Bumble & Bumble • Thickening Spray • Styling Products

rated 3.6(251 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 ymillie on 4/14/2013 11:11:00 PM more reviews by ymillie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

At first I thought this was an amazing product. Whenever I use it, I would flip my hair in different sections then spray a generous amount on my roots. I actually felt some grip and hold after blow drying, and while that is a plus, after going through a travel size bottle and about to finish the full sized, I will not be buying this again.
I was shopping around Shoppers Drug Mart and the Fat Hair brand was on sale, the shampoo came with a free thickening spray. I went home and compared the ingredients and both Fat Hair and B&B contains vp/va copolymer in both (and most volumizing products do as well)
My problem is B&B has 2 kinds of alcohol listed as the main ingredient (along with water), while Fat Hair didn't have alcohol high up on the ingredient list and had that copolymer up there instead.
I took a sniff of the B&B spray and there's way too much alcohol. I can't really smell it when I actually spray it on, probably because it evaporates so fast...but I will pass on this product in the future.
I have no opened the Fat Hair spray yet to try since I'm not done the B&B, but will do a review later.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Eleanorjames on 4/1/2013 5:40:00 AM more reviews by Eleanorjames

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Makes my hair feel thicker and fuller. Also sets it nicely. Good packaging in the sense that you know how much is left. Only negatives are the price (a bit excessive) and I've noticed since using it that my hair becomes static sometimes- but that could just be down to the unseasonably cold weather we've been getting recently. Overall a good product that does what I want it to, will more than likely be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ayalalaya on 1/11/2013 3:24:00 PM more reviews by ayalalaya

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for a root lifter when I found this spray. I have lots of hair but it is thin with the stubbornness of Asian hair. If you open the bottle and take a whiff, it'll smell like a little bit of hairspray and alcohol but I barely smelled much of that when spraying it on. After spraying on damp hair and blow drying, it gives a bit of volume. I noticed more volume in my hair, but nothing dramatic. It didn't hold all day for me so I'd have to pair it with some hairspray. It's an easy way to get volume for those too lazy to spend a long time on their hair, like me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dumbdegenerate on 1/5/2013 5:50:00 AM more reviews by dumbdegenerate

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'd never used Bumble and Bumble until my store got a new counter. I'm now working my way through most of the range and haven't yet come across soemthing I don't really like!

Thickening spray was the first product I bought after the consultant used it to stye my hair. I got the trial size, an liked it so much I went back for the full size. Yes, its pricey and I probably run through it pretty fast, but for me the results are worth it.

I normally use it on wet hair. I have pretty thick, dry, curly hair that is very colour processed and a bit of a pest to keep in place. I spray this all over the roots where I want to add volume and hold, particularly the crown and lightly in the front on my longish, sideswept fringe. I think the trick is all in the blowdry - when used properly this helps add volume without looking like I've stepped from the 70s and also natural hold.

The other nifty thing is that I can let my hair dry naturally if I'm washing it on my day off, then use this on the roots the following day for a quick blast with the hairdryer for the same results.

Basically, for me, this product re-creates a proper salon blowdry at home which nothign else has done for me. I only need to wash my hair every 2-3 days. Using Thickening Spray basically helps it keep its shape and bounce that entire time. Win!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 marshmallows84 on 12/14/2012 11:51:00 PM more reviews by marshmallows84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Amazing for fine hair, it volumizes and works better than Frederick fekkai Glossing cream (for my hair that is).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* izzybella on 12/6/2012 10:42:00 AM more reviews by izzybella

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this for the last week or so. I've tried it on both wet and dry hair but I think the results are about the same in terms of thickening effect, but its harder to comb through if you apply to wet hair and blow dry afterwards. My hair is definitely thicker and fuller looking after I've used this spray. This has a light scent that reminds me of pineapples, but I don't really notice the alcohol smell that others have mentioned. Hold is decent, especially considering how you don't really feel this hairspray (no crunchiness). I put that I'd repurchase this, but only at a discount (or through a swap).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 1017 on 12/3/2012 7:47:00 AM more reviews by 1017

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I always think, "maybe this time it will work" only to met with a heavy alcohol smell, dried feeling hair and lack of "thickening". If you have oily flat, straight fine hair...this might work for you. If you don't have that exact hair type, stay away.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sorrels on 12/2/2012 6:57:00 PM more reviews by sorrels

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've always wanted to try this product. I received this as a sample, along with the thickening shampoo/conditioner. When I was blow drying my hair, the more dry my hair got, the more electricity and static my hair had. I couldn't do anything to fluff it and get it away from my scalp. I had to rewash my hair and start all over, with my old standby products. There is no way I could have gone to work with my hair the way it was. Awful, would not purchase, very disappointed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sugamonkey on 11/23/2012 11:27:00 PM more reviews by sugamonkey

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have long layered fine but lots of it flat hair (Asian). This is hit and miss for me. A little goes a long way. Keep it at the roots and you get thick voluminous hair. I spray a few pumps into my hands then massage it onto my scalp and blow dry. You need to blow dry to get thickness and volume. Air drying wont do a thing.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Breve on 11/7/2012 9:37:00 PM more reviews by Breve

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Wow, this was a terrible product for me and really damaged my hair with in just 2 days of using it.

First I sprayed the prep spray throughout my hair, then I sprayed this a couple times and rubbed it in with my fingers, then combed it through with a wide tooth comb. I put in heat protectant and then blow-dried my hair...and it was a frizzy tangly, dry mess the whole time I was trying to dry it! My hair kept getting ripped out when I tried to brush it through. When it was dry, I had no more volume than usual, but my hair looked fried and felt dry as straw. I know why they call this "hairspray" now because it really dries out your hair and makes it sticky. My question then, is, why does Bumble advise you to put this on before using heat tools? Isn't that damaging your hair?

Well it DID damage my hair, and not just in theory because my hair is recovering now with a coconut oil mask. This was yesterday when I used it, and today, after washing and deep conditioning my hair several times, my hair still felt dry and brittle and was a frizzy haystack.

All from this one styling product. And the worst part is, it didn't even do what it claimed to do- thicken my hair.

Beware girls with fine, dry hair like mine, yours may suffer too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bumble & Bumble products

More Styling Products products