Paula's Choice Lip & Body Treatment Balm

4.4

102 reviews

84% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Petrolatum (emollients), Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax (thickener), Lanolin, C10-30 Cholesterol/Lanosterol Esters (emollients), Beeswax, Ozokerite, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax (thickeners), Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Jojoba Esters, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil (plant emollients/oils), Bisabolol (soothing agent), Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (stabilized vitamin C/antioxidant), Tocopheryl Acetate (vitamin E/antioxidant), Trihydroxystearin, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene (thickeners).


on 12/30/2008 12:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

I'm quite disappointed with this product after reading many of the rave reviews. The texture of the balm is dense, which made it difficult to apply it on my lips. The biggest problem is that it isn't moisturizing at all. I have tried many different lip treatments, and this I would probably consider as one of the least effective products.



on 12/5/2008 6:13:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I can't stop touching my lips because I can't believe how soft and smooth they are. Makes my lipstick look great. I believe this is HG status for me. I love that it sticks to my lips and I can drink and eat and it still feels like it's there working.

I have some leftover little tub containers from other products and samples so I just scoop some of this into one of them to stick in my pocket or handbag.


on 12/4/2008 2:43:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Grey, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

PC's lip and body treatment balm has snuck up on me and become a firm favourite. I wasn't sure if I particularly liked it being in a jar or whether it was any better than, say, Vaseline. Well, it is. It's a nicer consistency, waxier and less gloopy, and it doesn't have the slightly unpleasant Vaseline smell. I use it for two purposes only: as a lip balm and on my cuticles. I keep a jar on my desk at work and another by my bedside. After putting some on my lips I always then rub it into my cuticles, which means there's no residue left on my fingertips. If your cuticles have been neglected or look a bit ragged for any reason, this will soon have them back in shape. I believe that the regular cuticle application has also helped to strengthen my nails. It definitely keeps my lips from ever being chapped, dry or cracked. I still use lipstick style lip balms when I want quick and easy application but Paula's treatment balm is an absolute staple for me. It's good stuff.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/28/2008 10:23:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm not sure what all the excitement is about over this product. I've been a religious chapstick user for 10+ years (don't leave home without it!) and I don't see any difference between this product and chapstick. In fact, I much prefer the chapstick because it's easier to take with you, smells better, packaged better, and much cheaper. I won't be repurchasing and it will probably take me years to get through the container that I have.


on 4/4/2008 9:42:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I'm still a HUGE Paula's Choice fan, but this didn't work at all for me. Maybe I got a bad shipment or something went wrong somewhere....but my product was very densely packed, difficult to get out of the jar, it almost seemed like a jar of wax. After rubbing my finger against the balm many times, it seemed to warm up and loosen up some balm. It just didn't work for me.


on 3/26/2008 12:28:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

In my opinion, the only negative thing about this product is the price and I guess even that's not so bad as you really get quite a lot of product. I use a cosmetic spatula to scrape a bit from the tub which I transfer to my finger and then apply to my lips. The consistency is smooth and buttery and delivers excellent results. As expensive as this is, I could never justify using it as a body treatment, although I have occasionaly used a small bit on my cuticles.


on 3/23/2008 2:00:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I've been using this stuff for years and I still love it. Like others have said, it keeps lips smooth for hours. The consistency is perfect. It's not sticky like some glosses or hard and waxy like Chapstick and doesn't slide off like Vaseline.
I keep one at home, one in my desk drawer at work plus a spare or two in the cupboard -it's one of the few things I stock up on because I'd just hate to run out.
One drawback is the lack of of a convenient purse size so I transfer some into one of the sample size containers I have from Everyday Minerals.
I like to put it on with a lip brush (to avoid greasy fingerprints on my iPhone!) over a lip stain for a long lasting, natural look.
The price on this has gone up from around 5 or 6 dollars to 10 bucks a pop but I'll continue to purchase it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/3/2008 1:38:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm so glad I got this. I am a lip balm addict and have so many opened and unopened tubes and jars of them around the house. Recently my lips have been chapped and dry and I needed to give them some extra attention. I purchased this after reading the fabulous reviews and am not at all disappointed. IS soon as I apply this, my lips are softer, less chapped and soothed. There is no greasy film either, which I can't stand! I actually prefer this to Aquaphor, which I was using before when my lips were extra dry. Excellent product. Will repurchase

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/10/2008 2:28:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This has been a staple for me since I first found PC products several years ago. It's unscented and stays put, moisturizing my otherwise very dry lips. It's great dabbed under eyes, for cracking heals, and chapped hands, as well. For a smaller purse size, you can transfer some into one of the sample containers Paula's uses to ship sample size concealer. If you're concerned about sanitary measures, transferring a small amount into a used container works well. Personally, I like the size of the jars and the lids seal tightly, so I like to reuse them, tossing suncreen or whatever else I've put into them right into my bag.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/8/2008 2:21:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I just started using this a few days ago and I can already tell a difference in my lips. I have been on what seems like a never-ending search for a good lip balm, and I think I've found it. I apply it twice a day, and my lips stay nice and supple all day long.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lip Treatments


Baby Lips Lip Balm
1466 Reviews
Beeswax Lip Balm
3590 Reviews
Prep + Prime Lip
170 Reviews
Back to Top