Badger • SPF 30 • Sunscreen

rated 2.8(48 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.37%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 maykim on 4/25/2011 10:46:00 AM more reviews by maykim

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I had to be honest for the packaging quality on this product. I used it less than a week maybe 3 days AND this one gave me the ginarmous cystic pimple that is still trying to get even bigger. The area this is giving me cystic one is even dry zone for me which is above the laugh line. I have NOT gotten anything like this for years.

I do believe it must be the silicon they say they use to coat the zinc oxide.

So if you are over 30 (or even a teen), please please prepare yourself for a breakout..:((

I almost forgot to mention the horrible horrible ghostly and creepy white cast BADGER 30 does leave, not matter how much you rub. I am thinking if I rub even more I will be taking off all the sunscreen benefits.



    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 eddiecatt on 3/14/2011 4:58:00 PM more reviews by eddiecatt

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I took this on my Caribbean vacation recently and found it worked just okay--I did not burn, but I still ended up with a dark tan and lots o' freckles. And I reapplied quite conscientiously (except maybe for one day)! Other than that, even though I got the unscented formula I still found the cocoa butter smell a little overwhelming, especially after lunch. I really appreciate Badger's commitment to natural ingredients and eco-friendly products, but this is a very sticky product that is definitely not for everyday use on the face when moving around a city rather than on the beach! I tried mixing it with my moisturizer to see if it would blend in better--it did eventually disappear into my skin, but not after lots of rubbing and even so it felt greasy and I couldn't wait to wash my face at the end of the day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 geekyn00b on 3/2/2011 2:07:00 PM more reviews by geekyn00b

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Note edit below.
Been wearing it daily for month and it's been wonderful for cold, bright, and dry city winter weather. I *love* this because it makes me give my face a long, slow and firm massage first thing in the morning. :) Great way to wake up and there's no getting around it -- If I try to quick-swipe it on, it feels very scratchy.

I mix a tiny dab of this in my palm with 1/2 a tsp of Everyday Shea and apply after cleansing, but before I get dressed or have breakfast. That gives it time to settle in.

This tube has no fruit-stuff in it (unless olive oil and seabuckthorne berry count), so maybe that's the reason I'm not seeing some of the problems mentioned here. No white streaks, burning, separation. I'll definitely be wanting something with less oil in the summer, but it's perfect right now.

ETA - this is the 1st natural ss I've used, so I'm not comparing it to my experience with any other brand.

EDIT: two months later and I just can't use this anymore. :( It's too thick for the office and now that the weather's wetter (say it 5 times), this turns to grease and white streaks on my face. I love the feel of this and will keep it for dry and cold, but won't be repurchasing and will continue the hunt for another natural ss that isn't $$.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 enotkatya1 on 2/6/2011 3:20:00 PM more reviews by enotkatya1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

It is safe sunscreen and according to reviews it is safe. But I don't like it on my face at all. I am like ghost and I got pimples :( Will not buy again, the price is quite a high and the quality is not so good. I believe there is physical sunscreens on the market and they are better

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 enixon on 7/22/2010 3:37:00 PM more reviews by enixon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This keeps me from burning and I enjoy both the lightly scented and unscented varieties. The white doesn't rub off on my clothes as often as Burt's Bees did and I'm actually reassured by the traces of white when I don't do a good enough blending job.

Also very moisturizing, which my feet have really appreciated.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* haveaguinness on 6/9/2010 5:58:00 PM more reviews by haveaguinness

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Others have done a great job of reviewing this product, so I will just add my voice to the chorus. This is, to its credit, an all-physical sunscreen that stays on well at the beach and will definitely keep you from burning. Unfortunately, it is a misery to apply because it is RIDICULOUSLY thick, white, and greasy with a heavy (natural, but heavy) botanical fragrance. It also has a tendency to separate, making it even harder to apply. My kids HAAAAAATE wearing this. Thank goodness they don't have to, because there are all-physical sunscreens out there that are much more pleasant to use, equally protective, and can be found easily at the drugstore: namely Blue Lizard Sensitive/Baby (my favorite) and Neutrogena Pure & Free.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ReggieJackson on 5/23/2010 2:54:00 PM more reviews by ReggieJackson

