Lily Lolo • Mineral Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.8(160 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Gidella on 7/6/2013 12:45:00 PM more reviews by Gidella

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

I recently decided to buy a new foundation, and after much research I decided to try Lily Lolo's mineral foundation. I got samples in Blondie, China Doll and Barely Buff. The samples arrived quickly and I've spent the last week trying them on and evaluating them. And finally decided on getting China Doll as it really was a perfect match for me.

What I like the most about the product is the fact that it didn't break me out at all. That usually happens within a day otherwise. I also like the fact that China Doll didn't oxidize for me after several hours outdoor in sun and summer heat, that's really a first for me. Nor was it too pale for me either, as certain colors do make me look like a corpse as I'm pale. The fact that you can layer the foundation is awesome, and as I do like the natural look I tend to want my freckles to shine through but also want to be able to hide my zits and what not. I could do all that with China Doll without a problem.

What is slightly disappointing though, is that the foundation didn't keep me matte all day, not even when I used LL's Flawless Matte to go along with it. I'm really oily and most products rarely succeed in keeping the oil away, so I wasn't surprised really, but that's why I only gave the product four lippies. I've decided to use a good primer underneath the foundation for extra staying power to minimize the oil more, which is what I'd recommend most of you guys to do too. A good base is everything when you want to hide your oiliness.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 iluvsushi on 5/15/2013 11:55:00 AM more reviews by iluvsushi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Initially, I was sceptical about the staying power of mineral foundations which was why I shied away from them and carried on using my trusted long-wearing liquid foundation - Chanel Perfection Lumiere (which I've also reviewed on MUA).
As a makeup junkie, I'm always researching foundations that cater for oily skin. I bought my 2nd bottle of my fave Chanel foundation, however the price was steep and wanted to use this foundation for special occasions as I've previously been using it 5-6days a week. So I decided to look for inexpensive alternatives online and came across an online beauty/makeup forum, where girls were asking for advice on the best foundation. I saw a few suggestions for oily skin. The majority of them suggested mineral foundations as they're in powder form and will not clog pores like liquid foundations do, despite company claims that it's non-comedogenic. Mineral foundation is supposed to be good for your skin as it's free from chemicals, unlike other foundations.
I've read many raves about bareMinerals, however I didn't want to pay 25 for a mineral foundation. I did more research and discovered a UK brand called Lily Lolo. Their foundations were half the price of what you'd pay for bareMinerals, so I opted for the "drugstore alternative". Fortunately, they offer sample sizes of products as they're only available to purchase online. I bought 3 shades: Saffron, Butterscotch & Warm Honey. Saffron was almost a good match for me as I have medium skin tone with yellow undertones, however it was slightly dark for me (a good shade for medium tanned skin for summer). Butterscotch is for medium skin with yellow undertones and I felt this was slightly lighter than my natural skin tone, but I could use Saffron as a "bronzer" to contour my face. Warm Honey was more peach toned for medium skin tone so it clashed with my yellow undertones. Eventually I tested Butterscotch on it's own and used setting powder. I only touched up my makeup 1-2 times and my skin looked really nice or almost second skin. After 2/3 hrs I noticed it didn't oxidize! I've had previous problems with foundations oxidizing on my oily skin, which meant I had to purchase a shade lighter. Despite Butterscotch being a tinge lighter than my natural skin tone, I could still get away with bronzer or use Saffron to contour my face.
From experience, The staying power of this mineral foundation is at least 8hrs. I think beyond 10hrs is pushing it a little further and 12hrs+ will not happen as the foundation will look blotchy/starting to melt away (well for my combination oily skin anyway). I've re-applied the foundation to see if it "cakes up" and it doesn't. However, it does make my dry areas look more prominent. So I advise people with dry skin to really hydrate your skin before using this mineral foundation. I do prefer a matte finish because of my oily skin, but this does give a slight natural sheen. There's many colours to choose from which I do prefer as some cosmetics brands offer limited shades that won't suit all skin tones. This foundation makes my skin feel soft to touch, it's natural looking in photos without flash. Because of the SPF content it will show a white cast in flash photography. This foundation is very affordable for those that are wanting to try mineral foundation for the first time or completely converting to mineral makeup. It doesn't irritate my skin, never had a breakout since using this (apart from hormonal acne). It feels lightweight, gives decent coverage for someone with blemishes like me, however I still need to use a concealer for stubborn pimples and dark under eye circles. Overall a good investment if you're a bargain shopper like me. The quality of the foundation is great and finely milled. It gives decent coverage for imperfection skin and is long-wearing 8-10hrs esp. for oily skin! Highly recommend this foundation if you're a beginner on mineral makeup. I'm totally convinced and should've took the plunge into the mineral beauty world ages ago! (sorry for the tediousness review - I had to justify this wonderful product!) Hope this review helps :)

