Merle Norman • Luxiva Purely Mineral Makeup • Powder

rated 4.3(166 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 XdoodleX on 9/27/2011 12:59:00 PM more reviews by XdoodleX

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I've been wanting to try this for a long time but don't live near a Merle Norman store. While vacationing near a store I stopped in and picked some up. I absolutely love it! It gives a slightly luminous coverage that looks very natural. I am happy with how nicely it blends into my skin, I use it over a primer and apply with a dense flat top powder brush. I've been looking for the right foundation for my very problematic skin for years and this is it! I'm so glad th owner said she will ship me anything else I need in the future because it's pretty hard to come by if you don't live near one of their stores.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Stephsayss0 on 9/21/2011 11:40:00 AM more reviews by Stephsayss0

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my daily foundation. As someone who suffered from Acne and 3 rounds of Accutane I am VERY cautious of what foundation goes on my face. I�ve been using this for over a year, and have just gone back to buy my second container. This hasn�t made me break out at all since I started using a year ago (daily use).

The coverage is great, can be light but can easily be layered for stronger coverage, without looking cakey. Yes it�s a little more pricey, but when it last over a year with daily use I can not complain about the $35 I paid for it. Although it looks a bit shimmery in the container, does not appear that way on skin. The shimmer only helps to make a very natural glow. On warm days or going out at night I will use a bit of MAC Blot Powder to stop any possibly oiliness. I was considering Laura Mercier mineral foundation, but it�s hard to stop a good thing like Merle Normans.

Pros:
Keeps skin clear/acne free
Not cakey
Covers well
Good skin color match
Perfect

Cons:
Bulky Package

Update:
I'm on my 3rd year of using this foundation. Still keeps me from having breakouts, and leaves a perfect coverage without any caked on feel. However still HATE the packaging, it's huge and takes up so much room. Hope they change that soon.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lizzieloveslipgloss on 7/28/2011 12:53:00 PM more reviews by Lizzieloveslipgloss

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have tried almost every mineral foundation and jsut always bought BE because it was easy. I agree with many reviewers that think MN is make-up for the more mature lady, but this brand is amazing. The minerals are the best I have tried and the product with last an entire year with daily use. I love this product for my aging skin, does not go into wrinkles or creases and has a MUCH better coverage than BE. I will never purchase BE again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gme72455 on 7/4/2011 11:32:00 PM more reviews by gme72455

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

I love Merle Norman mineral makeup. I have tried so many different brand names of makeup - liquid and mineral - and this is the best makeup I have found. It doesn't break me out, looks and feels completely natural. I find a jar lasts me a year or more. My mother and sister started using it, too and they both love it. I use a L10 in the loose powder and it matches my skin perfectly. Just love this stuff!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lorel1016 on 5/9/2011 1:11:00 PM more reviews by lorel1016

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This product covered better than any other loose powder that I have tried. However, it seemed to break my face out BAD! Then once I had little tiny bumps all over my face it seems to accentuates these little bumps. Also, if your face is dry at all or you have dry patches it makes these even more noticeable. I would not repurchase. I have never had my face break out so badly! Plus it is $28.00 for the loose powder.


Edit: so I had changed to Clinique since it supposed to be good for sensitive skin. However, after months of using it I began to develop an under the skin rash all over my face. I finally decided that I was going to try products that have very very few ingredients and change my whole skin are system. I went to ulta and bought a clarisonic. It came with the clarisonic hydro cleaner and I bought dermologica active moist moisturizer. I was off work for spring break so decided to just use the skin care I just bought but no makeup. My skin cleared up dramatically. I then was on the hunt for a makeup that would help my face continue to clear. I was looking into meow cosmetics which has only four ingredients. I told myself if that kind of makeup Brooke me out then I sure just give up on wearing makeup. I am not a big fan of mineral powder. I had tried bare minerals in the past and before I even made it home from ulta my face had new bumps. So then I starting trying to figure out what ingredients in makeup were breaking me out. I decided to look up the ingredients in the merle norman mineral powder since I thought it had broke me out. Turns out it has the same 4 ingredients as meow cosmetics so I decided to give it another try. If it broke me out again there would be no sense in ordering meow cosmetics. So glad I tried it again!! So far so good as far as breakouts go. My only complaint is that it does not last more than 5 hours on my face. The oil is coming through pretty good by then. However, I will use this until it is all gone and then decide to buy another or try meow cosmetics. Still undecided. I like that I can buy merle norman locally but meow is cheaper for the amount you get. Also, you have to order meow online. Just not sure??

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sarah661 on 5/8/2011 10:51:00 PM more reviews by Sarah661

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have always battled with acne and liquid foundation did not help at all, so i switched to powder. I was given this due to a friend buying it who's skin didn't match the color but mine! First of all, it is a bit pricey ($30-35) but you get a lot! The container is quite large. Second you don't need a primer or concealer! I covers so well without caking. The best part is it doesn't make me break out! Such a great product! I highly reccomend!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SushiGirl8 on 2/19/2011 7:45:00 PM more reviews by SushiGirl8

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I am basing my 4-star review on the fact that this product gives excellent coverage and is very reasonably priced at $35.00.

I will not repurchase however, since my rosacea skin does not tolerate any mineral makeup.

I am MAC NC30, Sand (35) in Vichy dermablend foundation and E40 in Cover Fx foundation. I found ML80 to be my best colour match. Although I did not notice the sparkle in the store, I did notice when I opened up the product at home. It didn't seem to make a difference at all when I applied the powder though. I used the Ecotools bronzer brush which is like a kabuki brush and super soft. It is the best applicator for mineral makeup for a natural look.

I really wanted to like this product and if it didn't irritate my skin, this would be my mineral makeup of choice. I find it better than Bare Minerals and Colourscience.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ThatLadyNextDoor on 2/15/2011 6:30:00 PM more reviews by ThatLadyNextDoor

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I hate to be a killjoy here, but this product didn't work for me. When the SA applied it on me I loved it. In fact, I purchased it that same day. But, within a few days I noticed some horrible acne all over my face. I also noticed my face looked like an oil slick as well after wearing this for a few hours. It also oxidized making my face look orange. I tried it with & without primer. Both failed on me. It's good to see many glowing reviews, but I'm not one of them. I swapped mine a while back. I will NEVER touch this stuff again!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tlee on 2/15/2011 5:14:00 PM more reviews by Tlee

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I've been wearing mineral makeup off and on for 30 years -- long before it was trendy. I also went through about five years where I tried all different kinds, just out of curiosity.

This is the best one. Period. The coverage and finish and ease of use is unparalleled. The only reason not to buy it is if you cannot find a color match. Otherwise, do it. I have repurchased three times so far. It lasts almost a year, for me.

HIGHLY recommended.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 adismon on 2/8/2011 8:02:00 PM more reviews by adismon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I love this. It's my foundation. It's perfect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Merle Norman products

More Powder products