Banana Boat Summer Color Sunless Lotion Deep Dark

4.1

103 reviews

79% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Dihydroxyacetone, Capric/Caprylic Stearic Triglyceride, Propylene Glycol, C12 15 Alkyl Benzoate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Stearyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG 100 Stearate, Petrolatum, VP Dimethiconylacrylate Polycarbamyl Polyglycol Ester, Caramel, Aloe Vera (Aloe Barbadensis) Leaf Juice, Stearic Acid, Tocopherol (Natural Vitamin E) (Vitamin E), PEG 7 Glyceryl Cocoate, Dimethicone, Steareth 20, Steareth 2, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Butylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, Citric Acid, Disodium EDTA, Fragrance, Lawsonia Inermis (Henna) Extract (Henna)


on 8/17/2013 7:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

THIS STUFF IS THE BEST SELF TANNER I HAVE EVER USED! AND ONLY COSTS 6 BUCKS! AMAZING PRODUCT!



on 8/14/2013 10:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Holy Crap. This is the best sunless tanner I have ever used -- bar none. Let me say, as an extremely pale girl, I have bought my fair share of sunless tanners (and even gone for multiple professional ones). I'll be sticking with this one, for forever. And as a bonus, it's cheaper than most I've tried, too.
I swear, you have to try to get this lotion to streak -- it blends so flawlessly you really need to screw up for a streak (which I have done, and even when it happens, it isn't some orangey line -- it just looks slightly darker in one area).
The color is impeccable -- I (pale) use the one for dark skin, and still people think it looks completely natural (two separate compliment on how I look like I've been out in the sun!). It isn't orange in the least, it actually is a pleasant TAN-brown color, so far different from other lotions. I've also noticed it looks much better than sunless tans from salons, and fades much more naturally. When it does fade, it takes a while -- I find I don't need to reapply as often as I did with Nivea or Jergins products. It has better staying power. Finally, the smell is literally the best of all tanners I've used, with a mild lemony scent that fades over time, and doesn't scent my clothes (scents really bother me, so trust me on this). The consistency is basically that of any lotion-tanner, although I do think that it absorbs slightly faster and leaves me less greasy than others. I don't feel slick 30 minutes after application like I have with some others.

Verdict: I need to buy more. Now.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/5/2013 1:15:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

So upsetting! This was my favorite self tanner in the world! I've been using it for over a year now but recently I've started breaking out in hives from it. Don't know if they changed their formula up or my skin just built up an allergy to it but it's still quite a bummer.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/25/2013 5:31:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Love this product! I got lucky and bought a bunch of these at the 99 cent store, stocked up because that's over 80% off retail. If I ran out, I'd still buy it at the full price. Gives great, even color. Dries fast. I actually love the smell, I find myself sniffing my legs hours after application haha. I only use this on my legs, so I can't vouch for how well it works on face, I always stuck with contouring bronzer for my face. It even looks nice as it fades, lasts pretty long, too, if you don't exfoliate. I'd apply 2-3 layers back when I was really pale (I'm Asian, so my previously pale skin looked weird with my yellow undertones). I finally got a good tan, but still layer a coat of this on top for nights out.

DHA (dihydroxyacetone, active ingredient) in self tanners can cause dry skin, I get a bit ashy around my ankles and knees if I apply more than one layer. Nothing a dab of body butter doesn't fix.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This self tanner clogged my pores and is really streaky if you're not over-meticulous when applying. The only reason I gave it a 3 overall is because it truly does not have the nasty self tanner smell after it's been on you for an hour, and it does give a nice color.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

VERY IMPRESSED!!!
Even though I am asian, I am very very pale naturally. My natural skin tone, especially on my face, is almost paper white. Although I do like my natural skin color, there are times when I want to be a bit tanner. Back in high school, I discovered self-tanners and tried several of the leading brands out during one summer. I tried Jergens (natural glow, mousse, face lotion), L'oreal, Malibu Hemp(?), etc.

