Banana Boat • Summer Color Sunless Lotion Deep Dark • Self Tanners

rated 4.1(99 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 BriannaSmith on 7/2/2013 1:36:00 PM more reviews by BriannaSmith

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

For around $10 a bottle, this is one of the better self tanners out there in my opinion. The Jergens line doesn't even begin to compare!

Applying this product is pretty easy. You have to blend it a little but it's not too bad.

The smell isn't wonderful (especially as the DHA develops) but it's tolerable.

The color I get from this product is a nice, medium shade of bronze. It's dark enough to get noticed, but not overbearingly so.

While I think there are some better "higher-end" self tanners, this one is a pretty good value given its low price :)

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Abeyxx on 6/25/2013 6:48:00 PM more reviews by Abeyxx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Ok so......
I am the Christopher Columbis of self tanners after a summer of UV sunlight deep dark tan on my very very pale European decedent skin I got some sun spots aggghhh then thought do I want to look like a leather bag when I am older no! So started my quest to find the best self tanner I have tried every product out there even order ones from Australia and England (I am in Canada).

Alright on to the Banana Boat; This will give you a nice color, if you apply it around 4-5 days in a row and I like to have my tummy and back as well so the tube is a little small as I am not just a leg and arm tanner. IT DOES NOT SMELL LIKE TURPENITNE (Jergens Loriel)......
It does have a teeny tiny smell but is ok if you put on before bed. EXFOLIATE before application and MOISTURIZE like crazy for days after. It does rub off and look like patchy alligator skin. I always ensure my pores are completely closed before application wait roughly an hour after hot bath but this stuff gathers in my pores. I think it is purely skin type as I have used others that don't. It’s unfortunate because it's such a wicked price and one of the BETTER drugstore brands. I would recommend trying one tube before you stock up so overall great for a cheap selfless tanner but because it made me look like I had blackheads all over my legs you need to do a test run. If this had not happened I would for sure purchase again and use in between my more expensive brands.

Good Luck and Happy Sunless Tanning Peeps

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 beckaaayyy on 6/21/2013 2:30:00 AM more reviews by beckaaayyy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Where do I start? Oh, maybe with ORANGE. Why are there so many good reviews for this? I guess people aren't realizing that their skin looks ridiculous. I mean, I already have NC30 olive skin. I can't imagine how it would make anyone with lighter skin look! Anyway, on top of that lovely aspect, this never actually dries completely. I went to bed with this on after applying it a couple hours before, and I felt like I was sticking to EVERYTHING. Now, I hate to be one of those "self tanning smell" complainers, but good grief, it's alive and well. This stuff and the L' Oreal Sublime Bronze are what drove me away from the drugstore when it comes to self tanners. Other than all of that nonsense, the lasting power wasn't as bad as the color, however I got patchy on the insides of my arms. Just don't waste your time or $6.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nicadele on 6/16/2013 7:00:00 PM more reviews by nicadele

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

This is by far and away the best drugstore self-tanner as far as the most natural-looking color. I am a yellow-green olive light skintone and the usual orange tinted drugstore self tanners look so fake on me I feel like an oompa-loompa, not flattering (I'm talking to you, Loreal!) For half the price of regular self tanners this imparts a true tan-brown color.

It is somewhat buildable in color but there is definitely a max color you will hit.

Negatives - I was using every other day to max color and I developed a skin rash, I don't recommend using more than once every few days. Also, the color didn't fade away evenly, I was splotchy as the color faded, so that was a disappointment. In flash photography I still looked as white as my natural color, so the cameras don't seem to pick up the tan at all in flash.

But ultimately, the quick color payoff wow factor make this product completely recommendable, especially for short term!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 midwestmakeup14 on 6/16/2013 4:00:00 PM more reviews by midwestmakeup14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I cannot say enough good things about this self tanner. I am seriously pale naturally, and EVERY other tanner I have previously tried (including the light/medium version of this) has turned me orange or yellow. Neither of which looks natural on me, having a pink undertone. But this is the lovely exception! Just after one application, I go up about 2 foundation shades. It stays on for about a week with maybe one other application. And it fades very naturally. I have had zero problems with streaking applying this with both my bare hands, and gloves. However, I do recommend gloves, as this WILL stain your palms. It does have the dreaded self tanner smell, but it's not unbearable, and it only lasts a few hours. Definite summer must have for caspers like me!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 astrogoob on 6/9/2013 6:51:00 PM more reviews by astrogoob

