Bare Escentuals • Matte Foundation spf 15 • Powder

rated 3.4(716 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 smashface on 6/27/2011 12:57:00 AM more reviews by smashface

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have worked in a spa that sells Bare Minerals and used it for three years now, While I don't agree with the negative reviews about the coverage, I am not surprised as I hear the same complaints every day, With the Bare Minerals you can get a fantastic coverage but it is extremely important that you apply it correctly. When someone comes in and tells me they don't like the coverage I ask them if they are using a good amount of pressure while they are buffing in a circular motion and 9 times out of ten that solves the problem. You have to apply with pressure in order to break up the minerals and buff the makeup into your skin, If not, the makeup just sits on top of your skin and makes pores and lines more obvious. That being said, I like the original formula much better than the matte,

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Fuuka1209 on 6/24/2011 8:31:00 PM more reviews by Fuuka1209

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I can't believe all the bad reviews! ;_; I had horrid skin before using Bare Minerals(you can see pics on my blog fuuflower). A friend told me it changed her rosacea, so I decided to try it too, but got the matte because I have oily skin. WOW-after two weeks of use my pores were smaller, less pimples and less redness. The coverage it medium, if you want full-faced coverage I recommend a liquid foundation underneath and/or concealer. Although, you can dab on the foundation on those places and use it as concealer as well. The active soil complex in it I think is the key, it helps dead skin cell turnover and my face is noticeably softer. 5/5 for me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* annie_b on 6/24/2011 7:50:00 PM more reviews by annie_b

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Years ago, when the mineral makeup craze was at its height, I tried the Bare Minerals original formula. Though I liked the overall look, I couldn't stand how it made my skin itch even when I broke the slightest sweat. I moved on to other brands.


As other reviewers have said, I had a nagging curiosity about the bismuth-free matte formula and what it might do for me. So... back to Bare Minerals, 6 years later. For reference, I have light combo skin with yellow undertones. I have enlarged pores on and around my nose.


The first thing I noticed about the matte formula is that it made my pores look enormous. OMG. Blending helped some, but I haven't had a product do that to me in a while. The shade itself (Fairly Light) was a good match and looked natural, and I was able to get nice medium coverage pretty easily. I did indeed go walking in the heat - and no itching. Unexpectedly, I did not get much in the way of oil control. My skin felt weirdly slippery toward the end of the day, and I though that the staying power was mediocre. Overall, this product was not terrible, just not in the ballpark of other products that cost as much or less.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ceruleancharm on 6/22/2011 12:02:00 AM more reviews by ceruleancharm

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

So, my curiousity finally got the best of me and I bought this product. I purchased the Matte first at Sephora and tried it for a few days and decided the color was a little too dark for my skin. Frustrated, I stuffed it away in my makeup drawer. I happened to be strolling through the mall about a week later and stumbled upon a Bare Escentuals store. I decided to go in and see what color their associates thought I was. According to them, I belong to fairly light. She even referred me to Original instead of Matte due to my complexion. I have combo skin, and she assured me Original would complement my skin. She was actually super nice and helpful (considering most sa I've came into contact with) as she showed me exactly how each item should be applied. Honestly, it looked good. Needless to say, I forked out a lot of cash that day hoping that Bare Escentuals was the answer! Meanwhile, I ended up returning the Matte formula to Sephora and switching it for a different color. So, for the past three weeks I've been alternating between the Matte and Original depending upon my mood that day.

Honestly, I'm not very thrilled with either product. I feel like I've given both adequate time too. I prefer Medium coverage and I feel like I have to put so much on to even approach medium level. Like another reviewer mentioned, the makeup looks different each day. Some days it looks really nice, others I can't even tell I'm wearing makeup. For instance, I put it on this morning around eleven and when I got back in the car around 4, I couldn't really tell I had makeup on. I was inside, so I didn't sweat it off during this time period. It baffles me how it can vary so much from day to day. I've never experienced these wonky results before with other types of makeup. Also, it takes forever to put this stuff on to. I'm using the appropriate brushes (kabuki) also, and it's just not growing on me. Even though I'm younger, I have deep lines etched into my forehead, some crows feet, and a few minor lines near my mouth that I thought this would help, but it hasn't. It actually seems to settle into those areas. The warmth is a similar story. Sometimes it looks nice, while most other times the tiniest bit comes out way too dark once it is brushed onto the skin.

So, all the claims about it being fabulous for the skin apparently doesn't apply to my situation. For the most part, I have clear skin with sun damage spots and freckles scattered here and there. Both foundations/mineral makeups are a hit or miss for me, and I'm getting frustrated with not knowing what my face is going to look like from day to day.

