Joico Moisture Recovery

4.0

79 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water/Aqua/Eau, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Propylene Glycol, Glycol Distearate, Sodium Methyl Cocoyl Taurate, Cocamide Mea, Sorbitol, Pentapeptide-29 Cysteinamide, Pentapeptide-30 Cysteinamide, Tetrapeptide-28 Argininamide, Tetrapeptide-29 Argininamide, Hydrolyzed Keratin, Cocodimonium Hydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Keratin, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Hydrolyzed Algin, Sea Water/Maris Aqua/Eau De Mer, Chlorella Vulgaris Extract, Sodium Cocoamphoacetate, Silicone Quaternium-16, Citric Acid, Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride, Disodium EDTA, Undeceth-11, Arginine, Sodium Citrate, Butyloctanol, Undeceth-5, PEG-150 Pentaerythrityl Tetrastearate, PEG-6 Caprylic/Capric Glycerides, Stearyl Dihydroxypropyldimonium Oligosaccharides, Dmdm Hydantoin, Methylparaben, Sodium Chloride, Sodium Hydroxide, Benzyl Benzoate, Limonene, Fragrance/Parfum, Ext. Violet 2 (CI 60730), Blue 1 (CI 42090), Yellow 5 (CI 19140).


on 1/17/2013 3:23:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My sister and I both had Brazilians done, she asked for a Sulphate free shampoo and was given the Moisture Recovery, we have been told that it is not a Sulphate free shampoo. I called the Salon today and was told by the owner that the company they get their products from told them that it is Sulphate free, according the her the other product (Yellow Bottle) sorry cant think of name now, left the clients hair hard and they have stopped using it and have been giving their Brazilian treated clients the Moisture Recovery and have had no complaints....My sister, who has fine oily hair was most upset with the product, she said it left her hair limp and oily....she had many surprised looks from people when she told them she had just had a brazilian done??? I mentioned this to the Owner of the salon and questioned why she had given someone with oily hair a shampoo for dry hair, said the shampoo worked different to others??? very confused, my sister who has gone back to Geneva, has left the shampoo with me, im afraid to use it as i would not like the treatment to be stripped from my hair.....any ideas??



on 1/4/2013 7:06:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is the oddest shampoo. My first application produced no lather to speak of. The second was more normal, and reassured me I wasn't using conditioner instead of shampoo. My second surprise was that my hair didn't seem very moisturized. Clean, yes, and I was able to comb it easily, but I really did need to use a separate conditioner. Third , my scalp felt so clean afterward, it was almost uncomfortable. Kind of dry and tight. I have never experienced that with a shampoo before.

Subsequent uses reveal that the "moisture recovery" effect is cumulative. After a few times, I began to feel I was really using a moisturizing shampoo, and my hair needs less extra conditioner now. Using leave-in products like Sebastian's Potion 9, or Joico's K-Pak Color Therapy Restorative Oil took care of the weird scalp thing. Scrubbing less probably helps too.

The flip cap is hard to open with soapy hands.

I am undecided whether I might buy in future. I keep changing my answer to the above question from No to Yes and back again.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/3/2013 11:46:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This shampoo is ok. I used to work for the company that distributed this in my city so I'm very familiar with Joico and what their products are. This shampoo smells good, and does a decent job of cleaning, but that's about it. Overall, I find that I need 2 shampoos to get a lather, and then it doesn't really moisturize as much as I need it to. The biggest CON for me is that it isn't safe for colored hair. Which I have. So I'll be moving on when this bottle is done.


on 12/13/2012 6:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This stuff is worth every penny! My hair is wavy and dry and fuzzy/frizzy on its own when I use drugstore shampoos on it. This product makes my hair shiny, silky, and bouncy. It smells divine (I often skip perfume because I love the way my hair smells so much that I don't want to cover it up!), lathers well for a sulfate free product, and feels wonderful when you rinse out. After shampooing, my hair feels soft and silky. I follow it up with the Moisture Recovery conditioner or the K Pak Intense Hydrator (use that one about once a week)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/3/2012 6:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love joico products! I use this in conjunction with the conditioner and it seriously transforms my hair everytime I use it. I have coarse, damaged, color treated hair that's dry, so moisture is very important for it. I always notice a difference after I use these two products. Scent is clean and not overpowering. I think this shampoo by itself is average, but paired with the conditioner makes it a fantastic combo. Ever since I started used joico products, I get so much more compliments on my hair. It definitely doesn't look as dry and it feels a lot smoother.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/17/2012 2:30:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

