Farouk CHI 44 Chi Iron Guard

3.3

183 reviews

49% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Sodium Polystyrene Sulfonate, SD Alcohol 40-B, Propylene Glycol, Polysorbate 20, PPG-20 Methyl Glucose Ether, Disodium EDTA, Hydrolyzed Silk, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein PG-Propyl Silantriol, Parfum, Diazolidinyl Urea, Methylparaben, Methylisothiazolinone, Ceramic.


on 4/22/2013 1:39:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I got this product with the silk treatment, thinking I would use them together before and after i flat ironed my hair. However, after the first use- i already knew I disliked this product. I didnt like the smell of it, and I certainly didnt like the way it made my hair feel... like some weird texture i cant even explain because i had never felt it before. I gave it two lippies because I am sure it really does help minimize the damage that a flat iron can do to your hair... Other than that, this was a total bust and I will NOT be buying this again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 4/18/2013 11:13:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

When I first bought my Chi, I went a little Chi crazy because I love the iron so much so I thought I needed everything the Chi line sells. This isn't true of course because there are decent, if not better, products not sold by Chi that give you better results and are infinitely cheaper. Thankfully I bought this at (what I assume to be) a drastically reduced price at Target (two for $20 I believe).

I used this spray pretty regularly when I first began straightening my hair a few years back. I'm a bit on the heavy handed side with everything mainly because my hair is super dry and I think more product equals better results. I admittedly used too much of this and my hair would generally feel like straw. I tinkered around with my routine and found different straightening balms (usually with heat protectant included) and took this out of my rotation because I got tired of having to slather on argan oil or something else to rehydrate my hair.

I found this again after cleaning out my jammed packed toiletry closet recently and decided to use it again. I use much, much less now but I still get straw like hair. It also makes my hair a bit sticky during the straightening process when makes blowing it out a bit of a pain. I didn't use it the last time I straightened my hair (just used my trusty Redken Align 12 by itself) and my hair was super smooth and soft. I didn't notice any real significant damage from using my blowdryer and my flat iron so I believe I'm better off not using this.

Overall, I think this is overpriced and not at all effective or even needed in my case. I have a whole full bottle and nearly half of another so I have no idea what I'm going to do with this mess.


on 4/18/2013 10:40:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Gross made my hair dry and straw like...Ugghh hate this. Totally regret buying this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Made my hair crunchy and dry like straw, does not work and makes hair worse.


on 1/7/2013 10:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I believe this product is overpriced and not as easy to find as many other competitors. This also did not outperform similar products that I have tried, I believe you are just paying for the brand. I will not repurchase.


on 1/3/2013 4:44:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am really confused by all the negative reviews on this product. For me, it is my holy-grail heat protectant. My hair has a natural wave to it but can get quite frizzy if I don't add at least a little heat to it. Before I blow dry, I spray it evenly throughout my hair. I use a generous amount but not to the point where my hair turns crunchy. I then brush my hair for the product to be spread evenly. On average, I probably use heat on my hair 2-3 times a week, whether it'd be a blow dryer or straightener/curler. This product does my hair wonders. I got it cut about 2 months ago and have ZERO damage because of this product. Love it so much!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/31/2012 1:20:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Cool

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Alright, this product has a lot of negative reviews, and I can see why because I experienced most of the complaints with previous uses: sticky, dry, crunchy hair. Hair that became wet again from how concentrated the mist is. However, all these issues were fixed with two things, and they were hair serum and mechanical usage.


On average, I probably straighten my hair 2-3x a year. My hair is healthy but is naturally dry and porous, extremely dense and thick, coarse, kinky-curly, and reaches my bra strap when straight (only shoulder length when curly though). Needless to say, the process of straightening it is time consuming and varies widely. Salons usually have to straighten my hair three times just to get it "bone straight", so I'm not exaggerating. But anyway, the first few times I used this heat protectant it left my hair feeling dry, fried, and crunchy. I could tell it wasn't a complete dud of a product though, because when I washed my hair afterwards there was no hint of heat damage so at least it delivered on that much. So, I blow dried and flat ironed my hair last night using this and decided to change up the routine. I sprayed a couple spritzes onto my damp hair section by section, combed through it with my denman, added a bit of serum, and blowdried it. I repeated the same steps with flat ironing, except instead of spraying it right at my hair I sprayed the bottle about 3 times into my palm, rubbed them together,and applied it with my hands. It defeats the purpose of a spray bottle but hey, it works for me, and my hair was left soft, sleek, and smooth. I also didn't feel like I was frying my hair because there wasn't any of that sizzling that can happen when your hair has too much product/ is too wet for the flat iron. So, since i figured it out, I like it.


But, as far as repurchasing goes, I do know that there are probably better heat protectants out there for a fraction of the price, so I'll pass. I have no problem finishing this bottle though, and since I rarely use heat on my hair I'll probably have it for a long time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/30/2012 3:29:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

i like this product, does not leave any sticky residue that other heat protectants leave behind sometimes. *IMPORTANT* to note that just because you use this product does not mean your hair is invincible from all damage. I have seriously fried my hair from using excess heat on it even though i thoroughly & generously apply this product every time.


on 11/28/2012 11:18:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is amazing. I really do not understand the negative reviews? Then again, I don't straighten my hair, ever. I only use a curling wand for loose curls or waves. This works excellently for me. It makes my waves soft after using the iron and I do believe it is protecting me hair well. It doesn't weigh my waves or curls down, it keeps them staying in place all day long. Hair is NOT crunchy or hard at all !! You do not need to spray a lot... And that's why I gave it 4 stars- it only happened once, but when I sprayed too much (4 sprays) on a certain section of my hair, then one piece came of crunchy looking. Here is the way to prevent that even if you use think you sprayed too much(works for me): you brush through the sections you spray to evenly distribute the product in your hair with a BRUSH. I use a boar bristle brush anytime i use this to distribute it throughout my hair then I use my curling wand :)


on 11/28/2012 12:52:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I purchased this at Marshalls so I only paid $9.99 for this. I just bought it because I've never tried CHI products.
----------------------------------------
This spray DEFINITELY makes a difference when I'm flat ironing my hair: it helps my hair to straighten easier and STAY straight, it smoothes out my hair, I have noticed a MAJOR decrease in split ends and it smells fantastic!
----------------------------------------
My only complaint would be that if it gets on anything around you--your skin, hot tools, countertops, etc.--it dries sticky and gunky and you wont notice it until later and it's a pain to clean.




Top Rated Farouk CHI Products

Back to Top