L'Oreal • Casting Creme Gloss • Hair Color

rated 3.4(150 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 IrishEyes12345 on 4/4/2013 7:54:00 PM more reviews by IrishEyes12345

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I will never dye my hair with one of these again. I have a lovely natural lightest ash brown colour and I have just ruined my hair using this. I used Berry Red AGES ago, six months ago now or more, and its STILL in my hair near the crown. The rest of my hair looks a nice brown but there are still ugly copper pieces in it. I have used every product I could think of to fade the red, and its not budging. I hate it, there is far too much RED even in the brown shades there seems to be NO ash colours at all in this range and they all fade to an ugly copper tone. Ugh!! i am never using it again!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 strugglingauthor on 3/21/2013 3:21:00 PM more reviews by strugglingauthor

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I used this dye on thick, coarse, dark brown hair. I bought this product because it was the only one in the shop in the colour I wanted (darkest brown). I'd previously used Nice N Easy (which I've also reviewed - it was OK, didn't cover grey too well, faded fast.) This was a couple of quid more expensive.

First impressions: I didn't like applying to wet hair as I only dye my hair to cover grey, and when my hair is wet the grey is harder to spot. Also, this product is seriously runny - the very first thing I did was spill it all over my forehead. So be wary.

HOWEVER. The quality of colour, shine and coverage were excellent. With a home-applied semi on hair my colour, you're never going to get perfect grey coverage, but most of the grey really was gone or close enough to it. Coming up to four weeks later, washing my hair every other day, the covered grey has faded to a reddish-brown, which actually makes for nice highlights. Meanwhile my hair is still very shiny and in good condition, and as far as I can tell the dye on the non-grey bits hasn't faded at all (as I go close to my natural colour it's not very easy to tell.) Have already ordered this again, and just hoping my application technique will improve...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 IndigoSoul on 2/15/2013 8:00:00 AM more reviews by IndigoSoul

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I really wouldn't reccommend this hair dye at all. I used the semi perm, as i find them kinder on my hair. Usually i will use the semi from nice n easy range as they leave my hair lovely and soft, but they dont have a huge range of colours to choose from. my usual nice n easy colour wasn't in stock, and i fell in love with how many colour shades casting gloss has.
One bottle would be enough for an all over head if you have fine-medium shoulder length hair, any thicker or longer you will need another pack. The dye itself smells gorgeous, really fruity, and the colour result is amazing.....BUT and this is a BIG BUT...it totally ruined my hair, my hair was left like straw, so dry i couldn't run a brush through it.
My hair was very strong and silky smooth before as i cared for it well, but since this i have had to have 7 inches cut off, it has been 5 months since i last used this and the hair that's left is still as dry and brittle as ever. In the past i've even had 12% bleach on my hair numerous times, and it has never felt or looked this bad.
I am so dissoppointed with this product, as with a good a name and a huge colour chart to choose from i thought this would be promising :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 GINA887 on 12/29/2012 6:21:00 AM more reviews by GINA887

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I used casting iced truffle 513, at first it turned out much darker than the image on the box (2 shades darker) but just after one wash it got lighter and i love it, i hope it stays that way...still darker than the image but that's ok since my hair is naturally dark...it also dried my hair a little bit but dont they all do!!
I would definately buy it again specially that one box is more than enough for my coarse hair. I recommend that product for people who want an amonia free color for an affordable price

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chi77 on 12/9/2012 5:22:00 AM more reviews by chi77

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

nice smell and ammonia free. i got this in terracotta to cover my greys.it covers my black n grey hair very well. hair is shiny soft and healthy. doesnt drip coz its a cream formula. the shade is a cherry chocolate brown. lurve it. will buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xSunshiinex on 12/6/2012 12:32:00 AM more reviews by xSunshiinex

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I purchased this product in the shade 'Plum'
PACKAGING&INSTRUCTIONS:
The dye is in a really nice box which has a funky curved shape to it. The shade is really easy to see unlike some dyes, and it is simple but effective. The instructions are set out clearly and are very easy to follow.

APPLICATION:
I found it quite messy to apply. The dye was really runny so I ended up getting it everywhere, but that may just be my clumsiness rather than the actual dye. One box was enough to cover my full head, but only just. People with hair longer than their shoulders would most likely need 2 or more boxes.

WASHING OUT:
It was very easy to wash out, and the water was running from purple to clear in about 5-10 minutes. The conditioner that came with the dye smells amazing, and there is enough for more than one application.

RESULTS:
My hair turned a very dark, almost black colour, with a very noticeable purple tint when outside in the sun. It was a really nice shade and I got so many compliments! It was a subtle purple tint, but enough to be noticed. my hair wasn't damaged from using the dye-if anything it felt in a better condition after dying it than what it felt like before dying it! Since the dye was only semi-permanent it was meant to wash out after 28 washes, however I felt that it faded much quicker than this.

