Banana Boat • Summer Color Sunless Lotion Deep Dark • Self Tanners

rated 4.2(94 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 astrogoob on 6/9/2013 6:51:00 PM more reviews by astrogoob

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the stuff. It's easy to use, and works great on my blindingly pale legs. I used tight-fitting nitrile gloves for application, and haven't had a streak yet. Don't let the "deep dark" label scare you! Thin applications impart a nice, slight tan which evenly fades to nothing after about 4 or 5 days. I haven't done so yet, but I imagine that applying a couple nights in a row would increase the color. I plan on doing so in the future.
-
Slight tanner smell a couple hours after application, but none the next day. Sweet deal. Exfoliate like a mad lady before you apply, and I suspect you won't find any patchiness ever.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* deadonarrivals on 6/3/2013 10:28:00 AM more reviews by deadonarrivals

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Fantastic and inexpensive! What more would you want? You are looking at a long time tanning bed user (15 years!) I do have olive skin already and tan pretty easily but since prom season back in the day, I grew obsessed with tanning salons. Thankfully I stopped going all together about a year ago. I played around with a few drugstore self tanning creams but they were all a complete ugly fail. Orange skin, streaky skin, smelly skin and or glittery skin. No no no! I've heard good things about this banana boat cream on mua so I decided to give it a try. AMAZING results even for this newbie! I questioned the "universal shade" because I'm naturally NC42 and didn't think I would get any color payoff with this. However, after the first application, I got a shade darker. After two applications which was done 12 hours in between, I was pleased with the final result which was a very natural bronzed color. No orange, no glitter and this only has a very faint smell to it. I love that this is also oil-free and I can apply it to my face as well. My only advice would be to buy some disposable gloves to apply this so you don't stain your hands. Love this self-tanning cream. 10 lippies!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 danielajs on 6/3/2013 9:02:00 AM more reviews by danielajs

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm naturally pretty fair and this gives me a nice golden glow. I apply it at night after showering and using a body scrub. It absorbs quickly and since it's tinted, it's easy to tell where I've applied it. Sometimes I mix it with lotion for more subtle color. In the morning, when I wake up, there is only a very slight smell. I doubt that anyone else notices, but after I do a quick rinse off in the shower, there is no smell at all. I mix it with a light moisturizer when I put it on my face, and I've not broken out from it. It's great! The color fades pretty evenly on my body, but I exfoliate my face regularly, so I have to reapply it there more often. Bottom line: It's inexpensive, doesn't smell funky, and makes it look like I have an actual tan from the sun. This is my favorite self tanner by far.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 moonbeam36 on 6/1/2013 9:29:00 AM more reviews by moonbeam36

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

This self tanner is really the best I have used, and I have tried a lot of them. It blends well and is easy to rub in. You don't want to over-rub or it will ball up, but just make sure you have blended it enough so you don't see any weird streaks or darker spots before moving onto the next body part. The reason I love this and choose this over expensive brands, is that my husband says it is the most natural one I have ever tried and I have tried a lot! He hates self tanner and despises the smell and thinks it is kind of silly that I self tan, so his opinion is critical for self tanner. If he says this stuff is the best one, I believe him! LOL!

I did go through a phase where I thought this was slightly orange though. It isn't. You just need to make sure you don't use this too many days in a row. I am fair skinned and one application overnight is the perfect color for Winter. In the Summer, I will use this on Sunday night and then apply a second coat on Monday night and then use this about every 5 days to maintain color. This is not a daily self tanner. You will only need to use this twice in a row if you want a deep tan. If you try to do it daily, you will be orange. So, take that into consideration and don't be skeptical to try this at all because it is cheap and you will be so happy to save money and still have nice natural color. I do use this on my face and sometimes it breaks me out, but it is not too bad. I apply my regular facial moisturizer before applying this and let that dry and then apply this to my face. If you are fair, I think you will be really happy trying this self tanner out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* angiee0215 on 5/28/2013 11:37:00 AM more reviews by angiee0215

