Farouk CHI 44 Chi Iron Guard

3.3

180 reviews

50% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Sodium Polystyrene Sulfonate, SD Alcohol 40-B, Propylene Glycol, Polysorbate 20, PPG-20 Methyl Glucose Ether, Disodium EDTA, Hydrolyzed Silk, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein PG-Propyl Silantriol, Parfum, Diazolidinyl Urea, Methylparaben, Methylisothiazolinone, Ceramic.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Made my hair crunchy and dry like straw, does not work and makes hair worse.



on 1/7/2013 10:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I believe this product is overpriced and not as easy to find as many other competitors. This also did not outperform similar products that I have tried, I believe you are just paying for the brand. I will not repurchase.


on 1/3/2013 4:44:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am really confused by all the negative reviews on this product. For me, it is my holy-grail heat protectant. My hair has a natural wave to it but can get quite frizzy if I don't add at least a little heat to it. Before I blow dry, I spray it evenly throughout my hair. I use a generous amount but not to the point where my hair turns crunchy. I then brush my hair for the product to be spread evenly. On average, I probably use heat on my hair 2-3 times a week, whether it'd be a blow dryer or straightener/curler. This product does my hair wonders. I got it cut about 2 months ago and have ZERO damage because of this product. Love it so much!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/31/2012 1:20:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Cool

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Alright, this product has a lot of negative reviews, and I can see why because I experienced most of the complaints with previous uses: sticky, dry, crunchy hair. Hair that became wet again from how concentrated the mist is. However, all these issues were fixed with two things, and they were hair serum and mechanical usage.


On average, I probably straighten my hair 2-3x a year. My hair is healthy but is naturally dry and porous, extremely dense and thick, coarse, kinky-curly, and reaches my bra strap when straight (only shoulder length when curly though). Needless to say, the process of straightening it is time consuming and varies widely. Salons usually have to straighten my hair three times just to get it "bone straight", so I'm not exaggerating. But anyway, the first few times I used this heat protectant it left my hair feeling dry, fried, and crunchy. I could tell it wasn't a complete dud of a product though, because when I washed my hair afterwards there was no hint of heat damage so at least it delivered on that much. So, I blow dried and flat ironed my hair last night using this and decided to change up the routine. I sprayed a couple spritzes onto my damp hair section by section, combed through it with my denman, added a bit of serum, and blowdried it. I repeated the same steps with flat ironing, except instead of spraying it right at my hair I sprayed the bottle about 3 times into my palm, rubbed them together,and applied it with my hands. It defeats the purpose of a spray bottle but hey, it works for me, and my hair was left soft, sleek, and smooth. I also didn't feel like I was frying my hair because there wasn't any of that sizzling that can happen when your hair has too much product/ is too wet for the flat iron. So, since i figured it out, I like it.


But, as far as repurchasing goes, I do know that there are probably better heat protectants out there for a fraction of the price, so I'll pass. I have no problem finishing this bottle though, and since I rarely use heat on my hair I'll probably have it for a long time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/30/2012 3:29:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

i like this product, does not leave any sticky residue that other heat protectants leave behind sometimes. *IMPORTANT* to note that just because you use this product does not mean your hair is invincible from all damage. I have seriously fried my hair from using excess heat on it even though i thoroughly & generously apply this product every time.


on 11/28/2012 11:18:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is amazing. I really do not understand the negative reviews? Then again, I don't straighten my hair, ever. I only use a curling wand for loose curls or waves. This works excellently for me. It makes my waves soft after using the iron and I do believe it is protecting me hair well. It doesn't weigh my waves or curls down, it keeps them staying in place all day long. Hair is NOT crunchy or hard at all !! You do not need to spray a lot... And that's why I gave it 4 stars- it only happened once, but when I sprayed too much (4 sprays) on a certain section of my hair, then one piece came of crunchy looking. Here is the way to prevent that even if you use think you sprayed too much(works for me): you brush through the sections you spray to evenly distribute the product in your hair with a BRUSH. I use a boar bristle brush anytime i use this to distribute it throughout my hair then I use my curling wand :)


on 11/28/2012 12:52:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I purchased this at Marshalls so I only paid $9.99 for this. I just bought it because I've never tried CHI products.
----------------------------------------
This spray DEFINITELY makes a difference when I'm flat ironing my hair: it helps my hair to straighten easier and STAY straight, it smoothes out my hair, I have noticed a MAJOR decrease in split ends and it smells fantastic!
----------------------------------------
My only complaint would be that if it gets on anything around you--your skin, hot tools, countertops, etc.--it dries sticky and gunky and you wont notice it until later and it's a pain to clean.


on 11/25/2012 7:12:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

Iíve been using this as a heat protectant when I straighten my hair w/ my chi iron for 6 years now. Although Iím not big into straightening my hair nowadays back in the day I would straighten my hair every day and as I kinda grew out of that pin straight look it was a few times a week and now its like twice a month. lol. but every time I straighten I use this and makes it soft, silky, and shiny. Iíve got 3 products by CHI and none of them have let me down and Iíve been using them for years and plan on using them for years to come. Happy hair is healthy hair..ALWAYS must protect ;-)


on 11/14/2012 11:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

There seems to be a lot of mixed reviews on this product. I for one love this product, and I use it together with the Chi Silk Infusion. I think it works great and its optimal for using after you've blow dried your hair but before you start straightening or curling your hair. I like the smell of it and I like that it doesn't make your hair feel heavy or greasy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/16/2012 11:20:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

very expensive and as others have said, it does nothing. I do not like the smell at all-it has a weird chemical scent that does not smell like the shampoo or conditioner. The biggest complaint I have is that it contains alcohol, and it definetly makes my bleached/dry hair crunchy and even more dry.




Top Rated Farouk CHI Products

Back to Top