MAC • Paint Pot in Blackground • Eye Shadow

rated 4.3(115 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Radchickee on 5/20/2011 11:47:00 AM more reviews by Radchickee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This goes on very dark and shimmery, and lasts a long time. You have to blend quickly because once it dries, it's hard to move around. You can use a little bit for a subtle sheer effect, or a lot for an intense deep dark shadow. You can smudge all over the eyes to use as an eyeshadow, or you can apply with a thin stiff brush and use as an eyeliner. The versaitility and staying power are great. This shade is probably not the best one for me, so I wouldn't buy it again, but I would definitely buy this in a more flattering color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 missashleexoxo on 5/2/2011 5:52:00 AM more reviews by missashleexoxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Great product, easy to use, pigmented, texture is fantastic. Its not completely opaque/deep black but i think thats a good thing, its buildable and makes it more multipurpose for different looks.
Perfect eyeshadow primer for a smokey eye, even to change/intensify colours. keeps eyeshadow on all day, everything i could want! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kimwhittkeli on 3/7/2011 7:38:00 PM more reviews by kimwhittkeli

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

i love this pp its a must have for smoky eyes

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kristenhonto on 2/25/2011 5:12:00 PM more reviews by Kristenhonto

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is the one and only PP I own as this is the only one IMO that isn't really dry. If you want the easiest smoky eye ever, get this. I apply with a 217 all over the lid and blend up into the crease. I also use this a lot to line my upper lashline. To me (someone that is liquid liner-challenged) this is so easy to work with in order to achieve an even perfect line. <3

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dundada on 1/28/2011 6:52:00 PM more reviews by dundada

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

This is great base-wise but even for a smoky eye especially for the daytime I prefer Constructivist or Painterly for some reason! LOL

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* olympialetantoli on 1/20/2011 9:52:00 PM more reviews by olympialetantoli

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this paint pot and many others in 2008. I loved the texture the way it went on easy with a proper brush. The colour was decent. I layered this with Black Tied and Carbon to get a deep dark dramatic smokey eyes. BUT there aren't enough chances to use this. And now three years later the PRODUCT shrunk in the jar. It's litterally just a hard mass. It was so disappointing and depressing. I couldn't believe how it dried up and cracked. I put some water on a brush and tried to get the colour to transfer but it just didn't do anything.

So if you buy paint pots use them fast before they shrivel up and dry. I have to throw away 3 of the paint pots I have. Thankfully my paint pot Painterly is alright.... maybe because I use it more.

Very disappointing.

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rachelbobco on 1/20/2011 9:36:00 PM more reviews by rachelbobco

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

A great base for a smokey eye! I just got it and wanted to try it out right away, so I used this and mac carbon to create a very dark and dramatic eye. I had agreed to a rather absurd event to raise money for a friend's nonprofit; a girl-on-girl lube-wrestling event. I got my butt whooped, faceplanted in a tub full of lube, and was then hosed down. My eyeshadow smudged a wee bit beneath my eyes but stayed on through all of that! Amazing! I assumed I'd emerge looking like a raccoon, but nope. I emerged drenched and defeated, but looking good! Another Mac miracle. :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* izzybella on 1/8/2011 1:59:00 AM more reviews by izzybella

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Love this! It makes smokey eyes so easy. After my eye cream is absorbed by my skin, I apply a thin layer of Blackground using my 239 brush, pat on some eyeshadow, blend with my 217 brush, line with Blacktrack fluidline, apply mascara, and viola! Smokey eyes. I can't give it a 5 as it still creases by the end of the day, but it definitely makes smoking out your eye makeup a lot easier.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* seramadis on 12/25/2010 11:09:00 PM more reviews by seramadis

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love love love this Paintpot and I hope MAC never ever ever discontinues it! I used to use it as an eyeshadow base or an eyeshadow, but I ran out of my favourite Blitz and Glitz gel eyeliner and didn't have money to buy a new one, and I had this Paintpot. So I tried it as a liner and now I love it as such! I thought it would be bland and matte, Blitz and Glitz is such a rich and shimmery colour with silver shimmer and I thought Blackground would be boring and matte but it isn't! It actually has silver shimmer that glimmers in the light. I also like to use this underneath this other Paintpot, I don't remember the name but it's a lovely burgundy coloured one, probably LE (as usual!) because I can't find it on MAC's website, that's a bit paler than Raven eyeliner. When I use Blackground underneath the burgundy Paintpot I get the same shade as Raven eyeliner, as an eyeshadow, which I love.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 VOGUE1222 on 12/9/2010 7:54:00 PM more reviews by VOGUE1222

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is my very first Paint Pot and I'm already in lust! I cannot WAIT to wear it. I swatched it on my wrist and it's super versatile. I'm excited to wear this as a sheer smokey eye, and even more pumped to wear it as a bold smokey eye. The color in the pot matches description on MAC.com precisely, and the texture is creamy, dreamy, lovely, smooth, fabulousness! I wish I ordered another Paint Pot! Maybe after the Holidays when I have my normal budget back :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products