L'Oreal • Casting Creme Gloss • Hair Color

rated 3.4(146 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 xSunshiinex on 12/6/2012 12:32:00 AM more reviews by xSunshiinex

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I purchased this product in the shade 'Plum'
PACKAGING&INSTRUCTIONS:
The dye is in a really nice box which has a funky curved shape to it. The shade is really easy to see unlike some dyes, and it is simple but effective. The instructions are set out clearly and are very easy to follow.

APPLICATION:
I found it quite messy to apply. The dye was really runny so I ended up getting it everywhere, but that may just be my clumsiness rather than the actual dye. One box was enough to cover my full head, but only just. People with hair longer than their shoulders would most likely need 2 or more boxes.

WASHING OUT:
It was very easy to wash out, and the water was running from purple to clear in about 5-10 minutes. The conditioner that came with the dye smells amazing, and there is enough for more than one application.

RESULTS:
My hair turned a very dark, almost black colour, with a very noticeable purple tint when outside in the sun. It was a really nice shade and I got so many compliments! It was a subtle purple tint, but enough to be noticed. my hair wasn't damaged from using the dye-if anything it felt in a better condition after dying it than what it felt like before dying it! Since the dye was only semi-permanent it was meant to wash out after 28 washes, however I felt that it faded much quicker than this.

Overall
PROS
- Great selection of shades to choose from
- Turned out an awesome colour
- Easy to wash out
- Nice packaging
- Really good conditioner
- My hair was in excellent condition
CONS
- Faded VERY quickly
- Very runny formula
- I was staining towels purple even a week after dying my hair.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ohsailor on 12/5/2012 5:42:00 AM more reviews by ohsailor

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Purchased in Ebony Black (I considered Licorice but it looked to have a hint of purple)
Pro's:
- application to damp hair which is beneficial for those of us with thick hair as it is easier to spread the mixture
- easy applicator system and clear instructions
- no overwhelming or suffocating smell (no ammonia)
- washed out reasonably well and my hair felt soft even before I had put on the recommended conditioner
- the bottle of conditioner supplied is more than sufficient and I managed to get a few conditions out of it
- the resulting colour was glossy and had depth to it, which can be difficult for black dyes
- it lasted quite well but I wash my hair every day so this affects the duration of the colour lasting
- the colour range is wide and covers a breadth of different shades

Con's:
- none apart from the fact that it is one of the more expensive semi-permanent dyes on the market and as I have to dye my hair quite frequently with a semi (as I wash so often) Casting Creme isn't usually my preferred option because of the cost. I usually buy if it is on offer.

This would probably be my preferred semi-permanent hair dye, irrespective of which colour I chose as I know others who have been very satisfied with the results.

Recommended.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ducky92 on 11/10/2012 6:08:00 PM more reviews by Ducky92

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

this was the first time i've ever used home hair dye or dyed my whole head!!

I have naturally dark brown hair that is very thick, wavy/curly and goes right down my back!! so i was skeptical about dyeing it, but wanted a change, i went for the Rich Honey and the first time round i followed the instructions to a T but it didn't do anything, just made it look shiny. luckily I got 2 in a sale and tried it again a few days later, i had to leave it on for an hour but it came out lovely and lasts ages!

it was a more golden brown and i loved it. i then realized that this mixes with your own hair color, so be careful!!

not long after my friend was getting married but her hair was ruined, she's ginger and dyed it black, she had it stripped and the top was red and the bottom black, as maid of honor i had to do something so i bought a box of casting creme gloss and did her hair, it came out gorgeous, it looked honey brown but dip dyed a darker shade. she was made up and looked beautiful on the day.

just remember that it blends with your current hair color and can go horribly wrong if you pick a color that's to light, like go ginger or a green so dont stray to far! like go from a mousy brown to blonde... my sister did it and it was a disaster... hope this was helpful :) X x

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 rareshela on 11/1/2012 2:45:00 PM more reviews by rareshela

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

HATE IT!!!

Bought this in shade 810 Pearl Blonde
I went from a lovely shade of blonde to very dark blonde,almost green!! Bloody hate it, I am so unhappy with L'oreal and their crappy products.
How in the hell I will be leaving the house tomorrow to buy a different hair dye is beyond my knowledge.
So unhappy!!!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 AriD on 10/25/2012 12:34:00 PM more reviews by AriD

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Background: I have really long, thick, wavy/curly/frizzy hair and the natural color is dark dirty mousy blonde. Two years ago it was dyed blonde, then I had darker brownish-purple with semi permanent dye; that washed off to a light poop color to which i added blond hightlights at the bottom giving it an ombre look. And that was half a year ago so I had huge roots, and generally my hair looked disgusting - vomit colored rainbow. My hair was in great condition (as good as it can, given its nature), but the color was horrid and had to be dealt with. So I decided to use Casting Creme Gloss in #600 dark blonde (named "light brown" in some countries) to even out the color. I thought about using a red color first to repigment the blonde bits, but #600 looked rather reddish on the box, so I decided to risk it and skip the red. I had never used this product before due to its relatively high price, but I decided that its time to finally try it.

