Bath and Body Works • Japanese Cherry Blossom body splash • Fragrances

rated 3.8(110 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 bergsyfern on 8/23/2011 4:32:00 PM more reviews by bergsyfern

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great scent, a little musky and floral. The only reason it loses a lippie is because it can get a little sickening after a while.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fashiondisco on 6/20/2011 3:47:00 PM more reviews by fashiondisco

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

this is probably my favourite scent that they have put out.i alternate between this and Sensual Amber.i love the way it smells after you ve sprayed it.It's not too strong and not too floral either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* specialribbons on 6/4/2011 12:05:00 AM more reviews by specialribbons

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Not for me =\ it's just very heavy and perfumy. I enjoy the original cherry blossom scent much more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 familiarplaces on 5/22/2011 3:55:00 AM more reviews by familiarplaces

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is my go-to scent for everyday. It may seem a little musky and overpowering once sprayed, but I always make sure to only spray twice, and the scent fades to a nice floral, woodsy scent. I have the candle version, but haven't tried that one yet. Honestly, the scent is very typical, nothing stands out in particular. But I don't really mind, as long as it's pleasant, I'll like it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JChrisBee on 5/7/2011 10:27:00 PM more reviews by JChrisBee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this about five years ago. It was their best selling (probably still is) and overall best smelling fragrance, at the time. I grew tired of it quickly, though and sold it on ebay. It just has a plasticky smell to me. I think they could improve it. The packaging is very appealing and the scent is pretty good. It's not that I can't stand it, it's just not for me. I gravitate towards Dark Kiss, Twilight Woods and Midnight Pomegranate. Maybe if I alternate enough between those three, I won't get tired of any of them.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 felissajohnson on 5/7/2011 8:01:00 AM more reviews by felissajohnson

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

THE WORST SMELLING SPRAY EVER. This is way too powdery and perfumey. It has a very thick aroma. It is so strong it almost makes you gag. I was unable to wear both the lotion and spray together for fear it would knock someone out because it's very overpowering. I want this scent to die a quick death. It really need to be destroyed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 harpiequeen on 3/2/2011 2:43:00 PM more reviews by harpiequeen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I avoided this scent for a long time, because in the bottle it smells kind of musky and boring. I got a trial sized bottle in a swap, and sprayed it on for the heck of it, and I could not believe it. It's so different on the skin, there is no resemblance to in-bottle at all! On me, this turns into a rich, creamy lily/sandalwood/rose scent that lasts a long time. It's a new favorite, and I wish I had tried it sooner!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 boarddumb on 2/8/2011 10:59:00 PM more reviews by boarddumb

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love to layer this scent with the whole ritual--shower gel, body lotion, and body spray. It has such a rich, bold, yet feminine and powdery scent. When I first put it on, I get a blast of musk, cherry, and incense. Within an hour, it dries down to a very powdery floral that makes me feel mature and pretty. When I wear it, my friends say that I smell like I just got out of the shower. This is my boyfriend's favourite scent. It's not mine, but I can definitely see why it's such a big seller.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pennypencil on 1/29/2011 9:03:00 AM more reviews by pennypencil

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Having tried the LíOccitane and Body Shop takes on cherry blossom, I was expecting something soapier from Bath and Body Works. I only have Japanese Cherry Blossom in the mist formulation, and it didnít smell how I had anticipated. Far from it. I suppose the majority of people reading this review will be from the states, in which case you are likely to try before you buy, but in my case, in the UK, I bought blindly. I love the idea of Bath and Body Works Ė the ubiquity of the brand, the fact teenagers love it, how High Schools in America are most likely thick with these mists. Bath and Body Works offers me some kind of otherness, and I look to fragrances for such thrills.

My first comment about Bath and Body Works mists, and also those from Victoriaís Secret, is that you donít know how good these are in comparison to the body mists and sprays available in the UK. The selection of cheap sprays available to us is very thin on the ground and nowhere near as good. I have one from Boots which is chemically, shrill and cheap smelling (masquerading as apple and lime) and one from Soap and Glory which smells of burnt sugar, body odour and cheap cologne. I ordered a selection of six body sprays from the US and was pleased with each and every one, though not all are masterpieces.

Japanese Cherry Blossom smells very warm and fruity. The warmth and fruitiness was a shock. Itís fuzzy on the nose, like nuzzling a peach. I donít altogether like the fuzziness and find the scent more preferable a few inches away. The base of this fragrance is very similar to that of Twilight Woods, which I found first. Iím not sure what the notes are, but there is a signature smell, like Guerlain and their guerlinade. Itís a little cheap, plasticky. Itís very dense and powdery. There is something dirty about it, and yet, itís good.
The fruitiness, which is apple, pear and plum (but predominantly plum on my skin) abates after about twenty minutes. Iím glad it recedes, because the powder plus fruit is a bit aggressive. I detect a tiny bit of tuberose and rose, and then some other light white floral notes that may be mimosa and cherry blossom. The cinnamon and sandalwood are pretty prominent. Itís sweet. Itís not as sweet as Twilight Woods, or Sensual Amber, but itís still a touch childish and foody.

I wanted this to be a daytime signature but the absence of the soap, creaminess and elegance I was expecting makes it more of a frivolous pick-me-up than something I'd want people to associate with me. You could wear this to work, but I think I prefer Victoriaís Secret Dream Angels Heavenly for this ilk, and probably the LíOccitaneís Cherry Blossom for a cherry blossom concoction. The muskiness is passable, but the thick powder just notches the score down. I'd give it 3.5 if I could.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TeHNyboR on 1/20/2011 1:54:00 PM more reviews by TeHNyboR

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Ehhh....I don't get all the fuss about this scent. It's an alright kind of scent, but it's old ladyish. It's a bit too heavy and musky for me. I don't mind musk, but too much irritates my allergies. I tried wearing some this morning, and it really irritated my sinuses. It's just not a good fragrance for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bath and Body Works products

More Fragrances products