MAC • Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15 • Liquid

rated 3.5(2517 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 Lydiaxfeyx on 3/26/2014 11:59:00 AM more reviews by Lydiaxfeyx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

this foundation gets a lot of negative reviews for such a popular product. i think people are just applying it incorrectly(unless you have acne then it is a justified reason for disliking it). its called "studio fix" for a reason its supposed to cover and make you look perfect. i personally apply the smallest amount, as i find its super blendable and spreads easily around the skin. and sometimes i even mix it with moisturizer and i then BUFF it in with my buffing brush or work it in with my beauty blender. if i am looking for a bit more coverage i re apply it to the problem areas and this makes it not cakey on me at all. i really enjoy the versatility and its staying power. i also i think with medium/full coverage foundations its important to get your correct shade. test it out with the makeup artist and then go outside and look before purchasing. when i bought mine the lady gave me an NW50 when I'm an NC50 (i looked at her with disgust). also if you really dislike it try it as a concealer!
the reason it didn't get 5 lipies is
1) it transfers -_-
2)no pump
3) its not as nice in the winter when my skins more of the normal type

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 saabrinad on 3/21/2014 5:07:00 AM more reviews by saabrinad

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Bought this foundation because MAC is a well-known makeup brand and the lady at the counter applied a sample on my cheek and it made my skin look flawless. The price also gets you checking this foundation out as it is pretty "cheap" $33 CAD for a high-end foundation compared to ones at Sephora which are at least $50.
What I really love about this foundation is the coverage. I had a few blemishes due to waxing and this foundation did its job covering these nasty little dark spots. However, over a period of 4ish months, my skin just got worse and worse. Although the coverage is ideal, I noticed that the foundation is way too heavy for every day use and not only did it clog up my pores, it essentially made me break out even more. In addition, the smell is absolutely horrible. Smells like chemicals and spray paint or something.

I would recommend this if you're going out for special events and would like a bit more coverage/that model-like coverage; however, not for every day use as I find that it broke me out and made my blemishes even worse.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 902nikki902 on 3/20/2014 7:00:00 PM more reviews by 902nikki902

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

So in love with this liquid foundation. Keeps me matte for hours, very decent coverage and the color selection is amazing! I don't care for the idea that I have to buy a pump separately, but can get over it because I can reuse the pump with future repurchases lol. Price point isn't too bad for a great foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 andreeal3005 on 3/20/2014 2:22:00 PM more reviews by andreeal3005

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation made me look a little cakey

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JohanneKristensen on 3/20/2014 5:55:00 AM more reviews by JohanneKristensen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

A great foundation with a good staying power.
I wouldn't say it did anything different than a lot of other foundations that I have tried.
But it does what I need it to do - stay on all day and gives a medium coverage.
I have it in NC25, which is a little too dark for my winter skin (I have gotten extremely pale), but it works great for me in the summer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 willow1992 on 3/20/2014 5:25:00 AM more reviews by willow1992

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Overall I think this foundation is good, but not great. You can definitely purchase something better for less (Revlon Colorstay). I gave this product a 4 because it did stay on all day for me, and the colour matched my skin, and the coverage was buildable, but I usually prefer better coverage because of acne scars. Also, I think this product would work much much better if it had a pump. It's quite easy to remove aswell, which is a plus, however, I did notice it was giving me a few pimples... so because of that I only wear this foundation occasionally.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 noorhasclaws on 3/14/2014 10:00:00 AM more reviews by noorhasclaws

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I wear NC20, which is a yellow based tone colour and I use my stippling brush to apply it on. I bought the pump separately and with one pump i receive full coverage. It covers my acne scars and my blemishes on my face, giving me a flawless finish. I wear youngbloods primer underneath it and I apply macs mineralise skinfinish natural powder in light plus over it. My skin looks healthy, really natural, matte and it gives a really nice glow. It's easy to remove, easy to apply on, not messy (with the pump), doesn't clog my pores or give me breakouts and it looks really pretty... the list goes on.
The lady did test mineralise liquid foundation on my skin, but it looked really bad. Would not recommend anyone to buy it- its a waste of money. However, I could say the opposite to studio fix because it is a foundation every girl should have on their dressing table. Ive owned other liquid foundations like maybelines fit me and revlons colorstay, but this foundation is unbeatable.
The only negative thing I could say about this foundation is the smell. It reminds me of the smell from the chemical in my chemical peels. Almost like the TCA chemical my beautician used on me. Reminiscent to the burning sensations i use to receive when it was applied on.
Apart from that its all good. I enjoy using it and it is definitely one of the best foundations in the world.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 8ar8ie on 3/13/2014 7:13:00 PM more reviews by 8ar8ie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to love this but I had to return it. I know MAC discontinued the Studio Fix Select line. I wanted a foundation with a little more coverage so I bought this. She put it on and it looked a little cake-y. I thought maybe she put on too much. So I went home and checked the ingredients...no bueno. It has algae extract in it. For anyone who is prone to zits or clogged pores, algae extract is a big no-no.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 eimearsg on 3/13/2014 2:25:00 PM more reviews by eimearsg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This foundation sucks so bad ... It's goes on and feels like a mask it looks super caky it clings to dry patches it melts off my skin and makes me look oily even tho I acc have dry skin :/ I really can't see anything positive about the foundation .. I guess the colour selection is pretty good but it ends there ... It also stinks ! Like it
Smells like paint ! It's so gross !! I hate fragrances in foundation full stop but if it's an ok scent I'll put up with it .. This however is disgusting and you know by the smell that it just can not be good for your skin what so ever ! I also suspect it's breaking me out and clogging my pores ... There are so many other full coverage foundations that are better than this in today's industry I don't know why people still wear this ?! ... I feel like it might have impressed me when I was like 15 and was going through the whole revlon colour stay thing :/ lol but now I'm older I just realise this is gross and disgusting and I thinks it's so weird that so many people consider this holy grail !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Missbo on 3/13/2014 1:33:00 PM more reviews by Missbo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

First of all, most MAC sales assoc. are clueless and always sell u the wrong product/shade cuz theyre always rushing you.. They matched me to an NC20 which i found was too yellow.. And the NW is not any better on my skin either.. This foundation made me break out as well.. I wore it for 2 weeks and every day it would make me get cystic acne that would itch soooo bad!!! It sucks, I am returning it and maybe ill try the matchmaster or studio sculpt next....

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products