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chloboo on 5/11/2013 1:15:00 PM more reviews by chloboo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Before I start on the product, I should tell you that I have very difficult skin when it comes to foundations. My combination skin switches between days of intense oiliness and then extreme dry patches across my cheeks and chin. This means foundations either go shiny, slip and last only a few hours, or gather on the dry patches. I have a lot of red pigmentation on my cheeks, and quite big pores on my nose and chin. My friend began to rave about Bare Minerals, but with a tight budget, and risk of it not suiting my skin, I went on a mineral make up search, and found Lily lolo. The sample service is great - meaning you can test the shades, and the product itself to see how your skin reacts. (also for a price so cheap it doesn't matter if it goes straight in the bin!) I found new love in this foundation. It buffs in nicely with my ELF powder brush, and can be builded to 2 layers nicely (any more than this it can begin to cake and crease) I do use a concealer underneath to help increase coverage (Collection 2000 Lasting perfection) I found that the Lily lolo concealers were quite drying, emphasising dry patches and creases under the eye. I use a sweep of Rimmel Stay Matte powder across my T-Zone to help with my oiliness, and find this definitely helps keep the foundation on all day. The foundation doesn't accentuate pores like other mineral make up can do, and looks very natural, whilst providing enough coverage to reduce my red cheeks to a pink blushed hue. It feels very lightweight on the skin but you do need a good moisturiser underneath and takes a while to figure out how much product to use (this will prevent the 'dry' feeling other reviewers have mentioned) I use about two taps of product, and for extra coverage may use another half. The fact there is a twist lid to cover the sieve is a great bonus, however the top lid is quite cheap, and the sides of mine have snapped off. I LOVE this product, and would highly recommend it - but make sure you take advantage of the sample service to be sure it suits you before you buy!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettypollyperkins on 5/2/2013 8:56:00 AM more reviews by prettypollyperkins

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My original review is posted below, but I was annoyed at the sneaky price increases since I first discovered it. But they have kept the price at £13.49 for quite a while which now which seems a lot fairer. I've since discovered Laura Geller Balance n' Brighten with SPF 15 in the Fair and Medium shades, which, though still expensive, suits my dehydrated yet oily forties skin even better, although to be fair the colour match isn't absolutely perfect. "After Bare Minerals, this is like a breath of fresh air. BM contains the dreaded Bismuth Oxychloride which makes my skin very itchy, but LL doesn't and I found it much easier to get a good colour match for my slightly yellow-toned light olive skin (albeit by mixing Warm Honey with Butterscotch). Coverage is light to medium and it lasts well with a primer and finishing powder but it does need re-touching regularly, especially if your skin is less than perfect. If you are dry or normal-skinned, remember to moisturise really well first as it has a tendency to look powdery otherwise. I usually use ELF HD loose powder sparingly over the top which is half the price of LL's finishing powder and I prefer the finish. My oily/combination skin loves this foundation and it's one of the few foundations and the ONLY powder foundation I will repeat purchase."

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 YCH on 4/26/2013 1:22:00 PM more reviews by YCH

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I so wanted to love this product as it is natural, affordable and simple and feels so lovely and soft. I even bought the Ecotools retractable kabuki to go with it, but no matter how I apply it (wet, dry.,after moisturiser, mixed with moisturiser, light, heavy whatever) I always just look a bit meh.
I'm pretty sure of my colour choice (Blondie) but my skin just looks a bit dull and my cheeks a bit flushed (if that's not a contradiction). Maybe I'm allergic to something in it. Will keep it and try again later, but just so disappointed - back to BB creams for me.
Edited 15 June - now mix this with a different mineral powder (which is a bit too dark, but gives my skin a more glowy look) and also use this alone as a concealer for which it does a good job, just too ashy for me to use alone as a foundation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Kris_DK on 3/14/2013 5:36:00 AM more reviews by Kris_DK

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I really wanted to like this! It has medium coverage, looks really good, has nice staying power, lasts better than bare minerals, good colour match, practical packaging, free of perfume, parabens etc. Whats not to like??? Unfortunately it makes my skin feel tight and itchy:-(( And after using an entire pot my skin is really dried out - I have tried compensating with extra moisturizer etc. But it is not enough, I will have to try to find something else:-(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* madeupmary on 3/7/2013 5:57:00 AM more reviews by madeupmary

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

This is probably the best of all the mineral foundations I have tried. It is the one which is the most finely milled and the product almost has a creamy texture when you rub it between your fingers. Unfortunately, it still didn't give me the coverage I wanted, but of all the mineral foundations it gave me the most natural coverage, without looking cakey. The price is very reasonable, at 12 - 13. The thing I love most about this is the packaging - it actually has a lockable sifter so the product doesn't get everywhere - why don't all mineral makeup companies do this?

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tindra78 on 2/8/2013 1:06:00 PM more reviews by Tindra78

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this many years ago, but since I read about the possible comedogenic effects of Lauroyl lysine in my ordinary foundation (EM matte) I decided to try this.



