Drugstore Witch hazel

4.3

121 reviews

86% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

distilled witch hazel BP


on 9/7/2012 3:15:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Wow....just wow. I previously hated using toners because I felt like they didn't 'do' anything and I never saw any results. Plus, all the ones I tried before really stung and irritated my skin, so I wrote them all off completely, until I started to use WH.

It removes any excess makeup or dirt/oil and leaves my face feeling fresh and clean. No irritation or dryness whatsoever.

I can also tell that the texture and appearance of my skin has dramatically improved. My skin is soft, smooth and supple.

I will never be without it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 7/24/2012 12:48:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Over the years I have attempted to use WH as a facial toner and it never worked for me-it would never absorb into my skin and would run off of my freshly scrubbed face like water. However just recently I ran out of my HG Pond’s makeup remover towellettes, and in a panicked state I grabbed a bottle of WH from underneath my bathroom sink, soaked a cotton ball and attempted to remove the day’s makeup from my face. What in the world! WH worked on my dirty face! I was so pleasantly surprised at how quickly the makeup and grime was completely removed with only one cotton ball. I went on to test my eye makeup, and it totally removed my mascara as well, no stinging! After each use I see an immediate improvement in tone and glow, while retaining moisture. So now I absolutely love my new $1 all-in-one makeup remover. (Also, I originally had the bottle to cleanse and soothe my underarm area when I began to perspire more during the summer-it immediately cleans, dries, and refreshes my very sensitive skin there.)

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 7/7/2012 3:48:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i love, love, love, love, love witch hazel!!! it's natural, cheap, great for toning large pores, (which means less oily skin!!!) helping breakouts heal, helping heal redness and helping with scars!!!. :D i use this after my warm shower in the morning by placing a cotton wool ball over the top of the bottle and tipping it upside down, i then wipe my face all over with the soaked cotton ball, it smells a bit but i don't mind because the smell goes after a bit. after using witch hazel for a week it has helped me with the redness in my breakouts and i am now spot free!!! I have also noticed my scars are smaller and healing faster aswell, which is a big problem for me because of squeezing my spots. like i said before I LOVE WITCH HAZEL!!! :D

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/21/2012 12:19:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

What can I say about this that hasn't already been said? Witch Hazel is amazing! I started using it 7 years ago when I was having bad breakouts, and a friend suggested I try using witch hazel as a toner. (I had never used a toner before.) She said it was cheap and natural, and that it was their secret to great skin....7 years later, I'm still using it! It IS dirt cheap AND natural! My skin loves it even if the formula has some alcohol in it. Surprisingly that doesn't bother my skin at all. The smell takes some time to get used to, but after 7 years, I've gotten used to it lol. I use it as a toner or I get xxlarge cleansing rounds and use witch hazel alone sometimes to cleanse my face at night when I'm lazy, Basically it is insanely versatile. I always get mine at walmart, usually the cheapest bottle is under $3. Try it if you're having a hard time with your skin or lackluster toner! I did, and I'm hooked! HG for me, haven't been without it in 7 years!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I am sure witch hazel has its medical properties, but the pungent smell gave me a headache. I applied it on my face and eye bags but find it difficulty to breathe.


on 4/25/2012 11:59:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I've been using this for several months as a toner and I really like it a lot. It's inexpensive, easy to buy and my skin likes it. It helps clean off any leftover makeup or sunscreen off my face. It gives me an anti-oxidant boost. It even seems to help my few breakouts heal faster. I thought that the 14% alcohol would be drying, but it's not at all. Not moisturizing, but definitely not drying. My skin is in great shape, and witch hazel is part of my solution.

I've also used it on bug bites - it helps with the itching. I've twice had cat bites that got infected and swelled up, and each time I used a witch hazel poutlice to bring down the swelling and inflammation. Not only is it good for my skin, it's good for my medicine cabinet.

It does have a smell...But it's rather have that than any sort of perfume. This is basic skin care at it's best, IMO.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/11/2012 1:31:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

EarthWise Witch Hazel - found in Canadian organic health stores

It can be quite hard to find, and pre-mixed brands such as Thayers just cannot compare. I get pimples now and then on my skin, not too severe but still annoying. Witch hazel is the only thing that works! Popular brands acne creams do not work, contain a ton of chemicals and can give side effects. With that said, witchhazel is all natural and it WORKS!

Pure witch hazel can be drying, so I combine it with rose water for added hydration (and wonderful smell) to use as a toner.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/15/2012 6:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

Can't believe it's taken me 21 yrs of life to try this stuff. Witch hazel is amazing. It's extremely inexpensive, natural, and helps balance my skin by purifying and removing oil. I use it usually in the mornings, sometimes at night. I have a bottle of Safeway brand and it was 3-4 US dollars. Definitely going to try Thayer's next. I just take a clean cotton pad, tip the bottle upside down for a second and rub the product on my face. It only takes one pad, and one application. Quick and easy. Less than a minute of my time every day. Try it if you haven't already!


on 1/28/2012 9:52:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Where has this been all my life? I discoverd this on Skin Care Board. When I first read the comments about it I was a bit suspicious. How could a product so cheap be so good. Especially with an alcohol base. I've been stearing clear of alcohol for years & had just purshased Clinique's Mild Toner that I ended up not liking very much. Got the witch hazel & Boom! The best toner ever! Even with the alcohol base, it's not drying at all. I have combination skin & my DD who also uses it has more normal skin. True it could be drying or irritating for someone with dry/sensitive skin but you won't brake the bank trying it & it's good to keep in your first aid kit. At about $3 CAD, it's a very little investment. Keep in mind that a toner is not a necessity, but for those of us who are used to using one, this is a great option.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/20/2011 6:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Not for everyone. Especially those with dry skin, stay away.
I tried the T.N. Dickinson's witch hazel, and at 14% alcohol it made my skin dry, tacky, rough and plasticy.
Perhaps witch hazel's properties would be best in some other product, but I think anything that it could do for someone's skin would be better off if it wasn't drowned in so much alcohol.




Back to Top