Revlon • Nearly Naked Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.5(429 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blog_antagonist on 3/11/2013 8:32:00 PM more reviews by blog_antagonist

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I hestitated to buy this, because I have oily skin, and most foundations, unless specifically formulated for oily skin, just can't stand up to the copious amounts of oil my skin produces. However, as I am getting older, I find that those foundations for oily skin tend to exaggerate fine lines and wrinkles and make my complection look very flat and lifeless.


So I've been experimenting with some different formulations and my decision to try this one is part of that experimentation.


There is a LOT to like about this foundation. In many ways, I'm pleasantly surprised. This isn't glowy or dewy...more like satiny. The finish is really nice and very natural. The coverage is what I would consider medium, but can be built up where needed without looking too heavy or cakey. It doesn't stand up to oil quite as well as Colorstay, but considering it is formulated for "normal" skin, it really does astoundingly well. Though I do get a little shine, the product does not break down or become streaky or patchy.


Sadly....it does turn an odd color on me. I'm very fair, and the shade "Vanilla" was already just a smidge too dark. I was willing to work with it because everything else about it was so nice, until I realized hours later, that it had turned a strange peachy shade on me. Most peculiar! At first I thought it was the setting powder I had used, as it too was an experiment. But regardless of what powder I used, or even no powder, it still turned that odd color.


What a disappointment! Such a nice foundation in every other way. Really, really good, almost HG status if not for the color issue. :?(

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kngfrank on 3/11/2013 8:04:00 PM more reviews by kngfrank

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I used this twice and it broke me out in painful cystic acne, which I have never had before. I have more zits after two uses than I had in the entire last year. I moisturize with pure jojoba so I thought I would be fine, but not so. This foundation looked really nice when I first applied it but by the end of the day my face was a greasy mess.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* orenjinominh on 3/9/2013 3:56:00 PM more reviews by orenjinominh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I am really happy with this foundation. I wanted something light and build able but not completely worthless in terms of coverage. Very beautiful and glory, not dewy. Makes my dry skin look healthy...my boyfriend even told me to put on makeup so we could go out....when I already had this on!
The color shell seems to match my nc25 tone...but I may have to change it up when my tan deepens in the summer. I love it. So light on the face and I only used concealer for my one dark spot. Will repurchase. Really good for a DS foundation.

Edit: After coming back to this 3 tones deeper, there doesn't seem to be a match for medium olive tones. I picked up Fresh Beige and it was too orange. Warm, sure, but orange rather than jaundiceyellow to my liking. Real nice Revlon. It still does look natural and My Skin But Butter hehe, The worst part about it is how it doesn't last now that I have the UD naked to compare it to. This lasts 3 hours MAX even if you powder. So then, yes, you're really "naked". Literally nothing on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 millieeg on 3/9/2013 11:47:00 AM more reviews by millieeg

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE THIS FOUNDATION!
This is definetely my new favourite drugstore foundation! It goes so nicely onto the skin and gives a really dewy look! It hasn't broken me out and doesnt feel itchy and lasts me all day!
I use it with my Bourjouis Healthy Mix foundation and it looks so nice! I've had many compliments on my skin since i've been using it!
WIll definetely buy this again!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jule90k on 3/9/2013 3:38:00 AM more reviews by jule90k

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have extremely dry skin so it's difficult to find a foundation in my skin tone from the drugstore... but alas, I have found Revlon's Nearly Naked. AMAZING for people with dry skin. It gives a medium coverage, so I would recommend using a concealer as well to cover dark spots, acne marks, etc. I've been using this foundation every day and I'm so happy I've found it! I'm NC20 and in the color shell.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 alextuthreefour on 3/9/2013 1:01:00 AM more reviews by alextuthreefour

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I actually really enjoy this foundation. Now...for shade reference, I'm absolutely no help. I recently went to MAC and they matched me to NW25 (i think it is too dark) so I'm kind of clueless as to what shade I am (apparently so was the lady at MAC) For this Revlon Nearly Naked foundation I use the shade Nude and I think it works. I love a lightweight sheer coverage foundation, and this definitely fits the bill. Lightweight feeling on the skin and just enough coverage to even out skin tone. Obviously if you're looking for a full coverage don't get a foundation named Nearly Naked, but if you're looking for just enough coverage to even out your skin, this is great. It is buildable, but i usually just dab concealer on discoloration and under the eyes, set with a bit of MAC's MSFN and I'm out the door. Lasts well, even better with a primer. Overall, I'm really happy!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CrimsonCountess on 3/9/2013 12:12:00 AM more reviews by CrimsonCountess