Now, I need to find another foundation that will help my skin and give good coverage, but not overbearing (like Merle Norman). I fear going back to liquid foundations because they aren't near as healthy for the skin as minerals, but the mineral route just isn't cutting it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Bindi7 on 6/21/2011 8:53:00 AM more reviews by Bindi7

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Having oily skin, i thought i'd try out the Matte version of the BE mineral foundation. I went for Golden Medium and this is a good colour match for my tanned olive skin tone. I always use a primer before foundation (to control oil!) and so apply this after using primer. I agree with some of the other reviews that you do have to use quite a bit of product and build up coverage to get a a nice even medium coverage. I don't think this is the right foundation to give you a full coverage. In terms of controlling the oil, it works quite well and although i get some shine coming through midday, it it not as much as i would normally have - so i know its helping. To be honest i much prefer the Everday Minerals Intensive base - its eays cheaper and you get such a nice buidable coverage - perfect if you prefer a more medium to full coverage like me. It is amazing at controlling oil as well - better than the BE matte!! Plus the choice of shades EM have is brilliant - ther must be a match for everyone :-)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SockRocker on 6/21/2011 5:00:00 AM more reviews by SockRocker

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This powder foundation ( I am in the lightest shade ) is the only powder foundation I have found that can prevent the shininess in my tzone. My tzone gets incredibly oily, and this has worked wonders. It holds all day without me having to touch up, and I can double it up as a concealer which is always convenient. However, I think that this foundation works best if you pat the mineral veil on top with a facial sponge, or a kabuki brush instead of brushing it on.
The only bad thing I have to say, is that it seems like I have to build up this foundation a lot more to get my desired coverage then I had to when I used just the original bare minerals foundation, and that sometimes all the building up gets a tad cakey. To prevent this, I will sometimes just apply the matte foundation on my tzone and then the original foundation wherever else it is needed. But I find that if I just am really patient with buffing it all in, I get great coverage and a natural finish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jbwoodward on 6/18/2011 12:07:00 AM more reviews by jbwoodward

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

My new every-day go-to. Phenomenal. A beautiful satin matte finish. Helps control oil. Looks natural yet has great coverage. My skin is clearing up. All BE products have helped make my skin healthier. I've never experienced anything like it. I'm hooked!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sakurawingz on 6/17/2011 6:50:00 AM more reviews by sakurawingz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Claims to be matte but it slides off my skin in a few hours in summer, doesn't stay on better even with finishing powder.
Coverage is light to medium.

When i try to put more layers on it looks cakey, especially in winter when the skin is more dry.

Not impressed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mizwright on 6/16/2011 1:48:00 PM more reviews by mizwright

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Another product I have a love/hate relationship with! I love the fact that there are so few ingredients in this product and is supposed to actually be good for your skin. Also, it looks great when u 1st put it on. I hate the fact that its $28 US a container and after about 2- 3 hrs my face is horribly oily again! It goes on pretty matte looking but considering the cost my skin should stay matte a little longer than what it does. I use this as a primary foundation and not a setting powder which could be the issue. But I hate piling on a lot of stuff so I stick to this as the foundation. I do respect the company for making such a vast variety of shades (I use golden dark) because I have a difficult time finding my shade in other products. I think I will continue to use this or my MAC until I find another foundation that really catches my eye.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Danelekwoods on 6/15/2011 10:59:00 AM more reviews by Danelekwoods

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have combination/oily skin. My T-zone gets the most oily while my cheeks and creases around my nose can get dry, and sometimes flaky. I've never been a big fan of liquid foundations. I've tried several different drugstore brands. I actually really like the Sally Hansen/Carmindy spray foundation (but I can't find it anywhere and I've been told its DQ!) Once I couldn't find that anymore, I was on the hunt for something new that would work well with my skin type. From watching Youtube gurus, I heard that the MUFE Mat Velvet+ would be good for my skin type, but I haven't wanted to spend that kind of money on foundation yet.

I've always heard good things about Bare Minerals but someone told me that mineral foundation wasn't the right thing to use for my oily forehead. When I saw the BE came out with a matte formula, I thought I would give it a try. I started using this foundation in February 2011 and it is now June 2011. I use the fairly medium and it matches very well. I'm on my second container. I do agree that it is kind of dry and it sits on top of the skin, but I like how it looks better than how liquid foundation looks. I think the staying power is much better than any liquid I have tried. I am currently testing out a primer to see how well it keeps this foundation on my face.

I do believe that without the right skincare routine, no foundation is going to work well for oily skin. I wash my face both morning and night to take care of my oily t-zone . I also moisturize and am using a primer to see if that helps keep the foundation in place.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Powder products