Clinique • Brush-on cream liner in TRUE BLACK • Eyeliner

rated 4.3(202 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Magpie13 on 8/18/2012 5:47:00 PM more reviews by Magpie13

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

I love this eyeliner but the little flat brush it comes with is pointless. I apply it using an angled eyeliner brush and it glides on easily. If you are inexperienced at applying liquid eyeliner you may find this a little easier to apply due to the slightly thicker consistency.

It dries quickly, lasts all day, and is easy to remove with waterbased eye make-up remover. A little goes a long way and there is a decent amount in the pot. One of the best value for money products clinique offer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 zayinthestars on 6/30/2012 1:24:00 AM more reviews by zayinthestars

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This was my first HE liner I've ever tried and it's the best liner I've had so far. The price isnt so bad compared to the Bobbi Brown Long Wear Gel Liner, it isn't so expensive ($16 in Canada, $15 in the US). You get a lot of product for that price and it last for months ( I've had mine since March and it's the end of June and I still have a lot of product left!). The only downside with this product is the staying power. Without a primer, this liner would only last a few hours and then it would start to fade. With a primer, it lasts all day. All day. So overall it is a great product and I will buy it again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nutella87 on 6/19/2012 1:02:00 AM more reviews by nutella87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using Bobbi Brown's gel liners for 5 years now. It was the only brand eyeliner I would ever use simply because it was so great! The longevity and color selection were amazing! I used Granite Ink for reference since I like a softer black that's not too harsh.
However I kind of got bored and wanted to try something new. I decided to try Clinique's cream liner and I love it. It is definitely comparable to Bobbi Brown's. The color selection isn't as varied, but Clinique has your standard colors. The lasting power is just as great, as is the pigmentation (last for 12 hrs on me with minimal creasing). Now that I have Clinique's cream liner, I think it might very well be creamier than BB's and does not dry out as fast.


Oh I should also point out that with BB you pay ~$23 for 3g and for Clinique you pay $15 for 5g. At least in the US anyway.

So this will be lasting me a while.

It's a good, solid eyeliner. I would just buy this over any drugstore brand. Because $15 for 5g of fantastic product is better than say, $7-9 for mediocre eyeliner (Maybelline's eye studio? Yeah that stuff is crap).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sushiflower7 on 6/14/2012 12:15:00 AM more reviews by sushiflower7

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HG eyeliner; never ever will I stop using this. It soo pigmented and is a true rich black! It stays put all day, doesn't budge when it's dry. Let me tell you, before I even bought this I initially wanted to buy MAC's fluidline instead, but then after doing some research, everyone complained about how the MAC dried up after time. I've had my Clinique for some time now and it hasn't dried at all since I first got it. Also, the MAC one is more pricier and has less product than the Clinique! So go with the Clinique, in the end you'll be glad you did! I use mine everyday and I plan on repurchasing this until they stop making this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 shi000 on 6/13/2012 6:26:00 PM more reviews by shi000

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Pros: Very rich pigmentation (a deeper black than my Bobbi Brown gel eyeliner). Very smooth and creamy consistency, applies like butta', which also makes it good for smudgy, smoky eye looks.


Cons: Takes a while to dry and set due to the creaminess. I am used to the drier consistency of my Bobbi Brown eyeliner, so I found it a bit annoying if I happened to accidentally smudge a line. (Again, however, this makes it good for certain looks). Also, this doesn't last past a few hours on me. Granted, I have very oily lids, but the smudging is just ridiculous on me, and I end up with panda eyes too quickly.


I wanted to love this, as the color payoff is amazing, but I'll stick to Bobbi Brown's long-wear gel eyeliner as it mostly lasts the whole day for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 checha on 6/7/2012 9:15:00 PM more reviews by checha

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I got this years ago and although its a little stiff it's still going strong. It comes with a tiny brush - a nice gesture. But this applies way better with an actual liner brush. The formula is creamy and very pigmented. I find this easy to apply whether it be a thick winged look or a bit of definition for an everyday look. The best part about this product is that it is budge-proof! It won't smudge or melt away. It beats quite a few "waterproof" gel liners for staying power, even though I don't think it claims to be waterproof. I like the packaging for this product. Just a simple pot with a screw on lid. I will easily be able to use up the last little bit.
Summary: great staying power, very pigmented
There is nothing I don't like about this. This is worth the few extra bucks. Definitely repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ishhara on 5/27/2012 12:56:00 AM more reviews by ishhara

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The only reason I'm not buying this product again (or giving it full 5 lipsticks) is because of the ingredients. It's not awful, but these days, I prefer my beauty products to have progressive or natural ingredients and show some sort of transparency on their product website.


What it's like: a little glass pot with a black gel cream inside. The brush they provide is kind of crap so I recommend using a liner brush (a soft paint brush) or an angled eyeliner brush (an actual cosmetics brush). I prefer the latter unless I'm doing something very specific and nontraditional.


How I use it: I have oily skin so I always use a primer base. These days, I either use a sample I got from MAC's paint pot line in Painterly, or Bare Escentuals Brightening Primer. I carefully paint the cream on my lids with a brush in small strokes. You can get pretty detailed with this stuff. It goes on smoothly and isn't runny, clumpy, or difficult to work with.


How it wears: the end result is very pigmented and lasts all day. It won't budge after it's fully dried (just a few minutes). I basically only use this product for special events or going out, when I actually take time to apply more dramatic makeup. It's never disappointed me as long as I have some sort of eyeshadow primer on underneath. I did the winged eye look for a friend's wedding earlier this year. This eyeliner lasted throughout the wedding and after party, flawlessly. It only came off when I washed it with soap.


As long as you're not extremely strict with what goes into your cosmetics, this would be a great eyeliner (not that this is full of incredibly harmful ingredients or anything). It's not irritating; it's easy to work with, wears well and lasts long.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 definebeauty on 5/26/2012 10:17:00 PM more reviews by definebeauty

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

i love this stuff. especially for winged eyeliner.
it stays forever and the true black color is so dark you don't even need to build it. the consistency is so smooth and easy to work with. i think it works best (in my opinion) with an angled eyeliner brush. all in all when i run out i will certainly repurchase but that probably won't be anytime soon because i'm only using this for special events (high school budget)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Celestila on 5/21/2012 8:12:00 PM more reviews by Celestila

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HG liner for my upper lid. It stays a true black and only smudges if I use it to make a wing, and that happen only after 8+ hours. I use a slanted brush to apply it in 5 minutes or less. And at $10, it's a true gem.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MizAkaeze on 3/15/2012 5:06:00 AM more reviews by MizAkaeze

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this gel liner or cream liner as they refer to it. It is BLACK! I was using the clinique tube liquid liner before I accidentally got this after I sent a friend to buy me my clinique liner refill and he brought this instead and I tried it and I can't go back to d tube liner. It takes about a min to dry and turns charcoal/khol black! It is perfect for the winged cat eyes. The downside to this is the application brush included, it doesn't help give you straight line, I use my maybelline gel liner brush instead and it is fantastic. I will definitely buy again and again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Eyeliner products