Guerlain • orchidee imperiale • Moisturizers

rated 4.0(51 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* vickypollard on 1/29/2008 5:29:00 PM more reviews by vickypollard

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

After being stunned by the results of using the Orchidee Imperiale Serum I tried, I decided to try the cream. I needed a cream as I still have some serums to finish out, so I bought the original formula cream, not the new "rich" formula. I absolutely ADORE it! This cream is wonderful. It leaves my skin feeling moisturized and comfortable without a hint of greasiness. I tried it with the serum underneath and the results were fantastic. I do happen to like Chanel's Sublimage and have been using it. It can get really greasy feeling if you use too much, the Guerlain cream is much better for my skin. I like the way Orchidee Imperiale feels on my skin, better that many other creams I have tried. It's too soon to tell if there are any firming properties and the like, but so far so good. I get a nice glow from this cream as well, and it's not mica or some other light reflector, it's the cream that's doing the work. This cream does not clog my pores, which did happen with Sublimage (especially in my T-zone). I will update as the the results. Try this cream, it is phenomenal.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sooyoungkim on 10/4/2007 9:35:00 PM more reviews by sooyoungkim

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really didn't want to like this product due to its anticipated high price (and wow was I stunned when I looked it up), but I got a generous sample from Nieman Marcus and used it almost every morning for about ten days. Very moisturizing, even having gotten used to the highly emollient Shiseido Future Solution for some time. Feared it might be a bit greasy as it does present as a very heavy cream, but my skin felt exceptionally comfortable in the morning even with the changing weather. Felt my upper cheek and orbital area getting a bit tight, though oddly not DRY in the afternoon: what is my skin getting tighter? Prolly not. Hate the old-lady dirty-vanilla Guerlain smell. A very good cream, nevertheless.EDIT 12/1/07: now that winter has set in, I find this cream has me feeling dry and tight by the time I get to the office. Back to my Shiseido!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Helleni on 9/27/2007 4:27:00 AM more reviews by Helleni

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Fantastic cream, being 44 yrs with combo skin type rather sluggish, not many wrikles but extremely sentitive, I found this cream as not greasy, didnt give me breakouts, or itching symptoms. It's much better than the lotion type and other creams from GL like success model or laser or substantific ( too heavy). Is has no lifting effects, but wrikle softening efects. I have used it with Secret Divine ( similar to EL Idealist) serum underneath if I want my skin to look drier or Success laser serum to make it tighter. I think on its own is ok. I use it in the evening ( not night) if I have the time. I am on my 2d jar. Smell is a big strong. The eye cream is not as efficient. I prefer the success eye tech which is cheaper. Price is in Euro between 300-325. It's very expensive but you need half the amount of other creams. One jar lasts me 5 to 6 months ( depending if I use it once or twice daily). I think is an excellent moisturer if you want to spend something more. It gets absorbed quickly and my Kanebo's Allie 50+ sp tanning lotion or Vichy's 50+ doesn't runn as sun is very harsh on Mediterranean countries with temp over 40Cel (105 Far). Also it performs ok even if my skin is sweating. haven't tried during winter. I imagine that for dry skins might not be enough. The lotion is too greasy and doesn't absorb quickly. I wound't recommend it at all unless you are under 30.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Chloefg on 9/17/2007 12:50:00 PM more reviews by Chloefg

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

After trying a sample of this product I was hooked. I went on line to see how much it cost and about fainted, this would be more than I would have paid for any beauty product. After using the whole sample and seeing the results I broke down and bought the full size and do not regret it at all. It is not like having a face lift or any thing but the texture of my skin is very nice.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lotusfairy on 9/9/2007 10:08:00 PM more reviews by lotusfairy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Way too light to justify buying the full size of this. It smells very strong, but didn't irritate my nose. I also was happy that I received a sample of this first. It did soften my skin and kept the flakes away, but that's about it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* eadinsmo on 8/23/2007 12:16:00 PM more reviews by eadinsmo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red, Medium   Eyes: Green    

After getting (and loving) 3 samples of this product, I finally broke down and bought a full size. Do this at the right time at Neiman Marcus, and you can get multiple GWPs and samples, though. That softens the blow of the purchase price, at least.