OMG, finally a shampoo I can picture myself repurchasing! I have dry, coarse hair with damage from heat styling, and I have tried Kerastase, AG, Biolage, Redken, Wen, and Dove (my favorite on this list, believe it or not), to name a few. None have been moisturizing enough to repair or prevent damage and split ends, and most have made my hair feel weighed down. This shampoo, along with the conditioner, has noticeably improved the health of my hair. My stylist, who lives and breathes Kerastase, commented on how much healthier my hair was when I got it cut last week. Equally awesome, it doesn't leave my hair feeling heavy or coated, but rather light and manageable. It lathers nicely and has a light, fresh scent. Overall great product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/21/2012 11:43:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I got this today and I loved it. I had tried the Kenra moisturizing shampoo/conditioner and it left my hair feeling dry and damaged. I gave it to my mom and she loved it. Anyway went and got this in the liter duo and loved the smell and the way it left my hair....soft, shiny, manageable not frizzy or flat. It's wonderful!!! I recommend it! My hair is normal but tends to get dry when I use my hot tools often like flat iron, curling wand etc. A+++++

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/12/2012 7:54:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Holy Grail At Last!!!


My hair was over processed to the point where I had dry, kinky, crunchy straw at the end of each strand, making me look about 20 years older than I am, at least. If you've ever futzed with bleach, color removers, or just way too much hair dye and heat processing, you know what I'm talking about. I tried more protein, and that made it worse, so I started a regimen of clarifying shampoo, followed by Aussie 3 Minute Miracle or Neutrogena's Triple Moisture mask, and it improved, but not by very much. Having a terrible texture makes your color look terrible on top of everything else, so I was using yet more hair dye in some attempt to look even normal. Vicious cycle.


Then I found this shampoo and the mask. Holy Grail status. These products do also contain protein (like all the Joico products), so I wasn't sure if I'd just make my problem worse, but I was at my wit's end. This gamble paid off, because after one treatment, there is NO MORE crunchy straw holding on for dear life to the ends of my hair. The combo softened and moisturized my hair like nothing else, and left it clean and lightweight.


A few notes:

Texture:

They really paid attention to market research with the whole texture and feel of this stuff. It's a pale, creamy pearlescent blue color, and it's got a soft, creamy lather that feels like you're washing your hair with silky chenille foam. leaves your hair feeling clean and soft.


Smell:

Smells like a mermaid. Salty ocean air, seaweed, and maybe a hint of cucumber and musk. A subtle smell, and not ozonic or chemical like a typical Cool Water scent, but neither fruity, floral, or sweet like most of the hair and body products out now. Doesn't particularly linger.


Result:

Silky smooth. It feels stronger and the frizz is GONE, but my hair's not weighed down at all. I add a serum to weigh it down, actually, because at its current length, the ends need a little weight. Because the texture is so much better, my color looks a lot better, too. It doesn't have mirror shine or anything, but its natural sheen has come back -- this line has just basically turned the clock back on my hair by about 10 years.


I'm in love with this stuff. It's worth every penny, and performs better than anything I've used at any price, from Kerestase to Aussie. I'm ready to become a loyalist to this line.

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.


on 6/17/2012 7:35:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Bottom line .... if you bleach/lighten your hair from a level 4 to blonde .. you need this shampoo, this is my hg for a gental not too moisturizing but just enought to keep my hair very healthy. anothher amazing joico product i cant live without


on 6/10/2012 3:12:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This Shampoo is great, it leaves my hair so soft. I have dry damaged hair from dying it blonde, and this is the only shampoo that i have used that doesn't leave my hair dry. The smell is also nice and stayed in my hair all day. Sometimes you can find this and the matching conditioner at places like marshals or tj maxx at a much cheaper price, which is defiantly a plus.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top