Bare Escentuals • Matte Foundation spf 15 • Powder

rated 3.4(708 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 mizwright on 6/16/2011 1:48:00 PM more reviews by mizwright

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Another product I have a love/hate relationship with! I love the fact that there are so few ingredients in this product and is supposed to actually be good for your skin. Also, it looks great when u 1st put it on. I hate the fact that its $28 US a container and after about 2- 3 hrs my face is horribly oily again! It goes on pretty matte looking but considering the cost my skin should stay matte a little longer than what it does. I use this as a primary foundation and not a setting powder which could be the issue. But I hate piling on a lot of stuff so I stick to this as the foundation. I do respect the company for making such a vast variety of shades (I use golden dark) because I have a difficult time finding my shade in other products. I think I will continue to use this or my MAC until I find another foundation that really catches my eye.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Danelekwoods on 6/15/2011 10:59:00 AM more reviews by Danelekwoods

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have combination/oily skin. My T-zone gets the most oily while my cheeks and creases around my nose can get dry, and sometimes flaky. I've never been a big fan of liquid foundations. I've tried several different drugstore brands. I actually really like the Sally Hansen/Carmindy spray foundation (but I can't find it anywhere and I've been told its DQ!) Once I couldn't find that anymore, I was on the hunt for something new that would work well with my skin type. From watching Youtube gurus, I heard that the MUFE Mat Velvet+ would be good for my skin type, but I haven't wanted to spend that kind of money on foundation yet.

I've always heard good things about Bare Minerals but someone told me that mineral foundation wasn't the right thing to use for my oily forehead. When I saw the BE came out with a matte formula, I thought I would give it a try. I started using this foundation in February 2011 and it is now June 2011. I use the fairly medium and it matches very well. I'm on my second container. I do agree that it is kind of dry and it sits on top of the skin, but I like how it looks better than how liquid foundation looks. I think the staying power is much better than any liquid I have tried. I am currently testing out a primer to see how well it keeps this foundation on my face.

I do believe that without the right skincare routine, no foundation is going to work well for oily skin. I wash my face both morning and night to take care of my oily t-zone . I also moisturize and am using a primer to see if that helps keep the foundation in place.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jocky80 on 6/14/2011 1:38:00 PM more reviews by Jocky80

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have tried many mineralfoundations in hope of finding my HG, but I think I will stop looking, they don't work for me.
I was glad when I saw that BE would come out with a new bismurtoxichloride free and matte foundation. I did wait 1 year to se the feedback before buying it and now I regret it. I don't like the original, but it works better than this on my face.
First off all, the shade, I have it in light-medium, because I'm something like that. This isn't to dark/ light but it is to pink for me, and when it oxidizes it evens get more pink.
Coverage is sheer, maybe light. I don't need coverage, my skin is ok at this moment, but when I need/want this does zero....
The matte part. It goes on matte, but It doesn't stay that for long, and the oil and shine control isn't the best.
Hard to say if it breaks me out, I have only used it 2 times...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 DustBunnyLife on 6/12/2011 5:40:00 PM more reviews by DustBunnyLife

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Ok so I'm confused. Am I the only person on the planet that doesn't love this stuff? I mean, I feel like everyone raves about it but then I read reviews on here and a lot of people have the same complaints I do! I have very oily and acne-prone skin to begin with. In fairness this did not break me out but......it doesn't look good! I feel like it sits on top of my skin and doesn't blend in. I've tried different shades so I know it's not a color problem. I've tried moisturizing, not moisturizing, different brushes...everything! I feel like it goes on thick and doesn't blend. It ends up looking cakey a few hours in and makes my skin even oilier than it starts! How is that possible? The packaging is messy and the price ain't so cheap! Why is the makeup such a big deal??? I may never know...