I love it. I'm in my late 30s and this is just perfect. Perfectly moisturizing, but not greasy. I'll admit that I haven't used it in the wintertime yet, so I don't know if it'll be sufficient.

I wish Guerlain would bottle the scent they use in this, even if my husband does make fun of me for smelling like an old lady when I use it. I adore the fragrance, and I am not a perfume person. Other Guerlain skin products are often too heavily fragranced for me. Super Aqua Serum, I'm looking at you!

The jar is beautiful, but it's too much for me to manipulate on a daily basis. Big, heavy thing. I kept my little sample jars, and I decant into them.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 janet55 on 8/12/2007 12:25:00 PM more reviews by janet55

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

If you have the right skin type for this product: dry-ish, sensitive or not, maybe 40+, this is a fabulous product. After using it for a month, my skin has n-e-v-e-r looked this good! Granted, it is extraordinarily expensive, but - WOW! - is this fun!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 SSSuzie on 5/17/2007 4:49:00 PM more reviews by SSSuzie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I paid Cdn. $420 (+tax) for one ounce of this product because the rep. told me this was voted the best anti-anging product on the market. Like many here, I'm a skincare junkie and I must try everything out there! Used it for a few weeks and the results: nothing worth writing home about. In my experience, this is a nice moisturizer, nothing more nothing less, not superior to other, much cheaper, moisturizers out there. It smells awsome, and it feels wonderful on my skin, but so do many other moisturizers. I would buy it again only if it's priced at 1/4th of the current price. Otherwise, not worth the money. On to the next one: Prevage MD.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* doree_001 on 4/12/2007 8:02:00 AM more reviews by doree_001

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I purchased this cream in spite of the fact that some sales ladies told me it would be too rich for me... Well, it is not. It is highy moisturizing but not heavy at all: my skin feels perfectly comfortable with it. I have never been a huge fan of Guerlain creams because they have mostly been highly perfumed and I can't stand this. Obviously, Guerlain has changed something in newer products which are not so highly and artificialy perfumed any more. This cream has just a very decent smell, I don't have any problems with it! (I have also tried something from their new cleansig line - a gentle, decent scent here too, no typical Guerlain heavy perfumey smell any more).

I have this cream for a month and I use it as a day cream (not every day). I don't know if it works on lines etc... in a long run, and I can't say does it really improve the condition of the skin in long term. It is too early to say that... But I like how my skin looks when I use it as a day cream (healthy, radiant and better than with other creams that I use; yes, and a bit younger). And another plus: my skin feels perfectly comfortable with it - nothing too much and nothing insuficient. Enough moisture, pampered skin, no heavy feeling, not too thick, no uncomfortable tightening or stinging sensation, everything under control and everything perfect. So, enough factors for me to say - yes, I would repurchase it. Good job this time, Guerlain! ***EDIT: Yes, it works as an eye cream for me, too.

*****EDIT (07/27/2007) I will finally rate this cream 4. After longer use (though I don't use it every day&night) I can't say that it has significantly improved my skin condition. I am still very satisfied how my face look when I use it: sufficient moisturization and a radiant look . You will look your best with this cream. But most of this is a cosmetic effect, I think, because in long run this cream won't do for you more than other global anti-age creams, e.g. Sisleya, YSL Temps Majeur etc. (all less expensive, btw!). I think that this cream will give you better look under makeup than Sisleya but in long term Sisleya will do more for your skin. Yes, still a great cream but I think it impresses more with "cosmetic", "flash" effect than with longterm skincare impact.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sunkissed10 on 4/12/2007 6:13:00 AM more reviews by sunkissed10

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is another great cream from guerlain. Guerlain skincare does wonders on my skin. I applied this cream as a night cream and in the morning my face is so radiant that there is no need to use foundation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Guerlain products

More Moisturizers products