Revlon • Nearly Naked Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.5(438 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 stylt on 3/21/2013 1:49:00 AM more reviews by stylt

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

First off, I thought that this product was going to be along the same lines as MAC's Face and Body (which really does provide 'nearly naked' coverage), but it's not. It's more pigmented and slightly thicker. So for some people, that might be a plus, but that wasn't quite what I was looking for in something touted as 'Nearly Naked'.

It has light/medium coverage, and it covered most of my acne scars well, which surprised me in a good way. But everything else kind of goes downhill after that. For some reason, this foundation just never sets on me. I have tried it with/without primer, with/without loose translucent powder, with/without pressed translucent powder and in all cases, I've been left with a wet, sticky finish (which is not a good feeling). So at first, I thought I was just using too much product but nope, even with a thin layer, I'm left with this wet finish (it's more oily than dewy -- and that's freshly applied!). As a result, this foundation barely lasts on my oily-as-heck skin. Furthermore, as someone else mentioned, it clings to dry patches. So not only is it sticky and wet, it still somehow manages to be drying as well, leaving behind a hot mess of clogged pores and a very unhappy me.

In conclusion, this foundation would perhaps be most suitable for those people who don't actually need foundation in the first place -- which defeats its entire purpose. I am unbelievably disappointed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 TheGoofQueen on 3/19/2013 9:00:00 PM more reviews by TheGoofQueen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I was hoping this would be a lighter alternative to my usual foundation, but it just hasn't agreed with my skin. Firstly, the color was too dark for me (I bought the lightest possible shade), though I know I have incredibly fair skin anyway it hasn't been a problem with Revlon till now. Second, this product broke me out pretty badly. Third, it's quite runny without a pump, so it's hard to pour out the right amount of product. It gives a nice dewy finish, but my oil pushes it off within the first two hours of wear. I feel like it's a nice idea for a product, gives a good coverage for redness but not anything too heavy, but it's just not the best for me. I might finish up the bottle I have, but I won't be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 SarinaT on 3/19/2013 12:55:00 PM more reviews by SarinaT

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I was hoping this foundation would become my everyday foundation however it just does not agree with my skin, Ive used this with a primer and setting powder and without but i still always look oily especially around my nose which i don't usually get with foundations as i have fairly dry skin. Another downer is that it clings to my dry patches on my cheeks and the tip of my nose ( so to paint a pretty picture for you.. this foundation makes me oily around my nose but the tip dry...its awful). Packaging is very standard but this does not bother me at all, but do note this is a very watery foundation. In terms of coverage its light, yet it does even out my skin tone and covers my redness. Lastly the price is very reasonable i think i paid around 8 which is very cheap. It provides a dewy finish and I can still feel that I'm wearing foundation So to some up ....

PROS: price, light coverage but can even out skin tone, blends well

CONS: emphasis my dry patches but at the same time I appear oily. Does oxidise and you will need to wear a primer. Without a primer it lasts about 4 hours, with 6 hours max

FYI - I am a nw25/nc25 in mac with slightly more yellowish undertones, i have dark circles and get red on my nose and cheeks. I wear shade 130 Shell in this foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* materialface on 3/18/2013 10:51:00 AM more reviews by materialface

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

For a revlon foundation, the price of $10 is average. The packing is horrible and messy. However, I was able to find the perfect color for my skin: Shell. I use this as my everyday foundation, and it is not heavy at all. The consistency is perfect and you don't have to work as quickly to blend it, compared to other drugstore foundations. It looks very natural once settled. I have an oily t-zone so i do have to blot within 4-5 hours, but that's normal for me. I would repurchase this again. This is currently one of the better drugstore foundations on the market in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 archielester on 3/16/2013 4:24:00 PM more reviews by archielester

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I was pleasantly suprised by this foundation as I did not expect much. It gave me much more coverage than I had anticipated, particularly because this product is marketed as a lighter coverage foundation. I bought the colour "shell" and its perfect for my skin tone. The packaging is appauling though- I end up wasting product and it gets kind of messy. However, I would recommend to someone who wants a medium coverage that sinks really nicely into the skin. Don't be put off by the name- I actually found it gave me quite a bit of coverage even with only one layer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 annafefifofanna on 3/15/2013 1:51:00 AM more reviews by annafefifofanna

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I got this product for I think about $9. I have to say I am really upset with Revlon's color options.. I am usually a Revlon go-to-girl but I am very pale and none of their colors seem to ever match. I got ivory in Photo Ready and it's my color.. I got Ivory in Nearly Naked and it's a bit too dark it's almost the same color as Buff in Colorstay Whipped (which for some reason doesn't have ivory anymore!) Anyways very annoying.. But back to this foundation. Like I said it's a little dark for me but hopefully will work out better when I start getting a tan. It does have a more skin-like look and lets your skin shine through more than other foundations. It has a nice dewy finish and nice natural coverage. The staying power on this is one of the worst I've experienced in the Revlon line. This product needs a setting powder. My skin is generally dry but if I don't set it than this product tends to slick off faster. I wouldn't really recommend this for oily skinned girls. The packaging is the worst they did not spend much time designing this. The lid is square and so hard to turn you have to make sure it snaps. The liquid just flows out way too much and is very messy. Plus the bottle is ugly and looks cheap. This product is not the best but it is okay for when I want a little more natural of a look and don't plan on wearing my makeup through a lot or a long period of time. I don't know if I will repurchase I was considering trying "Covergirl Outlast-Stay Fabulous" which seems to have a similar finish as this and see if it's any better. Otherwise I may just stick to my Skin79 BB cream for those more natural days.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 OliviaLovesBeauty on 3/14/2013 8:34:00 PM more reviews by OliviaLovesBeauty