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really, really love this foundation. I have used it with and without primer and haven't experienced any issue with breakouts. The color I used is Warm Beige and it matches my winter skin decently. Not sure what I am going to do in the late spring or summer as I will not be this color then and I won't be the other colors (undertone) in the range. It blends beautifully and gives good coverage while looking like skin. It doesn't feel heavy and doesn't look cakey. The bottle is sleek and make of glass. It is very classy in appearance. It's moderately priced. The only negative is no pump. I don't understand why companies do not put pumps on their foundations. I would pay a couple bucks more just to have a pump. It is more sanitary and you don't waste product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rilokiley1289 on 3/8/2013 10:52:00 PM more reviews by rilokiley1289

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

According to findation.com (neat little foundation color converter matcher thing site) I'm an NC27 in Mac, though I can't say for certain since I've never tried it as this is the first liquid foundation I've ever worn. For reference I've used the L'oreal True Match in N3 Natural Buff (color matched but it felt way too heavy). As far as powder foundations go I've used everydayminerals in alabaster, multi-tasking neutral and fair medium (with the latter being my go to face make up for the last three years); however after purchasing the nearly naked face powder in fair I think I may stick to that.

I'm pretty fair with pink undertones, deep set eyes with dark circles, and a little discoloration from adolescent acne on my chin. I get mild hormonal acne around my chin/jawline and have combo skin, sometimes dry around my nostrils with a very mildly shiny t-zone (granted I work in a restaurant in addition to living in one of the most humid cities in Florida-each contributing to the shine). I wish I were a milky white porcelain with pink undertones throughout my body, but it seems like my face is more pink undertoned and everywhere else on me is more neutral (not yellow). Also, I'm a natural medium (born light as can be) blonde with blue/green eyes, light freckling on nose, moderate freckling on shoulders.

I ended up buying the 150Nude. My first reaction upon putting it on my face was that it seemed a little too orange/yellow/warm for my skin; however once I blended it all in it seemed a little better. Afterwards I applied Benefit's erase paste (01fair) under my eyes/on eyelids, then Benefit Boi-ing (02 fair medium) concealer on my red spots, finishing with the Revlon NN powder (01fair).

I got a lot of compliments and all in all I really love it. It has a pretty medium coverage. Although if I were just going to run errands I'd probably just use concealers only vs the foundation only. I feel that this just helps tie my in two concealers and setting powder nicely rather than just masking all my imperfections. I really love how it doesn't look cakey at all on me (after applying my concealers and powder I do a little blotting with a tissue) and how it doesn't feel heavy at all whatsoever on my face. My makeup still looks great after a 6 hour waitressing shift, though I did feel the need to blot my face with a paper towel or use a translucent oil absorbing powder, though with the heat from the kitchen and the Florida humidity I expect that.

Sorry for the wall of text, just thought all this junk might help with color matching.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* albs on 3/7/2013 9:26:00 PM more reviews by albs

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have to say that this is probably my favourite drug store foundation. I have tried quite a few foundations from the drugstore- the Revlon Colorstay & Colorstay Whipped Creme, Revlon Photoready, a few Rimmel foundations, L'Oreal Lumi, and I am definitely happiest with this one. I have it in the shade Shell which I find quite peachy, definitely peachier than my skin tone but it blends beautifully to match. There's no difference between the foundation and my skin once its been blended in. I think the warmer shade helps to counteract any excess pinkiness in my skin which I appreciate. I find the coverage to be quite good and buildable, I would say that it's medium coverage with a satin finish. It looks like skin, more so than any other drugstore foundation I have tried. It lasts well throughout the day. I get oil breakthrough but I get oil breakthrough with most foundations, including long-wear ones such as Colorstay. I usually wear this over my primer but sometimes I really like to mix it with primer instead. I find it works quite well that way. This is definitely my current go-to foundation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ashleyl917 on 3/6/2013 6:11:00 PM more reviews by ashleyl917

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have to say that I was skeptical of this, but I was looking for a new foundation. Most recently I've used Bare Escentuals or the Smashbox BB as my foundation, both of which I love, but I was ready for a change. I purchased it and then waited a few days because I was so nervous that I'd hate it. It certainly isn't the BEST foundation I've ever used, but I do really enjoy it. It's light, it lasts well during the day with blotting, and I find no problems with blending. If you're on the fence, I'd say to go ahead and try it. I think it works best with a moisturizer (and I use a primer as well) under and definitely set with a powder on top for more coverage and to help it last.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Foundations products