Bare Escentuals • Matte Foundation spf 15 • Powder

rated 3.4(713 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 ceruleancharm on 6/22/2011 12:02:00 AM more reviews by ceruleancharm

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

So, my curiousity finally got the best of me and I bought this product. I purchased the Matte first at Sephora and tried it for a few days and decided the color was a little too dark for my skin. Frustrated, I stuffed it away in my makeup drawer. I happened to be strolling through the mall about a week later and stumbled upon a Bare Escentuals store. I decided to go in and see what color their associates thought I was. According to them, I belong to fairly light. She even referred me to Original instead of Matte due to my complexion. I have combo skin, and she assured me Original would complement my skin. She was actually super nice and helpful (considering most sa I've came into contact with) as she showed me exactly how each item should be applied. Honestly, it looked good. Needless to say, I forked out a lot of cash that day hoping that Bare Escentuals was the answer! Meanwhile, I ended up returning the Matte formula to Sephora and switching it for a different color. So, for the past three weeks I've been alternating between the Matte and Original depending upon my mood that day.

Honestly, I'm not very thrilled with either product. I feel like I've given both adequate time too. I prefer Medium coverage and I feel like I have to put so much on to even approach medium level. Like another reviewer mentioned, the makeup looks different each day. Some days it looks really nice, others I can't even tell I'm wearing makeup. For instance, I put it on this morning around eleven and when I got back in the car around 4, I couldn't really tell I had makeup on. I was inside, so I didn't sweat it off during this time period. It baffles me how it can vary so much from day to day. I've never experienced these wonky results before with other types of makeup. Also, it takes forever to put this stuff on to. I'm using the appropriate brushes (kabuki) also, and it's just not growing on me. Even though I'm younger, I have deep lines etched into my forehead, some crows feet, and a few minor lines near my mouth that I thought this would help, but it hasn't. It actually seems to settle into those areas. The warmth is a similar story. Sometimes it looks nice, while most other times the tiniest bit comes out way too dark once it is brushed onto the skin.

So, all the claims about it being fabulous for the skin apparently doesn't apply to my situation. For the most part, I have clear skin with sun damage spots and freckles scattered here and there. Both foundations/mineral makeups are a hit or miss for me, and I'm getting frustrated with not knowing what my face is going to look like from day to day.

Now, I need to find another foundation that will help my skin and give good coverage, but not overbearing (like Merle Norman). I fear going back to liquid foundations because they aren't near as healthy for the skin as minerals, but the mineral route just isn't cutting it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Bindi7 on 6/21/2011 8:53:00 AM more reviews by Bindi7

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Having oily skin, i thought i'd try out the Matte version of the BE mineral foundation. I went for Golden Medium and this is a good colour match for my tanned olive skin tone. I always use a primer before foundation (to control oil!) and so apply this after using primer. I agree with some of the other reviews that you do have to use quite a bit of product and build up coverage to get a a nice even medium coverage. I don't think this is the right foundation to give you a full coverage. In terms of controlling the oil, it works quite well and although i get some shine coming through midday, it it not as much as i would normally have - so i know its helping. To be honest i much prefer the Everday Minerals Intensive base - its eays cheaper and you get such a nice buidable coverage - perfect if you prefer a more medium to full coverage like me. It is amazing at controlling oil as well - better than the BE matte!! Plus the choice of shades EM have is brilliant - ther must be a match for everyone :-)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SockRocker on 6/21/2011 5:00:00 AM more reviews by SockRocker

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This powder foundation ( I am in the lightest shade ) is the only powder foundation I have found that can prevent the shininess in my tzone. My tzone gets incredibly oily, and this has worked wonders. It holds all day without me having to touch up, and I can double it up as a concealer which is always convenient. However, I think that this foundation works best if you pat the mineral veil on top with a facial sponge, or a kabuki brush instead of brushing it on.
The only bad thing I have to say, is that it seems like I have to build up this foundation a lot more to get my desired coverage then I had to when I used just the original bare minerals foundation, and that sometimes all the building up gets a tad cakey. To prevent this, I will sometimes just apply the matte foundation on my tzone and then the original foundation wherever else it is needed. But I find that if I just am really patient with buffing it all in, I get great coverage and a natural finish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jbwoodward on 6/18/2011 12:07:00 AM more reviews by jbwoodward

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

My new every-day go-to. Phenomenal. A beautiful satin matte finish. Helps control oil. Looks natural yet has great coverage. My skin is clearing up. All BE products have helped make my skin healthier. I've never experienced anything like it. I'm hooked!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sakurawingz on 6/17/2011 6:50:00 AM more reviews by sakurawingz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Claims to be matte but it slides off my skin in a few hours in summer, doesn't stay on better even with finishing powder.
Coverage is light to medium.

