Farouk CHI • Chi Iron Guard • Styling Products

rated 3.3(148 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 MRahman119 on 12/18/2011 1:00:00 PM more reviews by MRahman119

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I absolutely love this product and have been using it for years. A lot of people seem to experience a "crackling" when they use this product...this would be true for ANY heat protectant if you do not allow it to dry properly. I section my hair off then spray this in the first section. Give it about 30 seconds to dry (combing through it to detangle seems to speed up drying time) then I proceed to flatiron the section. I repeat this for each section. Hair type might also play a factor in how effective this product is for you. I am Asian and my hair is slightly coarse; this product works great for my hair type.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Soarin on 12/15/2011 8:56:00 AM more reviews by Soarin

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this to protect my hair from heat from my chi-iron and from heat when blow-drying. I bought it at Target were I paid $12 but here in Holland you pay like 15 ($20) for the Same product.

I use it before blow-drying or om dry hair before using my chi Iron. It does nothing for my hair. It leaves a grenst, sticker layer on my hair. It doesn't protect my hair from heat. I Would never buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xxAnjelicaxx on 10/16/2011 2:46:00 AM more reviews by xxAnjelicaxx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not sure if this is for Generic Value Product's version of CHI Iron Guard 44, but GVP @ Sally Beauty Supply, makes generic version of many expensive salon products (including their CHI iron) and use the EXACT same ingredients (but pay $5 a bottle) and amount, this is more economical because CHI is expensive. Okay, and it smells and looks just like brand name CHI iron guard and everything, besides it's the same thing. Well, how I apply it is I gently mist it allover my hair and rub through with my palms before flat ironing or brush through, let it dry, and then flatiron my hair by sections. The smell smells like unisex hair spray (I like it) since some straight guys flatiron their hair, instead of flowery fragrance. My hair's health was preserved during flat ironing (other than existing split ends, which seemed smoothed out some), and my hair was smoother and softer and nicer than flatiron WITHOUT thermal protectant (besides protecting it from heat damage). I got the same results and everything with the GVP version as brand name CHI iron guard. If you use enough, but not too little and allow mist to dry on hair (don't iron when damp from spray, fyi) it should not crackle, fizz or sizzle, or leave hair stiff and sticky.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 turnthisaround on 7/23/2011 11:43:00 PM more reviews by turnthisaround

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I hate this stuff. I got it along with my chi iron about two years ago. I use it on and off because I really want it to work but it just doesn't. No matter how I apply, the result is the same.

Fluffy/poofy soft yet stiff and unmanageable hair. It's like a cheap hairspray. The hair won't move, my iron doesn't glide over my hair, it almost sticks and it's 3x as hard to straighten.
I made the mistake of putting this on wet hair and letting it dry once and my roots were disgusting; sticky, stiff and oily.

I hear my hair sizzle and it becomes even more stiff after "straightening."

I don't notice the smell..guess i'm too focused on how it causes more damage to my hair.
My hair catches more on the iron, breaks, dries out and crimps.

Worst product ever. Don't buy this. there are serums out there for far less money that do a great job.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DollParts7 on 7/23/2011 9:55:00 AM more reviews by DollParts7

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This seems very middle-of-the-spectrum in reviews to me. Personally, I can't stand the smell either. It's supposed to be 'unisex', and I understand that some men do flat iron their hair, and they appreciate not smelling like a flowery woman every time they do (Metrosexuals, woot woot)

However, for me, as a fluffy, pink, powderpuff kind of girl, the scent is gross. And I'd like it to be just a little more feminine. However, the smell actually doesn't stick around that often.

As for the sizzling that I keep hearing, I'm going to say this, you're doing it wrong if your hair is sizzling. That means you've put too much, and ultimately, that means that your hair will end up fried, crunchy, and/or stiff.

So, as some have advised, spray it on your palms and then pat or smooth onto your hair, or do as I do. I divide my very curly hair into sections, and then spray this stuff on. Yes, directly. I comb through it, and then I wait for it to dry.

That's it! Then I use my 410 flat iron (no lower or higher on my cheapie Zoe) and no sizzling. It glides, and my hair is soft and the smell is gone. By the time the entirety of my hair is done, there is hardly any damage and it's soft, smooth, and most importantly, NOT STIFF!