It didn't take me long to decide that this whole self-tanning thing wasn't worth all the trouble. My biggest complaint was that the color that I was getting from every product didn't look natural. Every single one of them had an unnatural orange tint. The second issue was that I couldn't bear being all sticky and smelly after putting on self-tanner for HOURS. The third issue was that none of them seemed to work on my face and on my body, the 'tan' would leave me with white patches if I didn't keep up with it.

Anyway, I decided to try self tanners again this summer after moving to LA . I got this product in light/medium and dark at CVS and tested them out both. I am pretty pale so I was a bit scared of the dark but it ended up being the better of the two for me. I am completely amazed at the color that I get from the 'dark' version of this product! It looks SO natural on me and blends in perfectly with my naturally tanned arms. It also dries very quickly and I can get dressed in about 5 minutes. WOW. I am going to stock up on this product.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 7/2/2013 4:15:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I can't think of anything I don't like about this product. I had been using L'oreal Bronze Goddess for several years, and disliked it so much that I couldn't bear to buy it again. Everything I disliked about Bronze Goddess is corrected with Summer Color. Summer Color has no nasty odor, no sparkles whatsoever, no greasy feel, and doesn't irritate freshly shaven legs. It also dries quickly, tans fast, and the tan lasts a long time. It costs about $7 at Walmart. What's not to like?

ETA: The L'Oreal product is not Bronze Goddess, it is Sublime Bronze.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/25/2013 6:48:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Ok so......
I am the Christopher Columbis of self tanners after a summer of UV sunlight deep dark tan on my very very pale European decedent skin I got some sun spots aggghhh then thought do I want to look like a leather bag when I am older no! So started my quest to find the best self tanner I have tried every product out there even order ones from Australia and England (I am in Canada).

Alright on to the Banana Boat; This will give you a nice color, if you apply it around 4-5 days in a row and I like to have my tummy and back as well so the tube is a little small as I am not just a leg and arm tanner. IT DOES NOT SMELL LIKE TURPENITNE (Jergens Loriel)......
It does have a teeny tiny smell but is ok if you put on before bed. EXFOLIATE before application and MOISTURIZE like crazy for days after. It does rub off and look like patchy alligator skin. I always ensure my pores are completely closed before application wait roughly an hour after hot bath but this stuff gathers in my pores. I think it is purely skin type as I have used others that don't. It’s unfortunate because it's such a wicked price and one of the BETTER drugstore brands. I would recommend trying one tube before you stock up so overall great for a cheap selfless tanner but because it made me look like I had blackheads all over my legs you need to do a test run. If this had not happened I would for sure purchase again and use in between my more expensive brands.

Good Luck and Happy Sunless Tanning Peeps

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/21/2013 2:30:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Where do I start? Oh, maybe with ORANGE. Why are there so many good reviews for this? I guess people aren't realizing that their skin looks ridiculous. I mean, I already have NC30 olive skin. I can't imagine how it would make anyone with lighter skin look! Anyway, on top of that lovely aspect, this never actually dries completely. I went to bed with this on after applying it a couple hours before, and I felt like I was sticking to EVERYTHING. Now, I hate to be one of those "self tanning smell" complainers, but good grief, it's alive and well. This stuff and the L' Oreal Sublime Bronze are what drove me away from the drugstore when it comes to self tanners. Other than all of that nonsense, the lasting power wasn't as bad as the color, however I got patchy on the insides of my arms. Just don't waste your time or $6.


on 6/16/2013 7:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is by far and away the best drugstore self-tanner as far as the most natural-looking color. I am a yellow-green olive light skintone and the usual orange tinted drugstore self tanners look so fake on me I feel like an oompa-loompa, not flattering (I'm talking to you, Loreal!) For half the price of regular self tanners this imparts a true tan-brown color.

It is somewhat buildable in color but there is definitely a max color you will hit.

Negatives - I was using every other day to max color and I developed a skin rash, I don't recommend using more than once every few days. Also, the color didn't fade away evenly, I was splotchy as the color faded, so that was a disappointment. In flash photography I still looked as white as my natural color, so the cameras don't seem to pick up the tan at all in flash.

But ultimately, the quick color payoff wow factor make this product completely recommendable, especially for short term!




Top Rated Banana Boat Products

Back to Top