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the stuff. It's easy to use, and works great on my blindingly pale legs. I used tight-fitting nitrile gloves for application, and haven't had a streak yet. Don't let the "deep dark" label scare you! Thin applications impart a nice, slight tan which evenly fades to nothing after about 4 or 5 days. I haven't done so yet, but I imagine that applying a couple nights in a row would increase the color. I plan on doing so in the future.
-
Slight tanner smell a couple hours after application, but none the next day. Sweet deal. Exfoliate like a mad lady before you apply, and I suspect you won't find any patchiness ever.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* deadonarrivals on 6/3/2013 10:28:00 AM more reviews by deadonarrivals

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Fantastic and inexpensive! What more would you want? You are looking at a long time tanning bed user (15 years!) I do have olive skin already and tan pretty easily but since prom season back in the day, I grew obsessed with tanning salons. Thankfully I stopped going all together about a year ago. I played around with a few drugstore self tanning creams but they were all a complete ugly fail. Orange skin, streaky skin, smelly skin and or glittery skin. No no no! I've heard good things about this banana boat cream on mua so I decided to give it a try. AMAZING results even for this newbie! I questioned the "universal shade" because I'm naturally NC42 and didn't think I would get any color payoff with this. However, after the first application, I got a shade darker. After two applications which was done 12 hours in between, I was pleased with the final result which was a very natural bronzed color. No orange, no glitter and this only has a very faint smell to it. I love that this is also oil-free and I can apply it to my face as well. My only advice would be to buy some disposable gloves to apply this so you don't stain your hands. Love this self-tanning cream. 10 lippies!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 danielajs on 6/3/2013 9:02:00 AM more reviews by danielajs

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm naturally pretty fair and this gives me a nice golden glow. I apply it at night after showering and using a body scrub. It absorbs quickly and since it's tinted, it's easy to tell where I've applied it. Sometimes I mix it with lotion for more subtle color. In the morning, when I wake up, there is only a very slight smell. I doubt that anyone else notices, but after I do a quick rinse off in the shower, there is no smell at all. I mix it with a light moisturizer when I put it on my face, and I've not broken out from it. It's great! The color fades pretty evenly on my body, but I exfoliate my face regularly, so I have to reapply it there more often. Bottom line: It's inexpensive, doesn't smell funky, and makes it look like I have an actual tan from the sun. This is my favorite self tanner by far.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 moonbeam36 on 6/1/2013 9:29:00 AM more reviews by moonbeam36

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

I just wanted to write a new review on this product as I did an old one and have to say that this is the best self tanner hands down for the price. I noticed that they did re-formulate this product, however it works the same if not slightly better. I did my left arm in the old tube and my right arm in the new tube with the different formula, and I think the new formula is a hint darker and the smell is a tad lighter and not as strong. After trying many self tanners and paying lots of money on the ones that claim they are the darkest and best, this one is still better. I find that if you exfoliate well the day you apply and also moisturize your skin a half hour before you apply this, you will have zero issues with application. It's goof proof. This product is not like Jergens though. You don't want to apply this every single day. It leaves you about 2 shades darker after just one application. You can apply this 2 nights in a row for a really dark tan if that is what you are looking for, but for pale ladies, one application is sufficient. Exfoliate 3 days after applying this and apply again to maintain the same color and keep it looking nice. So basically applying this twice a week is all you need to do to stay tan and about the same color. If you can't keep up with the tanning, make sure to lightly exfoliate every other day or so to let this fade evenly because no matter what, if you don't you will experience some kind of blotchiness. You can't avoid that with self tanners. I will say that I hate the tube packaging and would prefer a pump. Pumps are easier to keep track of how much you are using so that you can get even distribution on both sides of your body. Other than that, this is great. It puts all the other companies to shame with how cheap this is.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* angiee0215 on 5/28/2013 11:37:00 AM more reviews by angiee0215

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

So I am new to self tanning. I am an NC15-20 normally. I wanted to look tan this summer. I tried bath and body works and Jergens. While I love my Jergens, I don't like having to apply it daily. I love this stuff. I wear it about 2-3 days before I shower exfoliate and apply another coat. It gives my NC15 a nice NC30 glow. It really does develop in 4 hours. Last week, when I messed up on my tan and i was going out that night, at 4pm, I took a shower and scrubbed off my tan and put this banana boat stuff on and by 9pm I had a gorgeous even glow for clubbing. I put it on my face without any acne or breakout issues. It is streak free but washing hands after and moisturizing elbows, ankles, feet and knees is a must to prevent those areas from appearing darker. I am a runner and so I have to shower everyday. So, I have to apply it more often than the packaging says. Also, I will exfoliate and reapply BEFORE it starts to fade or come off patchy to prevent having to fix anything. I have a pale olive undertone and it does have an olive undertone, so I find it looks natural on me. Also, it does have a color guard and it will come off in the shower the next morning.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Banana Boat products

More Self Tanners products