MAC Paint Pot in Painterly

4.3

984 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Isodocecane, dimethicone, polyethylene, hydrogenated polyisobutene, quaternium-90 bentonite, dimethicone silylate, octyldodecanol, silica, trihydroxystearin, retinyl palmitate, tocopheryl acetate, lecithin, carnauba wax, propylene carbonate, triethoxycaprylylsilane. May contain: mica, titanium dioxide, iron oxides, bismuth oxychloride, blue 1 lake, carmine, chromium hydroxide green, chromium oxide greens ferric ferroxyanide, manganese violet, ultramarines, yellow 5 lake.


on 1/6/2015 9:43:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I really don't know where this got all the popularity it has from ...as an eyeshadow base it is horrible as it creases badly after just a couple of hours, by itself it smears also.
The real deal in eyeshadow bases is Mac Paint (the little tube) in Untitled as it really does the job big time. This painterly stuff it is just not worth it.



on 12/31/2014 6:24:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I wanted to try this as an alternative to Urban Decay's Primer Potion, as I'd heard it was just as good. And so far I've not been disappointed.

Painterly is a flesh-toned cream eye shadow, which sets to a matte powder finish. You can then apply regular cream or powder eye shadow over the top which lasts all day without fading or creasing. You can also wear it on its own with a lick of mascara for a natural look, which is great for someone like me whose eyelids tend to be a slightly darker shade than the rest of my face.

There's only one slight downside which I've found with this - if you leave it out in a warm, dry room, it starts to shrink leaving a large gap between the product and the side of the glass jar. It also has a tendency to start to dry out. To get round this, I've taken to leaving it in the bathroom (where it tends to be a bit warmer and humid) and I also leave it upside down which seems to help stop it from drying out quite so much (a tip I picked up from somewhere on the 'net).

For 15.50 I think this is definitely worth the money and for the results I've experienced since using it, it's comparable to the UDPP too.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/19/2014 9:48:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

I wanted something for a base color/primer and was rec'd this. Unfortunately it just pulls too pink on my NC15 skin. And since it looks pink, it makes the colors I wear on top look weird. The formula is fine, I do like Soft Ochre and Chilled on Ice.


on 12/19/2014 9:24:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is the second time I have tried this product and infortunately it;s the same problem.
The blue undertone looks grey on me and make me look deathly ill.
The consistency is fine but irritated my eyelids so that they are now red.
Think I'm better off using my concealer as an eyeshadow primer.


on 12/19/2014 2:52:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Pretty neutral. I wish I bought one with at leat some shimmer so I don't have to use eyeshadow. This would work for those who are more elaborate with their eye make-up. I've just started wearing eye makeup because i need a smudgeproof, waterproof eye product due to allergies.

For everyday I'll get a neutral one like Perky (out of stock when i went) or a shimmery rose one when one comes out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/15/2014 11:19:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is one of those products that is absolutely bulletproof and works to its maximum potential and a holy grail- for the first few months. After that the performance just declines. There's a lot of product in the pot (which should be because the price is ridiculous) but it dries out after a while which is really disappointing. A lot of the reviews say that it actually doesnt work as well as a primer which is totally true, its more of an evening base.


on 12/1/2014 5:19:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I can't live without it. It is the perfect base or just use it by itself to brighten your eye.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/11/2014 1:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This has become a makeup staple for me. I use this as a base for whatever eyeshadow look I want to do. I do not have extremely oily eyelids, so I do not use any other primer under this product. I have never experienced creasing or fading with this product, but it is very creamy so I make sure to apply a very thin layer. It doesn't show up on my NW15 skin, which is what I wanted. It is perfect for covering veins, brightening the upper lid (on it's own) or acting as a base for eyeshadows. The packaging is sleek and beautiful, however I worry about dropping/breaking the glass base.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/1/2014 4:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

One of the only things in my stash that I *know* I will run through in the near future. This is an amazing eye shadow base and a fall-back for everyday make-up for me to correct lid discoloration. Best application method I've found includes patting and blending across the lid with a fluffy brush, then sweeping a matte neutral all over (to set and improve subsequent shadow blendability). You will likely need to use a primer underneath to keep it from creasing.

Pros:
* very opaque
* creamy application
* perfect for paler skin tones
* helps show true shadow colors
* evens skin tone
* very generous amount of product
* long-lasting

Cons:
* needs primer
* needs to be stored upside-down to stay creamy

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/15/2014 7:21:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I really like how easy this is to use. I just buff a little all over my eyelid from lash line to brow with the 217 brush and I get a nicely even appearance. It's a shade or two darker than my skin tone but it still looks very natural. For reference I'm about a NW5-10, with light hazel eyes and blonde hair. A lot of times I like doing a minimal face with just a little concealer, colored lip balm, cream blush, and mascara, and the effect is kinda ruined by my eyelids, which can be pinkish or tired looking from allergies or lack of sleep. This works perfectly to give me that clean bare look and it helps me look rested and polished. I tend to use it a couple times a week, occasionally adding Groundwork to the crease. I haven't tried it as a base/primer for other shadows yet, but I'll have to give it a shot (usually I use the Nars primer for most eyeshadows).

Feels creamy and thin, which is great since I hate heavy products on my skin. A little goes such a long way. I imagine I'll have this pot for a few years. I can see why this is a staple for so many people. I've only had it a few weeks and I already love it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top