Neutrogena • Oil-Free Acne Stress Control 3-in-1 Hydrating Acne Treatment • Treatments

rated 4.0(500 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 jenerett on 2/26/2013 5:15:00 PM more reviews by jenerett

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I just discovered this product last week only to realize it's been discontinued. I was bummed. I saw soooo many great review on it that I really felt like I missed out. I went and bought Clean and Clear ADVANTAGE Oil Absorbing Treatment.

But the scent of it is WAY too strong and it lingers.

Well, as I was searching for another BHA product, I saw that walgreens website is still selling the Neutrogena 3 in 1 treatment. Last week they listed it as being unavailable but now it's available again. So if you are looking for it, you may want to load up. I bought 4.

It's the only place online that I've been able to find it so far.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sprite26 on 12/22/2012 5:25:00 PM more reviews by sprite26

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

It seems I discovered this item right around the time it was being discontinued, which is really too bad because I like this a lot.
As a mattifying moisturizer, this product works very well. I find that it keeps my oiliness at bay all day long without clogging my pores the way some other mattifiers have. It can, however, dry my skin out a bit over time. I don't like to use this more than a couple of days in a row as a result.
As far as acne control, I've noticed it helps reduce redness immediately, so that's nice. But It doesn't appear to make the blemishes go away faster or anything like that. However, what makes this product so amazing is that it does actually prevent breakouts from happening and I know this for a fact. It used to be that whenever I got my eyebrows threaded I would always end up with a few blemishes in the area that they worked on. Every time! But when I use this product in the days following my brow threading, I never ever break out at all. That alone makes this a miracle must-have product for me. It WORKS.
I do wish this wasn't being discontinued because it really is great and only costs a few dollars.
(It looks like Neutrogena is replacing this product with an item called All-in-1 Acne Control Treatment. The newer product comes in a 1oz tube intead of the 2oz, it costs about $10 instead of $6, AND it only contains 1% salicylic acid instead of 2%. Yep it's smaller, weaker, and more expensive. BOO, Neutrogena!!)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 fallaciousimage on 12/15/2012 1:03:00 PM more reviews by fallaciousimage

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have oily skin, and I use this product as a spot treatment for my acne. I put this on after i have washed my face and moisturize. For me personally, this product gave me a lot more blackheads in places that i'd never get before. I tend to use it on my forehead, and i've noticed that though my acne reduced a bit but there's a bunch of blackheads forming around the area that I would apply this to! I think I will apply this right after i wash my face as opposed to after moisturizing, maybe it will make a difference.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Minerva10 on 11/20/2012 12:09:00 PM more reviews by Minerva10

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

UMMMM WOW!!!!! I've been dealing with hormonal breakouts along my jaw on a monthly basis and at my age its pretty unbearable! I bought this on Sunday, applied it twice that day and that evening. Once in the am on Monday and once in that evening and I tell you the belmishes that were brewing are GONE!!!!! Thank you MUA for keeping us informed on a product I would'nt have thought of trying. Me VERY HAPPY!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dimanta on 11/8/2012 2:04:00 AM more reviews by Dimanta

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I used this product about 4 years ago and absolutely loved it. At that time I had acne-prone skin and this gel was amazing. It's very light, smells nice, does not cost a lot and really, really helps.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lifebythedrop on 11/7/2012 4:28:00 PM more reviews by lifebythedrop

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I freaking LOVE this stuff. I really believe it has saved my skin. I bought this with the Acne Stress gel wash and I hated the cleanser but this cream is amazing. This stuff clears up old pimples super fast and prevents new ones from happening. It also smells very nice. Doesn't make my skin dry or oily. It's awesome. GET IT. You will not regret it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ABAlbright on 11/4/2012 7:35:00 AM more reviews by ABAlbright

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Grey    

I love this stuff! It is gold. I no longer have zits on my forehead or nose. It took a little longer for it to work on my chin, but I have no new zits there and my acne scars are fading. This worth it's weight in gold. Plus, it has a pleasant watermelon scent. I don't know where to find it, though. It is sold out on drugstore.com and amazon.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pinkebonette on 11/3/2012 7:31:00 PM more reviews by pinkebonette

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff really works. I break out about once or twice a month. If I put this on at night my acne significantly diminishes by the next morning; if I put it on in the morning it works throughout the day. That really surprised me because all the other treatments I've tried have not worked so quickly. It also has a really nice cooling sensation.

