New York Color Waterproof Eyeliner Pencil - all

4.0

80 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $

INGREDIENTS



on 1/26/2012 11:01:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I regret not buying more than one of these when I spotted them! I got mine for a little less than $5 CDN which is crazy cheap for a good eyeliner :) I've only tried 3-4 products from this brand, and so far I only like this one and their bronzer (although if not careful it is a bit orangey).


I wasnt expecting much color pay-off or lasting power, but i still wanted to try an NYC pencil liner, so I purchased it. To my surprise, I got this creamy and rich product! I used it on my upper lash line (rarely tight line or put liner on my waterline because i'm a contact lens wearer), and after a few hours, it did fade a bit with a tad bit of smudging, but it has terrific lasting power compared to all the other pencil liners ive tried before, and i've tried over 20 from high-end and drugstore.


I know for a fact that these are not completely waterproof, but they are def water-resistant. However, thats okay with me because I dont need a $5 liner to be the best. This would also make a nice eye shadow base if the liner is smudged and blended quickly :)



I mainly use this for when i'm in a rush to get to school on time. I don't have loads of time fussing with primer and then gel liner and then a powder shadow over it to prevent the gel liner from creasing/smudging.
For a more important occasion, I would spend more time on makeup.

If I have time, Ill go buy most if not all the shades, and I suggest giving it a try. I do not recommend these on the water line, but even if you buy this for that purpose and don't like it and ends up in the trash, it wont hurt your wallet :) Good Luck!



EDIT: couldnt find other shades, but bought a back-up in the shade "Mink". The only reason I knocked off a lippie was due to the ingredients.



on 1/13/2012 12:00:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

You get what you pay for. Dirt cheap product speaks for itself, looks nice but does not work well for my waterline. No color pay off after trying to apply it several times. I swatched it on my hand and it seemed to work for my hand, why not on my eyes? Its going back, prefer Revlon Colorstay over this piece of crap.


on 10/15/2011 12:24:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Grey

As a general rule, I hate kohl-type eyeliners. I find them too waxy or hard, and the color is never true on me. I picked up this NYC Waterproof Eyeliner by accident, thinking I was buying an automatic eyeliner, and had I not been down to a nubbin on Prestige automatic liner, I would have taken this back to Rite Aid toute de suite.

I'm so glad I gave this a try! The pencil I tried was black, and the black is a basic, true black that does not look grayish on me. The formula is even softer than the automatic pencils I'm accustomed to, yet it can create a fine, delicate line. What's more, I can actually pencil in between my lashes and on my waterline with this, something I have never been able to do with ANY eye pencil.

I took off one lippie because the color does seem to fade, but only after six hours or more. Also, when the temperature in the house is warm, the liner often gets too soft to work with, so I have to pop it in the fridge for a bit. But for the price and the ease of application, those are inconveniences I'm willing to live with.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/12/2011 11:19:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Sucks. When i didn't know any better, or actually, when i felt guilt that i was basically wasting my dad's hard-earned money on unnecessary stuff, i would get this. I knew it wasn't good quality ( hard to apply, fades, poor pigmentation) but my priority was basically to get my makeup fix but not waste money. Now i know better: if budgeting is a concern, please spend just a few bucks more to get covergirl liquiline, for example. or any better quality product. This one is a total waste whereas if u spend just a bit more at least you will get more use out of it!


on 9/11/2011 4:13:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

I have used this in black everyday for yeeears, just because it's super cheap and gets the job done. But now that I have the funds to go for more expensive brands, I don't think I'll ever be coming back to it because I HATE how the color starts to fade after about four hours. I have super oily lids and watery waterlines, so I always have to put powder on underneath. It is very soft and gentle, and actually quite waterproof too. I have cried in this, swum in this, been rained on in this, and it holds up reasonably well, especially for the price. I just can't stand how it turns grayish after just a few hours. But like I said, this has been my go-to eyeliner for several years, and if I repurchased that many times then it's still got to be decent. And my skin is also really uncooperative, so I'm sure it will be fine for most of you.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/1/2011 1:49:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

lmao this is actually my first eyeliner! purchased on a whim because it was cheap and i'm pleased to see the positive reviews here!

it doesnt smudge on me except my waterline/lower lashline because i have really watery rims...

easy to apply (creamy) and i actually like how its shorter...fits better lol


on 5/9/2011 8:04:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I own two eyeliners: an Urban Dacay 24/7 pencil liner in bourbon--a beautiful shade of brown with lots of gold and silver shimmery glitters and this one. I really don't need/want any other eyeliners than these and I really really like this one b/c it's DARK brown, almost black, and it does not smudge as easily as 24/7. (and I dont have oily eyelids!) (this one is shimmery too but you cant really tell.)

It only costed me $4 and I dont think I'll be purchasing a Sephora brand eyeliner any more! (: AMAZING QUALITY!


on 4/6/2011 6:48:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Great eyeliner pencil for the price. I got mine for $2 when it was 40% off at Rite-Aid.



I like the thickness of the tip which is a bit thicker than most automatic pencils. It makes applying eyeliner faster.




Staying power is good. I don't have oily eyelids though. But it does stay all day with minimal fading. I have it in black, dark brown and mink. All three colors are great. Mink is a brown with shimmer. I use it over the black to make the black less harsh and add some shimmer.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/2/2010 6:13:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

this was a pretty good eyeliner, except that it had shimmers in it that never showed up on the eyelid. also, it kind of smudges and the pigmentation is really good on your hand when swatched but not as good on the eye. definitely waterproof and cheap, yet not my favorite.


on 8/17/2010 12:07:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Black

This eyeliner is my go-to everyday HG eyeliner! I'm always running late in the mornings, so my eye makeup consists solely of quickly lining my eyes with this pencil before running out the door. The texture of this pencil is to die for! The line goes on very easily without any tugging and it is soft enough so that you can use a finger to clean up any messy areas. But after it sets, this stuff will last throughout the day! I do see fading when I'm hot and sweaty days, meaning that it's not truly waterproof, so I have to reapply in that case. But since this is only $3.99 and readily available at your local drugstore, who can complain? I use "Dark Brown" (dark brown like the name suggests) on my upper lashline almost religiously and "Mink" (a lighter medium brown) on my lower lashline if I have enough time to add definition to my eyes. I also have "Smoky Plum" (a blackened eggplant shade), which I like to pair with plum/purple eyeshadow. I love these!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top