Dove • Sensitive Skin Unscented Beauty Bar • Gels/Soaps

rated 4.2(65 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 leizel on 7/27/2012 9:03:00 AM more reviews by leizel

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have very sensitive skin (eczema, dermatitis) and use this on a regular basis for my hands and body. Everything else on the shelf irritates and dries out my skin (ahem, Ivory, Irish Spring). Lever 2000 is tolerable depending on the formula. This is available in bulk, making it cheaper to buy. It costs a bit more than other soaps, though the extra dollar makes it worthwhile. There is no after-residue and no added fragrance. I use this in conjunction with Pine Tar Soap (Dove first, then Pine Tar) to cleanse the skin while keeping it moisturized and calm. This is a nice, simple product that does its job.That's all I need.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lovelylippie on 7/27/2012 8:19:00 AM more reviews by lovelylippie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am currently on my third bar and its only been a little over a month. I use this all over and don't really mind that it melts quickly when left wet. I just make sure to keep it dry when not in use as with all bar soaps. I love its creaminess and the way it cleans especially on my face. This did not cause any breakouts and thoroughly cleans. I find this is more gentle than regular face wash or body wash and my skin just loves it. Like the commercials, I can say I can really go out without foundation because of this! It just evened out the tone and texture of my skin, face and body! I love it! Great for basic, no fuss skincare.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kimberlyann on 7/1/2012 4:19:00 AM more reviews by kimberlyann

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I never knew that I would ever use a bar soap for my skin & that it would be the best thing for it. I have been using the sensitive skin version for about 3 years now. I don't have anything negative to say about it.
--------------------
The bars are frangrance-free, so incredibly moisturizing and they clean well! With most any soap (liquid or bar) my skin feels very tight and dry after use in the shower. When I get out of the shower after using the beauty bar, my skin feels soft, smooth and moisturized.
--------------------
I use the bar for my body, shaving and even my face sometimes to remove makeup. (does not break me out)
--------------------
I will keep buying this bar for years to come.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mihailo1980 on 5/6/2012 1:47:00 PM more reviews by mihailo1980

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Every morning when I get out of bed I think to myself 'God, thank you for this product'. Last couple of weeks I even wash my hair with it. No scent (I'll use my cologne when i feel like smelling), very few preservatives, very moisturizing BUT it leaves no residue (I will put on my body milk if I feel my skin is drying out, thank you), I mean - it's perfect.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 angelfish12 on 4/16/2012 2:59:00 PM more reviews by angelfish12

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is the best body soap I've ever used. I used to get dry itchy patches on my arms when using body wash, but with this my skin is soft and if I don't have time to use a body moisturiser, my skin is fine.

I have also used this on my face for a few years now, although I think it clogs my pores a little bit. I can also only use it on my face once a day, as if I use wash off cleansers twice a day my skin gets reactive.

Overall though a great product at a brilliant price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 starfishnet on 9/15/2011 1:34:00 AM more reviews by starfishnet

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm fragrance sensitive. There is a subtle whiff of clean smell, not as strong as other dove bar soaps. Did not irritate my skin. Lathered up well, rinsed off completely. Good budget bar soap alternative to the pricier organic/natural/plant based cleanser bars. I recommend this soap over the fragrance loaded baby bar soaps.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sinkin2heart on 8/13/2011 5:34:00 PM more reviews by sinkin2heart

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The only bar soap (or any product, for that matter) that I use to wash my body.
My skin is extremely sensitive, as I have eczema, but this soap hasn't irritated it in the slightest. I also don't get that overly dry feeling I usually get from other soaps.
There's not really much more that I can say to sum up how much I love this soap. I have and will continue to use and recommend it.

Edit: While I was in Europe recently, I used this as a multipurpose product (face/body soap & for shaving). It did a fairly good job for my face and I didn't break out from it, and as far as shaving went, it did a decent job, but the hard water (literally mountain water, people!) made it hard for the soap to lather well enough to stay on my legs.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 hailung on 7/29/2011 2:23:00 AM more reviews by hailung

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I use the original Dove beauty bar (occasionally their seasonal scents) I use to wash face & body never had any issues it always left my skin super soft, silky, moisturized and I didn't have to apply lotion on afterward, weirdly I got the sensitive bar and it's ultra drying. Funny b/c it's geared for sensitive skin, it didn't leave me with a silky, moisturized feeling like the other Dove bars? I tried this for a while, but still, dry skin... weird I love Dove though just not this bar.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BadBlood on 7/7/2011 12:06:00 AM more reviews by BadBlood

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is the only bar soap that I use right now. My skin has gotten more finicky as I've gotten older and this doesn't aggravate my skin at all. I don't always use it but when my skin is acting up (itchy, rashy, etc.), this is my go to!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NettalynnVL on 7/3/2011 4:52:00 PM more reviews by NettalynnVL

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the only body soap I can use. I use Mario Badescu's Glycolic Foaming Cleanser to exfoliate, but first I use this soap with a loofa. I absolutely love it! I've been using this for about six years, and it's the only thing that kept my skin moisturized and clear. Every time I've tried to switch to a body wash or even just another Dove soap my skin has had a fit (I really do need to learn not to try new things so often when it comes to skin care...), but this cleanser always clears me back up again and keeps my skin soft and happy :)

That said, I wouldn't use it on your face. Typically what works wonders on one part of the body is bound to cause problems when put on your face, when I did use this my nose and forehead broke out (stopped using it and went back to Cetaphil and MB Glycolic and everything went back to normal). So stick to this as a good body cleanser if you have sensitive, acne prone skin, and avoid putting it on your face.

PROS:

- Cheap, lasts forever.

- Moisturizes and cleanses

- Won't irritate/breakout body (but avoid the face!)


CONS:

- It's a bar...that's just awkward and totally fodder for comedy sketches when in the shower.

- May cause breakouts on the face if you experiment and use it there.


Conclusion:

Total keeper! Give it a try, it's dirt cheap, and shouldn't cause any problems when used below the neck :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dove products

More Gels/Soaps products