Farouk CHI • 44 Chi Iron Guard • Styling Products

rated 3.3(179 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 clarissa90 on 1/7/2013 10:25:00 PM more reviews by clarissa90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I believe this product is overpriced and not as easy to find as many other competitors. This also did not outperform similar products that I have tried, I believe you are just paying for the brand. I will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sekamarkic on 1/3/2013 4:44:00 PM more reviews by sekamarkic

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am really confused by all the negative reviews on this product. For me, it is my holy-grail heat protectant. My hair has a natural wave to it but can get quite frizzy if I don't add at least a little heat to it. Before I blow dry, I spray it evenly throughout my hair. I use a generous amount but not to the point where my hair turns crunchy. I then brush my hair for the product to be spread evenly. On average, I probably use heat on my hair 2-3 times a week, whether it'd be a blow dryer or straightener/curler. This product does my hair wonders. I got it cut about 2 months ago and have ZERO damage because of this product. Love it so much!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* itsKelCeeEee on 12/31/2012 1:20:00 PM more reviews by itsKelCeeEee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Cool   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Alright, this product has a lot of negative reviews, and I can see why because I experienced most of the complaints with previous uses: sticky, dry, crunchy hair. Hair that became wet again from how concentrated the mist is. However, all these issues were fixed with two things, and they were hair serum and mechanical usage.


On average, I probably straighten my hair 2-3x a year. My hair is healthy but is naturally dry and porous, extremely dense and thick, coarse, kinky-curly, and reaches my bra strap when straight (only shoulder length when curly though). Needless to say, the process of straightening it is time consuming and varies widely. Salons usually have to straighten my hair three times just to get it "bone straight", so I'm not exaggerating. But anyway, the first few times I used this heat protectant it left my hair feeling dry, fried, and crunchy. I could tell it wasn't a complete dud of a product though, because when I washed my hair afterwards there was no hint of heat damage so at least it delivered on that much. So, I blow dried and flat ironed my hair last night using this and decided to change up the routine. I sprayed a couple spritzes onto my damp hair section by section, combed through it with my denman, added a bit of serum, and blowdried it. I repeated the same steps with flat ironing, except instead of spraying it right at my hair I sprayed the bottle about 3 times into my palm, rubbed them together,and applied it with my hands. It defeats the purpose of a spray bottle but hey, it works for me, and my hair was left soft, sleek, and smooth. I also didn't feel like I was frying my hair because there wasn't any of that sizzling that can happen when your hair has too much product/ is too wet for the flat iron. So, since i figured it out, I like it.


But, as far as repurchasing goes, I do know that there are probably better heat protectants out there for a fraction of the price, so I'll pass. I have no problem finishing this bottle though, and since I rarely use heat on my hair I'll probably have it for a long time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kellyyxo on 12/30/2012 3:29:00 AM more reviews by kellyyxo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

i like this product, does not leave any sticky residue that other heat protectants leave behind sometimes. *IMPORTANT* to note that just because you use this product does not mean your hair is invincible from all damage. I have seriously fried my hair from using excess heat on it even though i thoroughly & generously apply this product every time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sassyBrunette on 11/28/2012 11:18:00 AM more reviews by sassyBrunette

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is amazing. I really do not understand the negative reviews? Then again, I don't straighten my hair, ever. I only use a curling wand for loose curls or waves. This works excellently for me. It makes my waves soft after using the iron and I do believe it is protecting me hair well. It doesn't weigh my waves or curls down, it keeps them staying in place all day long. Hair is NOT crunchy or hard at all !! You do not need to spray a lot... And that's why I gave it 4 stars- it only happened once, but when I sprayed too much (4 sprays) on a certain section of my hair, then one piece came of crunchy looking. Here is the way to prevent that even if you use think you sprayed too much(works for me): you brush through the sections you spray to evenly distribute the product in your hair with a BRUSH. I use a boar bristle brush anytime i use this to distribute it throughout my hair then I use my curling wand :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kimberlyann on 11/28/2012 12:52:00 AM more reviews by kimberlyann

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this at Marshalls so I only paid $9.99 for this. I just bought it because I've never tried CHI products.
----------------------------------------
This spray DEFINITELY makes a difference when I'm flat ironing my hair: it helps my hair to straighten easier and STAY straight, it smoothes out my hair, I have noticed a MAJOR decrease in split ends and it smells fantastic!
----------------------------------------
My only complaint would be that if it gets on anything around you--your skin, hot tools, countertops, etc.--it dries sticky and gunky and you wont notice it until later and it's a pain to clean.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RoseJade on 11/25/2012 7:12:00 PM more reviews by RoseJade

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

Iíve been using this as a heat protectant when I straighten my hair w/ my chi iron for 6 years now. Although Iím not big into straightening my hair nowadays back in the day I would straighten my hair every day and as I kinda grew out of that pin straight look it was a few times a week and now its like twice a month. lol. but every time I straighten I use this and makes it soft, silky, and shiny. Iíve got 3 products by CHI and none of them have let me down and Iíve been using them for years and plan on using them for years to come. Happy hair is healthy hair..ALWAYS must protect ;-)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 junelove on 11/14/2012 11:45:00 AM more reviews by junelove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

There seems to be a lot of mixed reviews on this product. I for one love this product, and I use it together with the Chi Silk Infusion. I think it works great and its optimal for using after you've blow dried your hair but before you start straightening or curling your hair. I like the smell of it and I like that it doesn't make your hair feel heavy or greasy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* geographer on 10/16/2012 11:20:00 AM more reviews by geographer

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

very expensive and as others have said, it does nothing. I do not like the smell at all-it has a weird chemical scent that does not smell like the shampoo or conditioner. The biggest complaint I have is that it contains alcohol, and it definetly makes my bleached/dry hair crunchy and even more dry.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kaylee86 on 5/31/2012 11:41:00 PM more reviews by Kaylee86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This product is great, it smells great and makes my hair soft and shiny. I think the reason why some people say it makes their hair crunchy is as other people have said.. They use to much. I section my hair and make sure its completely dry before apply. I spray 2-3 sprays onto my hands and i rub through each section of hair. I then brush it through when im all finished and then flat iron. My results are excellent! My hair stays straight, no burnt smell :) and it makes my hair sooo sooo soft and shiny. Will def repurchase

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Farouk CHI products

More Styling Products products