When i try to put more layers on it looks cakey, especially in winter when the skin is more dry.

Not impressed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mizwright on 6/16/2011 1:48:00 PM more reviews by mizwright

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Another product I have a love/hate relationship with! I love the fact that there are so few ingredients in this product and is supposed to actually be good for your skin. Also, it looks great when u 1st put it on. I hate the fact that its $28 US a container and after about 2- 3 hrs my face is horribly oily again! It goes on pretty matte looking but considering the cost my skin should stay matte a little longer than what it does. I use this as a primary foundation and not a setting powder which could be the issue. But I hate piling on a lot of stuff so I stick to this as the foundation. I do respect the company for making such a vast variety of shades (I use golden dark) because I have a difficult time finding my shade in other products. I think I will continue to use this or my MAC until I find another foundation that really catches my eye.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Danelekwoods on 6/15/2011 10:59:00 AM more reviews by Danelekwoods

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have combination/oily skin. My T-zone gets the most oily while my cheeks and creases around my nose can get dry, and sometimes flaky. I've never been a big fan of liquid foundations. I've tried several different drugstore brands. I actually really like the Sally Hansen/Carmindy spray foundation (but I can't find it anywhere and I've been told its DQ!) Once I couldn't find that anymore, I was on the hunt for something new that would work well with my skin type. From watching Youtube gurus, I heard that the MUFE Mat Velvet+ would be good for my skin type, but I haven't wanted to spend that kind of money on foundation yet.

I've always heard good things about Bare Minerals but someone told me that mineral foundation wasn't the right thing to use for my oily forehead. When I saw the BE came out with a matte formula, I thought I would give it a try. I started using this foundation in February 2011 and it is now June 2011. I use the fairly medium and it matches very well. I'm on my second container. I do agree that it is kind of dry and it sits on top of the skin, but I like how it looks better than how liquid foundation looks. I think the staying power is much better than any liquid I have tried. I am currently testing out a primer to see how well it keeps this foundation on my face.

I do believe that without the right skincare routine, no foundation is going to work well for oily skin. I wash my face both morning and night to take care of my oily t-zone . I also moisturize and am using a primer to see if that helps keep the foundation in place.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jocky80 on 6/14/2011 1:38:00 PM more reviews by Jocky80

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have tried many mineralfoundations in hope of finding my HG, but I think I will stop looking, they don't work for me.
I was glad when I saw that BE would come out with a new bismurtoxichloride free and matte foundation. I did wait 1 year to se the feedback before buying it and now I regret it. I don't like the original, but it works better than this on my face.
First off all, the shade, I have it in light-medium, because I'm something like that. This isn't to dark/ light but it is to pink for me, and when it oxidizes it evens get more pink.
Coverage is sheer, maybe light. I don't need coverage, my skin is ok at this moment, but when I need/want this does zero....
The matte part. It goes on matte, but It doesn't stay that for long, and the oil and shine control isn't the best.
Hard to say if it breaks me out, I have only used it 2 times...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 DustBunnyLife on 6/12/2011 5:40:00 PM more reviews by DustBunnyLife

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Ok so I'm confused. Am I the only person on the planet that doesn't love this stuff? I mean, I feel like everyone raves about it but then I read reviews on here and a lot of people have the same complaints I do! I have very oily and acne-prone skin to begin with. In fairness this did not break me out but......it doesn't look good! I feel like it sits on top of my skin and doesn't blend in. I've tried different shades so I know it's not a color problem. I've tried moisturizing, not moisturizing, different brushes...everything! I feel like it goes on thick and doesn't blend. It ends up looking cakey a few hours in and makes my skin even oilier than it starts! How is that possible? The packaging is messy and the price ain't so cheap! Why is the makeup such a big deal??? I may never know...

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jacbaby on 6/11/2011 1:16:00 AM more reviews by jacbaby

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

i used bare minerals foundation for over a year and i thought i really liked it. i didnt get any zits after my face seriously looked like a pizza before switching to bare minerals and i thought i was happy with it. i really think i was fooling myself. everyday i didnt like that it didnt cover much and my face looked a little oily actually! and i do not really have oily skin! i tried revlon colorstay (fan of makeupgeek!) ONCE and i immediately bought 3 jars of it :). i suggest bare minerals foundation if you are one who doesnt like liquid or have very sensitive skin. if youre not pleased with their foundation definitley buy other products! i LOVE LOVE LOVE bare escentuals lip glosses, blushes, and eyeshadows. :D

p.s. find a BE outlet. they are so so so so much cheaper there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Powder products