MAC • Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15 • Liquid

rated 3.5(2587 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Jo333 on 7/14/2014 10:57:00 PM more reviews by Jo333

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

bought the nw25 and have to say its very heavy full coverage. Pros are it will cover a multitude of sins; acne, bruises, hangovers. The formula is quite mat with a slight sheen. I would only use this foundation for the purpose of covering an injury or portrait photography as its not shimmery or reflective, its like a mask and has a plasticizing quality covering everything - making a very flat base to build on.

For day to day use its simply not suitable for my skin, and will break out in spots the following day - so for the price it doesn't get much value at all sitting in the cupboard used once a year! Still handy to own, with the knowledge it can cover like polyfiller!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 danggtaylorr on 7/12/2014 4:36:00 PM more reviews by danggtaylorr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is one of my first MAC purchases and I absolutely love the result! The shade is perfect and the finish is gorgeous. My only complaint is the smell. I don't know if it's just mine, but it smells like paint or paint thinner. If it didn't smell and if it was about $10-$20 cheaper, it would probably be my holy grail. So close, MAC, so close.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Kaylawimbleton on 7/12/2014 1:58:00 PM more reviews by Kaylawimbleton

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This foundation is good for coverage only when it's built up. The price is ridiculous for the amount you get. The glass of the bottle is so thick there is hardly any foundation in there. It stays on quite long but makes you break out like hell. You can get good dupes for oily/combination skin for half of the price, Revlon colour stay.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 chlodewick21 on 7/12/2014 5:03:00 AM more reviews by chlodewick21

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

the mac studio fix fluid provides a brilliant coverage, a nice consistency, the packaging is flattering and it is excellent to wear for a special occassion as its very long lasting

However..

i got colour matched too dark meaning i can only wear it when i have tanned, otherwise you can see its too dark, i have oily skin on my tea zone and i find it seems to cake up alot around that area, i also find it dosent seem to even out very well and can be quite patchy,

overall its a nice foundation but it is a tad overrated and i dont think i would re-purchase this again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Louiserm97 on 7/11/2014 3:21:00 AM more reviews by Louiserm97

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I have oily skin and so far this product works for me. I am also very pale with yellow undertones so this is probably the first foundation out of about 4 I have tried that this is really working wonders. Apparently it is known for break outs but I have not had any more than what I would normally have, may be the odd one or too? I think those people should just clean there face more and eat well! If you are also in the puberty age bracket, pimples could be from that.

Pros- It's worth a try, keeps me matte for a big portion of the day, pair it up with innoxa poor vanisher and looks amazing, colour is perfect, it's thick and full coverage, apply with a flat top kabuki brush and you will be in heaven.

Cons- you have to buy a pump for about $8, it's $50 (in Australia), it smells a little funky

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tquirk on 7/10/2014 1:58:00 AM more reviews by tquirk

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've had this foundation for about a year now. I have NW 15. At first i used it every day, and now i just use BB cream for every day wear. This foundation has amazing coverage. Although i found in summer i needed a darker shade because i was more tanned and my face would look white in photos. I did notice when i used it every day i got more pimples. Now i just use it for when i have events, parties or going out. I found the coverage was too intense for every day wear, and that's why i switched to a BB cream. The only downside about this foundation that if you have dry skin patches on your face it makes them stand out heaps, so i recommend a face scrub, wash, cleanser and a lot of moisturizer for quality and good results for application.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 peachesandblossoms on 7/9/2014 4:26:00 AM more reviews by peachesandblossoms

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this foundation in the lightest shade, NW 10. This foundation isn't amazing, but it is good. In my opinion this foundation has pros and cons. Pros: - this is the only foundation that has my shade! (I have very fair skin), this has great coverage compared to every other foundation on the market, a little is needed to achieve a flawless complexion,the price is okay,when wearing this, my skin looks fabulous & flawless. Cons: I find that when I usually wearthis foundation it makes me gain a few pimples, (however, the the last 2 weeks I haven't, I've had this foundation for around 2-3 months), it can have a heavy, oily feeling if you put a lot on, I had to pay extra $ for a pump! Overall, I would buy this product again and it definitely is worth buying IMO because the coverage is fantastic and there are so many shades!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 harpreetsahi on 7/8/2014 5:01:00 PM more reviews by harpreetsahi

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have very dry skin and so I am only able to use this foundation if I have prepared my face beforehand. I need to use a natural face scrub to get rid of as many dry patches as possible, use a ton of moisturizer and use a good quality primer. Sometimes I have to use a honey face mask too. If I was to apply this foundation without following the above routine I find it clings to every dry patch I have and makes my skin look disgusting. I therefore don't particularly recommend this foundation for those with very dry skin, but it is possible to make the foundation work. This product also feels very heavy on the skin and although it does not break me out my skin actually feels tired if I wear this foundation days in a row. Due to this fact I do not use this foundation on an everyday basis.

However, I adore the finish this foundation gives when applied properly. It makes my face look flawless and gives a better coverage than my other high-end foundations. When I have an important event I always find myself using this foundation and IMO the lasting power is superb.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 MLNx3 on 7/8/2014 10:30:00 AM more reviews by MLNx3

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

MAC Studio Fix Fluid & Studio Fix Compact NC20
MAC Prolong Wear Foundation NC25
Shiseido Perfect Refining Liquid Foundation O20 (O2O in all Shiseido face makeup)
GloMinerals Satin II Liquid Foundation
MAC Studio Careblend Powder Light Plus
L'Oreal True Match Liquid Foundation W2

I got macthed to an NC20 in this foundation and after seeing so many people say how great this foundation was on youtube, and the good coverage it has I decided to try it... to my surprise it didn't live up to the hype what so ever. I'm the second lightest shade in the 'warm' category and it is far too orange based. Not yellow. Orange. I've tried several different ways of applying this - from a flat top brush, RT stippling brush, RT Expert Face Brush, RT Buffing Brush to a beautyblender and still gives a disappointing result. The coverage is more of a medium that I personally don't think can be built because it appears to just get 'darker' after each layer you apply. I'm definitely warm toned, so when I applied this and even thought it was TOO orangey based I was surprised. I cannot get it to work for the life of me.. I've even tried mixing it with a lighter foundation to no avail as it just doesn't last on my skin what so ever, and I'm not even that oily having just got off my accutane course! A friend of mine who is of a darker complexion and has got very different skin to me (Normal) has even said she finds this foundation too orange for her complexion! The staying power is also quite poor with and without a primer. Everytime I try and give this foundation another go I always end up with a few new 'bumps' which then form into pimples which is odd especially since I rarely break out unless it's hormonal. To whoever this works for, I'm super glad it does and that you didn't waste your money! However, for me personally it just isn't worth the money or the time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Telisha92 on 7/6/2014 11:42:00 AM more reviews by Telisha92

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I was told to buy this because it has great coverage, and I need something for my acne scars. I have very fair skin and I bought the lightest colour without trying to look like a china doll, and it still makes me look like a carrot. The coverage is ok, but really doesn't last very long. Even though I have dry skin, I can still feel it become oily after a few hours of wearing this. Also, it's expensive, and there's no pump for the bottle. What's that about?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products