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jacbaby on 6/11/2011 1:16:00 AM more reviews by jacbaby

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

i used bare minerals foundation for over a year and i thought i really liked it. i didnt get any zits after my face seriously looked like a pizza before switching to bare minerals and i thought i was happy with it. i really think i was fooling myself. everyday i didnt like that it didnt cover much and my face looked a little oily actually! and i do not really have oily skin! i tried revlon colorstay (fan of makeupgeek!) ONCE and i immediately bought 3 jars of it :). i suggest bare minerals foundation if you are one who doesnt like liquid or have very sensitive skin. if youre not pleased with their foundation definitley buy other products! i LOVE LOVE LOVE bare escentuals lip glosses, blushes, and eyeshadows. :D

p.s. find a BE outlet. they are so so so so much cheaper there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KaseyLynn on 6/11/2011 12:25:00 AM more reviews by KaseyLynn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Bare Escentuals is the best of the best for mineral foundation. I recently bought the new matte version, and it works just as great as the original formula. To be completely honest, I do not notice a difference between the matte and the original so I may go back to the original formula to save a couple of bucks. I like how they updated the packaging so that there is now a plastic filter that keeps the powder from spilling everywhere. This is definitely a good product, I am just not sure it trumps the original.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 annaeJ on 6/7/2011 8:03:00 PM more reviews by annaeJ

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I had tried this in the past with not so good results, but decided, out of desperation, to try it again. The application is not as silky as the regular formula. It is VERY, VERY MATTE. The first time I put it on, I felt like my face was hurting from it being so dry.

What I LOVE about it is that it can last all day and not be a greasy mess like the regular formula. It also does not break me out because it doesn't have bismuth in it like the regular version.

The factor that is making me not use it again is that this is ORANGE. It is not "golden" like the name I picked. Golden Fair in the regular version is golden. This one is orange! It also has less coverage. If you have any acne scars, this won't cover them up well..

Such a shame.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dimanta on 6/5/2011 1:41:00 PM more reviews by Dimanta

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this first in Medium but it was too dark for me, also little too orange/red. Then I got it in "Light" and it seems perfect for my skin. I apply this with BE Full Flawless Face brush. The coverage is not what I want, it is too light for me, you can see all the little scars or blemishes, it is impossible to hide it. I tried with primers, I tried adding more and more of this foundation, I tried to wet the brush as per reviews, nothing worked. At the end I use it only when I do not want a good coverage or I also use it on top of my liquid foundation, it gives nice matte finish and my foundation lasts much longer.. so yes, sometimes I use it intead of a powder.
UPDATE: I returned this horrible thing - it broke me out. It contains bismuth smth and other ingredients that clog pores.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 maeshiil on 6/5/2011 1:10:00 AM more reviews by maeshiil

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I tried the regular Bare Minerals foundation and it broke me out. THIS however, does not. This stuff is really good. It has a matte finish, obviously, unlike the regular foundation which gives a "dewy" (in other words, greasy) look to the skin. The coverage is nice for a mineral foundation and if you use the Prime Time primer, the staying power is really good. The color range is superb. I have golden/yellow-ish skin and it's VERY difficult for me to find a foundation that matches my skin. However, the Golden Light matches me perfectly perfectly in the Winter and the Golden Medium or Golden Tan is my perfect Summer shade.

The cons are that you have to use a lot of product to get really nice coverage. Or at least I do. And if my skin is dry at all it will accentuate the dry patches and flake.

But it's pretty much flawless in the summer, when my skin is oilier.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 PamperedPrincess842 on 6/3/2011 3:29:00 PM more reviews by PamperedPrincess842

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I recently stopped using liquid foundation and concealer and switched over to Bare Escentuals because I didn't wanna spend another summer with an oily mess on my face and foundation dripping down my skin. I use the Bare Escentuals Bisque concealer to cover any blemishes and acne scars then use a Sephora brand kabuki brush to buff the foundation on my skin. I finish off with Mineral Veil. The result is more natural looking and longer lasting than my liquid foundation ever was. And I used Laura Mercier and Dior foundations, it's not like I was using cheap stuff.

Since switching over to the Bare Escentuals makeup my skin is about 80% clearer and I have less clogged pores. I was getting so fed up with my acne that I was considering ordering Pro Activ. But my skin is clearing up so much now. I used the Original formula of Bare Minerals in the past and hated it. It made my face look oily, it didn't hold up well over the course of the day and it made my skin itch and gave me weird bumps along my jawline. This Matte formulation is amazing though and I have had no adverse reactions to it. I use the Fair shade and it's a very good match for my skin. Everyone has different skin and not everyone is going to like this. But if you have oily, acne prone skin I urge you to give this a try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Powder products