L'Oreal • HIP Pure Pigment Shadow Stick • Eye Shadow

rated 2.5(55 reviews)

Average Rating.2.5
Would buy this product again.32%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jenni4Design on 8/31/2008 2:58:00 AM more reviews by Jenni4Design

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Not such a great product. I bought this in Dazzling, silver/grey. If you put it on dry it's scratchy. It goes on better wet and once you've rounded the edges by doing that it's not so bad to put on dry. Better as an all over color, but I can use the edge to make eyeliner line. Not a precise line per say... better for smokey look. I just expect a lttle more from this I guess.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 beatachica1 on 8/18/2008 3:01:00 AM more reviews by beatachica1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

this is a short pigment crayon stick

do not sharpen as the direction asks, just apply directly and smudge with your finger or synthetic brush

works well for me :) i bought the green shade

*note* do no buy this is you aren't too experienced w/ application as it can be tricky for some

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gabbster123 on 8/17/2008 11:47:00 PM more reviews by gabbster123

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Well this product is very weird instead of coming sharpened it comes flat and then you have to sharpen it, then it has plastic around it. after i sharpened it i applied it dry to my eyelids and it had ALOT of fall out bit it was very pigmented and i used it with out an eyeshadow base.(that I am impressed with)but when used wet it has a little less fallout and the color is fantastic. I bought this in Mesmerizing,

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 loveshimmer on 8/10/2008 7:49:00 PM more reviews by loveshimmer

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Oh...my...god. This is the worst *#@*ing piece of #*@# I have ever wasted money on. Absolute garbage. I bought it before I knew aboutMUA. Oh god, why... WHY??? Packaging, crap, size, tiny, product, worthless. When u pull it out of the tube half of it has tightly wrapped plastic on it. Wht? OH! I know why, because without the plastic to support it, it would all crumble. Well the top broke off.I removed the plastic with a safety pin. I tried to sharpen it as has been suggested, I lost half the product in the sharpener ( don't forget, half already broke off) I couldn't get much of a point, then when I applied the tiniest bit of pressure it crumbled more. I collected the shards from the sharpened and attempted to blend them onto my lid. No go. A waste of money. And to think, for a few dollars more I could have had a mac shadow. Damn.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kimmeekat72 on 7/7/2008 6:05:00 PM more reviews by kimmeekat72

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love these little crayons.....AFTER I found out that you sharpen them with a big sharpener!!! They are sooo intense when used wet, I like to line under my lashes with these and use black on my upper lid!! SMASHING!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 queenjaime572 on 5/14/2008 10:45:00 AM more reviews by queenjaime572

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I bought 2 of these because they were 75% off at CVS. I'd been wanting to try some of the HIP products, but I was hesitant because of the price for a drugstore product. The shadow sicks are very awkward to use. They come as a very short, flat ended stick, with plastic wrapped around most of it (which btw is hard to remove). When they were dry, I had to rub so hard to get it to show up. I tried to use a brush or even my finger, but it wouldn't come off on them. I like the colors better dry, when they are wet they are too bold for me since I don't look good in dark colors. They are much easier to apply wet though. Overall, the convenience of the stick is not worth the work you have to do to apply it. Also the original price is way to high for this product (about 9.99). Luckily I only paid about $2.50 each for them. I'm thinking about crumbling them and seeing if that works better for me. I will update if I decide to do this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xthislineudie on 5/8/2008 2:07:00 AM more reviews by xthislineudie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have the HIP Pure Pigment Shadow Stick in several shades (Mesmerizing, Captivating, Majestic, and Alluring), and I have to say Captivating is by far the shade I use most often (although I use it rarely). The packaging makes the Shadow Stick awkward (and sometimes uncomfortable) to apply, but the resulting color(s) *especially when applied wet!* are soo intense and incredible. Captivating applies a reddish-pink dry and a full-out magenta when wet, and when I'm going for out-there eyes, it fits perfectly. *For a punk/rocker-chick set of peepers on a night out, try this: HIP Pure Pigment Shadow Stick in Captivating applied dry (this CAN be done if the tip is shaped *goes on without hurting*, although it is still a little awkward b/c of the large size; be careful and have a Q-tip handy) slightly above the crease, applied wet on the top lid/to line lower lid. Line top and lower lids OUTSIDE lashline with a rich, shimmery purple shadow (you won't believe how much diminsion the purple shadow adds to the look!). A sheer shimmery/glittery shadow from crease (even layered over the dry shadow) to brow gives extra pop. Line inner-lashline with black or espresso pencil. Finish with thick, BLACK mascara!* Talk about intense.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sanckensmom on 4/28/2008 3:18:00 AM more reviews by sanckensmom

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this because I am on a black eyeliner buying frenzy and after reading a positive MUA review on these sticks, I just had to have one. I waited for a BOGOF deal before I bought it though as they are very expensive for drugstore make up. I was instantly disappointed in this product because I bought the black to use as an eyeliner for upper and lower eyes...I do not have oily lids and use UDPP everyday religiously. This stuff smeared like I rubbed oil on my lids.You cannot tell until you purchase this stick but the point is so thick, like a chubby, jumbo pencil. I had a feeling it would be like this, but thought I could get a nice line anyway. I don't look to achieve a thin black line with my liner, my objective is any line, just not crumbly, skippy, or smeary! I just want something to go on where I put it and stay that way! It may have worked fabulously as a eyecolor on my lids, but that is not what I wanted as I do not wear dark eyeshadows. I took it back the very next day, as it was so bad for me, I did not even want to try it a second time. The hunt continues for a wonderul, pencil eyeliner that will not smudge on me the second I apply.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 shiherostar on 4/27/2008 11:37:00 AM more reviews by shiherostar

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I bought this because I thought it would be easy to use in a stick form. It got all over my face and did not blend well.

I like the shadows in a pot better. Will not buy again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jenzene on 4/2/2008 12:13:00 AM more reviews by jenzene

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The product is soooo small! I hate how hard the shadow is and how hard I have to work just to get a little product on my brush or finger! I bought this because I saw a YouTube video of someone using it and she raved about it... I think it's horrible. I thought of crumbling it up for easier use, and then I thought I'd be better off swapping it with someone on whom this shadow would work.

L'Oreal HiP stuff is expensive! You're better off shelling out the extra $2-$3 for MAC.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Eye Shadow products