Olay Hydrating Beauty Fluid Original

4.0

337 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, cetyl palmitate, Glycerin, Mineral Oil, Petrolatum, cetyl alcohol, glyceryl hydroxystearate, stearic acid, steareth-100, Dimethicone, octyldodecyl myristate, potassium hydroxide, fragrance, DMDM hydantoin, iodopropynyl butylcarbamate, tetrasodium EDTA, acrylates/C10-30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer, carbomer, FD&C red No. 4.


on 1/19/2014 10:00:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

Good and inexpensive moisturizer. I pretty much use the Peter Thomas Roth moisturizer and the LancĂ´me Visionnaire--but since I'm in a frugal stage these days, I started looking for something less expensive. I spotted this in the beauty section while grocery shopping and had a flashback to the original "Oil of Olay"..which isn't made anymore. But nestled in the midst of all the pricey Olay products, I decided to go with this. I like this. A lot. It isn't as "wet" as Visionnaire but it isn't as "heavy" as Nivea..it goes on nicely and does the job.
You can apply it with a heavier hand before bedtime--I did notice one reviewer stated that her face was greasy in the AM after she slept with it on her face. I did not have that issue. Maybe because my face is drier. Either way, this is a very good value for the money!

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.



Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Classic moisturizing staple. I love this stuff more than the expensive department store moisturizers. It keeps my combination skin smooth and soft, without making it look greasy or shiny. The smell is like roses, very nostalgic for me as several in my family used this for years.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/3/2014 6:46:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have used this moisturiser regularly for about 2 years, and I can't find anything bad to say about it. It has a subtle scent, convenient bottle and it moisturises perfectly! It immediately sinks into your skin without leaving a greasy residue or film, making it a great base for makeup.

I find that exfoliating and then using a generous dollop of this moisturiser makes my skin SO smooth and my makeup lasts twice as long as it does after using my back up Johnson's Day Cream with SPF 15. This is really saying something because I have typical teenage skin: oily and pimply.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/31/2013 3:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have been using this moisturizer for about 6 months.....and I love it!!!!! I have dry skin both in the summer and in the winter (especially in the winter) I slap it on my face 2 times a day once in the morning before my makeup primer and then at night after I remove my makeup and then wash my face. It is very gentle on my dry sensitive skin and it has a very nice scent (baby powder fresh) ....not bothersome at all at least for me.....I had been looking for a nice hydrating moisturizer and I had contemplated getting the whole set of creams from Clarins but i couldn't explain to my husband the total amt cost of that splurge.....I know they are great but I don't even want to look at them nor try them because otherwise I'll "forget" about the right thing to do and buy them there and then. Maybe one day if I have the money and then some, I'll treat myself to the Clarins but for now, this moisturizer has evened out some dark spots on my face and brought life to my face for a nice reasonable price.


on 12/29/2013 2:04:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I love the original Olay line- timeless classics, as far as drugstore skincare products go, and for good reason. I also use Olay's Night of Olay firming cream, which I've reviewed. For daytime use, I apply the beauty fluid, and am left with perfectly moisturized skin-not too greasy or heavy, not too light-just a happy medium. I have combination skin (oily t-zone, normal check area that's prone to dryness) and can use this with no problem, provided I use only as much as I need (about a dime sized amount). I apply on my face and neck, and only the slightest amount on my nose, since it gets oily quick and doesn't need much moisture anyway. Though it has a soft, powdery scent, it has not irritated my skin or led to any breakouts. Since using classic olay cream and lotion day & night, my skin is in really nice condition. I also have good nutrition and genetics to help, but the Olay has contributed too. It isn't easy to find effective drugstore skincare products, so I'm really pleased with classic Olay. The price is reasonable too, so there's really no reason to shell out much more for expensive products. It's a winner for me.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 12/17/2013 2:28:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I bought the upright 4oz bottle. This facial lotion was recommended to me by a friend and raved about in a beauty book plus in magazines. I can't use SPF moisturizers because they break me out so badly. I have genetically big pores and my skin tends to get flaky and oily at the same time in the winter. Lately, my skin is...starting to look 31 and the quick temperature drop is making my skin super dry. A few months ago, I switched to Cetaphil cleanser, which has greatly decreased my blemishes.

I've been using this lotion for about a week now. After my morning shower, I use a little under a dime sized amount on my dry face. I like that its a bit watery because I do tend to overdo skin product applications. It doesn't make my face greasy, oily, or coated feeling like other moisturizers I've tried. Today, before my shower, my cheeks were a bit flushed. I'm not sure if its the product or a reaction to the temperature dropping so quickly. I will continue to use the product because 1. It's the least greasiest moisturizer I've ever used 2. I think the burn will go away after a while and 3. I cover my cheeks with powder foundation anyway so nobody will see.

The flush feeling in my cheeks really does feel like windburn. Before I say whether or not I'd recommend this to a friend, I'd like to use it for another month or two

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/8/2013 7:01:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This product moisturizes my combination skin very well ( my skin in the winter is very oily on the nose, and dry on my cheeks). The product works well. But the smells is horrendous, I hate putting it on because the smell makes me feel sick to my stomach. It smells like you've marinated in baby powder for days. The small goes away after about 10 minutes. I continue to use it because it makes my skin look really good.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/10/2013 12:42:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have used this product since i'v been a teen, It has never broke me out or irritated my skin. keeps my complexion looking healthy and doesnt feel over board like some moisturizers I have used.

This has a wonderful scent ( if you like soft smelling roses) and feels like my skin is as soft as rose petals

this product is great if you have dry to normal skin, they also have ones for oily,sensitive etc

This also works very great for a primer and for 12 bucks you really can not complain.


on 9/29/2013 7:30:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this product because of all the good reviews. I put it on at night before bed I didn't like the smell and in the morning I woke up with the grease all over my face. I returned the product. I really wanted to like it.


on 9/18/2013 3:32:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is an amazing moisturizer, even for oily skin! I was very impressed. I saw that it contained mineral oil, so I was a little skeptic. Many make up artists had sworn by this moisturizer so I decided to give it a shot. I like the packaging. It's very clean and convenient. Right when I put it on, my skin immediately absorbed it and there was so oily feel at all! My makeup was so smooth over it. I wear it day and night. I've seen great results with this lotion. My skin is so smooth, soft, and my fine lines have been disappearing. The price is reasonable for this product. You get great results just like an expensive moisturizer would give you. I would definitely recommend!


Back to Top