Unlisted Brand • Drugstore Witch hazel • Toners

rated 4.3(114 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* karissajean on 2/15/2012 6:27:00 PM more reviews by karissajean

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Can't believe it's taken me 21 yrs of life to try this stuff. Witch hazel is amazing. It's extremely inexpensive, natural, and helps balance my skin by purifying and removing oil. I use it usually in the mornings, sometimes at night. I have a bottle of Safeway brand and it was 3-4 US dollars. Definitely going to try Thayer's next. I just take a clean cotton pad, tip the bottle upside down for a second and rub the product on my face. It only takes one pad, and one application. Quick and easy. Less than a minute of my time every day. Try it if you haven't already!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Icaria on 1/28/2012 9:52:00 AM more reviews by Icaria

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Where has this been all my life? I discoverd this on Skin Care Board. When I first read the comments about it I was a bit suspicious. How could a product so cheap be so good. Especially with an alcohol base. I've been stearing clear of alcohol for years & had just purshased Clinique's Mild Toner that I ended up not liking very much. Got the witch hazel & Boom! The best toner ever! Even with the alcohol base, it's not drying at all. I have combination skin & my DD who also uses it has more normal skin. True it could be drying or irritating for someone with dry/sensitive skin but you won't brake the bank trying it & it's good to keep in your first aid kit. At about $3 CAD, it's a very little investment. Keep in mind that a toner is not a necessity, but for those of us who are used to using one, this is a great option.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 an0uck on 12/20/2011 6:38:00 PM more reviews by an0uck

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Not for everyone. Especially those with dry skin, stay away.
I tried the T.N. Dickinson's witch hazel, and at 14% alcohol it made my skin dry, tacky, rough and plasticy.
Perhaps witch hazel's properties would be best in some other product, but I think anything that it could do for someone's skin would be better off if it wasn't drowned in so much alcohol.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hags101 on 11/9/2011 9:05:00 PM more reviews by hags101

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

Thought all witch hazel would be the same.... but I found the drugstore brand (Target, Walgreens, Walmart) to be more drying. I prefer Dickenson's brand witch hazel for only around $3 a 16oz bottle. I have found that I need to add a lot of water to the bottle or it dries out my (oily T zone, normal cheeks) skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 geniebelle6901 on 10/25/2011 12:10:00 PM more reviews by geniebelle6901

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using witch hazel for years, and I love it. It's a great non-drying toner for my oily, acne-prone, sensitive skin. It also has many other uses:

* Cold witch hazel soaked cotton pads reduces eye puffiness
* Antiseptic for cuts, scrapes, bug bites, etc.
* Relieves sunburn pain
* Degreases oily hair
* Relieves scalp itch
* Relieves hemorrhoid itching/burning
* Relieves feminine itching (will not cure a yeast infection--only helps the itching)

I just get the generic drugstore/dollar store brand that's less than $2 and will keep buying it!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 arosica on 6/23/2011 11:42:00 PM more reviews by arosica

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I love love love witch hazel. I do my own "three step system", with the witch hazel as toner. I use the generic brand from anywhere, I've bought from Walmart, Walgreens, Target, Rite Aid, where ever. I have acne prone skin, so when I open a new bottle, I put in about 25 drops of tea tree oil. When I tone, I shake well, apply to a cotton pad, and swipe over my face a few times. I have found this to work way better than any fancy astringent/toner. I have oily skin, and I find it works really well to remove the oil so I stay pretty matte throughout the day. I only use this in the morning - I have a little bit of a different night routine. But, I've used for years, and will continue to use since it's worked great for me.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rikiya on 5/8/2011 11:32:00 AM more reviews by rikiya

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm using Dickinson's Original Witch Hazel which I got from Wal Mart for around 7 or 8 bucks. It's ingredients are: All Natural Witch Hazel, containing Natural Alcohol 14% and Witch Hazel Extract. Previously I had used Distilled Witchhazel USP from the pharmacy whose ingredients were Witch Hazel, alcohol and distilled water.

Since both of them had the same ingredients I had assumed most Witch Hazel toners had to include alcohol but apparently I was wrong according to the reviews I've been reading. I haven't been able to find one without alcohol listed though, so I'll keep using Dickinson's for now.

Overall, it's a great toner. I use it in the morning after I wake up to prepare my face for make up and sometimes once again before I go to bed and randomly throughout the day to get rid of excess oil on my nose and forehead. It isn't drying, and my face feels so soft after using it. The large bottle has lasted me for a few months, and I use it multiple times a day. I haven't seen any noticeable effects concerning acne or scars, but my pores do seem smaller after use.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Littleloti on 4/5/2011 12:19:00 AM more reviews by Littleloti

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff is amazing and my only regret is not using this sooner. I got this for $1.50 at Walmart and it's a big bottle so it will last awhile. My pores have never been so small and clear (especially on my nose, which has always had big pores). It makes my skin super soft and glowing. It does smell really bad, but that goes away when it dries. I've applied it both with a cotton ball and straight onto my face with my fingers (when I ran out of cotton balls), both work great. I will continue to repurchase!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ElleDuncan on 4/3/2011 10:36:00 AM more reviews by ElleDuncan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am using a homemade blend of de-bubbled perrier mineral water in a glass bottle with about half distilled witch hazel. I actually liked it better with the one I had with alcohol that I bought previously. Currently I am using alcohol-free distilled witch hazel and it's very weak, especially when I further diluted it with the mineral water.

Either way, it's cheaper than prepared brands, I can control what I put in it, make it stronger or weaker or add other things like Apple Cider Vinegar to it.

Great in the morning as a spritz (I keep some in a glass bottle with atomizer on it) after cleansing with yogurt or brown sugar scrub and it's great to set my makeup, too I discovered. I use with cotton pads at night to be sure all makeup is gone after cleansing and so far have not gotten worse skin, though can't say it's amazing...

Better than any store bought toner I have ever used though (and that includes LRP, Vichy, Chanel, Thayers, Dr Hauschka, and others for very bigger price tag.)

Summary: Witch Hazel is not all the same. Find one, experiment. It's cheap. ANd you can always use it as backup first aid supplies if you aren't happy. The stuff is excellent if you have kids / during summer burn/bug season.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* skincareman on 3/30/2011 5:16:00 PM more reviews by skincareman

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Tan   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using witch hazel off and on for more than 25 years. I often stray, lured by fancy packaging and promises, but always seem to end up using witch hazel again and my skin always thanks me for it!


It makes my pores appear tiny, it clears breakouts quickly, helps to keep me from breaking out and it soothes my skin.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Toners products