Lily Lolo • Mineral Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.8(157 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettypollyperkins on 5/2/2013 8:56:00 AM more reviews by prettypollyperkins

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My original review is posted below, but I was annoyed at the sneaky price increases since I first discovered it. But they have kept the price at £13.49 for quite a while which now which seems a lot fairer. I've since discovered Laura Geller Balance n' Brighten with SPF 15 in the Fair and Medium shades, which, though still expensive, suits my dehydrated yet oily forties skin even better, although to be fair the colour match isn't absolutely perfect. "After Bare Minerals, this is like a breath of fresh air. BM contains the dreaded Bismuth Oxychloride which makes my skin very itchy, but LL doesn't and I found it much easier to get a good colour match for my slightly yellow-toned light olive skin (albeit by mixing Warm Honey with Butterscotch). Coverage is light to medium and it lasts well with a primer and finishing powder but it does need re-touching regularly, especially if your skin is less than perfect. If you are dry or normal-skinned, remember to moisturise really well first as it has a tendency to look powdery otherwise. I usually use ELF HD loose powder sparingly over the top which is half the price of LL's finishing powder and I prefer the finish. My oily/combination skin loves this foundation and it's one of the few foundations and the ONLY powder foundation I will repeat purchase."

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 YCH on 4/26/2013 1:22:00 PM more reviews by YCH

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I so wanted to love this product as it is natural, affordable and simple and feels so lovely and soft. I even bought the Ecotools retractable kabuki to go with it, but no matter how I apply it (wet, dry.,after moisturiser, mixed with moisturiser, light, heavy whatever) I always just look a bit meh.
I'm pretty sure of my colour choice (Blondie) but my skin just looks a bit dull and my cheeks a bit flushed (if that's not a contradiction). Maybe I'm allergic to something in it. Will keep it and try again later, but just so disappointed - back to BB creams for me.
Edited 15 June - now mix this with a different mineral powder (which is a bit too dark, but gives my skin a more glowy look) and also use this alone as a concealer for which it does a good job, just too ashy for me to use alone as a foundation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Kris_DK on 3/14/2013 5:36:00 AM more reviews by Kris_DK

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I really wanted to like this! It has medium coverage, looks really good, has nice staying power, lasts better than bare minerals, good colour match, practical packaging, free of perfume, parabens etc. Whats not to like??? Unfortunately it makes my skin feel tight and itchy:-(( And after using an entire pot my skin is really dried out - I have tried compensating with extra moisturizer etc. But it is not enough, I will have to try to find something else:-(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* madeupmary on 3/7/2013 5:57:00 AM more reviews by madeupmary

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

This is probably the best of all the mineral foundations I have tried. It is the one which is the most finely milled and the product almost has a creamy texture when you rub it between your fingers. Unfortunately, it still didn't give me the coverage I wanted, but of all the mineral foundations it gave me the most natural coverage, without looking cakey. The price is very reasonable, at 12 - 13. The thing I love most about this is the packaging - it actually has a lockable sifter so the product doesn't get everywhere - why don't all mineral makeup companies do this?

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tindra78 on 2/8/2013 1:06:00 PM more reviews by Tindra78

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this many years ago, but since I read about the possible comedogenic effects of Lauroyl lysine in my ordinary foundation (EM matte) I decided to try this.



My skin is very acne-prone, but still extremely sensitive, close to rosacea very often. There are very few makeup products that I actually can wear. I've also discovered that titanium dioxide sometimes can give me clogged pores. Therefore I thought that this foundation could be a good choice, theoretically, containing mainly Zink oxide and mica.



I'm a NW/NC 15 during winter, and I found the China Doll and Blondie to be ok shades.



Pros:
- no "extra" additives
- gives a really matte finish (maybe the matte kind of mica?)
- reliable brand
- overcoming price
- pores look "ok" , must be the lack of titanium dioxide? ( most mineral makeup enlarges them)
- the absence of titanium dioxide gives a little more photo-friendly look, which can be important if you wear this out/with friends


Cons:
- something makes my skin itchy and very dry!!! I get the "I can't smile"-feeling...
- no coverage whatsoever in my opinion!! To me, this is more of a lightly tinted finishing powder! Not buildable coverage! I have sooo many acne scars and hyperpigmentation that I need to hide!!
- accentuates dry patches and areas by emphasizing flakes ( especially in the morning, before it have blended out with the face's own oils)!!
- the shades are not as many as EM have...which makes it harder to choose the perfect shade. I use fairly light neutral in EM, but the closest here are Blondie and China Doll, which are more pinkish compared to EM.



Yes, the lack of the "fatty emollient" Lauroyl lysine probably gives the mica free space: mica can be really, really harsh against sensitive skin!! This mineral is hard to get soft cause It's harsh edges and that it can become dangerous do inhale when It's too finely milled - so they don't mill it extremely much as its actually possible ( I've read so, but I don't know..).


I can stand mica in EM matte foundation, but then in combination with LL. But in this way I only wanted to wash this off my face every day at work!



So I suspect mica giving me the flushy, itching and overdry feeling... Cause it can't be the Zink oxide!! I use the Elta MD daily with Zink oxide, with no problems!



