Unlisted Brand • Tazorac • Skincare - Face

rated 4.1(215 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 asterixox on 7/16/2013 4:32:00 PM more reviews by asterixox

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I developed moderate (on the more severe side of moderate) acne at age 22 after a reasonably clear adolescence. At the time of developing my cystic acne, I was using benzaclin, which ceased to make a difference. I started on differin and doxycycline, before going off both (as they didn't make a difference) and moving onto retin-a micro. This did not improve matters either. Finally, exasperated and emotionally drained after a year of being utterly preoccupied by my skin, I returned to my derm and was prescribed .1% tazorac cream. I had been on two retinoids for 7 months by this point, so I didn't get an initial breakout. I also did not experience serious redness or irritation, but I use a gentle cleanser (Eucerin Dermatoclean) and a really good moisturizer (A-Derma Creme de Soin) to keep my skin in balance. My deep cysts stopped immediately, which was amazing. Things improved, slowly but surely, from there. One year on, I do still get pimples (maybe 1-2 a week), but they are all, for the most part, superficial and don't cause any tenderness, don't swell, and don't form noticeable white heads -- in other words, they are normal and manageable and are fine without makeup. I've now been using the product for a full year and continue to see improvements in scarring, post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation, and a reduction in the amount of spots that I get. One thing that this product has caused, however, is lightly peeling skin that I exfoliate gently with my hands when my skin is super moist in the shower every 1-2 days. All in all, I am so happy with this product and the relief that it has brought to my life.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 iynamakeup on 7/9/2013 10:26:00 PM more reviews by iynamakeup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I have tried Proactiv, Clean & Clear, Acne Free, Oil Cleansing Method, Acne.org Regimen, Alpha Hydroxy... I could go on. I used each of these methods for a minimum of three months each. NOTHING has worked like Tazorac. When I finally decided to see a dermatologist, she prescribed antibiotics (Amoxicillin 500mg twice a day for two weeks) and Tazorac (used every night). My nightly regimen was (1) dissolve makeup with 50:50 mix of castor & olive oil (2) wash oil off with pure castile soap (which I make myself from scratch) (3) apply thin layer of Tazorac. My cystic acne is GONE! I usually have 5-6 erupt around my period and stick around for weeks, but since being on Tazorac, that doesnt happen anymore. My acne marks are fading, my skin is smoother. I now use a mineral foundation powder instead of the thick cream foundations I used to. I would watch those Proactiv success stories on TV and sadly wonder if I'd ever have clear skin. Now I'm one of them! :) I pay $75 per tube becos I dont have insurance but one tube last 3-4 months which comes to $19-$25 a month = totally WORTH IT!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ellonello on 6/1/2013 10:17:00 PM more reviews by Ellonello

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Tazorac is the first thing that actually works on my acne!! Like everyone else said, it's really really horrible at first....but my skin was already really bad so it didn't seem to be too much worse. I didn't really realize it started working until I stopped getting new white bumps everyday. Took about 3 months to really clear everything out. I have been slacking on applying it lately and bumps are starting to come back around my chin.

When I first started, I was on an antibiotic to help calm everything out. I applied moisturizer underneath the taz for the first couple of days so that my skin could adjust. After about a week I stopped applying the moisturizer first and just applied it the next morning after I washed my face.

I am also on another hormonal pill, so this may be helping with everything, but I definitely think taz has something to do with it. This is the first time my skin has been completely clear since 6th grade!!!!! Now just working on getting this acne scars off of my face.....

Definitely worth a try!!!

