Joico Moisture Recovery Treatment Balm for Thick or Coarse Hair

4.4

80 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua/EAU), Butylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Sorbitol, Behenyl Alcohol, Stearyl Alcohol, Behentrimonium Chloride, Cetyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Oleate, Fragrance/Parfum, Pentapeptide-29 Cysteinamide, Pentapeptide-30 Cysteinamide, Tetrapeptide-28 Argininamide, Tetrapeptide-29 Argininamide, Hydrolysed Keratin, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Hydrogenated Olive Oil, Astrocaryum Murumuru Seed Butter, Hydrolysed Algin, Sea Water/Maris Aqua/EAU De Mer, Clorella Vulgaris Extract, Isopropyl Alcohol, Phenoxyethanol, Aminopropyl Dimethcone, Glutamic Acid, Stearyl Dihydropropyldimonium, Oligosaccharides, Octyldodecanol, Steartrimonium Chloride, Arginine, Propylene Glycol, PEG-6 Methyl Ether Dimethicone, PEG-90M, Glycerin, Limonene, Benzyl Benzoate, Orange 4 (CI15510), Yellow 5 (CI19140).


on 4/1/2012 9:01:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

wow this is really my holy grail. Just a few weeks ago, i went to the store and bought this. I couldn't believe how expensive it was because i paid 20$ for this. If my mom knew the price of this, she would probably kill me but this product is worth every cent. This is my first time reviewing so bare with me. My hair is probably the worst asian hair you've ever seen. I've always had thick thick, frizzy, puffy hair as a child because when i was a kid, i never took care of my hair. I would wash it once a week and always tie it into a ponytail. As a child, i always blowdry my hair and used head and shoulders 2 in 1 condioners. I didn't know how bad they were because they were the only shampoo my dad bought. So for the first 14 years of my life, i tied my hair into a ponytail. I finally decided to change and started putting my hair down but found it hard because of how thick and massive my hair was. For the last two years, i changed to buying two separate shampoo and conditioner bottles and that was the beginning of my hair journey. I started using the triple moisture hair mask last year, started air drying my hair and i started caring about my hair more. i wanted to let my hair down, not tie it up but the thickness and frizziness prevented me from doing this.Then i stumbled on this product. The first time i used it, i noticed my hair felt very soft and light. It didn't weight my hair down but I wasn't very happy because it made my hair look too light. The top layer wasn't as straight and didn't look as nice as the bottom layer. But after using it multiple times, my hair looked shinnier, healthier and when i come out of the shower and airdry my hair, it doesn't poof up anymore. I swear by this product and I think i'll always use this forever! <3. Buy it! If you have frizzy, thick hair like me, i'm sure it'll change your hair! I always thought I would have to buy a straightener and straighten my hair but after using this product, i noticed how nice, shiny my hair was. <3 it!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 3/8/2012 7:32:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Hands down the best conditioner I've ever used. I've loved the regular Moisture Recovery conditioner for years and thought it was the best. I found a 1 liter container at a supply place for around $25 CDN, so thought I'd give it a try. I only need a small amount, so this will likely last me ages. I have thick, straight hair that isn't too damaged. I can use this every day and it never weighs my hair down. It makes it smooth, soft and with volume. I switch up the Moisture Recovery shampoo with Head and Shoulders Dry Scalp. Most conditioners, even expensive ones, make very little difference, make my hair heavy or ends dry. This is absolutely perfect! I would definitely repurchase again, especially if I can find it in the large size for a reasonable price. Highly recommend!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/3/2012 12:08:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I have thin hair, but this works on my hair too. Doesnt weigh my hair down as long as i dont put it on the roots.. Works better than my previous conditioner that is 4 times the price of this :/

Really good at untangling knots that can get to the size of a man's fist (I'm not kidding!) and I only leave it on 2-3 minutes everyday. (too lazy to leave on longer :X) I didn't have hair like a pantene model unlike others, but i stil love my hair now and cant stop touching it! this is an amazing product!


on 12/13/2011 5:58:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

After reading all the positive reviews and getting to the point of wanting to shave my hair due to its thick, frizzy 'trying to have curls, but looks like weird bits of barbed wire' hair I bought this product. Used it once for 5 mins, felt softer but nothing amazing so I went back to it the next day left it for an hour and NOW I LOVE IT! Cannot stop touching my hair. When naturally dried, my curls seem tighter and less haywire. I just straightened it with my, only sprayed a small amount of heat protector before hand. Didnt need any serum, shine spray, hair spray, wax etc. and it looks like I just stepped out of a pantene add! So shinny, soft, tinest amount of fly aways-nothing compared to pre-joico hair, no sign of split ends and smells AMAZING!
If you're contemplating buying this, and you have thick, coarse crazy hair, go and get it!! Best money I ever spent!
Although I do agree, for medium/fine hair I wouldnt use this product, would weigh your hair down.
Thank you to the other ladies for the reviews!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/4/2011 12:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

i loooooooooove this. let me start off by saying my hair is naturally wavy, dry, and frizzy. not so much coarse but i could put motor oil in my hair and it still won't weigh it down. of course i blowdry and flat iron it 1-3 times a week which in turn makes it even drier. i used to use aveda's dry remedy and i really liked the way it worked but it was expensive and it smelled horrible. i picked this up randomly and i'm so happy i did. this is very heavy so if your hair is fine-medium, it probably is too much for you. this stuff made my hair feel very hydrated and it smells very fresh. i usually leave it in while i shave so like 5-10 minutes but when my hair is very dry (during the summer or after i ombre'd my ends) i'll leave it in for anwhere from 20 mins to an hour with a cap on my head. i got the tub version of this so it has a pump which makes things a lot easier when you're in the shower. i probably bought it in august of 2010 and i think i have about 1/4 of it left.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/3/2011 2:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

this is a GREAT deep conditioner one of my favorites (:


on 9/20/2011 6:01:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

OMG!!!!! This is the absolute best conditioner I've EVER used. I started giving myself deep conditioning treatments with this. I put a plastic cap on and sit under the dryer for 20 min. What a difference! My hair feels and looks sooooo good!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/12/2011 10:52:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Well I never!!! I left this in for an hour and out no other leave in or staying products in, then left my hair to air dry. Now my hair is ridiculously soft. I actually think it's bordering too moisturised!!!!!!!!
This is the first product that has tamed my hair. If I put 5 litres of lard on it, it would still be a massive bush of straw. So this product is just amazing!!!!
Oh praise be!!!!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Green

A great deep conditioner for my hair, which is very thick, long, coarse, dry and damaged. It really makes a noticeable difference, it leaves my hair nourished and less coarse and dry. My hair tends to get tangled on the verge on dreadlocks, this detangles it effortlessly.

I leave it on for as long as possible, often over-night.

It's a bit hard to rinse out, as it's very heavy even on my hair, which doesn't get weighed-down easily, but it's not a big enough hassle to make me like it less.

The tube packaging is practical, and you don't need a lot of product at a time, which makes it budget-friendly,

Love it!


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Heaven in a bottle! its smells so good. very thick and creamy i really love this stuff! It is so soft that when i was rinsing it out it felt like there was still product in there but actually it was just the softness of my hair.It makes my hair very very shiny the next day! wud buy this again!


Back to Top