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

So I am new to self tanning. I am an NC15-20 normally. I wanted to look tan this summer. I tried bath and body works and Jergens. While I love my Jergens, I don't like having to apply it daily. I love this stuff. I wear it about 2-3 days before I shower exfoliate and apply another coat. It gives my NC15 a nice NC30 glow. It really does develop in 4 hours. Last week, when I messed up on my tan and i was going out that night, at 4pm, I took a shower and scrubbed off my tan and put this banana boat stuff on and by 9pm I had a gorgeous even glow for clubbing. I put it on my face without any acne or breakout issues. It is streak free but washing hands after and moisturizing elbows, ankles, feet and knees is a must to prevent those areas from appearing darker. I am a runner and so I have to shower everyday. So, I have to apply it more often than the packaging says. Also, I will exfoliate and reapply BEFORE it starts to fade or come off patchy to prevent having to fix anything. I have a pale olive undertone and it does have an olive undertone, so I find it looks natural on me. Also, it does have a color guard and it will come off in the shower the next morning.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Cshade09 on 5/19/2013 11:11:00 PM more reviews by Cshade09

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I just purchased this today, after reading a recommendation on Pintrest. I exfoliated and applied it tonight and I must say I am impressed. I was a bit nervous since it was a lotion (lower quality lotions just never worked for me, I'm pretty good with self tanner but I just got the feeling my skin was too dry for lotion) but it went on evenly and absorbed quickly. I am Irish and do not tan at all. I'm not pasty white per se, more pinkish undertones with a few freckles. Naturally a strawberry blond. Needless to say, if I want a tan, it has to be a 'fake' one. Last summer my product of choice was Fake Bakes Unisex gel bronzer. Which always applied evenly and naturally and NEVER was streaky even tho it took HOURS to dry and left me so sticky my sheets would get stuck to my body. I think I will be trying Banana Boat this summer! I love the price and the texture.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hollister4432 on 5/4/2013 9:15:00 AM more reviews by hollister4432

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I applied this one time and I got 10+ compliments on how tan I looked. A couple of them asked how I was so tan, and most of them assumed I went to a tanning bed. When I told them of this product they were shocked it was self tanner. I used latex gloves to apply this and made sure to use lotion and Vaseline on my joints. I also exfoliated before applying this. I was left with no streaks and the smell does smell like self tanner, but it isn't too bad. Doesn't make you look orange, as I am originally pale with freckles to begin with. This is an amazing product and I'm so glad I picked it up. For only about 7 dollars you cannot go wrong.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ayla on 4/27/2013 11:00:00 PM more reviews by Ayla

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this every day for a week after my shower. I mix it ( about a dollop the size of a quarter of each) in the palm of my hand with my favoirite body lotion -Skin So Soft Firm Restore Body Lotion.and apply.to each area at a time This combo not only firms my skin but the self tanner gives me a nice tan . I haven't had any steaking and love the scent.I have not used this self tanner before but the reviews were good on all boards so I'm glad I went along with them..I'll give it another few days of applications and then update this review.I do tan easily but if you're very fair skinned I would suggest using the Light/Medium.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 livenlaugh365 on 4/9/2013 6:39:00 PM more reviews by livenlaugh365

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I just purchased this product recently and I love it!! After about 2 weeks of trying to do bed tanning (for the first time ever, yes I know it's terrible for you) I had broken out in a rash on my legs, and was becoming more pink than anything else. This product is AMAZING!! It balanced out my redness, giving me the look I was going for and it's incredibly easy to apply. I've tried using the Jergen's Natural glow on multiple occasions and didn't like anything about, so I wasn't sure about this. I literally cannot say enough good things. If you're someone who tends to "pink" rather than tan, try this!! It's almost idiot proof as far as application, and you can't beat the price. Just make sure to moisturize your elbows, knees, etc. first, that way there won't be excess color going there.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 casey612 on 4/8/2013 11:54:00 PM more reviews by casey612

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have literally been using this product for 3 days and I am already in love with it. I have used various self tanners in the past (Jergens, Victoria's Secret, Bath and Body Works, L'oreal, etc.) I have found that with many others, there is a strong smell, and I tend to get streaks. This self tanner has already made me go from pale to bronze in a matter of days, and so far I have zero streaks. I love this product!! It is a great find!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Banana Boat products

More Self Tanners products