Almay • Nearly Naked LIQUID foundation • Liquid

rated 3.6(117 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 IronPill on 8/10/2011 5:39:00 PM more reviews by IronPill

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Ok I only put this on a few hours ago, but I'm loving it! I don't typically wear foundations, normally just concealer or a homemade tinted moisturizer by mixing concealer with moisturizer. I bought this to mainly make a tinted moisturizer, however, I wanted to see how this performed so I'm wearing it as a straight-up foundation right now.

My skin is fair with freckles and I have a lightly ruddy complexion. I wanted something that would even the ruddiness but would let my freckles shine through at the same time (why girls want to erase theirs away? I have no idea). I don't really have acne in general (but I am prone to break outs due to the wrong products or oily stuff), so I can't comment on how it performs with that kind of skin issue. It did cover the blackheads on my nose and the large pores on my cheeks well. But, this didn't cover my small broken capillary, my small surgical scar, or my under eye circles, but that's ok - that's what concealer is for. Besides those three imperfections, my skin overall is ok and I prefer to use concealer on those things than to have heavy coverage all over my whole face.

I'm prone to oiliness and this isn't feeling oily at all (I'm prone to dryness, too, during the winter - I have sensitive skin). It feels rather nice and light, in fact. Not dry, not oily. I did lightly set it with Rimmel's Stay Matte translucent powder, so that could be affecting it (I recommend this powder, by the way).

I have cool undertones and I bought Ivory. In the bottle it is lighter than my face but it turned out to be a very good match. I did rub it into my jawline and onto my chest before buying, this was the only shade in the line that didn't look too dark or orange on me.

There you have it. I recommend this for people who want a natural, sheer coverage. I'm only giving it 4 instead of 5 because I have yet to use it for more than a day, but this is my initial reaction to it. If it turns out to be crap I will come back and edit my review.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 witchymissy on 7/15/2011 10:28:00 AM more reviews by witchymissy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have this in Neutral 220. This has been one of the only foundations I've found that matches my skin tone very well.

It's a light, sheer coverage. I don't have a lot I need to cover up. I just like to use foundation to even out my skin tone (I get the odd bout of redness or hyper-pigmentation).

It's a smooth, creamy foundation that leaves my skin looking dewy and fresh but not oily or shiny. I also like how it has an SPF of 15.

It works best by blending with fingers. I recommend setting it with a translucent powder because it doesn't last very long. If you start sweating around your hair line or if your skin gets oily after a few hours, it will eventually fade. That's my only 'beef' with it. It doesn't last a long time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 makeupgeek101 on 5/18/2011 10:20:00 AM more reviews by makeupgeek101

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I bought the shade Ivory 120
I think the best way to apply it is with your fingers and it will blend in easily, but if you want to use a brush rather than you're fingers then that works well aswell.

Good- I would say this is a step up from a tinted moisturizer and it will be great for summer. It's great for any person who is looking for sheer, natural coverage with SPF.
If you have sensitive skin like me then this is great as it's lightweight and doesn't break you out also it doesn't cause any irritation. If you have fair skin it's the perfect shade, as it blends in so well. It looks like your not wearing any foundation and it's so flawless. it gives you a light coverage but if you apply some powder to set with it, it gives you more coverage. The only thing I would say is I wouldn't recommended it to people who have ache or people who have a lot of redness. As it won't give you the coverage you want.

Bad- The fact it has no pump which is such a pain. I've wasted loads of time trying to get some out, and when I do sometimes too much comes out. However I love the fact that it has SPF 15 because it can protect my skin from the sun more whereas other foundations don't. The last thing is if you want a long lasting foundation, then I wouldn't purchase this one, as it only lasts to 5-6 hours. But it depends how long you want the foundation to stay on for.



1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 makeuplover1994 on 5/12/2011 1:42:00 PM more reviews by makeuplover1994

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product. It doesnt break out my sensitive skin.
I have relitavely clear skin with the ocassional pimple, so this foundation is perfect for me. It's basically a step up from tinted moistruizer, so if you have a lot of acne scarring or redness, then i wouldnt recommend this. This foundation is also very natural, light weight and gives your skin a slightly dewy finish. I also like the fact that it has an SPF of 15.
My only two complaints about this product, is the bottle!!! It is really hard to get the product out without making a huge mess. Also, i find that in the summer, this can make my t-zone slightly oiler.
For school, i usually just mix this with a little bit of my moistruizer, use a bit of concealer, and ligthly set my t-zone with powder. I find that this combination gives me the most natural coverage.