Overall
PROS
- Great selection of shades to choose from
- Turned out an awesome colour
- Easy to wash out
- Nice packaging
- Really good conditioner
- My hair was in excellent condition
CONS
- Faded VERY quickly
- Very runny formula
- I was staining towels purple even a week after dying my hair.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ohsailor on 12/5/2012 5:42:00 AM more reviews by ohsailor

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Purchased in Ebony Black (I considered Licorice but it looked to have a hint of purple)
Pro's:
- application to damp hair which is beneficial for those of us with thick hair as it is easier to spread the mixture
- easy applicator system and clear instructions
- no overwhelming or suffocating smell (no ammonia)
- washed out reasonably well and my hair felt soft even before I had put on the recommended conditioner
- the bottle of conditioner supplied is more than sufficient and I managed to get a few conditions out of it
- the resulting colour was glossy and had depth to it, which can be difficult for black dyes
- it lasted quite well but I wash my hair every day so this affects the duration of the colour lasting
- the colour range is wide and covers a breadth of different shades

Con's:
- none apart from the fact that it is one of the more expensive semi-permanent dyes on the market and as I have to dye my hair quite frequently with a semi (as I wash so often) Casting Creme isn't usually my preferred option because of the cost. I usually buy if it is on offer.

This would probably be my preferred semi-permanent hair dye, irrespective of which colour I chose as I know others who have been very satisfied with the results.

Recommended.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ducky92 on 11/10/2012 6:08:00 PM more reviews by Ducky92

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

this was the first time i've ever used home hair dye or dyed my whole head!!

I have naturally dark brown hair that is very thick, wavy/curly and goes right down my back!! so i was skeptical about dyeing it, but wanted a change, i went for the Rich Honey and the first time round i followed the instructions to a T but it didn't do anything, just made it look shiny. luckily I got 2 in a sale and tried it again a few days later, i had to leave it on for an hour but it came out lovely and lasts ages!

it was a more golden brown and i loved it. i then realized that this mixes with your own hair color, so be careful!!

not long after my friend was getting married but her hair was ruined, she's ginger and dyed it black, she had it stripped and the top was red and the bottom black, as maid of honor i had to do something so i bought a box of casting creme gloss and did her hair, it came out gorgeous, it looked honey brown but dip dyed a darker shade. she was made up and looked beautiful on the day.

just remember that it blends with your current hair color and can go horribly wrong if you pick a color that's to light, like go ginger or a green so dont stray to far! like go from a mousy brown to blonde... my sister did it and it was a disaster... hope this was helpful :) X x

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 rareshela on 11/1/2012 2:45:00 PM more reviews by rareshela

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

HATE IT!!!

Bought this in shade 810 Pearl Blonde
I went from a lovely shade of blonde to very dark blonde,almost green!! Bloody hate it, I am so unhappy with L'oreal and their crappy products.
How in the hell I will be leaving the house tomorrow to buy a different hair dye is beyond my knowledge.
So unhappy!!!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 AriD on 10/25/2012 12:34:00 PM more reviews by AriD

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Background: I have really long, thick, wavy/curly/frizzy hair and the natural color is dark dirty mousy blonde. Two years ago it was dyed blonde, then I had darker brownish-purple with semi permanent dye; that washed off to a light poop color to which i added blond hightlights at the bottom giving it an ombre look. And that was half a year ago so I had huge roots, and generally my hair looked disgusting - vomit colored rainbow. My hair was in great condition (as good as it can, given its nature), but the color was horrid and had to be dealt with. So I decided to use Casting Creme Gloss in #600 dark blonde (named "light brown" in some countries) to even out the color. I thought about using a red color first to repigment the blonde bits, but #600 looked rather reddish on the box, so I decided to risk it and skip the red. I had never used this product before due to its relatively high price, but I decided that its time to finally try it.

Packaging: The box is quite nice, the instructions are written on glossy paper, as opposed to the cheap paper that you see in some brands of dye. The gloves were in a small plastic capsule. They were quite large, but since they had a rubbery texture they didnt slip off. The color activator was in a triangular bottle, which I didnt like because it was difficult to mix the color well. I did however like that on the box you could rip out that whole to hold the bottle. I don't understand why some people complain about it, I found that it was really helpful.

Use: The dye was easy to use. I did my roots first and then I spread it on the rest. I left it on in total about 40 minutes, which is probably too much, but since I have so much hair it took a long time to cover it all and then I had to let it all sit there for sufficient time. Once I applied the dye I put a plastic bag on my head and wrapped a towel on it so that the warmth would help the dye work. The wash off was easy, like with any other dye you foam it up and then rinse till the water runs clear. The conditioner was ok, but I didnt really like the smell of it, it smells kind of like the toilet cleaning products they use at my university.

Results: I'm not entirely satisfied with the results. The color itself is ok, kind of like on the box, but I should have used red first, because the parts that were blond are a bit too ashy. My hair feels quite dry and looks a bit dull. There is absolutely NO gloss, big disappointment on that point. But most semi-permanents leave me with dry hair, so its not that big of a deal, I can fix it with coconut oil.

In general I am glad I dyed hair. Its not beautiful, but for a semi-permanent its not bad, probably the best I've used. I will be using Casting Gloss again in a couple of weeks to fix the ashy parts, just this time I think I will use a different color.

UPDATED: Wanted to go red for new years, used 656 Teracotta. Indoors it looks purple and outdoors in the light it is magenta!!! Anyone who wants to have red hair DO NOT USE #656

Update # 2: Ok well the purple washed off to a drab magenta, but then that washed off to one of the nicest hair colors I've ever had - a gentle terracota blonde, absolutely gorgeous. It's a shame that I had to go through two weeks or horror before the nice color came, and its an even bigger shame that this shade will only last one or a couple more washes. I'm thinking of going to a hair dresser to figure out a hair dye that would replicate what I have now, so that I can have this more permanently.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Hair Color products