foundation unless you keep layering it on, which is it quite buildable but ends up looking kinda powdery so all in all its about light - medium coverage at best. What i do like about it though - my pores do seem covered or more so covered when using a flocked sponge over the pores on my inner cheeks, how natural the foundation is and i dislike foundation where its extremely obvious that youve got foundation on - not pretty, oil control and the fact that it DOESNT break me out. I have problems with most foundations as my skin is sensitive and acne prone. Surprisingly enough when i wash the foundation off my skin kinda glows abit more, that cant be a bad thing. So all in all - its my holy grail mineral foundation, i just wished it could be maybe abit less matte looking and abit more coverage but i will repurchase. Still happy with the product :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lovelypinktofu on 3/12/2011 10:27:00 AM more reviews by lovelypinktofu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I use this as an everyday powder over a light tinted moisturizer. The finish is natural-looking, clean skin that doesn't look overdone. This works best applied with a dense soft bristle kabuki. Coverage isn't extreme, I use it as a finishing touch to my regime and it works perfectly as that. I see this product as a great every-day item for any age to use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 phan22 on 3/4/2011 7:45:00 PM more reviews by phan22

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this for months and months and I've already repurchased once and I love it! I've recommended it already to my sister and my friends. I used to use Bare Minerals Original but it started to break me out because I have sensitive skin and can't tolerate too much bismuth oxychloride. Also, I do like dewiness, but the original seemed to make me a little too shiny looking and had a more caked on obvious look when I tried to cover blemishes. I use the Matte in golden fair which is perfect for my skin tone. I use it mainly as a concealer for the lilttle red/brown pimple marks left behind after a pimple, redness, blemishes, and undereye. It's not perfect for undereye concealing (I have dark undereye circles), but I'm also prone to milia, so I find that using bare minerals helps by not causing milia since it's so light and non-oily. It's also great for covering blemishes because as long as I moisturize well, it never looks caked on or accentuates flakiness, unlike other cream-to-powder stick foundations I've tried. I lightly dust a small amount all over to minimize the look of pores and tone down any shininess. I don't even need a separate finishing powder usually (although I have Make Up Forever HD Powder which is good so I'll use that sometimes on my t-zone after bare minerals matte). Sometimes Matte is a little TOO matte for my taste (not that it's chalky or drying) because I like to have a more 3D/contoured face if that makes sense, but that's easily solved with a dusting of highlighting powder or shimmery blush or something. I have normal to dry skin, so I can see how this powder foundation would be great for oily-skinned ladies or for the summer/hot-humid weather.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 RosesBlack on 3/4/2011 12:50:00 AM more reviews by RosesBlack

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Other, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I returned to using BE foundation after having some issues with my skin lately. My skin is extraordinarily oily and very sensitive. I bought warm deep and the color is an insane match to my skin. When I first get it on it looks amazing. I get the matte med-full coverage that I prefer and it's beautiful.

It only really lasts for maybe three hours before my face is greasy and the foundation is sliding off every time I blot. Also after about five hours it oxidizes and turns an awful color on my skin. I'm really disappointed. I won't be buying this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 CoconutCutie on 3/2/2011 6:51:00 PM more reviews by CoconutCutie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Love BM MU? Yes! The Matte version? Not so much. I felt like it appeared more cakey and flat on my face. I know some people don't like the Mica in the original because of the shine factor, but I prefer that to the dull, flat look the matte leaves on my face. Just a matter of preference. The product itself holds up just as beautifully as the first. What I really like about the mineral make-up, as someone who wears glasses, is I don't get breakouts where the plastic of my glasses touches my face, like I do with liquid foundations. I also like that it doesn't smear around from pushing up my glasses.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Powder products