Certainly better than nothing, but why is it that the only heat sprays I've had luck with smell absolutely terrible! Both scents go away, but they're just icky!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 nileena on 5/5/2011 1:03:00 AM more reviews by nileena

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought a travel version of this at my local ULTA while hunting for some good heat defense sprays. I bought the Paul Mitchell heat seal for blow dry- protection, but as a previous reviewer said, it is not to be used as a flat iron protectant.

So after blow drying my fine, dry, damaged, abused, colored,chemically smoothened, over brushed, over processed hair with the Heat Seal, I rubbed in a few drops of Paul Mitchell Skinny Serum on my dry ends to make them happy and then I used the CHI iron guard.

Now, I read a lot of reviews about how the hair "sizzles" after being sprayed with the CHI..by "sizzle" I dont mean in a Beyonce kind of way, rather like water droplets on an ironbox kind of way.. So like a reviewer advised, I sprayed some on to my palm and then rubbed them together and then glided the stuff onto my hair, rather than spraying my hair directly which can leave a lot of product and make hair "sizzle"..It had a faint smell of grandpa cologne..Then I waited for 5 minutes to let my hair dry.. Then I tortured my hair with my T3 single pass......

Aftermath:
Even after all the pampering and precautions, at the end of the second day, I looked like a chicken that's been put in water and licked by a cow. My fine hair was weighed down,flat and oily and my scalp was greasier than a chinese take away box.

Pros
1) Hair is perfectly fine on the first day of use. Only on the first day
2) Hair doesnt seemed to be damaged at all from using my 410 F flat iron. After washing my hair, my hair was not frizzy like it used to be prior to using a heat protectant.
3) Everytime I miss my grandpa, I just unscrew the top of the bottle and take a whiff of this stuff and I am instantly transported back to my childhood ..

Verdict
The force is strong with this iron guard ;) it really protects your hair.. But I am not willing to compromise on the greasiness of this product for my hair-health..

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jstrazishar on 4/30/2011 2:28:00 AM more reviews by jstrazishar

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this from CVS almost a year ago now, and I must say, it just doesn't do it for me.

I'm not one who is really sensitive to smells, and I don't really think it smells bad like other people say, but I never really get averted to smells in products. I could see how people who are even somewhat sensitive to them could get turned off by this. It smells musky and a little strong.

Now on to the performance:
I sectioned my hair to get a nice, even application. Then I straightened with my Solia straightener (which is amazing on my curly hair, btw). No matter how I try to use this stuff differently (using more, less, spraying it on dry or wet hair, blow drying first, etc.) it always seems to leave my hair dry-looking, sticky, and straw-like. My hair turns out better not using a product in it at all versus using this. (I know you should never heat style without a heat protectant, but I was testing to see if it was my straightener that was causing the nasty-ness or the CHI Iron Guard...guess which one it was.)

I can't say if it helps protect my hair, because the spray itself makes my hair just feel unhealthy and crispy.

I keep using it, though...just because I really wanted it to work. I keep thinking "maybe if I use it this way..." but no matter what approach I use, it just doesn't seem to work for me.

Will NOT repurchase, and am looking for a heat protectant that will actually work.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lillibobilly on 4/15/2011 4:37:00 PM more reviews by lillibobilly

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i probably shouldn't be writing a review so soon but i just really wanted to. i used this stuff this morning for the first time to straighten my hair and at first it smelled like a man with really really strong cologne on, but i used it anyway. now i am sitting here feeling my hair over and over again because it feels SOOO good! like my hair is so soft and it's not like chunky. each strand of hair is separated and straight and soft feeling. i gave it a 4 though because i only used it once lol but it's great so far. also the smell (which smells like a man) wears off after you straighten it. but personally, i like the smell :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 dewells on 2/4/2011 4:33:00 PM more reviews by dewells

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I won't be purchasing this product again. It weighed down my fine hair and made it sticky like a bad hairspray. To top that off.. I agree with the other reviews that say it smelled like a man's cologne. There are much better heat protectants on the market for a much lower price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 autumnus88 on 2/4/2011 4:24:00 PM more reviews by autumnus88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I loved this product when I first purchased it, but then I realized it was leaving a ridiculoous amount of residue on my hair! It also made my hair super oily by the end of the day. I like the smell, but the product just isn't what I hoped it'd be.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Farouk CHI products

More Styling Products products