Jonathan • Silky Dirt • Styling Products

rated 3.9(130 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bluemelon on 12/15/2008 4:22:00 AM more reviews by bluemelon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I am torn about this product. I have a sample which I have been using & I'm glad I got the sample first. This product is exactly what I was after in terms of consistency and finish, BUT - I can't stand the smell (which I discuss further on).



I have very thick, wavy/curly frizzy hair which is much thicker and puffier towards the ends. So when I blowdry & leave my hair natural (ie curly), I like to use something to 'de-puff' and de-frizz the ends after blowdrying, but I don't really like those runny serums that are greasy and oily. So I really liked this product in that it wasn't really greasy. Also as I mentioned, I love the consistency - quite a thick creamy texture, much like toothpaste, but a little thicker. All I needed was a pea size amount, which I rubbed between my palms and then grabbed sections of hair and rubbed the product through the ends only. It smoothed and tamed the ends of my hair beautifully, and set things in place nicely. And it has a slight amount of shine, but not near the intensity of the serums. Now my ponytails look like ponytails and not puffy frizzballs!


Now for the scent - it's a cross between vanilla marshmallows and almond essence/marzipan. When I first put it on, the almond scent was really really strong. For a couple of hours, I really couldn't stand the fragrance - it was almost a plastic-rubbery vanilla scent. But after a couple of hours, that horrible part of the scent (and the almond scent) faded, leaving behind just the vanilla marshmallow scent. And this lingers until I wash my hair again. I honestly don't understand why anyone would scent a product with almond/marzipan, because people either like it, or hate it a lot (and I am the latter).


So overall, it's a great product for smoothing, de-frizzing and 'de-puffing', but only if you don't mind the strong lingering scent. If anyone has any suggestions for a product with the same consistency and finish but with a better fragrance - I would really appreciate it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 butrflyonaroz on 12/3/2008 10:23:00 PM more reviews by butrflyonaroz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am hairstyling-challenged, so have a fabulous cut that's pretty much wash & wear. I updated it a little by getting more bangs that I can use to give myself a face-framing, edgy look. However, I found I needed a little more frizz control lately, as well as some definition at my ends, especially my bangs. I had a tiny sample of this from last year that I've used very occasionally & tried it with my new bangs. Yay! This stuff is pretty much fool proof for me, a little goes a long way, and I love the smell. I wear lotions and fragrances that have a similar smell, so it doesn't clash. However, because a little goes a long way, I do smell it all day & I can see where someone else might not appreciate that.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hollilocks on 11/4/2008 9:59:00 PM more reviews by hollilocks

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Nothing else I've found works quite like this product. I was fortunate to receive a sample packet in a swap. I almost put it in my bag of extras to pass on, but got curious and thought I'd give it a try. I'm so glad I did! This stuff is awesome! I've been a devoted Bumble & Bumble fan for years, but have started to look elsewhere. Silky dirt is a definite repurchase for me. As others have said, only use the tiniest bit. You can always add more product, if needed. But, a little does the job, which makes it easier to pay almost $30 for the tube. As for the scent, it's not a big deal. I probably wouldn't have even thought much about it if I hadn't read all the comments here. Thanks to the swapper who sent a sample to me!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tracita on 10/30/2008 10:31:00 PM more reviews by tracita

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I don't mind the almond scent...I will admit it's strong though--I have people at work telling me my hair smells yummy...teeny teeny tiny bit is all you need---one pinhead too much and you'll be left with a sticky mess dirty mess...hmmmmm dirty mess...dirt...hmmmmm. anywho, I don't use this much anymore as I've fallen in love with WEN Lavender Styling Creme...still, I like what it did to my very-slightly wavy, do-nothing hair--gave it some body, some bounce and some hold too...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* katemvirginia on 10/30/2008 10:31:00 AM more reviews by katemvirginia

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

First off I have naturally curly hair that I straighten with a blowdryer. I have tried this product 2x to ensure it wasn't a "fluke" Overnight my hair poofed up so bad I had to flat iron it. This stuff is definately not for curly girls who straighten their locks.

I love Redken glass instead for same result & I only need a few drops of that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LisMo9 on 9/12/2008 10:39:00 PM more reviews by LisMo9

Age: Unknown   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I love this stuff. I will admit the scent takes a bit of getting used to, I can't even detect it anymore. I have fine wavy-on-top, curly underneath hair. But I have a lot of it. So I use this stuff to smoothe my hair, give a light hold, and add a bit of grip. Girls who have been looking for a product to do all this know exactly what I am talking about. I can wash my hair, put some Silky Dirt in, and be done for the day. I have never found anything else like it, and a little bit goes a long way.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 terribleterra on 9/11/2008 10:54:00 AM more reviews by terribleterra

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I could have wrote Meritorious review word from word. I too received this as a free sample from Sephora and it sat in my medicine cabinet for a little bit. I washed my hair one day and I decided to give it a whirl. It didn't seem that bad, but then...................... I proceeded to breathe. The SMELL is horrifying. I was so sick to my stomach after about 15-20 minutes of the overpowering smell that I needed to wash my hair yet again. It was awful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 francie197 on 7/30/2008 10:03:00 AM more reviews by francie197

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I got a free sample of this product a long time ago from Sephora, but for some reason I put it in the drawer and never tried it. Recently, in a fit of sheer hair frustration, I pulled it out and tried it. Wow! This stuff is great! I am currently wearing my hair in a chin-length bob with slight tapering on the ends and a long side bang. My hair is straight but has some sort of weird wave to it that normally makes the left side flip up, driving me CRAZY! When I put a very minute dab of this product on my hands, rubbed my palms together and then touched them to my hair from about mid-length to the ends, sheer perfection! Every hair laid down straight, was shiny, bouncy, and looked healthy. I have also found that following up with a straightening iron for a few moments only enhances the benefits. I'm not really crazy about the smell, but I can live with it. Will definitely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Meritorious on 7/9/2008 10:58:00 PM more reviews by Meritorious

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I can tolerate almost anything for the results I'm looking for. Not this. The overwhelming almond cookie scent of this overpowered my analytical ability regarding its performance. It could be the greatest product ever but I just won't walk around smelling strongly of baked goods.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* scarlettOH on 6/27/2008 1:00:00 PM more reviews by scarlettOH

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Please someone tell me the purpose of this product. It was like putting sticky cement in my hair-- what a mess! did absolutely nothing except make my hair a frizzy ugly sticky mess...x10.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Jonathan products

More Styling Products products