Dermalogica • Age Smart Skin Resurfacing Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.8(58 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 ladyiris313 on 8/27/2011 4:57:00 PM more reviews by ladyiris313

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this product after having a salon facial, as part of the entire travel kit. Of all the products in the kit, this is the only one I purchased in full-size form. As others said, I use this only 1x a day, but it does increase circulation and blood flow to the face and keeps my skin very smooth and clear. It is now my go-to cleanser. Now to find an eye cream and daily moisturizer I like - because I didn't like those products in this line.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Seattlemama on 8/5/2011 6:55:00 PM more reviews by Seattlemama

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This did not work at all for my dry, rosacea-prone skin. It caused me to have a horrible flare-up and my skin was red and painful for several days, despite all my pampering. I purchased this after seeing Lisa Eldridge's video about what she uses for her own skincare. This is one of her favorite cleansers, but she has oily skin where I have dry. I returned this and would not recommend it for anyone with sensitive skin.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bekcogent on 6/15/2011 8:37:00 PM more reviews by bekcogent

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Cool   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I love it!

There are some interesting instructional issues with this cleanser. I am an esthetician and would definitely not recommend using this 2x a day. It's resurfacing! No one needs to exfoliate that much. Think of it as a cleanser/exfoliant treatment, since that is honestly what it comes down to.

This is a fabulous and instantly effective exfoliant and pick-me-up. Whenever my skin looks dull or congested I use this and it looks glowy and fresh after. Use it 2-3x a week. Don't overdo it because you won't see the great results that are possible.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vic2007 on 6/9/2011 6:57:00 AM more reviews by vic2007

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love it. I had my bottle for over a year, and it's still half full.Reason being, I don't use it everyday, maybe 3 or 4 times a week at most. I use other AHA or glycolic cleansers on daily basis- Rachel Perry tangerine in the morning, and/or j.marini/ murad/ Annayake/ Eclos stem cell or fancl powder at night.
This dermalogica one is lactic acid based so only a few times a week does the job. I already have very good skin, and only use it for maintenance, not to clear any problems. I slap it on my dry face, leave it for a few minutes and then use a brush (dermalogica facial brush or if I'm daring the clarisonic) and rinse, and the skin is left clear and soft. Lactic acid is good for you once in the while, so that's why I use it, and once again it doesn't fail me. Can't comment on price since I have he entire dermalogica range which I bought in bulk, but whatever it is, it's worth it. It is one of my favorite cleansers- all brands included-, and I love the bottle and the snap, so no spill ever , even when you travel!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* angekronaus on 5/22/2011 10:41:00 AM more reviews by angekronaus

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Ive only been using this a little while however I have already seen results. I have very dry skin so I dont use this twice a day, rather in the evening only or as & when I think it feels necessary. It really leaves the skin feeling very clean, clear & smooth. Highly recommended for anyone looking for a good quality cleanser. Granted, dermalogica is not the cheapest but in my opinion, its worth the extra buck!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sweetbabykitty75 on 3/27/2011 8:20:00 AM more reviews by sweetbabykitty75

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I had a horrible allergic reaction to a make-up remover I bought from Coastal Scents...swollen, itchy and red face. Once I stopped using it, the puffiness and itch went away, but I was left with really gross dry patches. They were particularly bad on my eyelids and in the left inner corner. I tried a heavy cream from L'Occitane, but it didn't work. My whole face was severely dehydrated.

I happened to get a flyer from Ulta in the mail and saw they had a special on Dermalogica products. I had heard great things about the line from a make-up book, and checked out the product descriptions. I settled on this wash and the age smart masque. My dry patches were completely gone after 2 uses of the wash. I can tell that it's something that I won't use every day - too strong for that - but I think 3x a week for maintenance and before using the masque is perfect. For the inbetween days I use First Aid Beauty cream cleanser in the morning - lots of antioxidants and so gentle - and Face Reality sensitive skin gel cleanser at night to get the make-up off.

For anyone considering this product, I would suggest doing it very slowly. Maybe every third or other day to start, and back into a daily use, if that suits you. My skin type is ruddy and reactive and this didn't cause me any problems. Just remember, everyone's skin is different, even with similar issues, and not every product is for everyone.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 FeistyGal on 3/21/2011 11:16:00 AM more reviews by FeistyGal

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

BRILLIANT when used as suggested by my Aesthician - only twice a week!! If your skin is even remotely sensitive do not use this as frequently as recommended! I'm used to using AHAs, lactic acid products but my skin became dried out and parched after twice daily use. Aesthician was horrified when I confessed and told me to only use it twice a week at the most (using ultra calming cleanser most nights and the thermal microfoliant once a week). What a difference! This is not your typical cleanser - it is more like a treatment.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kitty3065 on 3/16/2011 3:29:00 AM more reviews by kitty3065

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I started using this cleanser as part of the Age Smart trial pack 2 months ago and I was so impressed with the results I bought the full size version and it has been worth every cent. My skin looks the best it ever has, smooth, even and glowing - although I think the glow is also the result of the other Age Smart products. I have combination skin which is fairly tough (probably a result of growing up in the Australian climate), so I didn't get any of the dryness other members have spoken of, even using it both day and night, just a smooth complexion.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 brainsandlove on 3/12/2011 4:12:00 PM more reviews by brainsandlove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am surprised at all the negative reviews it's been getting.
Hmm, to being with , it IS pricey for the amount you get ( IMO) . I think these unconventional cleaners get used up a lot faster because we are conditioned for using globs of stuff to "make it work".
That being said , I must confess I do not use it twice a day as recommended. I just use this at night (because i figured the exfoliation will render my skin more sensitive to sun..and they recommend a sunscreen in the day after using it ).
But I have seen a considerable difference in my skin texture , my post acne scarring , I have a dark complexion and i don't see any redness after .
I use a serum , like seconds after using this ( i feel Chantecaille Vital Essence is working wonders with this because it probably calms down my exfoliated skin).
then few days in a week i slap on jojoba oil early in the evening .. massaging it in.
in the morning ..hello baby soft skin :)
the reason i wrote all of that is just to make a point, that , it probably won't work by itself unless you moisturize properly and listen to your skin'd need for the day . But it can help magnify the efficiency of your other skin care products for sure.
Give it a try !

(Not the best to travel with though , the bottle design needs work)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* golightly on 2/24/2011 9:39:00 PM more reviews by golightly

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My skin type: I have hormonal breakouts, primarily cystic acne on the chin, but also have dry patches. Recently, with the birth control pill and aging, I'd noticed a lot of brown age spots/sun spots surfacing, so I wanted a cleanser that would help smooth out my skin. I am also using Diacneal, and moisturize pretty heavily with Dermalogica Active Moist for day and Super rich moisture for night. I bought the large size of this in Hong Kong without trying it first. Big, huge mistake. This cleanser was way too harsh for my skin, and I always thought I had the skin of a rhinoceros (apparently not...). It smells chemically, which is fine, as all cleansers are pretty chemically. But the results were terrible: cystic acne galore, dryness, tightness. It is INCREDIBLY harsh on the skin. Read the reviews on MUA, and tried reducing usage to three times a week. I didn't realize it was the cleanser until a month later, and it took at least a month to clear up the mess (I used Avene Cleanance cleanser, which is very gentle). I'm not sure if it was exfoliating on top of the chemical exfoliating on the Diacneal, but be careful!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dermalogica products

More Cleansers products