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

The one I have is actually a bit different. The ingredients listed are similar but there are no citrus based ones. Mine is also a waterproof product. I bought this to use exclusively on my decollete which is the most sun damaged part of my body. I have tried other sunscreens and end up getting a rash or red spots. I use a powdered sunblock on my face, but it gets all over my clothes if I use it on my neck and chest. SO...I am thrilled with this! Yes it is thick, but is very good for my skin. It feels so much more supple after a week of use. It also works all day and I have no reaction to it. This is a keeper for sure!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 expira on 5/17/2010 9:22:00 AM more reviews by expira

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Like many reviewers have commented on before, it leaves a thick white residue on your face after you apply it. I've gotten a technique down where I just apply it very quickly to let it soak it, and while the end result is better than if I did nothing at all, my face still doesn't look quite...right. Furthermore, it doesn't sit right with face powder; if you powder your face, remember to apply the sunscreen at least thirty minutes before you apply the powder, and then hope for the best.

That being said, it does offer awesome protection. I brought my winter-pale face to Australia last winter/Australian summer, and this stuff prevented it from turning lobster. In fact, one day I used a Nivea sunscreen, and it was stunning to notice how much better this Badger sunscreen is.

So...I'd buy again if going somewhere I would burn easily. Otherwise...nah.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* modernabsurdity on 4/17/2010 3:04:00 PM more reviews by modernabsurdity

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This product remind me of something that should be featured on Dave Chappelle's Playa Hater's Ball. That's how much I hate it. Last summer when I was on my quest for the perfect natural mineral sunscreen I saw how highly this was rated on EWG's site and bought it. It's a thick, greasy, white, heavy hot mess. In its favor it does contain 20% zinc oxide and truly is broad spectrum. The smell is also nice.


Applying this stuff is a nightmare. Usually with mineral sunscreens I start out with small amounts, glide it on, then pat it and build up, but no technique is good for this stuff. I'm very fair and was left with a grotesque white cast. The first 2 ingredients are olive oil and beeswax which explains the texture. No matter what I did I was left with a greasy residue that transfered onto anything I touched. I never bothered trying this on my face, I could barely stand using it on my body.


If you don't care about the cosmetic elegance or the fact it's expensive and you get a small amount (around $14 for a whopping 2.9 oz/82 g), then maybe give it a try. I am somewhat skeptical since it contains citrus essential oils which causes photosensitivity. Kinda defeats the purpose of a sunblock, eh? I tried to pawn my tube off on my sister and when she wasn't a fan I tossed it. Devita, Caribbean Sol, and a host of other natural/organic companies make far superior sunscreens that won't make you hate life and are a better value.


The verdict? Hate, hate, hate, hate!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Zetaflickan on 4/6/2010 6:03:00 AM more reviews by Zetaflickan

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

Used up a tube of this on a recent Thailand vacation. My son and I are very fair and burn easily. The sun situation was indeed extreme, we only used the sun screen on hands, face, lower legs and feet, using protective clothing on the rest of our bodies. I bought this due to the good rating on skindeep, and yes, I do believe it is not as harmful to the skin and body as other sunscreens, but the formula is so greasy that it is hard to keep it on if you're active, and also hard to reapply if sweating. My son burnt his hands boogie boarding, the cream would wipe right off if touching anything. Our faces and rest of the bodies were fine. I had the same problem with California Baby, and will try another sunscreen next time. My face would be shiny and white, but not burnt, so it did work on areas that were not touched. In a more "normal" setting (not tropical) it would probably work much better, and not require such thick layers. But I do feel grateful that this alternative exists, having previous sun damage from years of chemical sun screens that let the UVA thorough. At least my son can have more wrinkle and sun spot free years.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Badger products

More Sunscreen products