Clairol • Herbal Essences Dangerously Straight Shampoo [DISCONTINUED] • Shampoo

rated 3.3(69 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* izzybella on 9/8/2009 9:18:00 PM more reviews by izzybella

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I used to use Herbal Essences when it first came out but tired of the floweriness quickly. Up until about a week ago, I hadn't used anything HE for about 5+ years so I was pleasantly surprised with this shampoo. It left my hair feeling clean and I think, a bit straighter. Obviously it won't completely straighten your hair, so if you usually use a flat iron you most likely will still need to flat iron your hair to get the look you want. Overall though I think my waves are less unruly. Smell is nice, I would repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Yuumii on 9/5/2009 9:04:00 PM more reviews by Yuumii

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have been using this shampoo ALL THE TIME, since summer 2006 when it was released. :) I absolutely love love loveeeeeeee this shampoo. It smells absolutely amazing! It has a nice pearl effect to it and it really makes my hair shine. It is very easy to wash out and only takes a few quick minutes to use! If it is humid outside, this is just a miracle. If you have trouble with your hair staying straight throughout a school or work day (or just ANY day xD) then this is PERFECT :) I really love this shampoo and I highly reccomend it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tempescape on 8/27/2009 11:36:00 PM more reviews by tempescape

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

Take the word DANGEROUS on the label seriously because this product lives up to it.
OMG this was the WORST shampoo I have ever tried. I have relaxed?permed hair and after washing it just once my hair which was in great condition started breaking off. Additionally the SMELL it left on my hiar was sooo horrible. I quckly washed it off then tried to restore ym hair and cover teh smell with another shampoo (mild) and it wasn't string enough so I had to wait until the next day to go out and find a shampoo that had a strong enough scent to cover it then washed my hair again to bring it back to normal. I spend $$ rewashing my duvet, pillowcases, clothing, EVERYTHING that has come into contact with that horrible smell. I then threw the bottle in the trash. Yes I just used it ONCE but the thought of any of my friends or family smelling like this shampoo and hanging around with me made me feel sick.

If you have relaxed hair DO NOT USE THIS. IF you have weak, damaged or just if you have ANY HAIR at all do not use this. It took an hour of intense deep conditioning and another leave-in conditioner to get my hair to look normal again.Now I'll have to wait until it grows out 2 inches to cut off the damage this did to my hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Heart433 on 8/27/2009 10:53:00 PM more reviews by Heart433

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

"Dangerously Limp" would have been another possible name for this shampoo. My hair is fine but very full and all the life seemed to fall out of it after using this shampoo. Very unusual residue feeling.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* encee on 7/29/2009 9:23:00 AM more reviews by encee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I've been on a shampoo&cond marathon since early this month. Also, this shampoo does not contain SLS. Having ammonia laureth sulphate instead, which is said to be less harsh than SLS. Performance-wise, it gave my fine, straight, flat hair...great softness using in conjuction with the conditioner. The smell is lovely too. My only biggest gripe is that I saw a lot of my hair falling out, upon rinsing out the shampoo. The amount is horrifying, I tried alternating with other shampoos. True enough, other shampoos didnt cause hairfall as bad as this. Love it, but too bad this could make me bald one fine day :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* x0kerbear on 7/14/2009 9:25:00 PM more reviews by x0kerbear

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This was just an average shampoo..didn't really do anything for my hair. Definitely didn't help it to be straighter and I hated the consistency of it. I also think the smell is a little weird.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 omgahkyra on 6/23/2009 3:05:00 PM more reviews by omgahkyra

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am 13 and have been going through a teen-hair-tragedy. I have crazy hair...it was frizzy, curly, wavy and OUT OF WACK! It looked terrible...people even asked if I brushed my hair at all...but I always brush my hair..it just so untame it looks unbrushed...and using a hair straightener only damaged and dried out my hair..and I could NOT find the right shampoo at all! I tried so many kinds...even salon brands. But all they did was make my hair look greasy.....
But I found this and it works great!! the first time I tried it, I seen a slight difference...and after using it a few times it left my hair silky smooth and tame...I love it! Well it didn't make my hair dead straight...but it gave my hair a healthy natural straight look. The only part it didn't straight was the ends of my hair, but it tamed it down..cuz I have a natural flip at the ends.
I highly recommend this :D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sidneyspivey on 6/22/2009 1:58:00 PM more reviews by sidneyspivey

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

i absolutly LOVE this product! it didnt really make my hair straight but it did help with the straightrning process and it left my hair smelling great!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PinkSoFoxy on 6/12/2009 10:16:00 PM more reviews by PinkSoFoxy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my HG shampoo! I've been using it for a couple of years now and absolutely love it! It's equal to and better than the highend salon shampoos I've tried. I have naturally thick, frizzy, fluffy, poofy, unmanageable damaged looking hair. Trust me it's terrible! But my whole life I've had a vivid picture of the hair that I wanted and I stuck with it...searching out those special products that seemed as if they were made especially for me. This is one of them. Whatever is in this formula has perfect chemistry with my hair type. It leaves my hair straighter, smoother and softer. It's truly salon quality without the high price. I highly recommend it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 onthebit on 4/19/2009 10:39:00 AM more reviews by onthebit

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

a few points:

* does not do anything to straighten the hair, nor protect it from heat damage
*dries out hair quite a bit
*good for clarifying or greasy hair, but will dry it out soooo much
*doesnt make your hair very soft or shiny or anything
*nice smell
*pretty packaging and colour
*nice consistency

over all, its a good allround shampoo but nothing special

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clairol products

More Shampoo products