Chanel UV Essentiel Protective UV Care Anti Pollution SPF 50

4.0

85 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

cyclopentaxiloxane, zinc oxide (19%) , aqua, ethylhexyl methoxynamate (7.5%), alchohol denat, isononyl isonanoate, dipropyleneglcol,glycerin, neopenthyl glycol dicaprate, polymethilsilsesquioxane, polymethyl methacrylate, dimeticone, triethoxycaprylylsilane, PEG-9polydimethylsiloxethl dimethicone, propylene glycol, thocopheryi acetate, butyleneglycol, parfum, hydrolyzed wheat protein, mannitol, dimethicone/vinyl dimethicone crosspolymere, methylparabean, glycogen, panax ginseng root extract, aesculus hippocastanum eed exract, tilia cordata wood extract, trimethoxycaprylylsilane, sodium citrate, sodium hyaluronate, chlorphenesin, Faex,bht, peg -40 hydrogenated castor oil, glycyrrhiza glabra extract, phenoxyethanol, calcium panthothenate, biotin, butylparaben, ethylparaben, propylparaben, titanium dioxide.


on 3/7/2013 9:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is from a review on my Nordstrom.com account

I've used products with SPF in it and those products usually end up burning my eyes. I stopped using SPF infused moisturizers and decided to wear just plain moisturizer. I know how important SPF is for daily skin protection from the sun so I decided to do some research and dish out extra money for an effective expensive SPF.

The reviews on Nordstrom.com were highly rated and also on other beauty sites. I have been using this SPF by Chanel over my moisturizer and have not experienced burning of my eyes, or the "ghost" cast in photos.

This SPF's key ingredients include octinoxate, titanium dioxide, and zinc oxide ;vitamin E (antioxidant). These ingredients allow the user to put the SPF before or after moisturizer, whereas many other SPF key ingredients such as oxycinnamate require you to put it before moisturizer, to allow it to be absorbed by the skin, and also gives the ghastly cast in photographs.

I've read some reviews where they say Chanel's SPF is scent-free, even the lady working at the Chanel counter said the same thing, however; this SPF most definitely has a scent, very floral-like, but it dissipates after a few minutes.

I would recommend this product for people who wouldn't mind putting SPF before/after their moisturizer, who have problems with most SPF's burning their eyes, and those who do not want the ghastly cast in photographs.

I do not recommend this product for those on a tight budget, or I would recommend saving up for this product.

And I want to make those interested in this product aware that the size of the bottle is surprisingly small, almost surprising for the whopping $50. I know the amount of product is listed on the Chanel site, but still, quite surprising.

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.



on 1/4/2013 12:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is my absolute favourite sun cream, and I've tried them all.
I have incredibly fair, sensitive skin and this has never caused breakouts. The formula dries quickly, leaves only a minimal white cast, and layers beautifully under foundation. I've yet to be sunburned while wearing this!
The only downside is it's not a great value. You get quite a small quantity for your , and I find myself having to repurchase frequently.
A definite splurge, but a must-have -- when I can afford it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/23/2012 5:08:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Pros:
- high SPF
- nice, subtle fragrance
- light-weighted, but not matte like the other Japanese sunscreen

Cons:
- expensive -- I think other milky sunscreen can be as good as this.
- doesn't seem to be waterproof


on 11/14/2012 2:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I don't generally love this product, but I like it. I like the smell, the packaging, and the way it feels on my face after I applied it. It's not greasy nor is it heavy. It's very light-weight and goes on smooth.


on 10/29/2012 3:44:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I was interested to read that many people find they have to use quite a lot of this. I find a blob on my finger about 3/8in diameter sufficient.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am currently using samples that I bought off eBay. This is definitely not greasy, though not as matte as the Japanese sunscreens. It does leave a teeny bit of a white cast on my dark skin, but some of that that absorbs after a short while and leaves a nice glow. If you apply generously (which you should), a little bit of a white cast does remain.

It's quite pricey but I would pay any price for a sunscreen that does it's job and doesn't break me out. Usually pricey products can be used sparingly, but you do need 5-6 drops of this to spread all over your face. I only use it on my cheeks and chin where I break out more, and use cheaper Japanese sunscreens on my forehead and nose.

It doesn't seem to clog pores but my skin has become a bit bumpy since I started using it, though that could be due to that time of month. I'm going to finish my two samples and see if I want to buy again.

Update: I was so happy after finishing my first sample that I have ordered a full-size. This is really really great for me as I have the greasiest skin ever and live in the most humid climate. The bumpiness I experienced earlier was shortlived and my skin is quite smooth after using for about 2 weeks.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 9/5/2012 7:41:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was very happy with this. It's a shake-up with alcohol, but somehow leaves your skin moisturized and not in a greasy way. The finish really is great AND it's zinc oxide base with bonus antioxidants.
I can't give 5 lippies though because I feel it's overpriced. Like we're being gauged for the name Chanel. And I can't overlook the high alcohol content either.
I purchased some Obagi Nuderm on Amazon for $20 and have no complaints. I'm not against repurchasing UV Essential, but I don't see a real need to.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 6/26/2012 11:20:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Update to old review- just adding that this new formula is terrible. Causes breakouts and stays thick and white on the skin- nothing like the old one!


on 6/5/2012 2:56:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This sunscreen contains micronized zinc oxide, which is a full spectrum suncreen. It protects against all UVA and all UVB rays. As well, the physical sunsceen zinc oxide does not break down when exposed to the sun, like chemical sunscreens will. This sunsceen has managed to find a way to use this ingredient without giving the face a white mask like appearance. It is a superior product. I must also add that it has not broken out my face in any way or irritated it. Smells very soft.

The suncreen does have a chemical sunsceen in it also, which I forget the name, but it has a very high level (17% i think) of the zinc. It has a light texture and does absorb easily.

The only thing I will say is that you do have to use a lot of this product. Do not believe the sales people in the store who say only a drop is needed. Now does that make any sense when every article in the world says to load up the sunscreen like you're icing a cupcake. So load this stuff on! I would give it a little time to dry before you apply makeup over it or powder.

On the downside, it does give a teeennyy bit of a white cast to the skin, but much better than any other zinc oxide product i have tried.

Of course, you have to put it on more than once a day, just like any other suncreen.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 6/4/2012 11:23:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Other

Eyes: Blue

After some bad experiences with a few other facial sunscreens, I finally bit the bullet and purchased this sunscreen while on vacation in Rome. I have to say that despite the price, I can't see myself using any other facial sunscreen again. The formula absorbs very well into my skin and does not leave it feeling greasy, and it makes a great base for makeup. I actually find my t zone does not get as oily though the course of the day when I am wearing this product. I have extremely sensitive skin and this product has given me no problem. If you are having difficulty finding a good sunscreen for sensitive skin, I would definitely give the one a try

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top