Banana Boat • Summer Color Sunless Lotion Deep Dark • Self Tanners

rated 4.1(104 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Aylapc on 8/5/2013 1:15:00 AM more reviews by Aylapc

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Grey    

So upsetting! This was my favorite self tanner in the world! I've been using it for over a year now but recently I've started breaking out in hives from it. Don't know if they changed their formula up or my skin just built up an allergy to it but it's still quite a bummer.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mewables on 7/25/2013 5:31:00 AM more reviews by Mewables

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Love this product! I got lucky and bought a bunch of these at the 99 cent store, stocked up because that's over 80% off retail. If I ran out, I'd still buy it at the full price. Gives great, even color. Dries fast. I actually love the smell, I find myself sniffing my legs hours after application haha. I only use this on my legs, so I can't vouch for how well it works on face, I always stuck with contouring bronzer for my face. It even looks nice as it fades, lasts pretty long, too, if you don't exfoliate. I'd apply 2-3 layers back when I was really pale (I'm Asian, so my previously pale skin looked weird with my yellow undertones). I finally got a good tan, but still layer a coat of this on top for nights out.

DHA (dihydroxyacetone, active ingredient) in self tanners can cause dry skin, I get a bit ashy around my ankles and knees if I apply more than one layer. Nothing a dab of body butter doesn't fix.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 saraminebowen on 7/10/2013 1:58:00 PM more reviews by saraminebowen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This self tanner clogged my pores and is really streaky if you're not over-meticulous when applying. The only reason I gave it a 3 overall is because it truly does not have the nasty self tanner smell after it's been on you for an hour, and it does give a nice color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* brownsugarncutie on 7/7/2013 5:58:00 PM more reviews by brownsugarncutie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

VERY IMPRESSED!!!
Even though I am asian, I am very very pale naturally. My natural skin tone, especially on my face, is almost paper white. Although I do like my natural skin color, there are times when I want to be a bit tanner. Back in high school, I discovered self-tanners and tried several of the leading brands out during one summer. I tried Jergens (natural glow, mousse, face lotion), L'oreal, Malibu Hemp(?), etc.

It didn't take me long to decide that this whole self-tanning thing wasn't worth all the trouble. My biggest complaint was that the color that I was getting from every product didn't look natural. Every single one of them had an unnatural orange tint. The second issue was that I couldn't bear being all sticky and smelly after putting on self-tanner for HOURS. The third issue was that none of them seemed to work on my face and on my body, the 'tan' would leave me with white patches if I didn't keep up with it.

Anyway, I decided to try self tanners again this summer after moving to LA from the east coast. I got this product in light/medium and dark at CVS and tested them out both. I am pretty pale so I was a bit scared of the dark but it ended up being the better of the two for me. I am completely amazed at the color that I get from the 'dark' version of this product! It looks SO natural on me and blends in perfectly with my naturally tanned arms. It also dries very quickly and I can get dressed in about 5 minutes. WOW. I am going to stock up on this product.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hernana on 7/2/2013 4:15:00 PM more reviews by hernana

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I can't think of anything I don't like about this product. I had been using L'oreal Bronze Goddess for several years, and disliked it so much that I couldn't bear to buy it again. Everything I disliked about Bronze Goddess is corrected with Summer Color. Summer Color has no nasty odor, no sparkles whatsoever, no greasy feel, and doesn't irritate freshly shaven legs. It also dries quickly, tans fast, and the tan lasts a long time. It costs about $7 at Walmart. What's not to like?

ETA: The L'Oreal product is not Bronze Goddess, it is Sublime Bronze.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BriannaSmith on 7/2/2013 1:36:00 PM more reviews by BriannaSmith

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

For around $10 a bottle, this is one of the better self tanners out there in my opinion. The Jergens line doesn't even begin to compare!

Applying this product is pretty easy. You have to blend it a little but it's not too bad.

The smell isn't wonderful (especially as the DHA develops) but it's tolerable.

