Make Up For Ever • Mat Velvet PLUS Matifying Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.7(1031 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 Jhulagurl on 1/17/2014 1:49:00 AM more reviews by Jhulagurl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Not impressed with this foundation. This is almost 40 bucks so I definitely had higher expectations for it. It has a super POWDERY finish, which I just cannot stand. A super powdery looking face is very AGING and does not look good on anyone. With this on you can told tell your wearing a full face of makeup. Also, I have combo skin and there is no oil control to this foundation. It also broke me out in several red acne bumps. If you touch your face the makeup will come right off. My HG is Cover Girl Stay fabulous, which totally blows this pricey foundation out of the water. Its sweat proof, oily skin proof and just fabulous! It stays on 10x longer than the MUFE and does not transfer or look super powdery. I highly recommend the Cover Girl, go try it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jessicav1 on 1/16/2014 8:58:00 PM more reviews by jessicav1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I got a sample of the lightest shade in this (as I am VERY pale) at Sephora and I was so excited to try it but so, so disappointed... I have oily acne prone skin and not only did it give me little breakout bumps despite being oil free, it did not blend well on my skin, was thick as molasses, and after only a few hours, became SO oily and slid off my skin... it also settled into my lines and pores big time. The coverage was medium at best and I still had to pile on the concealer for my blemishes and red spots. The only good thing about this foundation for me was the packaging. Very much like Clinique's foundation packaging (the brand I currently use).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 balletbeauty7 on 1/15/2014 7:21:00 AM more reviews by balletbeauty7

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I initially bought this after being matched by a specialist. I loved how natural it felt on my skin. It does a great job of mattifying skin. My skin has changed from being more combination/oily and acne prone, to extremely dry and acne prone so it was accentuating my dry skin which I hated. Also the color seems to change over time. I was matched as #30. It seems to get paler over a few months (I know I didn't get darker!). The next bottle I purchased also seemed to lighten. This is a great foundation but unfortunately doesn't work for my skin

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Blondebeauty2 on 1/9/2014 7:42:00 PM more reviews by Blondebeauty2

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation is medium coverage at best and I personally don't like their color range. It tends to be very yellow toned. I was color matched in Sephora and sent home w/3 different shades. I have a pink under-tone and none of the colors I was given worked well for me. This is a matte foundation that just didn't have the coverage I was looking for. I'm used to wearing EL Doublewear and I was hoping this was just as good, but it doesn't even come close. This foundation IMO is cheap, it oxidized after only a few hours and the shade range is terrible. This is also the only foundation I've tried that actually makes me look oily after 2 hours..its just terrible. Lastly, its way to expensive and I would suggest Urban Decays Naked skin or if u need full coverage EL's Doublewear is the best!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rchxo on 1/9/2014 2:37:00 PM more reviews by rchxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

First time using a cream/liquid foundation after using mineral powder for years, and I love it! My skin would get oily after a while even when I used my Bare Minerals, and the foundation would wear off after a short period of time. However the Mat Velvet foundation gives great, natural looking, coverage, and when topped with a translucent powder it lasts a long time! A little bit goes a long way, as I apply mine with a damp Beauty Blender. I will definitely be purchasing this again even though the price is not all that great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sabrinalovesmakeup on 1/7/2014 12:49:00 AM more reviews by sabrinalovesmakeup

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is my holy grail foundation! It's super easy to apply and it has amazing coverage that you can build up and it's got tons of shades to choose from. I tried this awhile ago and I hated it.. I'm not sure why.. But I went and gave it another try and I have to say I'm glad I did! It's a really beautiful foundation! Go to your sephora and get a sample & try this foundation out! You won't be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lynnnguyen on 1/5/2014 7:34:00 AM more reviews by Lynnnguyen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've been on the search for a good foundation that controls oil well. I get oily on the T-zone, around the nose especially and my chin. So far, this foundation works but not when used alone. I use it with NYX Shine Killer Primer and set it with ELF HD Powder and Urban Decay All-Nighter Spray. I can get a little oily later on in the day but that's natural. It was hard for me to settle with the right shade. 30 seemed too light for me but 35 seemed kind of dark. This does have a heavy coverage but good coverage. You don't need to use that much product. I use this with a buffing brush made for liquid foundation. I feel like this foundation settles into some lines and it does get cakey once in a while. But if they had more shades that matches my skin, I would definitely give it 10 stars. I will continue using this until I find the right foundation for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lrc1024 on 1/4/2014 8:44:00 PM more reviews by Lrc1024

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Amazing stuff! The price is ehh not so good but worth your money! On my second bottle and it's lasted me for 7 months! I also use this everyday. It helps amazing with covering scars & acne. I use it with my beauty blender & wow. Perfect! I also always use a setting powder so not so sure how matte it is without one. I have very oily skin & this really was just great. Sometimes when I'm lazy I don't add primer and it still works awesome! Love love love it! Worth your money for sure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 aliciabarbier on 12/23/2013 11:09:00 AM more reviews by aliciabarbier

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Green    

i had an oil slick on my face within an hour of using this. it also seems to oxidize a bit after an hour or so. it felt heavy on my skin even though i applied lightly (buffed lightly into skin using an hourglass foundation brush). not impressed, especially considering the cost.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ericajaneee on 12/13/2013 2:18:00 AM more reviews by ericajaneee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I recently bought a sample of this after seeing people's good reviews about it on this website. First off I do have to say that this foundation is definitely expensive which is a shame.
It smells nice and applies very easily on the skin with a medium-full coverage. It does dry quite fast though which makes it hard to blend it in well enough. Whilst wearing it it feels very lightweight and looks quite natural but the finish is a little matter than I expected. The big downside for me was how it lasted on my skin. It looked natural after I first applied it but after 5 minutes it had already slipped off and patched on the oily parts of my skin and had also sunk into the pores and fine lines around my mouth and nose. It also didn't stay on very well, even after talking on my phone for only a little while it had left an oily foundation covered film on the screen.
For now I will not be purchasing this again, but when I manage to find a primer that works well for my skin I will definitely give it another go, I suspect a good primer may make all the difference!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Liquid products