My skin is very acne-prone, but still extremely sensitive, close to rosacea very often. There are very few makeup products that I actually can wear. I've also discovered that titanium dioxide sometimes can give me clogged pores. Therefore I thought that this foundation could be a good choice, theoretically, containing mainly Zink oxide and mica.



I'm a NW/NC 15 during winter, and I found the China Doll and Blondie to be ok shades.



Pros:
- no "extra" additives
- gives a really matte finish (maybe the matte kind of mica?)
- reliable brand
- overcoming price
- pores look "ok" , must be the lack of titanium dioxide? ( most mineral makeup enlarges them)
- the absence of titanium dioxide gives a little more photo-friendly look, which can be important if you wear this out/with friends


Cons:
- something makes my skin itchy and very dry!!! I get the "I can't smile"-feeling...
- no coverage whatsoever in my opinion!! To me, this is more of a lightly tinted finishing powder! Not buildable coverage! I have sooo many acne scars and hyperpigmentation that I need to hide!!
- accentuates dry patches and areas by emphasizing flakes ( especially in the morning, before it have blended out with the face's own oils)!!
- the shades are not as many as EM have...which makes it harder to choose the perfect shade. I use fairly light neutral in EM, but the closest here are Blondie and China Doll, which are more pinkish compared to EM.



Yes, the lack of the "fatty emollient" Lauroyl lysine probably gives the mica free space: mica can be really, really harsh against sensitive skin!! This mineral is hard to get soft cause It's harsh edges and that it can become dangerous do inhale when It's too finely milled - so they don't mill it extremely much as its actually possible ( I've read so, but I don't know..).


I can stand mica in EM matte foundation, but then in combination with LL. But in this way I only wanted to wash this off my face every day at work!



So I suspect mica giving me the flushy, itching and overdry feeling... Cause it can't be the Zink oxide!! I use the Elta MD daily with Zink oxide, with no problems!



Sensitive skin? Be a little careful with this! I've managed to wear this daily for almost 1 week now, NO breakouts ( I usually breakout within a day or two strangely enough, if a product clogges my pores). It gives a nice look,BUT irritations that are too hard to handle.



One lippie for the try of making a really "clean" product... And two more for the matte effect, not enlarging the pores - this is rare in the mmu-world.


If I use this only at some small areas it keeps the oil at bay a little.


Update 2013-05-25:

I have ended up using this daily anyway. I use it on my problem areas, where I have most acne. It does not cover it all, I have to put some EDM matte foundation on sometimes (cause I still haven't found any good loose foundation with better coverage, but I'm worried about the lauroyl lysine). It really gives a matte finish, which I like! So a good base, with spf and light coverage for quick daily use! :) 4 lippies!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ALF1969 on 2/7/2013 5:46:00 AM more reviews by ALF1969

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this, after all the company is lovely, the packaging is the best and the price is great too. BUT no matter how I apply this is just cakes and separates on my face! I can't understand it, the ingredients are standard. Now I am no newcomer to mineral makeup, I have used nothing else for 15 years. Can't get on with bismuth so I usually import from the US to the UK. I have tried exfoliating, lightly moisturising, heaving moisturising, using primer, building up very light coats, using a flocked sponge, using fixing spray......etc Nothing works!
It just isn't creamy, doesn't sink in as it should, sits on top of my skin and separates and cakes. Never had this from any other mineral foundation inc. original EDM (before introduction of LL), BE, Aromaleigh, Mineral basics (RIP), TBS, Jane Iredale, Signature mineral (not good), Silk Naturals, 'Minerals Will Work For You' and some others.
It reminds me of the new formulation of EDM with Lauryl Lysine - but much worse.
The packaging is awesome though so I will toss the foundation and use the container for other mineral makeup.
Funny thing is I tried This foundation about 2005/6 when they first stared and it was fine although the colour match was a bit off. I thought I would add a bit of yellow and green colour corrector (thank you Silk Naturals!) and try it again. Maybe the formula has changed? But the ingredients on the packaging are the same ?!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ferndarlin on 1/9/2013 5:04:00 PM more reviews by ferndarlin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this for about a year and a half now, it's the BEST!
I'm fair skinned, pretty oily all over, and prone to mild hormonal acne. To compare, I'm about an N3/N4 in mac.
China Doll is perfection, you can't even see it on. I use it all year round as I don't tan! I use Barely Beige concealer underneath on blemish marks, and bought their Kabuki brush too. (The brush by the way, is an absolute dream - no malting, easy cleaning, soft as a feather)
I apply moisturiser, and do my eyes while I let it sink in. Then I lightly dust Mario Badescu Healing Powder as a sort of antiseptic primer, and then conceal any ugly blemishes, then foundation. I've also used the Blush Away corrector on really red, angry spots/scars and it is super awesome.
The Bottom Line: it covers well, is pure and natural without irritating Bismuth Oxide, no icky shimmer (hell for oily skins), covers without caking, doesn't flake unless my skin is really dry (which is v.rare). Also the sales team are really helpful on their facebook.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lily Lolo products

More Foundations products