Packaging is good, and I bought this small tube 2-3 months ago and I still have some left. I use it twice a day.

That being said, it doesn't stop me from breaking out (ie. it's not preventative). It's also not moisturizing at all. I often use a light moisturizer on top. I don't mind these things too much because I've never used a treatment that works so fast. It's now a staple product for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chicasparkle21 on 11/2/2012 12:06:00 PM more reviews by chicasparkle21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This product it's one of the best i've have ever try! i deffy think if you have bad acne you should try it! i swear by it!.. I have had bad bad acne when i was 19 and now two years later i try this product cuz my sister recommend it to me and omg! i cant believe it literally took away all my acne! i tried clinique and other expensive products, and none of them helped me with my acne, i had really really ugly pimples all over my face, cystic acne too! and now my skin it is completely clear up thanks to this. I really hope they don't discontinue this product because i still use it. I started seeing results in 2 days of using it, then ALLof my acne went away after 3 months of using this! now i get 1 or 2 pimples but thats it. I love it! and I troughly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ClooCloo on 10/24/2012 11:45:00 AM more reviews by ClooCloo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I had tons of blackheads all over my nose, in between my eyebrows, and even developing on my cheeks so I knew I needed to change my skin care routine. I researched and researched which treatment would be the best for me and I learned that BHAs are supposed to be really good for unlodging blackheads. I initially tried samples of Paula's Choice BHA's which made my sensitive skin pretty raw looking and dry. I thought I'd give this a try instead after reading the reviews here and I could not be happier with my results.

Week 1
It calmed down the uncomfortable and tight redness that Paula's Choice BHA lotion/gel had caused on my skin, however I noticed during this time where I had a couple pimples on my forehead, more pimples started coming to the surface. This is a purging period, and where ever I had a couple pimples that tended to form, during my first couple weeks after using this the pimples surfaced. They healed MUCH faster than they normally would though, healing in a few days versus a couple weeks. I was freaking out during this time because of all the new pimples, but stuck it out because I heard this happens to some people.

Month 1
My skin was tons smoother, although if I used this product both day and night I noticed it would start to feel kind of raw and turn pink, so I recommend starting out maybe once a day or every other day if you have sensitive skin, and then building up your usage after that. By a month into this product although my blackheads were still there, I stopped breaking out in pimples like I normally would!!! And the blackheads around my nose were getting softer and super easy to extract after showering.

Month 3
If I did get a pimple by now, it would be small and only last a couple of days, and before using this product I had at least 2-3 pimples on my forehead for the last 2 years :( This product is A GODSEND PEOPLE.

Month 4
Blackheads on my forehead are ALL GONE except like 5, versus when I initially started this product EVERY pore on my forehead was at least semi-clogged, and now I could see clear pores, and I could actually see more oil flow during the day on my forehead because my pores were now clear!!! (not alot of oil, just a healthy sheen youd expect to see by mid-day)

Month 5
Although this product didnt COMPLETELY get rid of blackheads on my cheeks and nose, it has DRAMATICALLY improved my complexion, and has ridden me of pimples. I havent had a pimple in like 2 months....my skin hasnt been this good since like 4-5 years ago no exaggeration. The blackheads and clogged pores that I still have are extremely small now, and I'm still seeing improvements so I'm still hoping with continued use they'll finally disappear.

Use
2x a day after cleasning face, under makeup or moistruizer (but I would recommend for the first month once a day)

Tips
I have dry skin so I also use cetaphil moisturizing cream (which is the best moisturizer I have ever used, it has transformed my skin as well...but thats another review)

The only bad part is I can only buy this online :'( Ive never seen it in a store. But its only like 5-10 dollars depending on the site. I'm on my 3rd tube btw!

After trying tons of DIY at home remedies and various other drugstore products nothing has come close to this. I love you Neutrogena!! <3

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Treatments products