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I think I've had this product for about a month now, and overall I really like it. I paid about $10 CAD at Walmart for it. I love this foundation because it gives my skin a really nice, dewy, natural-looking finish. A lot of foundations that look dewy end up not lasting the whole day, but this one does! I don't tend to get acne very often (just a spot here and there) and this didn't break me out at all. I'm also a big fan of light-medium coverage because I'm younger and don't want too much heavy makeup on my skin. This foundation is PERFECT if you like lighter coverage. Another big plus - IT BLENDS AMAZINGLY! If I'm in a huge rush I can just apply it using just my fingers and it blends easily and flawlessly.
Alright, now I only have two things I dislike about this: If your skin leans more toward the dry side (especially during winter), I'd be careful with how much you apply, just because I've noticed that this foundation can get the slightest bit cakey when my skin is extra dry. If you have dry skin, I recommend putting on a moisturizer before applying the foundation! Also, the packaging isn't the greatest, as it's just a bottle with no pump with means you have to be careful with how much you pour out. But besides that, love it! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 windowbird on 3/14/2013 12:43:00 AM more reviews by windowbird

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I just tried this for the first time today, so I will update if anything changes. I've been a devoted Colorstay user for 10 years, but lately it seems a bit cakey on me, because my skin has gotten drier as I've gotten older. I wear Buff in Colorstay so I picked Vanilla in the Nearly Naked. Ivory, the lightest shade, is very pink. I got it at Walgreens for $9.99, so a few dollars less than the Colorstay.

I used my Cynthia Rowley blending sponge (knockoff of the Beauty Blender- found it at TJ Maxx for $6) to apply. Nearly Naked is a good deal thinner than the CS, but not as much as I expected. This made me happy because I do have a few dark acne marks that I need to conceal. It applied very nicely and seemed to conceal almost as well as the CS with hardly any cakiness to it. I didn't have to use any more concealer than I usually do to cover my acne marks.

The finish is very nice. It almost looked like I had no makeup on! It looked a bit dewy but not in an oily way. Just healthy fresh looking skin. I set it with a bit of my Physician's Formula translucent powder. I drive a lot for my job and I kept checking in the rear view mirror, half expecting to see it had all worn off, but it hadn't. It stayed fresh looking all day and made me look very glowy and healthy-looking. It didn't completely cover every flaw, but it just looked like I had good skin, unlike CS which makes me have perfect-looking skin, but can sometimes look a bit flat and lifeless. Not so with Nearly Naked.

Nine hours after applying, I noticed a couple of my dark marks just barely peeking through, but everything else pretty much looked the same. With CS, I apply in the morning and don't even think about my makeup for the rest of the day, and I often work 12 hour days. I'm not sure I could get away with that with the Nearly Naked, but I'll give it a shot. I'm very happy with this so far!


5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 librarygirl85 on 3/12/2013 6:33:00 PM more reviews by librarygirl85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

7/24/14: After about 7+ months of use it began to break me out. Looked caked on and even began to discolor on my face. Not sure if they changed their formula. I can no longer wear this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blog_antagonist on 3/11/2013 8:32:00 PM more reviews by blog_antagonist

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I hestitated to buy this, because I have oily skin, and most foundations, unless specifically formulated for oily skin, just can't stand up to the copious amounts of oil my skin produces. However, as I am getting older, I find that those foundations for oily skin tend to exaggerate fine lines and wrinkles and make my complection look very flat and lifeless.


So I've been experimenting with some different formulations and my decision to try this one is part of that experimentation.


There is a LOT to like about this foundation. In many ways, I'm pleasantly surprised. This isn't glowy or dewy...more like satiny. The finish is really nice and very natural. The coverage is what I would consider medium, but can be built up where needed without looking too heavy or cakey. It doesn't stand up to oil quite as well as Colorstay, but considering it is formulated for "normal" skin, it really does astoundingly well. Though I do get a little shine, the product does not break down or become streaky or patchy.


Sadly....it does turn an odd color on me. I'm very fair, and the shade "Vanilla" was already just a smidge too dark. I was willing to work with it because everything else about it was so nice, until I realized hours later, that it had turned a strange peachy shade on me. Most peculiar! At first I thought it was the setting powder I had used, as it too was an experiment. But regardless of what powder I used, or even no powder, it still turned that odd color.


What a disappointment! Such a nice foundation in every other way. Really, really good, almost HG status if not for the color issue. :?(

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Foundations products