I have before and after pics if anyone is interested! message me :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bmoran2 on 5/12/2013 9:58:00 AM more reviews by bmoran2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Worked really good for about six months, then suddenly it stopped working. Acne was back.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lizsta on 4/19/2013 3:02:00 PM more reviews by lizsta

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

This stuff is da bomb. It doesn't clear up my skin completely, but when I get lazy and stop using it I definitely notice a difference in the amount of my acne. I have under the skin acne (that aren't blackheads) around my chin area that most acne treatments don't clear and my dermatologist prescribed this. Also, for all of you struggling with the drying factor, she recommended I use Cera-Ve cleanser and lotion to keep my face moisturized. It does the job without making my face oily or more acne-prone, which is great.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ebrosh on 4/4/2013 11:41:00 AM more reviews by ebrosh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I first used this product about 3 years ago in combination with oral antibiotics and another cream Acanya. Yes this cream is drying and will cause your skin to peel but it leaves behind glowing new skin. It helped clear my old acne scars and for the first time in ever I got compliments on my skin. I phased all products out after about 6 months and my skin still looked great. I still used this for spot treatments for the occasional pimple. My dermatologist recommended to wash my face after I got home from work around 6-7, let me skin breathe and then apply before I went to bed 10-11. Most people apply right after they wash when their skin is the most sensitive. This really helped with the "burning sensation". Also always wear sunblock and a hat. It makes you sensitive to the sun. I stopped using when my hubby and I planned to get pregnant. Now the that I am done breast feeding I am back on Tazorac and I can already see my skin getting better. For me after years of dealing with acne. I am glad I found something that worked so well. good skin makes you look forward to looking in the mirror.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jmullen417 on 3/26/2013 8:47:00 AM more reviews by jmullen417

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I was prescribed Tazorac by my dermatologist, and have been using it for about 5 months now. It definitely took awhile to start seeing results. I use the product at night only after washing my face with cetaphil and first applying aczone (another prescription from my dermatologist). I started out applying a small pea sized amount on my problem areas, but my skin became really dry and flaky! It felt really raw and burned, so I switched to using it every other night, which helped.
Tazorac has worked okay, but I do still get some breakouts at least once a week, and my pimples take a while to clear up. If I use the Tazorac too often my skin still gets flaky and overall it is much more sensitive which I am not happy about.
After 5 months I am not totally satisfied and I am going to discontinue using it. Overall I think it is just too harsh.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Delaylah on 3/23/2013 6:53:00 PM more reviews by Delaylah

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

My dermatologist prescribed this to me for psoriasis that was no longer responding to steroid creams and it's really worked wonders. I had a terrible flare recently and within 10 days of starting it was almost completely cleared up. Spots have flattened out and are a normal skin color again. I did experience some itching to treated areas at first, but that's all cleared up now. I'm glad this has worked so well since it is beneficial to the skin as opposed to steroid creams which caused thinning of the skin. Very happy with this product and plan to make sure I always have it on hand.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kristina3333 on 2/6/2013 4:08:00 PM more reviews by kristina3333

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I've been using Tazorac for about a year now and am about to be switched to another medication in the next few days. Honestly, for me, this was not really the greatest product out there. Before tazorac, I started out with pretty bad acne and tazorac really helped me out for about 3-5 months. it reduced my acne by about 40%-50% percent. then after using it for about 6 months, it literally did nothing. nothing changed. at all. i still bought another tube because i still had high hopes for it to finally reduce all my acne and ended up just wasting $250 dollars (insurance wouldn't cover it). honestly these last 6 months on the tazorac have been a complete waste and have only brought negative effects. for example, it makes my skin so irritated and red, as well as EXTREMELY dry..i always always have to be carrying moisturizer with me everywhere or i freak out. my skin can randomly dry out 1-2 hours after applying moisturizer. ive had many days where ive had to go and apply a moisturizer at least 5 times over the course of the day. even while using the tazorac for so long ive still been having huge breakouts so the tazorac never did anything for that. overall, i gave it 3 stars because it did reduce my acne, except not as much and effectively as i'd hoped.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mightybangaw on 11/25/2012 2:41:00 PM more reviews by mightybangaw

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this product for almost 3 weeks now. I initially used Atralin, but it made my skin very oily. At 0.05%, I didn't expect that my skin will have a positive reaction at all. My skin gently peeled and now smoother. My forehead didn't peel, though. Well, I also changed to primal lifestyle, eliminating refined carbs and sugar from my diet (junkfood caused my long battle with acne). With this combination, my face was healthier. I will ask my dermatologist to increase the prescription to 0.10% next time. This is a great product for people with oily skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Skincare - Face products