Price: I got mine for about $18CAN, but on sale you can get it for around $12CAD.
If you get it on sale its a great deal because it lasts forever!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 als14 on 5/1/2011 1:48:00 AM more reviews by als14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I usually wear mineral foundation but i like to change it up sometimes so i tried almay's nearly naked foundation. i have a clear compexion, i do get the odd pimple though and when that happens i would not turn to this to help cover it up. The coverage is really light... a step up from a tinted moisturizer. overall i would not reccommend this product to someone that is looking for more of a medium coverage, but if you are just looking for something that evens out your skin tone with a bit of a dewy finish this product is just right for you!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Kyasorin on 4/27/2011 8:48:00 PM more reviews by Kyasorin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

While I like to try out new products every once in awhile, this foundation has pretty much been a constant for me for the past 6 years.

This is a relatively light coverage foundation but it is enough to even out your skin tone. I love the way it feels on the skin and it definitely gives a very natural look, even up close no one has noticed that i'm wearing foundation at all.

Will definitely continue repurchasing :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pissandvinegar on 4/25/2011 3:12:00 PM more reviews by pissandvinegar

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my every day go to foundation. I've been using it for a couple years now and have had zero problems with it as far as breakouts and what not go. Its very smooth going on and is pretty sheer. I cannot stand the bottle though... love the fact that it's a glass bottle, that's great, but it takes half a year for the foundation to come out! I just apply it with a damp foam sponge and it glides on great. It's not the best for covering pimples so you definitely need a concealer with it if you've got a bad one. Also, it's got a SPF 15 in it, giving it my vote even more. I have it in Ivory.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 christyk on 4/18/2011 9:57:00 AM more reviews by christyk

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

this foundation really just gives a very light coverage. i use it just on my chin, nose/area around my nose, and under eye area. i like how it still looks like my skin but it does hide my blotchy nose freckles and redness. doesn't do too good at covering blemishes or acne scars. the bottle is a pain, so i just shake it and put a little bit on the back of my hand and apply with a sponge, just tapping it onto problem areas. i will stick with this unless it makes me break out (so far so good).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* RosePeacock on 4/12/2011 9:46:00 AM more reviews by RosePeacock

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I bought the shade 120 Ivory for normal/combo skin. I think it's been the best match yet for my fair skin with pink undertones. It blends very easily and although it gives a light coverage, it manages to tone down the redness on my cheeks. The fact it has no pump is a pain. I've wasted loads when it suddenly comes whooshing out. However I love that it has spf as I'm beginning to realise the importance of protecting my skin, even when it's not particularly sunny out. The staying power was as expected. It's not marketed as long lasting, so I don't mind that it doesn't stay on into the early hours. I noticed that it transfers a little bit, nothing major but it's worth mentioning. I really do love this foundation, it's just a shame that I suspect it breaks me out. I'll still use it because it's a fantastic match, but if anyone knows a foundation with a similar shade, I'd love to know!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Phyllo6 on 3/27/2011 1:32:00 PM more reviews by Phyllo6

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I purchased this foundation a while ago in Neutral 220. At the time I didnt really care what foundation I purchased....I would have 1 bottle of foundation and when it ran out I would walk into the drugstore and randomly pick a brand and try to match my color, than I would be set for a few months...

I started trying out different types of foundations from high end to other drugstore brands, creams and powders...trying to figure out what would look the most natural on my skin.

Just recently I noticed that I now have about 6 different bottles on the go so I decided to start using them up. Im finishing up this bottle of Almay Nearly Naked and it is actually the best one Ive tried for my skin. I have very dry, fair skin (NW20). I dont have acne or anything that needs a lot of coverage so the sheerness of this works well for me to keep the natural look.

Ive tried applying this a variety of ways however my fingers seem to work the best. There is no pump, but its not a thick formula so it comes out fairly easy.

I will buy this again after I use up my other random bottles.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Almay products

More Liquid products