Packaging: The box is quite nice, the instructions are written on glossy paper, as opposed to the cheap paper that you see in some brands of dye. The gloves were in a small plastic capsule. They were quite large, but since they had a rubbery texture they didnt slip off. The color activator was in a triangular bottle, which I didnt like because it was difficult to mix the color well. I did however like that on the box you could rip out that whole to hold the bottle. I don't understand why some people complain about it, I found that it was really helpful.

Use: The dye was easy to use. I did my roots first and then I spread it on the rest. I left it on in total about 40 minutes, which is probably too much, but since I have so much hair it took a long time to cover it all and then I had to let it all sit there for sufficient time. Once I applied the dye I put a plastic bag on my head and wrapped a towel on it so that the warmth would help the dye work. The wash off was easy, like with any other dye you foam it up and then rinse till the water runs clear. The conditioner was ok, but I didnt really like the smell of it, it smells kind of like the toilet cleaning products they use at my university.

Results: I'm not entirely satisfied with the results. The color itself is ok, kind of like on the box, but I should have used red first, because the parts that were blond are a bit too ashy. My hair feels quite dry and looks a bit dull. There is absolutely NO gloss, big disappointment on that point. But most semi-permanents leave me with dry hair, so its not that big of a deal, I can fix it with coconut oil.

In general I am glad I dyed hair. Its not beautiful, but for a semi-permanent its not bad, probably the best I've used. I will be using Casting Gloss again in a couple of weeks to fix the ashy parts, just this time I think I will use a different color.

UPDATED: Wanted to go red for new years, used 656 Teracotta. Indoors it looks purple and outdoors in the light it is magenta!!! Anyone who wants to have red hair DO NOT USE #656

Update # 2: Ok well the purple washed off to a drab magenta, but then that washed off to one of the nicest hair colors I've ever had - a gentle terracota blonde, absolutely gorgeous. It's a shame that I had to go through two weeks or horror before the nice color came, and its an even bigger shame that this shade will only last one or a couple more washes. I'm thinking of going to a hair dresser to figure out a hair dye that would replicate what I have now, so that I can have this more permanently.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ezzie25 on 8/26/2012 12:36:00 AM more reviews by Ezzie25

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I love this hairdye. I usually buy the chocolate colours which have the glossy brown tones built in. They have other ones like glossy golden tones, red tones etc etc but the brown ones are especially gorgeous.
Really easy to apply and even though its only a semi, it lasts for quite a long time.
Packing is nice and I like that it has the box you can use as the stand.
Best to stock up when cheap though!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Viktoriiaaaa on 8/13/2012 2:02:00 PM more reviews by Viktoriiaaaa

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is the first time I colored my hair and I choose "chocolate brownie" I was hoping for a chocolate brown color, but it made my hair having reddish tone, like mahogany/ cherry. When the sun shines on it it looks unbelievably red. After about three months the color was faded to a lighter brown/red color. But I was liking this color on my hair so much that it made me buy the same color again. This time it made my hair BLACK with a bit of a cherry tone! I mean what!! I'm not sure if I had the color treatment on too long, I had it almost 25 minutes.. After I dyed my hair, I started to shed very much hair :/ Don't know if it is because of this product?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Kangaruth on 7/9/2012 10:29:00 AM more reviews by Kangaruth

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I originally have light brown hair but I have ended up with orangey tinges due to highlights and box blonde dye.

Last night I used Casting Creme Gloss 'Very Light Frosted Blonde' hoping that it would neutralise the orange, and it was a great success! Hurrah, my hair has lightened about 1 shade and the gold tinge has all but gone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hoangrl on 6/24/2012 11:27:00 AM more reviews by hoangrl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i used to spend an absolute fortune on dying my hair at the hairdressers. It just wasn't feasible after awhile and when i started working away and with no hairdresser around i had to resort to home hair color. At first i used preference, but then i started to use this and wowowow! i totally love this stuff. I always the brown shades... it could be any of them! doesn't really matter as I naturally have black Asian hair. anyway after i colour my hair with this it just end up being really glossy and shiny. I love it! The formula is super easy to apply, not drippy and you get a decent amount and i have alot of hair. I usually wait for this to go on sale for about $8 in Australia and then I stock up. Anyway if you have naturally dark hair and just want it shiny and glossy, this is a great and cheap product to achieve salon results. Yes i believe it does give you salon results if you just want one color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BornPrettyReviews on 6/23/2012 3:53:00 PM more reviews by BornPrettyReviews

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

I love my new hair colour! so daring and beautiful. Thanks l'oreal!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Hair Color products