The color I get from this product is a nice, medium shade of bronze. It's dark enough to get noticed, but not overbearingly so.

While I think there are some better "higher-end" self tanners, this one is a pretty good value given its low price :)

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Abeyxx on 6/25/2013 6:48:00 PM more reviews by Abeyxx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Ok so......
I am the Christopher Columbis of self tanners after a summer of UV sunlight deep dark tan on my very very pale European decedent skin I got some sun spots aggghhh then thought do I want to look like a leather bag when I am older no! So started my quest to find the best self tanner I have tried every product out there even order ones from Australia and England (I am in Canada).

Alright on to the Banana Boat; This will give you a nice color, if you apply it around 4-5 days in a row and I like to have my tummy and back as well so the tube is a little small as I am not just a leg and arm tanner. IT DOES NOT SMELL LIKE TURPENITNE (Jergens Loriel)......
It does have a teeny tiny smell but is ok if you put on before bed. EXFOLIATE before application and MOISTURIZE like crazy for days after. It does rub off and look like patchy alligator skin. I always ensure my pores are completely closed before application wait roughly an hour after hot bath but this stuff gathers in my pores. I think it is purely skin type as I have used others that don't. It’s unfortunate because it's such a wicked price and one of the BETTER drugstore brands. I would recommend trying one tube before you stock up so overall great for a cheap selfless tanner but because it made me look like I had blackheads all over my legs you need to do a test run. If this had not happened I would for sure purchase again and use in between my more expensive brands.

Good Luck and Happy Sunless Tanning Peeps

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 beckaaayyy on 6/21/2013 2:30:00 AM more reviews by beckaaayyy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Where do I start? Oh, maybe with ORANGE. Why are there so many good reviews for this? I guess people aren't realizing that their skin looks ridiculous. I mean, I already have NC30 olive skin. I can't imagine how it would make anyone with lighter skin look! Anyway, on top of that lovely aspect, this never actually dries completely. I went to bed with this on after applying it a couple hours before, and I felt like I was sticking to EVERYTHING. Now, I hate to be one of those "self tanning smell" complainers, but good grief, it's alive and well. This stuff and the L' Oreal Sublime Bronze are what drove me away from the drugstore when it comes to self tanners. Other than all of that nonsense, the lasting power wasn't as bad as the color, however I got patchy on the insides of my arms. Just don't waste your time or $6.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nicadele on 6/16/2013 7:00:00 PM more reviews by nicadele

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

This is by far and away the best drugstore self-tanner as far as the most natural-looking color. I am a yellow-green olive light skintone and the usual orange tinted drugstore self tanners look so fake on me I feel like an oompa-loompa, not flattering (I'm talking to you, Loreal!) For half the price of regular self tanners this imparts a true tan-brown color.

It is somewhat buildable in color but there is definitely a max color you will hit.

Negatives - I was using every other day to max color and I developed a skin rash, I don't recommend using more than once every few days. Also, the color didn't fade away evenly, I was splotchy as the color faded, so that was a disappointment. In flash photography I still looked as white as my natural color, so the cameras don't seem to pick up the tan at all in flash.

But ultimately, the quick color payoff wow factor make this product completely recommendable, especially for short term!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 midwestmakeup14 on 6/16/2013 4:00:00 PM more reviews by midwestmakeup14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I cannot say enough good things about this self tanner. I am seriously pale naturally, and EVERY other tanner I have previously tried (including the light/medium version of this) has turned me orange or yellow. Neither of which looks natural on me, having a pink undertone. But this is the lovely exception! Just after one application, I go up about 2 foundation shades. It stays on for about a week with maybe one other application. And it fades very naturally. I have had zero problems with streaking applying this with both my bare hands, and gloves. However, I do recommend gloves, as this WILL stain your palms. It does have the dreaded self tanner smell, but it's not unbearable, and it only lasts a few hours. Definite summer must have for caspers like me!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Banana Boat products

More Self Tanners products