Bumble & Bumble • Thickening Spray • Styling Products

rated 3.6(248 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 dumbdegenerate on 1/5/2013 5:50:00 AM more reviews by dumbdegenerate

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'd never used Bumble and Bumble until my store got a new counter. I'm now working my way through most of the range and haven't yet come across soemthing I don't really like!

Thickening spray was the first product I bought after the consultant used it to stye my hair. I got the trial size, an liked it so much I went back for the full size. Yes, its pricey and I probably run through it pretty fast, but for me the results are worth it.

I normally use it on wet hair. I have pretty thick, dry, curly hair that is very colour processed and a bit of a pest to keep in place. I spray this all over the roots where I want to add volume and hold, particularly the crown and lightly in the front on my longish, sideswept fringe. I think the trick is all in the blowdry - when used properly this helps add volume without looking like I've stepped from the 70s and also natural hold.

The other nifty thing is that I can let my hair dry naturally if I'm washing it on my day off, then use this on the roots the following day for a quick blast with the hairdryer for the same results.

Basically, for me, this product re-creates a proper salon blowdry at home which nothign else has done for me. I only need to wash my hair every 2-3 days. Using Thickening Spray basically helps it keep its shape and bounce that entire time. Win!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 marshmallows84 on 12/14/2012 11:51:00 PM more reviews by marshmallows84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Amazing for fine hair, it volumizes and works better than Frederick fekkai Glossing cream (for my hair that is).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* izzybella on 12/6/2012 10:42:00 AM more reviews by izzybella

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this for the last week or so. I've tried it on both wet and dry hair but I think the results are about the same in terms of thickening effect, but its harder to comb through if you apply to wet hair and blow dry afterwards. My hair is definitely thicker and fuller looking after I've used this spray. This has a light scent that reminds me of pineapples, but I don't really notice the alcohol smell that others have mentioned. Hold is decent, especially considering how you don't really feel this hairspray (no crunchiness). I put that I'd repurchase this, but only at a discount (or through a swap).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 1017 on 12/3/2012 7:47:00 AM more reviews by 1017

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I always think, "maybe this time it will work" only to met with a heavy alcohol smell, dried feeling hair and lack of "thickening". If you have oily flat, straight fine hair...this might work for you. If you don't have that exact hair type, stay away.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sorrels on 12/2/2012 6:57:00 PM more reviews by sorrels

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've always wanted to try this product. I received this as a sample, along with the thickening shampoo/conditioner. When I was blow drying my hair, the more dry my hair got, the more electricity and static my hair had. I couldn't do anything to fluff it and get it away from my scalp. I had to rewash my hair and start all over, with my old standby products. There is no way I could have gone to work with my hair the way it was. Awful, would not purchase, very disappointed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sugamonkey on 11/23/2012 11:27:00 PM more reviews by sugamonkey

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have long layered fine but lots of it flat hair (Asian). This is hit and miss for me. A little goes a long way. Keep it at the roots and you get thick voluminous hair. I spray a few pumps into my hands then massage it onto my scalp and blow dry. You need to blow dry to get thickness and volume. Air drying wont do a thing.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Breve on 11/7/2012 9:37:00 PM more reviews by Breve

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Wow, this was a terrible product for me and really damaged my hair with in just 2 days of using it.

First I sprayed the prep spray throughout my hair, then I sprayed this a couple times and rubbed it in with my fingers, then combed it through with a wide tooth comb. I put in heat protectant and then blow-dried my hair...and it was a frizzy tangly, dry mess the whole time I was trying to dry it! My hair kept getting ripped out when I tried to brush it through. When it was dry, I had no more volume than usual, but my hair looked fried and felt dry as straw. I know why they call this "hairspray" now because it really dries out your hair and makes it sticky. My question then, is, why does Bumble advise you to put this on before using heat tools? Isn't that damaging your hair?

Well it DID damage my hair, and not just in theory because my hair is recovering now with a coconut oil mask. This was yesterday when I used it, and today, after washing and deep conditioning my hair several times, my hair still felt dry and brittle and was a frizzy haystack.

All from this one styling product. And the worst part is, it didn't even do what it claimed to do- thicken my hair.

Beware girls with fine, dry hair like mine, yours may suffer too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rachelleanita on 10/25/2012 10:11:00 AM more reviews by rachelleanita

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

If your hair is becoming a sticky, tangled mess chances are you are using way too much. I hate when people don't use a product correctly and then give it a bad review. My hair is extremely dense but thin stranded (so it easy falls flat and heavy) and I only use about three sprays around the crown of my head, not all over. I lift my hair up and spray around the middle, not just on top. I have sprayed it all over before but then my hair is almost too thick, but it does not get sticky and weighed down. When I first bought it I used way too much and it did get like that, but then I used less until I found what worked. If you use this with the styling cream at your roots and the thickening spray all over, your hair will be huge. But if it's sticky and weighed down, use less. A little goes a long way with these products. And by the way, if you have the Tonic spray or Prep spray, you can spray that on any B&B product that you accidently used too much with and it helps break it down and lighten it up.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cmacintyre100 on 6/22/2012 5:51:00 PM more reviews by cmacintyre100

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I like this product. It is meant to be used with heat and in small amounts, otherwise it will weigh hair down (as with all products really....) I layer with B&B prep or tonic spray and follow with Shu Kaze Wave for curls. Love the result - smells great too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beardpapa on 6/22/2012 4:12:00 AM more reviews by beardpapa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I absolutely LOVE this product ! Pity that Singapore had a B&B counter but it closed within 2 years...

It does everything it says and more. I have very fine hair, and it gives me the volume I want without stiffening my hair (unlike John Frieda) and given the extreme humidity of Singapore, my hair stays in shape/place all day. no frizz or flyaway. it has a decent fragrance too...

This product was a godsend for me...and I am quite sad its not available anymore :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bumble & Bumble products

More Styling Products products