Sensitive skin? Be a little careful with this! I've managed to wear this daily for almost 1 week now, NO breakouts ( I usually breakout within a day or two strangely enough, if a product clogges my pores). It gives a nice look,BUT irritations that are too hard to handle.



One lippie for the try of making a really "clean" product... And two more for the matte effect, not enlarging the pores - this is rare in the mmu-world.


If I use this only at some small areas it keeps the oil at bay a little.


Update 2013-05-25:

I have ended up using this daily anyway. I use it on my problem areas, where I have most acne. It does not cover it all, I have to put some EDM matte foundation on sometimes (cause I still haven't found any good loose foundation with better coverage, but I'm worried about the lauroyl lysine). It really gives a matte finish, which I like! So a good base, with spf and light coverage for quick daily use! :) 4 lippies!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ALF1969 on 2/7/2013 5:46:00 AM more reviews by ALF1969

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this, after all the company is lovely, the packaging is the best and the price is great too. BUT no matter how I apply this is just cakes and separates on my face! I can't understand it, the ingredients are standard. Now I am no newcomer to mineral makeup, I have used nothing else for 15 years. Can't get on with bismuth so I usually import from the US to the UK. I have tried exfoliating, lightly moisturising, heaving moisturising, using primer, building up very light coats, using a flocked sponge, using fixing spray......etc Nothing works!
It just isn't creamy, doesn't sink in as it should, sits on top of my skin and separates and cakes. Never had this from any other mineral foundation inc. original EDM (before introduction of LL), BE, Aromaleigh, Mineral basics (RIP), TBS, Jane Iredale, Signature mineral (not good), Silk Naturals, 'Minerals Will Work For You' and some others.
It reminds me of the new formulation of EDM with Lauryl Lysine - but much worse.
The packaging is awesome though so I will toss the foundation and use the container for other mineral makeup.
Funny thing is I tried This foundation about 2005/6 when they first stared and it was fine although the colour match was a bit off. I thought I would add a bit of yellow and green colour corrector (thank you Silk Naturals!) and try it again. Maybe the formula has changed? But the ingredients on the packaging are the same ?!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ferndarlin on 1/9/2013 5:04:00 PM more reviews by ferndarlin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this for about a year and a half now, it's the BEST!
I'm fair skinned, pretty oily all over, and prone to mild hormonal acne. To compare, I'm about an N3/N4 in mac.
China Doll is perfection, you can't even see it on. I use it all year round as I don't tan! I use Barely Beige concealer underneath on blemish marks, and bought their Kabuki brush too. (The brush by the way, is an absolute dream - no malting, easy cleaning, soft as a feather)
I apply moisturiser, and do my eyes while I let it sink in. Then I lightly dust Mario Badescu Healing Powder as a sort of antiseptic primer, and then conceal any ugly blemishes, then foundation. I've also used the Blush Away corrector on really red, angry spots/scars and it is super awesome.
The Bottom Line: it covers well, is pure and natural without irritating Bismuth Oxide, no icky shimmer (hell for oily skins), covers without caking, doesn't flake unless my skin is really dry (which is v.rare). Also the sales team are really helpful on their facebook.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lilme1301 on 1/7/2013 3:38:00 PM more reviews by lilme1301

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I use MUA as bible for purchasing new beauty products, and so while searching for a good mineral powder, I stumbled across Lily Lo. I purchased a couple samples to match my skin tone, and they were a pretty good bargain. They give you a generous amount for your buck. Thrilled to try it out, I applied the make up and noticed that it doesn't offer a lot of coverage. If you're into very light coverage, I guess this will be great for you...I instead was looking for a good coverage, since I'm not a fan of foundation or many layers of make-up (I tend to break out easily). I WILL say that this product did NOT break me out, and for that, I am thankful.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tamilves on 10/25/2012 7:38:00 PM more reviews by tamilves

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This is the only mineral foundation I've ever tried - and I do like it a lot. I'm NW15 and found a really good match on China Doll.
I have combination skin and rosacea. This foundation is a bit drying on my cheeks on winter and it doesn't cover redness that much. SO I apply heavy moisturizer on cheeks during winter and mix the foundation with Lily Lolo's green concealer to hide my rosacea. As everybody else said, the best way to make this foundation work is: hydrate and let it sink, prime, apply thin layers with a nice kabuki brush.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 marssa on 10/24/2012 6:18:00 PM more reviews by marssa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

The first mineral foundation I ever tested, but not the last. I had high hopes since my friend told me this is her HG-product and she also has combination skin like me.
Well, I put it on one morning and had a normal school day for a couple of hours. When I got home - the horrors! My face had a thick layer of mush, all caked up and shiny(the reason why I anyhow give it two lipsticks out of five is that it still covered my pimples and such stuff). What a disappointment! And mind you, this result with a primer and the Flawless Matte I also bought from LL...
So, sadly, LL won't get a customer out of me at least when it comes to their mineral foundation, and luckily for me there's a ton of other mineral brands I can try out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lily Lolo products

More Foundations products