Everyday Minerals Matte Foundation


385 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

Not tested on animals


Mica. May Contain (+/-): Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499).

on 12/6/2012 2:59:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I really wanted to love this foundation. After doing much research, I figured I would try this MMU because it didn't contain bismuth. With the first application, I was very impressed with the coverage - full! It did a great job of covering my scarring and redness. However..within a few hours it was so incredibly cakey! GRRR! I decided to keep with it and give it another shot. The foundation cause huge, painful bumps on my cheek. Needless to say I will be returning the foundation. Hope you guys have better luck with it, because I HATE this foundation!

on 12/3/2012 10:38:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've just recently gone paraben free with my makeup products as the most recent line of defense against my sudden onset adult acne (been battling for 2 yrs now with no prior acne history .. siiggghh) I discovered Everyday Minerals on MUA and decided to try them out since it was dirt cheap compared to what I had been paying for foundation. I'm new to using mineral makeup and I was skeptical that it would actually do anything, but I was given a pleasant surprise. I ordered the Matte foundation in Fairly Light which turns out to be a great match for my skin. The coverage isn't 100% but It is pretty good, and when paired with the concealer is just fine in covering my red skin and multiple deep red acne scars. Best thing about thing about this foundation is that is lasts a whole day. I haven't even been using any primer just moisturizer with 30 SPF. I really like this company and its really awesome that everything is so cheap. The packaging is not horrible but it is all thin plastic which probably helps keep the costs low. Another plus about EDM is that you get 7 free samples with every order so I can try out the different foundation bases (semi-matte, jojoba base) and find the best possible fit. Very satisfied and will purchase again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 11/29/2012 12:51:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have had four people in the last week, two of them total strangers, ask me what foundation I use. They said my skin looked flawless and healthy. I oil cleanse at night and just rinse my face with water in the morning. When dry, I pat on whatever cream concealer I have at the moment under my eyes. Then I buff this fdn on with a kabuki. After an hour my natural oils meld with this powder and I love the perfect satin finish that stands up to 90% heat. I always come back to this fdn whenever I have strayed to another brand. True love!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

on 11/21/2012 12:16:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

So disappointed in this company. They discontinued the intensive formula and now I am forced to trawl through all their bases to see if I can maybe find a base that works for me. The matte base was horrible, I ended up with nothing more than that awful caked look. I had horrible break outs and clogged pores, not nice tohave ended up with skin eruptions which I have not had in years. I have very fine skin and the base that this company decided to get rid of always looked wonderful on me-i was always getting compliments. Since I have started to try this other bases I have been asked if I am alright!!!
Definitely not something I would buy.

on 11/16/2012 11:49:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Wanted to celebrate "4 years with my favourite foundation" by reposting this review.... Still, years later, this is the BEST coverage for my really oily acne-prone skin.... The only thing that have changed is that my eye area has become drier during the years, so I can't use this on the outside of my eye area.... Still, it keeps oil at bay better than many more expensive high-end foundations ( of course with a powder)....

So still 5 lippies to this little cheap thing... :D

Update 2013-02-19:

As extremely acne prone I got a little scared of all the talk about Lauroyl lysine causing breakouts, so now I've used lily lolo (mica+Zink oxide) and the EDM jojoba base (mica + jojoba) for almost 2 weeks. I don't think I can see any difference in my acne?? So I don't know... If LL effects everyone...

One other really, really important point: No, there are not many similar brands in the world!! Titanium dioxide ENLARGES pores on me!!! Really awful!!! There are NOT many good brands without this ingredient!! In that way EMD is really unique, and leaves a much more beautiful finish than ordinary mmu brands! :)

Written 3 of July 2008: Love this!!!! Light, easy to apply and really covers scars and acne.... I wear this on all areas in the face, except on the nose because mineral loose foundations usually enlarge pores....and on my nose I really have large pores, so I hide them with a real foundation there....(liquid). But this one works on well, when it comes to all other imperfections...

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

on 11/5/2012 5:40:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Didn't break me out but looked so cakey on me. Worse, it dried me out and gave me skin flakes.

Packaging was downright annoying because powder would spill everywhere if you are not careful.

That being said, you have to give it to EDM for its color selection.

on 9/18/2012 2:11:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I'm not sure if this is the best mineral foundation out there, but so far it's the only line I've tried that has a good match for me. The shade is called Light. It's a creamy light yellow shade with a little peach. There is no discernible olive whatsoever, and very little beige. (Yes, I've tried Meow's Manx and Chartreux, but they were either too yellow or too peach). Granted I am extremely color sensitive, because I'm a retoucher for work, so I'm used to discerning subtle color shifts that require an almost extra sensory perception. But damnit, I want my skin to look like MY skin!

I'm ashamed to say that I've become obsessed with finding my HG over the past two months and have purchased way more samples than I care to calculate. My sister came over the other night and saw my millions of packets in the bathroom with labeled swatches painted onto paper towels, etc. She was like "Oookaaaay... "

The only other one that came close was Alima Warm 3, but I got excited and used it up too quickly to give it a good, careful comparison with EDM Light.

Everyday Minerals foundations have a different finish from most other MMUs. They use primarily mica in their formulations. There are pros and cons of this. On the pros side, mica melts into the skin like nothing else. It is dense and suede-like in texture and lays into the skin almost like a cream. It doesn't have the light, powdery, dust-in-the-air qualities of other MMU. I'm not sure that there is a definite con side, but it depends on your taste and your skin. It's hard to describe what the heavy mica does to the finish. It can be extremely natural and dewy. It leaves a very rich finish compared with zinc and titanium. I don't know how else to put it. On the other hand, depending on your skin and how much you've applied, it CAN look a bit heavy in some lighting. Yet in most lighting it looks incredibly flattering. Very confusing.

EDM hasn't officially won as my HG. I feel slightly mixed about the finish, and yet so far I feel there are more advantages than disadvantages. The color, of course, works for me, but I'm going to try Silk Naturals mix-your-own style MMU before I give up on my HG search. I'd love to be able to adjust color at will. The question is, will I be able to mix up something as flattering as EDM Light? And will I miss all that creamy mica goodness?

I should note that Lumiere also uses a lot of mica. I just tried samples today, but alas both the Gold and the Warm look green on me. I don't get it. The models on the website don't look green. But as soon as I opened the package, I could see it. Okay people, I'm not a Vulcan. Seriously?

Anyway, I recommend giving EDM a try. There are some beautiful colors, even though the color scheme doesn't make sense, and the colors are poorly described on the website. Samples are free though, which is fantastic. By the way, I've not noticed much difference in the Matte and Semi-Matte formulas. The intensive seems a bit chalky though, so I steer clear of that one. The packaging works, but I wish they were glass instead of white plastic. Makes them look a bit cheap. Oh well. Good product overall for sure.

One more thing, don't try their "Golden Beige" concealer (Formulated for light to medium complexions with soft yellow undertones) unless you have medium to dark brown skin. I have no idea what they were thinking with that one.

Edit: Well Silk Naturals didn't pan out for me, despite a great deal of experimentation. But I have since found my HG. It is Meow after all. I couldn't figure out my color at first, but now that I have nailed it (Siamese/Manx mix), it's so much better than anything I've ever used. I can't believe I used to think EDM Light was a great match. Meow's formulas are better too.

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is amazing! I love the finish i really love the coverage because i have a lot of acne scars to cover and this does the job very very well. However, this breaks me out so incredibly bad. I have never tried any product that breaks me out but this does. I have gotten probably 20 pimples from wearing this, they are cystic and very painful. I would recommend at least giving this a try. I really wish it didn't break me out. It would be HG foundation for me if it didn't break me out.

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love EDM products, the packaging is so much better than other mineral makeup brands and it's relatively cheap but lately I haven't been happy with EDM changing their formula without informing their customers.

The first time I used the EDM base my skin didn't break out and it photographed so well. This last time after I reordered my powder the color started looking a little more orange after application but still was so much better than other powders I've used. However, I also started to notice that my skin was getting gradually more irritated and itchy as well which I never had before. From what I've found out they've added lauroyl lysine which is a possible irritant and can cause allergic reactions which I think I'm having and it's just exacerbating my acne. Therefore, I'm switching over to Mineral Hygienics which seems to have the same EDM ingredients except without lauroyl lysine. I'll keep you guys updated!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

on 7/6/2012 6:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown


I switched from Clinique for my foundation needs after I went vegan and really missed the even coverage of a liquid foundation. So I gave the elf liquid foundation a shot and found that it wasn't that great for oily or acne-prone skin. I like a lot of the elf products because they are so cheap and are actually vegan but that particular product wasn't my favorite.

After I gave up on liquid, I gave bareminerals a shot. I liked the coverage, but I have some acne scarring that it didn't cover to the fullest. However, I was very happy with it and didn't feel that the brand was seriously lacking.

Enter Everyday Minerals- a brand that promotes itself as cruelty free. I gave this stuff a shot with the free sample kit online, how can you lose? One use, and I was hooked! The coverage is so much better than bareminerals, and I don't have to use nearly as much. I felt like I had to do tons of buffing to get bareminerals to improve the look of my skin, but with Everday Minerals I hardly had to buff and even skipped concealing.

It feels creamy when it touches your skin, the coverage is even and medium/full. Additionally, their blushes and bronzers are very natural and highly pigmented. Very little product goes a long way with this brand as a whole.

And did I mention the price is awesome?!

I'm a convert to Everyday Minerals, that's for sure.

Back to Top